DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 11/24/25. As directed by the amendment: no claims have been amended, claims 19 and 20 have been cancelled, and new claims 21 and 22 have been added. Thus, claims 1-18, 21, and 22 are presently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11/24/25 is acknowledged. Claims 11-18 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alvarez et al. (US 20130006167).
Regarding claim 1, Alvarez et al. discloses an apparatus (apparatus of fig. 6A-B, comprising at least 106, 108, 110, 142, 144, and 146) for use with a guidewire having a distal guidewire section (fig. 6A-B fully capable of use with a guidewire having a distal guidewire section), comprising: an elongated catheter assembly 106 defining a catheter lumen (interior lumen of 106 visible in fig. 6A-B) being configured to receive the distal guidewire section of the guidewire (lumen is fully capable of receiving the distal guidewire section), and also defining an axial portal (unlabeled distal opening in 106; see fig. 6A-B) and a radial portal 110; and a guidewire deflector 142 being mounted to the elongated catheter assembly (see fig. 6A-B), and the guidewire deflector being configured to selectively deflect urged axial movement of the distal guidewire section of the guidewire away from the axial portal and radially toward the radial portal (see functionality illustrated in fig. 6B vs. the initial configuration of fig. 6A; fully capable of use with a distal guidewire section).
Regarding claim 2, Alvarez et al. discloses an apparatus (apparatus of fig. 6A-B, comprising at least 106, 108, 110, 142, 144, and 146) for use with a guidewire having a distal guidewire section (fig. 6A-B fully capable of use with a guidewire having a distal guidewire section), comprising: an elongated catheter assembly 106 defining a catheter lumen extending axially along the elongated catheter assembly (interior lumen of 106 visible in fig. 6A-B); and the catheter lumen being configured to receive the distal guidewire section of the guidewire (fig. 6A-B fully capable of use with a guidewire having a distal guidewire section); and the elongated catheter assembly defining an axial portal extending axially from the catheter lumen (unlabeled distal opening in 106; see fig. 6A-B); and the elongated catheter assembly also defining a radial portal 110 extending radially from the catheter lumen (see fig. 6A-B); and a guidewire deflector 142 mounted in the catheter lumen (see fig. 6A-B); and the guidewire deflector being configured to selectively deflect urged axial movement of the distal guidewire section of the guidewire being made to travel axially along the catheter lumen away from the axial portal and radially toward the radial portal (see functionality illustrated in fig. 6B vs. the initial configuration of fig. 6A; fully capable of use with a distal guidewire section).
Regarding claim 3, Alvarez et al. discloses the elongated catheter assembly has a sidewall (proximal portion of sidewall of 106, see fig. 6A-B); and the elongated catheter assembly also has a distal section extending from the sidewall (distal portion of 106, see fig. 6A-B).
Regarding claim 4, Alvarez et al. discloses the catheter lumen extends axially toward and through a distal section of the elongated catheter assembly to the axial portal (see fig. 6A-B).
Regarding claim 5, Alvarez et al. discloses a distal section of the elongated catheter assembly is configured to permit movement of the distal guidewire section of the guidewire travelling axially along the catheter lumen toward, and through, the axial portal (see fig. 6A); and the distal section defines the radial portal extending radially from the catheter lumen (see fig. 6A-B); and the radial portal extends radially through a sidewall of the elongated catheter assembly (sidewall of 106; see fig. 6A-B).
Regarding claim 6, Alvarez et al. discloses the guidewire deflector is mounted in the catheter lumen at a distal section of the elongated catheter assembly (see fig. 6A-B); and the guidewire deflector is mounted proximate to the axial portal (see fig. 6A-B).
Regarding claim 7, Alvarez et al. discloses a proximal section of the catheter lumen (proximal portion of 106) is configured to receive the distal guidewire section of the guidewire (106 is open through its length; see fig. 6A-B); and a distal section of the catheter lumen (distal portion of 106) defines the axial portal and the radial portal (see fig. 6A-B).
Regarding claim 8, Alvarez et al. discloses the catheter lumen, the axial portal and the radial portal are in fluid communication with each other (see fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 9, Alvarez et al. discloses the guidewire deflector is user controllable (142 is inflatable/deflatable via 144 and 146; par. 0071-0073).
Regarding claim 10, Alvarez et al. discloses the guidewire deflector includes: a balloon assembly (142 is a balloon) configured to be selectively inflated and deflated (par. 0071-0073); and an inflation lumen 144 extending along a length of the elongated catheter assembly (see fig. 6A); and the inflation lumen being in fluid communication with the balloon assembly (see fig. 6A; par. 0071-0073); and the inflation lumen being configured to be fluidly connected to an inflation source (via 146; par. 0071-0073).
Regarding claim 21, Alvarez et al. discloses an apparatus (apparatus of fig. 6A-B, comprising at least 106, 108, 110, 142, 144, and 146) for use with a guidewire having a distal guidewire section (fig. 6A-B fully capable of use with a guidewire having a distal guidewire section), comprising: an elongated catheter assembly 106 defining a catheter lumen (interior lumen of 106; see fig. 6A-B) extending axially along the elongated catheter assembly (see fig. 6A-B); and the catheter lumen being configured to receive the distal guidewire section of the guidewire (lumen is fully capable of receiving the distal guidewire section); and the elongated catheter assembly defining an axial portal extending axially from the catheter lumen (unlabeled distal opening in 106; see fig. 6A-B); and the elongated catheter assembly also defining a radial portal 110 extending radially from the catheter lumen (see fig. 6A-B); the catheter lumen, the axial portal and the radial portal are in fluid communication with each other (see fig. 6A-B); and a guidewire deflector 142 mounted in the catheter lumen (see fig. 6A-B); wherein the guidewire deflector includes: a balloon assembly (142 is a balloon) configured to be selectively inflated and deflated to orient and direct movement of the distal guidewire section (see functionality illustrated in fig. 6B vs. the initial configuration of fig. 6A; fully capable of use with a distal guidewire section; par. 0071-0073); and an inflation lumen 144 extending along a length of the elongated catheter assembly (see fig. 6A); and the inflation lumen being in fluid communication with the balloon assembly (fig. 6A; par. 0071-0073); the balloon assembly being configured to selectively deflect urged axial movement of the distal guidewire section of the guidewire being made to travel axially along the catheter lumen to ramp up against the balloon assembly away from the axial portal and radially toward the radial portal when inflated (see functionality illustrated in fig. 6B vs. the initial configuration of fig. 6A; fully capable of use with a distal guidewire section); and the balloon assembly being configured to selectively permit urged axial movement of the distal guidewire section of the guidewire to travel axially along the catheter lumen through the axial portal when deflated (see fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 22, Alvarez et al. discloses the balloon assembly extends distal of the radial portal (see fig. 6A-B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mauch (US 20080154172): Fig. 3 discloses a mechanism, in particular element 36, similar to that disclosed by Alvarez et al. (cited in IDS dated 9/16/24 in the file wrapper).
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783