DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in Takahashi et al. (2010/0260528) in view of Bjorkegren (3,678,846), Cumberledge (2015/0291366) and Yada et al. (2012/0266769).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a printing device comprising:
a cassette accommodation portion (fig. 4, item 13) to which a printing cassette (fig. 9, item 31) incorporating a printing tape (fig. 9, item 51) is detachably attachable;
a print head (figs. 4, 10, item 15) provided in the cassette accommodation portion (see fig. 4);
a platen roller (fig. 11, item 18) configured to face the print head (see fig. 11);
a platen holder (fig. 11, item 17) holding the platen roller such that the platen roller is rotatable about a platen-roller rotational axis (fig. 7, axis of item 18), the platen holder being configured to move the platen roller in a direction crossing the platen-roller rotational axis (compare figs. 11, 12);
a platen gear (fig. 6, item 181) configured to mesh with a transmission gear (fig. 6, item 218) to receive a drive force from the transmission gear, the platen gear being configured to be urged toward a transmission-gear rotational axis of the transmission gear (compare figs. 6, 7, 11, 12); and
a roller urging portion ([0065], bias spring) configured to urge the platen roller in a first direction toward the print head ([0065]),
wherein the platen roller comprises:
a platen shaft ([0037]) to which the platen gear is fixed (see fig. 6),
a roller sleeve (fig. 6, portion of roller between exterior layer and platen shaft) extending in an axial direction, the platen shaft extending through the roller sleeve in the axial direction, the roller sleeve having a center portion and two outer end portions outside the center portion in the axial direction (see fig. 6, note that this is the case), the center portion being connected to the platen shaft such that a torque can be transmitted from the platen shaft to the roller sleeve (note that “such that torque can be transmitted to platen shaft to the roller sleeve” is necessarily disclosed. In other words, if this was not the case, the prior art roller would not function),
a roller body (fig. 6, exterior layer of roller 18) provided over an outer peripheral surface of the roller sleeve (see fig. 6), wherein the platen gear is positioned outside the roller sleeve in the axial direction (see fig. 6), and wherein the roller urging portion is configured to urge the roller sleeve toward the print head ([0037]).
Takahashi does not teach wherein each of the two outer end portions having an inner peripheral surface an entirety of which is spaced away from an outer peripheral surface of the platen shaft, a center portion of the inner surface having an inner diameter smaller than an inner diameter of each of the two outer end portions, the center portion including a center of the roller sleeve in the axial direction. Bjorkegren teaches this (Bjorkegren, see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the roller shaft disclosed by Takahashi for that disclosed by Bjorkegren because doing so would allow for play between the shaft and sleeve, thereby accounting for tension differences in the platen roller across an exterior of the roller.
Takahashi in view of Bjorkegren does not teach wherein the printing device further comprises a connecting pin penetrating the platen shaft in a direction orthogonal to the axial direction and connecting the platen shaft to the center portion of the roller sleeve,
wherein the connecting pin connects the platen shaft to the center portion of the roller sleeve such that the platen shaft is pivotable relative to the roller sleeve. Cumberlege teaches a pin pivotally connecting a shaft and a sleeve (Cumberlege, see fig. 2, Note pin 30 penetrating shaft 14 and pivotally connecting shaft to inner sleeve 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the pivoting pin disclosed by Cumberlege to the shaft/sleeve arrangement disclosed by Takahashi in view of Bjorkegren because doing so would allow for more play between the shaft and the sleeve, thereby allowing for maximum tension changes.
Examiner is aware that Cumberledge is directed to a shaft and sleeve that don’t rotate themselves but have an outer sleeve rotate around them, whereas the device of Takahashi in view of Bjorkegren has a shaft and sleeve that rotate together. Nonetheless, Examiner maintains adding a pivoting pin of the type disclosed by Cumberledge to any shaft/sleeve arrangement would have been obvious.
Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren and Cumberledge does not teach a gear urging spring configured to urge the platen roller in a second direction toward the transmission gear, the second direction being a direction different from the first direction. Yada teaches this (Yada, [0047], see figs. 4, 5, Note gear urging spring 6 urging platen roller 5 and platen gear 14 in second direction opposite F5 toward transmission gear 13, the second direction opposite F5 being different from a first direction F3 in which the platen roller and thermal head are held in contact). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a gear urging spring of the type disclosed by Yada to the device disclosed by Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren and Cumberledge because doing so would allow for proper and reliable meshing of the platen gear with the transmission gear, thereby ensuring proper operation of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge and Yada teaches printing device according to claim 1,
wherein the platen gear is rotatable about a platen-gear rotational axis and the platen roller is configured to contact the printing tape at a contact point (Takahashi, see fig. 12), and
wherein, when the platen gear is viewed in a direction parallel to the platen-gear rotational axis in a state where the platen gear meshes with the transmission gear, an angle formed between a first line and a second line is greater than a pressure angle of the platen gear, in which (Takahashi, see fig. 12):
the first line is a line connecting the platen-gear rotational axis to the contact
point; and the second line is a line connecting the platen-gear rotational axis to the transmission-gear rotational axis (Takahashi, see figs. 6, 12).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge and Yada teaches the printing device according to claim 1,
wherein the transmission gear is provided at the printing cassette and is configured to mesh with the platen gear upon attachment of the printing cassette to the cassette accommodation portion (Takahashi, see figs. 6, 11 and 12).
Claim(s) 4-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge and Yada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fukano (5,671,474).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge and Yada teaches the printing device according to claim 1. Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge and Yada does not teach a wherein the roller urging portion comprises a pressing member and a roller urging spring. Fukano teaches a pressing member (Fukano, fig. 6, item 163) in contact with the roller sleeve; and a roller urging spring (Fukano, fig. 4, item 160) urging the pressing member to be pressed against the roller sleeve. It would have been obvious to add a gear urging spring of the type disclosed by Fukano to the platen roller disclosed by Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge and Yada because doing so would allow for uniform pressure to be applied by the platen roller to the thermal head, thereby ensuring uniform print intensity.
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge, Yada and Fukano teaches the printing device according to claim 4, wherein the roller urging spring is positioned between the platen holder and the pressing member (Note that, upon combination of references, the claimed limitation would be met).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge, Yada and Fukano teaches the printing device according to claim 4, wherein the roller urging spring comprises
a first roller urging spring (Fukano, fig. 4, spring 160 higher on page) and a second roller urging spring (Fukano, fig. 4, spring 160 lower on page), and wherein the pressing member comprises:
a first operating part (Fukano, fig. 4, top of part 163 corresponding to first roller urging spring making contact with roller 38c) and a second operating part (Fukano, fig. 4, top of part 163 corresponding to second roller urging spring making contact with roller 38c) in contact with the roller sleeve and spaced apart from each other in the axial direction (Fukano, see figs. 4-6); and
a first pressure receiving part (Fukano, fig. 6, bottom of part 163 making contact with spring) and a second pressure receiving part (Fukano, fig. 6, bottom of part 163 making contact with spring) spaced apart from each other in the axial direction, the first pressure receiving part being in contact with the first roller urging spring and the second pressure receiving part being in contact with the second roller urging spring, the first pressure receiving part and the second pressure receiving part being positioned between the first operating part and the second operating part in the axial direction (Fukano, see figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge, Yada and Fukano teaches the printing device according to claim 6, wherein the roller sleeve defines a center in the axial direction (Takahashi, see fig. 6) wherein the center of the roller sleeve and the first operating part define a first distance in the axial direction therebetween, wherein the center of the roller sleeve and the second operating part define a second distance in the axial direction therebetween, the second distance being equal to the first distance, wherein the center of the roller sleeve and the first pressure receiving part define a third distance in the axial direction therebetween (see Takashi, fig. 6, Fukano, figs. 4-6, note that upon combination, the limitation is met), and
wherein the center of the roller sleeve and the second pressure receiving part define a fourth distance in the axial direction therebetween, the fourth distance being equal to the third distance (see Takahashi, fig. 6, Fukano, figs. 4-6, note that upon combination, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge, Yada and Fukano teaches the printing device according to claim 4,
wherein the pressing member is supported by the platen holder such that the pressing member is pivotable relative to the platen holder (Fukano, fig. 5, Note that if pressing roller 38 is analogized to the platen roller, and item 160/170 are the platen holder, note that springs 164/165 allow the holder 160 to pivot).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge, Yada and Fukano as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (7,421,236).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge, Yada and Fukano teaches the printing device according to claim 4,
wherein the pressing member comprises:
a first operating part (Fukano, fig. 4, top of part 163 corresponding to first roller urging spring making contact with roller 38c) and a second operating part (Fukano, fig. 4, top of part 163 corresponding to second roller urging spring making contact with roller 38c) in contact with the roller sleeve and spaced apart from each other in the axial direction (Fukano, see fig. 4). Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge, Yada and Fukano does not teach
a single pressure receiving part in contact with the roller urging spring, the pressure receiving part being positioned between the first operating part and the second operating part in the axial direction, and
wherein, with respect to the axial direction, the pressure receiving part and the first operating part define a distance therebetween that is equal to a distance between the pressure receiving part and the second operating part.
Jang teaches a single pressure receiving part (Jang, see fig. 4, item 217). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add the single pressure receiving part disclosed by Jang to the device disclosed by Takahashi in view of Bjorkegeren, Cumberledge, Yada and Fukano because doing so would amount to combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853