Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4-11,18,23-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 2025/0016638 A1; hereinafter "WANG"), in view of Freda et al. (US 2023/0180313 A1; hereinafter "Freda").
Regarding claim 1, WANG teaches a first network node (FIG. 3 UE1 100) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one processor (FIG. 1 processor 203); and a memory (FIG. 1 memory 205) coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0048] a user equipment configured to provide wireless communication):
detect a radio link failure for a link with a second network node (FIG. 3 UE2 102) ([0121] the UE1 100 detects RLF on SL carrier 1 and informs UE2 102 of the RLF using SL carrier 2 established between UE1 and UE2);
generate sidelink radio link failure information based on the detected radio link failure ([0124] upon detection of SL RLF, the SL UE ([0132] UE1 100) performs the following actions, [0128] Informing the SL RLF to its peer SL UE ([0132] UE2 102) via other SL carriers which are still active, [0094] upon declaration of SL RLF for at least one SL carrier, the SL UE send a signaling, informing the gNB of the occurrence of SL RLF on the SL carrier); and
transmit the sidelink radio link failure information to a third network node (FIG. 3 gNB 104) ([0122] In operation 3, the UE1 100 informs the gNB 104 of the RLF).
However, WANG does not teach the sidelink radio link failure information including location information and radio link failure cause information.
In an analogous art, Freda teaches the sidelink radio link failure information including location information and radio link failure cause information ([0236] discloses that the failure may occur due to sidelink condition, [0308] discloses that a failure report includes location information, [0119] discloses that the failure information may include a cause value indicating the specific cause).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically WANG teaches wherein the radio link failure comprises a Uu interface radio link failure (RLF) or a sidelink RLF ([0032] SL radio link failure).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically Freda teaches wherein the radio link failure comprises a sidelink RLF ([0236] the WTRU fails the reconfiguration based on the sidelink conditions), and
wherein the radio link failure cause information comprises sidelink radio link failure cause information ([0216] Upon failed SL RRC configuration procedure, the remote WTRU and/or relay WTRU sends an indication of failure to the network, and in some cases the indication includes the failure cause, [0119] A WTRU includes information in the failure message to differentiate a failure that occurred due to its own configuration) and wherein the location information indicates a location of the first network node, the second network node, or both ([0207] the relay WTRU 102 provides to the network, in the Uu RRC message: the location of the remote WTRU, [0236] the WTRU responds with an RRC reconfiguration failure based on the sidelink conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 5, WANG teaches wherein the radio link failure cause information includes satisfaction of a timer condition, satisfaction of a DTX condition, satisfaction of an RLC transmission count condition, or satisfaction of an integrity check condition ([0071] a maximum number of RLC retransmissions has been reached, [0072] a configuration or reconfiguration error occurs upon reception of a RRC configuration/reconfiguration signaling message, [0073] a maximum number of consecutive HARQ DTX has been reached, [0074] No expected acknowledgement received by the peer SL UE upon a timer has expired).
However, WANG does not teach wherein the location information indicates a location of the first network node and comprises UE position information, UE sensor information, or a combination thereof.
In an analogous art, Freda teaches wherein the location information indicates a location of the first network node and comprises UE position information, UE sensor information, or a combination thereof ([0039] the WTRU provides location information regarding the current location of the WTRU 102, [0040] The peripherals 138 includes one or more sensors, [0207] the relay WTRU 102 provides to the network, in the Uu RRC message: the location of the remote WTRU, [0236] the WTRU responds with an RRC reconfiguration failure based on the sidelink conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically Freda teaches wherein the as least one processor (FIG. 1B processor 118) is configured to determine the location information based on UE position information and UE sensor information ([0039] the WTRU 102 acquires location information by way of any suitable location-determination from a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, [0040] The peripherals 138 include one or more sensors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically Freda teaches wherein the as least one processor ([0353] a processor) is configured to determine the location information based on UE position information and UE sensor information ([0039]-[0040]) includes to:
determine UE position information based on satellite positioning information ([0039] the WTRU 102 acquires location information by way of any suitable location-determination based on the GPS chipset); and
adjust the UE position information based on at least one of Bluetooth information, sensor information, to generate the location information ([0039] any suitable location-determination method to provide location information based on a Bluetooth® module and the sensors; [0040]),
wherein the sensor information include accelerometer information ([0040] The sensors may be one or more of an accelerometer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically WANG teaches wherein the sidelink radio link failure information is included in a radio link failure report ([0171] reports the SL RLF to the gNB).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically WANG teaches wherein the sidelink radio link failure information is transmitted separately from a radio link failure report ([0128] Informing the SL RLF to its peer SL UE via other SL carriers which are still active, [0133] The SL UE signals its peer SL UE of the SL RLF via at least one of the following signaling alternatives: [0134]-[0137] PC5-S signaling, PC5-RRC signaling, MAC CE and L1 signaling on physical channels such as PSSCH, PSCCH, PSFCH etc).
Regarding claim 10, WANG teaches wherein: the radio link failure comprises a Uu link failure ([0029] In Uu CA (i.e., carrier aggregation on the Uu interface between the UE and a base station (BS)), RLF may be triggered for the UE, [0061] if connected to a gNB, reports the SL RLF to the gNB using the Uu interface); and
wherein the SL RLF report includes: sidelink frequency details ([0129] Reconfigure the SL carrier. For example, adding or configure a new SL bandwidth part (BWP) for the SL carrier), an exception pool indication ([0017] The UE autonomously selects sidelink resources from a (pre-) configured sidelink resource pool); and
UE speed, UE direction, a TX-RX distance, available measurement results, or a combination thereof ([0165] monitors at least one of radio channel quality, radio link control, RLC, transmission, or hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ, discontinuous transmission, DTX, per SL carrier, [0070] when the consecutively received out-of-sync indications are beyond a configured counter, a timer is started, [0210] provide the drone's speed information (obtained through a speed sensor) adjust the throttle to increase or decrease the drone's speed, [0205] location-based communication such as the use of the global positioning system (GPS) to determine a location).
However, WANG does not teach the sidelink radio link failure information, generated responsive to the first network node being in an RRC IDLE or INACTIVE mode, is: transmitted in a SL RLF report, wherein the SL RLF report includes: a sidelink destination ID, a time since Sidelink RLF, a time stamp, a connection reestablishment indication, a zone ID, and a RAT indication.
In an analogous art, Freda teaches the sidelink radio link failure information, generated responsive to the first network node being in an RRC IDLE or INACTIVE mode, is: transmitted in a SL RLF report ([0206] discloses that a relay WTRU operating in RRC IDLE or INACTIVE states may initiate or modify sidelink radio link failure monitoring depending on the RRC state, [0192] further discloses that sidelink control messages such as PC5-RRC message carry indications related to relay accessibility, thereby supporting transmission of the sidelink failure information in a sidelink report),
wherein the SL RLF report includes: a sidelink destination ID ([0207] SL L2 ID(s) corresponding to the remote WTRU), a time since Sidelink RLF ([0229] release of a PC5-RRC connection depends on a period of time in a given state, [0230] a timer is started upon transition to RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE), a time stamp ([0333] access parameters include whether access is barred at a given time and a value of a barring timer, [0338] determining the value of the barring timer, thereby evidencing maintenance of time-related information associated with the communication event),
a connection reestablishment indication ([0273] an indication if the PC5-RRC connection is established as a result of a Uu RLF or re-establishment),
a zone ID ([0207] location (e.g., in the form of a zone ID) included in the RRC message), and a RAT indication ([0214] the network node may be configured to support multiple radio access technologies (RATs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically WANG teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0048]):
transmit an indication which indicates a SL RLF report is available ([0113] In Msg3, the SL UE MAC entity adds an indicator indicating the above signaling information. The indicator is a field in the MAC subheader or carried in a MAC CE);
receive a SL RLF report request indicating transmission resources for the SL RLF report ([0114] A dedicated preamble or dedicated RACH occasions or dedicated PUSCH occasions/resources are allocated to the UE for indicating the signaling information. Alternatively, indicators can be included in MsgA payload); and
transmit the SL RLF report including the sidelink radio link failure information in the transmission resources indicated by the SL RLF report request ([0171] reports the SL RLF to the gNB, reporting (405) SL RLF and (407) the SL RLF to the gNB, [0114] A dedicated preamble or dedicated RACH occasions or dedicated PUSCH occasions/resources are allocated to the UE for indicating the signaling information).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically WANG teaches wherein the sidelink radio link failure information further includes:
UE ID information for failed relay UEs, attempted relay UEs, reestablished relay UEs, reconnected relay UEs, or a combination thereof ([0097] SL UE ID, [0098] The indices of one or multiple SL carriers, [0099] An indicator indicating that SL RLF has been declared for the carriers),
timing information for connection failures ([0070] a timer is started. While the timer is running, [0074] No expected acknowledgement received by the peer SL UE upon a timer has expired);
duration information for time since failure, time until reconnection, or both ([0070] when the consecutively received out-of-sync indications are beyond a configured counter, a timer is started. The radio link considered to be recovered if, [0074] upon a timer has expired);
connection failure type information ([0100] The RLF cause (i.e., any cause as described in the first embodiment). There may be different RLF causes);
indication information for available serving relay and candidate relay sidelink measurement information; or a combination thereof ([0112] dedicated RACH occasions are allocated to the UE for indicating the above signaling information).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically Freda teaches wherein the at least one processor ([0353] a processor) is configured to:
perform connection establishment operations ([0277] FIG. 9 at 912, a Uu (e.g., relayed) service may be established in the remote WTRU 901);
determine a connection establishment failure ([0288] The behavior at the relay WTRU applies to connection establishment failure at the relay WTRU that occurs for other reasons); and
transmit a CEF report responsive to determining the connection establishment failure ([0349] Connection establishment failure handling at the relay WTRU, [0192] Such indication may come in the form of a reconfiguration failure), the CEF report including UE relay related information ([0073] a NR sidelink relay uses both WTRU-to-Network relay(s) and WTRU-to-WTRU relay(s) based on sidelink, [0191] Such link quality is derived from SL CQI reports, SL RSRP reports, reports of the buffer occupancy, or similar, from the relay WTRU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically Freda teaches wherein to determine the connection establishment failure includes to determine the connection establishment failure based on a sidelink CEF ([0191] One factor that is involved in deciding the link over which to establish a connection is SL quality, [0236] the WTRU fails the reconfiguration based on the sidelink conditions, [0288] The behavior at the relay WTRU applies to connection establishment failure at the relay WTRU such as: relay connection establishment/resume or failed mobility), and wherein the CEF report ([0349] Connection establishment failure handling at the relay WTRU, [0191] Such link quality may be derived from SL CQI reports from the another WTRU) includes:
sidelink measurement information and UE ID information for failed relay UEs ([0191] Such link quality is derived from SL CQI reports, SL RSRP reports from the relay WTRU, [0073] a NR sidelink (SL) relay uses both WTRU-to-Network relay and WTRU-to-WTRU relay based on PC5 (e.g., sidelink), [0288] The behavior at the relay WTRU applies to connection establishment failure at the relay WTRU that occurs for other reasons);
sidelink measurement information and UE ID information of candidate relay UEs ([0191] sidelink link quality used for relay selection may be derived from SL CQI, SL RSRP, or similar measurements obtained from candidate relay WTRUs, [0207] relay-related RRC messages include identifiers of remote WTRUs and information associated with those WTRUs); and
per relay connection failure count information ([0288] connection establishment failure occurs at the relay WTRU, [0287] the relay WTRU transmits a failure indication message upon failure, [0333] access control behavior depends on the number of access attempts and associated retry conditions, thereby evidencing that relay-specific connection failure events may be counted or tracked).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically Freda teaches wherein to determine the connection establishment failure includes to determine the connection establishment failure ([0288] apply to connection establishment failure at the relay WTRU that may occur for other reasons, [0349] Connection establishment failure handling at the relay WTRU) based on a Uu CEF ([0236] the WTRU fails the reconfiguration, [0226] a remote WTRU receives an explicit indication from the network via Uu signaling, [0232] the remote WTRU receives a release to IDLE/INACTIVE from the network), wherein the first network node successfully establishes a sidelink connection ([0277] Following establishment of the PC5-RRC connection specific for relaying at 911, the relay WTRU 901 and remote WTRU 902 both of which is in RRC _INACTIVE, establish a SL-SRB for carrying of Uu SRB0 at 913, [0073] a NR sidelink (SL) relay uses both WTRU-to-Network relay and WTRU-to-WTRU relay based on PC5 (e.g., sidelink)), and wherein the CEF report includes ([0349], [0191]):
relay UE CEF indication information ([0287] the relay WTRU may transmit the failure message); and ID information for remote UE, relay ID or both; or a combination thereof ([0349] Connection establishment failure handling at the relay WTRU, [0228] the remote WTRU determines at, and/or inform, the upper layers of the relay WTRU(s) that are allowed for relaying function, [0277] there may be a remote WTRU 901, a relay WTRU 902, and a network node 903).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically Freda teaches wherein to determine the connection establishment failure includes to determine the connection establishment failure ([0288] apply to connection establishment failure at the relay WTRU that may occur for other reasons, [0349] Connection establishment failure handling at the relay WTRU) based on a Uu CEF ([0236] the WTRU fails the reconfiguration, [0226] a remote WTRU receives an explicit indication from the network via Uu signaling, [0232] the remote WTRU receives a release to IDLE/INACTIVE from the network), wherein the first network node successfully establishes a sidelink connection ([0277] Following establishment of the PC5-RRC connection specific for relaying at 911, the relay WTRU 901 and remote WTRU 902, both of which is in RRC_IDLE, establish a SL-SRB for carrying of Uu SRB0 at 913, [0073] a NR sidelink (SL) relay uses both WTRU-to-Network relay and WTRU-to-WTRU relay based on PC5 (e.g., sidelink)), and wherein the at least one processor ([0353] a processor) is configured to:
refrain from including RACH information in the CEF report when the connection establishment operations are performed via a relay UE ([0278] a relay WTRU encapsulates a message received on PC5-RRC within its own Uu RRC message transmitted to a network node, [0280] a relay WTRU performs a transmission of data to the network while remaining in RRC_INACTIVE state (e.g., inactive data transmission), [0288] The behavior at the relay WTRU applies to connection establishment failure at the relay WTRU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically WANG teaches wherein the second network node comprises a UE (FIG. 3 UE2 102) and the third network node comprises a base station (FIG. 3 gNB 104).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically WANG teaches wherein the sidelink radio link failure information is transmitted in a radio link failure (RLF) report ([0094] the SL UE sends a signaling to the gNB informing the gNB of the occurrence of SL RLF on the SL carrier, [0095] The signaling contains an indicator indicating that SL RLF has been declared for the carriers. The RLF cause; [0099]-[0100]), a Random Access Channel (RACH) report ([0110]-[0112] A 4-step RA can be triggered to carry the signaling. In an example, Msg1 is used to carry the signaling. A dedicated preamble or dedicated RACH occasions are allocated to the UE for indicating the above signaling information, [0115] an RRC message is included in a RACH message, which includes the above signaling information from the SL UE), a connection establishment failure (CEF) report, a mobility history report (MHR), or a successful handover report (SHR).
Regarding claim 30, WANG teaches a first network node (FIG. 3 gNB 104) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor (FIG. 2 processor 303); and a memory (FIG. 2 memory 305) coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0050] executed by the processing circuitry 303):
receive, from a first user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 UE1 100), sidelink radio link failure information associated with a radio link failure for the first UE and a second UE ([0121]-[0122] Turning to FIG. 3, in operation 1, the UE1 100 detects RLF on SL carrier 1. In operation 2, the UE1 100 informs UE2 102 of the RLF using SL carrier 2. In operation 3, the UE1 100 informs the gNB 104 of the RLF).
However, WANG does not the sidelink radio link failure information including location information and radio link failure cause information.
In an analogous art, Freda teaches the sidelink radio link failure information including location information and radio link failure cause information ([0236] discloses that the failure may occur due to sidelink condition, [0308] discloses that a failure report includes location information, [0119] discloses that the failure information may include a cause value indicating the specific cause).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WTRU as taught by Freda within the parameter of WANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to handle a wide range of applications and services with power efficiency improvement (Freda [0073]).
Claims 3,12-17,19 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG, in view of Freda ,and further in view of Orsino (US 2022/0286881 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of WANG and Freda does not teach wherein the radio link failure comprises a Uu interface RLF, and wherein the sidelink radio link failure information further includes an indication that a sidelink link was active during the Uu interface RLF, an indication that Mode-2 exception pool resources were used for the sidelink link, or both.
In an analogous art, Orsino teaches wherein the radio link failure comprises a Uu interface RLF ([0131] an RLF over the cellular radio link), and wherein the sidelink radio link failure information further includes an indication that a sidelink link was active during the Uu interface RLF (FIG. 10A step 1000,1002; [0131] UE1 912-1 sends a failure message over sidelink during the RLF on cellular/Uu link in step 1000).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RLF as taught by Orsino within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance robustness and to avoid connection interruptions through an enhanced NR system and new NR SL framework (Orsino [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of WANG, Freda and Orsino, specifically Orsino teaches wherein the radio link failure comprises a sidelink radio link failure (SL RLF) ([0131] Upon detecting the RLF, UE1 912-1 sends a failure message to UE2 912-2 over the SL between UE1 912-1 and UE2 912-2), and wherein, prior to detecting the SL RLF ([0119] UE1 and UE2 are connected by SL), the at least one processor is configured to ([0152]):
establish a Uu link with the third network node ([0133] UE2 establishes a Uu link to BS1 902-1); and
establish a sidelink link with the second network node, wherein the Uu link and sidelink link are active ([0130] In this example, a SL exists between two UEs 912, which are denoted here as UE1 912-1 and UE2 912-2, [0133] UE2 912-2 either already has a Uu link to a base station 902-1, or establishes a Uu link to BS1 902-1 via the random access procedure.) prior to detecting the SL RLF ([0119] UE1 and UE2 are connected by SL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RLF as taught by Orsino within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance robustness and to avoid connection interruptions through an enhanced NR system and new NR SL framework (Orsino [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of WANG, Freda and Orsino, specifically Orsino teaches wherein the radio link failure comprises a sidelink radio link failure (SL RLF) ([0131]), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0152]):
establish, prior to detecting the SL RLF ([0119]), a Uu link with the third network node ([0130] UE1 912-1 detects an RLF for a cellular link (e.g., a Uu link) between UE1 912-1 and the RAN of the cellular communications system 900, [0133] UE2 912-2 performs a random-access procedure to establish a cellular radio link (e.g., a Uu radio link) to the network);
establish, prior to detecting the SL RLF ([0119]), a sidelink link with the second network node ([0130] In this example, a SL exists between two UEs 912, which are denoted here as UE1 912-1 and UE2 912-2, [0133] UE2 912-2 performs a random-access procedure to establish a cellular radio link (e.g., a Uu radio link) to the network);
receive, prior to detecting the SL RLF ([0119]), a RRC message from the third network node (FIG. 10A step 1008; [0136] upon receiving the failure message from UE2 912-2, BS1 902-1 generates a response and sends the response to UE2 912-2);
switch, prior to detecting the SL RLF ([0119]), to an RRC IDLE or INACTIVE mode for the Uu link after receiving the RRC message ([0133] if no Uu radio link is available and active (i.e., UE2 912-2 operating in SL mode 2)),
wherein the sidelink link is active prior to detecting the SL RLF ([0119] UE1 and UE2 are connected by SL, [0130] a SL exists between two UEs 912); and
resume the Uu link with the third network node after detecting the SL RLF ([0131] After detecting the RLF, UE1 912-1 sends a failure message to UE2 921-2 over the SL, [0133] UE2 912-2 either already has a cellular radio link or establishes a cellular radio link to BS1 902-1 via the random-access procedure) and prior to transmitting the sidelink radio link failure information ([0133] Before sending the failure message to the network, UE2 912-2 performs a random-access procedure to a selected cell if no Uu radio link is available and active).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RLF as taught by Orsino within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance robustness and to avoid connection interruptions through an enhanced NR system and new NR SL framework (Orsino [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of WANG, Freda and Orsino, specifically Orsino teaches wherein the radio link failure comprises a Uu RLF ([0130] UE1 912-1 detects an RLF for a cellular link (e.g., a Uu link) between UE1 912-1 and the RAN of the cellular communications system 900), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0152]):
transmit sidelink activity information to the third network node (FIG. 10A step 1006; [0134] UE2 912-2 sends the failure message to the network via the cellular radio link (e.g., via a Uu radio link), [0136] upon receiving the failure message from UE2 912-2, BS1 902-1 generates a response), the sidelink activity information including an indication of whether a sidelink link with the second network node was active after the Uu RLF ([0130] a SL exists between two UEs, [0131] Upon detecting the RLF over the cellular radio link, UE1 sends a failure message to UE2 via an SL channel (indicating that the sidelink remains active after the Uu RLF), [0133] Upon receiving the failure message from UE1 912-1, UE2 912-2 optionally performs a random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RLF as taught by Orsino within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance robustness and to avoid connection interruptions through an enhanced NR system and new NR SL framework (Orsino [0003]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of WANG, Freda and Orsino, specifically Orsino teaches wherein the sidelink activity information further indicates which mode 2 exception pool resources were used after the Uu RLF ([0048] With mode 2, each device independently decides which SL radio resources to use for SL operations, [0131] After detecting the RLF over the cellular radio link, UE1 sends a failure message to UE2 via an SL channel (indicating that the sidelink remains active after the Uu RLF)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RLF as taught by Orsino within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance robustness and to avoid connection interruptions through an enhanced NR system and new NR SL framework (Orsino [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of WANG, Freda and Orsino, specifically Orsino teaches wherein the radio link failure comprises a sidelink radio link failure (SL RLF) ([0131]), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0152]):
establish, prior to detection of the SL RLF ([0119]), a sidelink link with the second network node ([0130] In this example, a SL exists between two UEs 912, which are denoted here as UE1 912-1 and UE2 912-2, [0133] UE2 912-2 performs a random-access procedure to establish a cellular radio link (e.g., a Uu radio link) to the network), wherein the second network node has a Uu link with a fourth network node ([0138] BS2 902-2 generates a response and sends the response to UE2 912-2 directly); and
establish, after detection of the SL RLF and prior to transmission of the sidelink radio link failure information ([0131], [0133]), a second sidelink link with the third network node (FIG. 10A step 1008,1010; [0134] UE2 912-2 sends the failure message to the network via the cellular radio link, [0136] In a first alternative solution (ALT #1), upon receiving the failure message from UE2 912-2, BS1 902-1 generates a response and sends the response to UE2 912-2. UE2 912-2 forwards the response to UE1 912-1), wherein the fourth network node receives the sidelink radio link failure information from the third network node ([0134] UE2 912-2 sends the failure message to the network via the cellular radio link (e.g., via a Uu radio link), [0136] upon receiving the failure message from UE2 912-2, BS1 902-1 sends the failure message to another base station BS2 902-2), and
wherein the first network node does not have a direct Uu link with the fourth network node ([0131] upon detecting an RLF over the cellular radio link (e.g., no Uu radio link), UE1 912-1 sends the failure message to UE2 912-2 via an SL channel, [0138] upon receiving the failure message from UE2 912-2, BS1 902-1 sends the failure message to another base station BS 902-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RLF as taught by Orsino within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance robustness and to avoid connection interruptions through an enhanced NR system and new NR SL framework (Orsino [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of WANG, Freda and Orsino, specifically Orsino teaches wherein the sidelink radio link failure information further includes original relay ID information, relation reselection cause information (FIG. 10B step 1018, 1020 and 1022; [0132] the FailureInformation message that is sent by UE1 912-1 to UE2 912-2 is enhanced by including a failure case that helps the network to understand what condition has caused the failure, [0134] UE2 912-2 sends the failure message to the network via the cellular radio link (e.g., via a Uu radio link)) and new relay ID information ([0123] discloses that UE2 forwards the failure message to the network, thereby acting as a relay node, [0122] the message includes UE identity information, thereby conveying the identity of the relay UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RLF as taught by Orsino within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance robustness and to avoid connection interruptions through an enhanced NR system and new NR SL framework (Orsino [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of WANG and Freda, specifically WANG teaches wherein the link is a sidelink link, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0048]):
generate sidelink activity information based on the detected beam failure ([0121] FIG. 3, in operation 1, the UE1 100 detects RLF on SL carrier 1. In operation 2, the UE1 100 informs UE2 102 of the RLF using SL carrier 2),
transmit the sidelink activity information to the third network node in a RACH report ([0114] A 2-step RA can be triggered to carry the signaling. A dedicated preamble or dedicated RACH occasions or dedicated PUSCH occasions/resources may be allocated to the UE for indicating the signaling information, [0173] sends the signaling to the gNB a RACH procedure initiated at the SL UE).
However, the combination of WANG and Freda does not teach detect a beam failure for a beam associated with the second network node; perform beam failure recovery operations for the detected beam failure; the sidelink activity information including an indication of whether the sidelink link was active during the beam failure recovery operations, an indication of what sidelink resources were used during the beam failure recovery operations, or both.
In an analogous art, Orsino teaches detect a beam failure for a beam associated with the second network node ([0130] UE1 912-1 detects an RLF for a cellular link (e.g., a Uu link) if the measured RSRP is too low or upon a failure to decode PDCCH); perform beam failure recovery operations for the detected beam failure ([0133] UE2 912-2 optionally performs a random-access procedure to establish a cellular radio link);
the sidelink activity information including an indication of what sidelink resources were used during the beam failure recovery operations ([0048] With autonomous RA, each device independently decides which SL radio resources to use for SL operations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RLF as taught by Orsino within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance robustness and to avoid connection interruptions through an enhanced NR system and new NR SL framework (Orsino [0003]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of WANG, Freda and Orsino, specifically Orsino teaches wherein the as least one processor is configured to ([0152]):
receive a message from the third network node responsive to transmission of the sidelink radio link failure information (FIG. 10A step 1008 and 1010; [0136] Upon receiving the failure message from UE2 912-2, BS1 902-1 generates a response and sends the response to UE2 912-2. UE2 912-2 forwards the response to UE1 912-1); and perform recovery operations based on the receipt of the message ([0136] Upon receiving the response, UE1 912-1 performs one or more actions in accordance with the response (step 1012). For example, if the response is an RRC message for a particular RRC procedure, UE1 912-1 then continues the particular RRC procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the message as taught by Orsino within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance robustness and to avoid connection interruptions through an enhanced NR system and new NR SL framework (Orsino [0003]).
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG, in view of Freda, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0253966 A1; hereinafter "Park").
Regarding claim 20, the combination of WANG and Freda does not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate sidelink mobility history information; and transmit the sidelink mobility history information to the third network node, wherein the sidelink mobility history information includes: destination ID information for sidelink unicast transmissions; sidelink unicast link duration information; dual connection duration information;Uu link only duration information; SL link only duration information; sidelink multicast information; or a combination thereof.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to (FIG. 3 processor 314):
generate sidelink mobility history information ([0205] The wireless device initiates a measurement report procedure, [0357] The wireless device information comprises a sidelink and a mobility history report which indicates a measurement report and a measurement result); and
transmit the sidelink mobility history information to the third network node ([0205] A measurement report procedure is used to transfer measurement results from a wireless device to an NG-RAN. A measurement report message is used to transmit measurement results),
wherein the sidelink mobility history information includes destination ID information for sidelink unicast transmissions ([0314] A mobility history report comprises one or more cell identifier(s) of one or more cells that the wireless device 1601 visited), dual connection duration information ([0266] a wireless device is connected to multiple base stations simultaneously in multi connectivity, [0197] establishment, maintenance, and release of dual connectivity, thereby evidencing the temporal existence of dual connectivity from which duration information is derived), and:
Uu link only duration information ([0308] a time duration after the failed connection establishment attempt. A timeSinceFailure IE indicating a time elapsed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a mobility history report as taught by Park within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve wireless communications and/or increase power efficiency by using configuration parameters (Park [0004]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of WANG, Freda and Park, specifically Park teaches wherein the sidelink mobility history information is included in a MHR ([0357] The wireless device information comprises an RLM report as well as a mobility history report) or a sidelink MHR, and
wherein a UE is considered out of coverage (OOC) when there is no Uu coverage but there is still sidelink coverage ([0346] An RLM report comprises an RLM event IE indicating one of early-out-of-sync or early-in-sync, [0334] the one or more second radio resource configuration parameters are for a sidelink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device information as taught by Park within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve wireless communications and/or increase power efficiency by using configuration parameters (Park [0004]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of WANG, Freda and Park, specifically Park teaches wherein the MHR ([0345] A mobility history report) or sidelink MHR further includes: relay UE ID information ([0097] SL UE ID);
frequency of relay information ([0219] modulation and up-conversion to the carrier frequency, [0221] DM-RS is spanning a same frequency range as a corresponding physical channel);
serving cell frequency information ([0122] UE identity, and/or serving frequencies);
serving cell ID information ([0323] serving cell identifier (servCellIdentity IE));
time Spent in each relay information ([0345] time spent IE); and
RRC state information ([0198] An RRC sublayer supports an RRC_Idle state, an RRC_Inactive state, and/or an RRC_Connected state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a mobility history report as taught by Park within the parameter of WANG and Freda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve wireless communications and/or increase power efficiency by using configuration parameters (Park [0004]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0038878 A1 (JUNG et al.) discloses a method and device by which a terminal performs communication in a wireless communication system.
US 2025/0142371 A1 (KIM) discloses a 5G or 6G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate.
US 2025/0151090 A1 (SHARMA et al.) discloses a wireless telecommunications apparatus for use in a wireless telecommunications network is provided.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413