DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to the Applicant’s Remarks and RCE filed 10/23/2025 and 11/24/2025, respectively.
Claims 1-19 are pending and stand rejected in this Office Action. Claims 1, 10, 12 and 14 are independent.
Priority
Acknowledged is this Application claims the benefit of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), based on priority papers filed in parent Application No. 2022-046275, filed 03/23/2023 to JAPAN which is incorporated herein by reference for all purposes.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/23/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been respectfully and fully considered. As per the Examiner’s responses, please refer to below discussions.
The Applicant argued that
“”However, Krishnaraj merely overlays images and does not
describe displaying a slider in an overlapping manner or causing transition to the position of an
icon linked to the slider. Moreover, simply overlaying images does not provide the effect of
helping users easily find their desired image. In contrast, in the present application, by
superimposing and displaying a slider with a jump function to an arbitrary position on the
generation-based model display screen, the user can easily reach the target product.
Furthermore, in the present application, the term "chronological" is used in the
context of displaying in timeline a marker representing chronological information and an icon
corresponding to the product purchased by a user in association with each other. This enables the
user to instantly identify the position of the purchased product among products based on the
specified chronological information. ””,
The Examine respectfully agreed and incorporated a reference published to Sugiura for curing the said deficiency of Scott, Tsuboi and Krishnaraj and for replacing Tsuboi reference, in the instant action.
The Examine respectfully submits that Scott in view of Sugiura teaches a slider in a manner on the plurality of products within the display range of the display screen (Scott: Fig. 10 and col. 14, lines 3-10, products selected based on type, category, subcategory and additional criterial scrolled by different sliders of and within perspective range and displayed within the range of the advertisement display), while Sugiura teaches displaying in an overlapping manner (See Sugiura: Figs. 4-5 and [0079]-[0080] and [0087], the year list and the scroll bar both read on a slider an overlapping manner on the plurality of thumbnail images within the year list range of the display screen in the playlist; and when comments are posted on other thumbnail images, a plurality of comments may also be displayed after the comment 53 with overlapping).
In addition, Sugiura teaches each of the plurality of products being associated with chronological information (See Figs. 4-5 and [0088]-[0089], the thumbnail images S1, S2 and S3 are called from the network data DB 13 and displayed associated with chronological information Dec, 12-1, Dec, 12-2, Dec, 12-3) for meeting the required ““chronological" is used in the context of displaying in timeline a marker representing chronological information””.
As per the subject matter of “the slider being displayed in an overlapping manner. However, Krishnaraj merely overlays images and does not describe … causing transition to the position of an icon linked to the slider” as under being argued, the Examine respectfully submits the subject matter was not seemed recited in the texts of the claims 1-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10, 12, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
Scott et al.: "METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR DISPLAYING ITEMS", U.S. Patent 10515140 B1, DATE PUBLISHED 2019-12-24 and DATE FILED 2015-07-06, hereafter "Scott") in view of
Sugiura et al.: "DISPLAY CONTROL DEVICE, DISPLAY CONTROL METHOD, AND PROGRAM", U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140306976 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2014-10-16 and DATE FILED 2012-10-10, hereafter "Sugiura").
As per claim 1, Scott teaches an information processing method executed by a processor, wherein the information processing method comprises:
controlling a display to display (See col. 16, lines 65-67, the server 1024 controls the display window 1058 to display all styles of women's shoes. Here controlling the “all styles of women's shoes” as the “a display” to display, the display window):
a display range of a display screen (See Fig. 10, and col. 14, lines 36-38, the website selection screen is displayed within the range define by the screen depicted as element 1050, a price range selector displays the price range in the screen); and
a plurality of products within the display range of the display screen (See Fig. 10, and col. 15, lines 1-5, more than one of the category identifiers 1100 are selectable such that the display window 1058 includes a product image 1076 and/or product description 1078 for each of the products available on the website 1022 in each of the categories selected.).
Scott further teaches a slider in a manner on the plurality of products within the display range of the display screen (Fig. 10 and col. 14, lines 3-10, products selected based on type, category, subcategory and additional criterial scrolled by different sliders of and within perspective range and displayed within the range of the advertisement display) without teaching displaying in an overlapping manner.
However, Scott does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of products being associated with chronological information; and a slider in an overlapping manner on the plurality of products within the display range of the display screen.
On the other hand, as an analogous art on providing and controlling display items on screen, Sugiura teaches each of the plurality of products being associated with chronological information (See Figs. 4-5 and [0088]-[0089], the thumbnail images S1, S2 and S3 are called from the network data DB 13 and displayed associated with chronological information Dec, 12-1, Dec, 12-2, Dec, 12-3); and
a slider in an overlapping manner on the plurality of products within the display range of the display screen (See Figs. 4-5 and [0079]-[0080] and [0087], the year list and the scroll bar both read on a slider an overlapping manner on the plurality of thumbnail images within the year list of the display screen in the playlist; and when comments are posted on other thumbnail images, a plurality of comments may also be displayed after the comment 53 with overlapping).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant's application was filed to combine Sugiura's teaching with Scott reference because Scott is dedicated to displaying a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item, Sugiura is dedicated to controlling display of the local data and the network data on a display unit based on time information associated with the network data and the local data, and the combined teaching would have allowed Scott to display product items under a category or criteria in an overlapping and chronological manner such that window display area would have been more optimal utilized and product items could been retrieved based on time order the items being introduced to the market.
Scott in view of Sugiura further teaches the following:
a slider including a slider scale containing a plurality of markers (See Scott: Figs. 10 and 12, and col. 20, lines 20-22, 31-36 and 50-53, a selected price range to display in the display window 1058 only the selected shoes priced in a range selected by a customer via sliding over the price range between minimum price and maximum price identifiers (the price icons). The prices, brands, sizes, … each teaches icons and markers)
each representing different chronological information (See Sugiura: Figs. 4-5 and [0088]-[0089], the thumbnail images S1, S2 and S3 are called from the network data DB 13 and displayed associated with each different chronological information Dec, 12-1, Dec, 12-2, Dec, 12-3) and
an icon of a product purchased by a user among the plurality of products (See Scott: Abstract and col. 5, lines 7-15, displaying of a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item; and after selecting the item(s) that the customer 10 wishes to purchase, an order is sent to the merchant and the order is placed which includes payment by the customer 10 to the merchant 20 for the items. The merchant 20 then delivers the items to the customer 10 as indicated by the line 36. Here the item selected and purchased with payment included teaches the product purchased);
controlling the display to change the display range of the display screen displayed on the display based on an amount of an operation of the slider scale by the user (See Scott: Fig. 10 and col. 20, lines 31-16, in response to changing the price range selector 1094 as set forth, the display window is also updated in real time to include a product image 1076 and/or product description 1078 for only the selected products within the price range selected via the price range selector 1094. Here the width of price range the user selected teaches the amount of an operation of the slider scale by the user);
controlling the display to display the icon in accordance with a marker (See Scott: Figs. 10 and 12, and col. 20, lines 50-53, the customer selects the brand Adidas® in the brand menu 1084, the product search tools 1080 in the filter window 1056B are updated in real time. The price identifiers teaches icons associated with a product of a brand selected by the customer teaches the product registered by the customer to purchase and the price range teaches price scale)
representing the chronological information associated with a product corresponding to the icon purchased on a date matching the chronological information represented by the marker among the plurality of markers (See Sugiura: Figs. 4-5 and [0088]-[0090], the thumbnail images S1, S2 and S3 are called from the network data DB 13 and displayed associated with chronological information Dec, 12-1, Dec, 12-2, Dec, 12-3, here the thumbnail images also reads on the markers, when the thumbnail image S3 is the network data collected from the NWS-2, the display control unit 17 displays the NWS icon 12 indicating "NWS-2" on the thumbnail image S3 of the date Dec, 12-3. In addition, even in the case of displaying the comment 57 on the image data, the NWS icon 12 is displayed. Here the date Dec, 12-3 matching the chronological information represented by the marker; and Scott: Figs. 10 and 12, and col. 20, lines 20-22, 31-36 and 50-53, a selected price range to display in the display window 1058 only the selected shoes priced in a range selected by a customer via sliding over the price range between minimum price and maximum price identifiers (the price icons). The prices, brands, sizes, … each teaches icons and markers); and
controlling the display to display information about the product purchased by the user and associated with the icon, in response to selection of the icon by an operation by the user (See Scott: Abstract and col. 5, lines 7-15, displaying of a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item; and after selecting the item(s) that the customer 10 wishes to purchase, an order is sent to the merchant and the order is placed which includes payment by the customer 10 to the merchant 20 for the items. The merchant 20 then delivers the items to the customer 10 as indicated by the line 36; and further at Scott: Figs. 10 and 12, and col. 20, lines 20-22, 31-36 and 50-53, a selected price range to display in the display window 1058 only the selected shoes priced in a range selected by a customer via sliding over the price range between minimum price and maximum price identifiers (the price icons). The prices, brands, sizes, … each teaches icons and markers).
As per claim 2, Scott in view of Sugiura teaches the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the product purchased by the user is a product possessed by the user (See Scott: Abstract and col. 5, lines 7-15, displaying of a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item; and after selecting the item(s) that the customer 10 wishes to purchase, an order is sent to the merchant and the order is placed which includes payment by the customer 10 to the merchant 20 for the items. The merchant 20 then delivers the items to the customer 10 as indicated by the line 36. Here the item selected and purchased with payment included teaches the product purchased and owned; and further at Scott: Figs. 10 and 12, and col. 20, lines 20-22, 31-36 and 50-53, a selected price range to display in the display window 1058 only the selected shoes priced in a range selected by a customer via sliding over the price range between minimum price and maximum price identifiers (the price icons), and in response to the price range selected, the display window is updated to include products listed by image 1076 and/or description 1078 for only the selected products within the price range selected via the price range selector 1094, and the customer selects the brand Adidas® in the brand menu 1084, the product search tools 1080 in the filter window 1056B are updated in real time. The price identifiers teaches icons associated with a product of a brand selected by the customer teaches the product registered by the customer to purchase and the price range in dollars teaches price scale and selecting the shoes of a brand with a selected price range in which selecting shoes of a brand and selecting price range teaches the product registered by the user is a product possessed by the user).
As per claim 3, Scott in view of Sugiura teaches the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the slider includes a scale line associated with particular information about the product (See Scott: Fig. 10 and col. 20, lines 31-16, in response to changing the price range selector 1094 as set forth, the display window is also updated in real time to include a product image 1076 and/or product description 1078 for only the selected products within the price range selected via the price range selector 1094. Here the price range selected via price range slider teaches the particular information about the product), and
wherein the information processing method further comprises, in response to selection of the scale line by the user, transitioning to information about the product associated with the scale line (See Scott: Fig. 10, elements 1156-1162 and col. 20, lines 12-22, in the display window 1058 only the selected shoes priced in a range between $50 and $150, a customer 10 moves the minimum price slider 1156 towards the right side of the filter window 1056 until the minimum price identifier 1158 is set to $50. Similarly, the maximum price slider is moved towards the left side of the filter window 1056 until the maximum price identifier is set to $150. Thus, as the minimum and maximum price sliders 1156 and 1160 are moved, the corresponding minimum and maximum price identifiers 1158, 1162 respectively are updated in real time. Here the information of $50 and $150 is transmitted for display as respective values of the price identifiers.).
As per claim 4, Scott in view of Sugiura teaches the information processing method according to claim 3, wherein the information processing method further comprises controlling (See Scott: Fig. 10 and col. 20, lines 31-16, in response to changing the price range selector 1094 as set forth, the display window is also updated in real time to include a product image 1076 and/or product description 1078 for only the selected products within the price range selected via the price range selector 1094. Here changing the price range selector 1094 by setting forth the maximum and minimum price sliders teaches controlling the sliders),
in response to a slide operation performed by the user on the scale line, transition to the information about the product associated with the scale line situated at a position where the slide operation performed by the user has stopped (See Fig. 10 and col. 20, lines 21-31, in the display window 1058 only the selected shoes priced in a range between $50 and $150, a customer 10 moves the minimum price slider 1156 towards the right side of the filter window 1056 until the minimum price identifier 1158 is set to $50. Similarly, the maximum price slider is moved towards the left side of the filter window 1056 until the maximum price identifier is set to $150. Thus, as the minimum and maximum price sliders 1156 and 1160 are moved, the corresponding minimum and maximum price identifiers 1158, 1162 respectively are updated in real time. Here the price sliders operation stopped after the maximum and minimum prices selected).
As per claim 10, the claim recites an information processing apparatus comprising a processor configured (See Scott: col. 4, lines 62-65, the server 24, having sequences of instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor) to perform the steps of the method as recited in claim 1 and rejected above under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Sugiura.
Therefore, claim 10 rejected along the same rationale that rejected claim 1.
As per claim 12, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer (See Scott: col. 4, line 66 – col. 5, line 3, computer executable instructions, programs, software and the like may be loaded into the memory of the customer computer 14 or the server 24, using a drive mechanism associated with the computer readable medium) to execute the steps of the method as recited in claim 1 and rejected above under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Sugiura.
Therefore, claim 12 rejected along the same rationale that rejected claim 1.
As per claim 14, Scott in view of Sugiura teaches an information processing method executed by a processor of a terminal apparatus (See Scott: Fig. 1, a customer 10 (or consumer or client or shopper or buyer) and the customer computer 14 is connected to or communicates with the merchant server 24 through a communications network 18)
comprising an operation input unit configured to receive a slide operation and a display (See Scott: Fig. 10, col. 3, lines 45-65, and col. 20, lines 20-22, 31-36 and 50-53, the customer 10 uses the web browser 12 as a user interface to view and/or communicate with the merchant website 22 that is displayed on the customer computer 14 allowing the customer 10 to interact with the merchant website, and a selected price range to display in the display window 1058 only the selected shoes priced in a range selected by a customer via sliding over the price range between minimum price and maximum price identifiers (the price icons),
wherein the information processing method comprises operations recited as steps of the method of the claim 1 and rejected above under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Sugiura.
Accordingly, claim 14 rejected along the same rationale that rejected claim 1.
As per claim 17, Scott in view of Sugiura teaches the information processing method according to claim 14, further comprising:
displaying, in the first display area, the product associated with the chronological information represented by the marker situated at a position where the slide operation performed by the user has stopped, in response to receiving the slide operation performed by the user within the second display area (See Scott: Figs. 10- 11, and col. 20, lines 20-22, 31-36 and 50-53, the customer selects the brand Adidas® in the brand menu 1084, the product search tools 1080 in the filter window 1056B are updated in real time. The price identifiers teaches icons associated with a product of a brand selected by the customer teaches the product registered by the customer to purchase and the price range teaches price scale, a selected price range to display in the display window 1058 only the selected shoes priced in a range selected by a customer via sliding over the price range between minimum price and maximum price identifiers (the price icons). The prices, brands, sizes, … each teaches icons and markers. Here once the price ranges selected as depicted on Fig. 10, on which the user stopped further clicking and in response the browser displayed product with price information as displayed on Fig. 11 in new window; and Sugiura: Figs. 4-5 and [0088]-[0089], the thumbnail images S1, S2 and S3 are called from the network data DB 13 and displayed associated with each different chronological information Dec, 12-1, Dec, 12-2, Dec, 12-3).
As per claim 18, Scott in view of Sugiura teaches the information processing method according to claim 14, further comprising: displaying, in the first display area, information about the product purchased by the user and associated with the first icon, in response to selection of the first icon by the user (See Scott: Abstract and col. 5, lines 7-15, displaying of a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item; and after selecting the item(s) that the customer 10 wishes to purchase, an order is sent to the merchant and the order is placed which includes payment by the customer 10 to the merchant 20 for the items. The merchant 20 then delivers the items to the customer 10 as indicated by the line 36. Here the item selected and purchased with payment included teaches the product purchased and owned; and further at Scott: Fig. 10, and col. 14, lines 1-5 and 36-38, the website selection screen is displayed within the range define by the screen depicted as element 1050, a price range selector displays the price range in the screen, and more than one of the category identifiers 1100 are selectable such that the display window 1058 includes a product image 1076 and/or product description 1078 for each of the products available on the website 1022 in each of the categories selected.).
As per claim 19, Scott in view of Sugiura teaches the information processing method according to claim 14, further comprising: displaying the information about the product purchased by the user in the first display area includes displaying a second icon associated with the product purchased by the user while associating with the information about the product purchased by the user (See Scott: Abstract and col. 5, lines 7-15, displaying of a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item; and after selecting the item(s) that the customer 10 wishes to purchase, an order is sent to the merchant and the order is placed which includes payment by the customer 10 to the merchant 20 for the items. The merchant 20 then delivers the items to the customer 10 as indicated by the line 36. Here the item selected and purchased with payment included teaches the product purchased and owned; and further at Scott: Fig. 10, and col. 14, lines 1-5 and 36-38, the website selection screen is displayed within the range define by the screen depicted as element 1050, a price range selector displays the price range in the screen, and more than one of the category identifiers 1100 are selectable such that the display window 1058 includes a product image 1076 and/or product description 1078 for each of the products available on the website 1022 in each of the categories selected.).
Claims 5, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
Scott in view of Sugiura, as applied to claims 1-4, 10, 12, 14 and 17-19 above, and further in view of
KIM et al.: "MOBILE TERMINAL CAPABLE OF MANAGING SCHEDULE AND METHOD OF CONTROLLING THE MOBILE TERMINAL", U.S. Patent Application Publication 20100030612 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2010-02-04 and DATE FILED 2008-12-12, hereafter "KIM").
As per claim 5, Scott in view of Sugiura does not explicitly teach the information processing method according to claim 4, further comprising: controlling, in response to a slide operation performed by the user with a finger on the scale line, the display to display transition to the information about the product associated with the scale line situated at a position where the finger of the user has stopped.
However, KIM teaches the information processing method according to claim 4, further comprising:
controlling, in response to a slide operation performed by the user with a finger on the scale line, the display to display transition to the information about the product associated with the scale line situated at a position where the finger of the user has stopped (See KIM: [0075], determine what part of the display unit 151 is being approached by the user's finger and whether the user's finger is moving within a close range of the display unit 151 by determining which of the proximity sensors 141 outputs a proximity signal. Therefore, the control unit 180 may control a touch key corresponding to a position on the display unit 151 approached by the user's finger to be chosen and may thus control a vibration signal corresponding to the chosen touch key.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant's application was filed to combine KIM's teaching with Scott in view of Sugiura reference because Scott is dedicated to displaying a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item, Sugiura is dedicated to controlling display of the local data and the network data on a display unit based on time information associated with the network data and the local data, and KIM is dedicated to controlling a mobile terminal capable of managing schedule by using a map, and the combined teaching would have enabled Scott in view of Sugiura to sense and perceive user’s finger pointing and moving for directly and more conveniently moving sliders and selecting shoes brands.
As per claim 9, Scott in view of Sugiura and further in view of KIM teaches the information processing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
controlling the display to display list information about the products that illustrates a total number of products and a number of products viewed by the user (See KIM: Figs. 9b-9c, [0133] and [0170], the control unit 180 may display a text-based schedule list screen 205 and a schedule map 206 in the display region. The user may obtain schedule information of each schedule item of the text-based schedule list from the text-based schedule list screen 205 and may identify a schedule place corresponding to each schedule item of the text-based schedule list from the schedule map 206, and may display a flag representing the new schedule place registered in operation S135 on the schedule map and the flag may be an object or an icon displayed on the schedule map and represents the new schedule place the scale of the schedule map 254 may also change according to changes to congestion or other route characteristic changes. Here the finger screen touched based for obtaining schedule information of each schedule as depicted on Fig. 9c teaches controlling the display to display information, the schedule map; and the schedule map teaches the).
As per claim 11, Scott in view of Sugiura and further in view of KIM teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the processor is configured to display list information about products (See KIM: Figs. 9b-9c, [0133] and [0170], the control unit 180 may display a text-based schedule list screen 205 and a schedule map 206 in the display region. The user may obtain schedule information of each schedule item of the text-based schedule list from the text-based schedule list screen 205 and may identify a schedule place corresponding to each schedule item of the text-based schedule list from the schedule map 206, and may display a flag representing the new schedule place registered in operation S135 on the schedule map and the flag may be an object or an icon displayed on the schedule map and represents the new schedule place the scale of the schedule map 254 may also change according to changes to congestion or other route characteristic changes. Here the schedule map 254 may also change according to changes to congestion or other route characteristic changes teaches the transition).
Claims 6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
Scott in view of Sugiura, as applied to claims 1-4, 10, 12, 14 and 17-19 above and further in view of
Naaman et al.: "ELECTRONIC AUCTION PLATFORM WITH MULTI-LOT, MULTI-BUYER AUCTIONS", (United States Patent Application Publication US 20220270166 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2022-08-25; and DATE FILED 2022-02-22, hereafter "Naaman").
As per claim 6, Scott in view of Sugiura does not explicitly teach the information processing method according to claim 3, wherein the scale line is associated with a year when the product was sold.
On the other hand, Naaman teaches the information processing method according to claim 3, wherein the scale line is associated with a year when the product was sold (See [0027]-[0028], offering a 12 month contract for 1,200 units of product equally distributed over this or the following year and sales being desired in many forms).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant's application was filed to combine Naaman's teaching with Scott in view of Sugiura reference because Scott is dedicated to displaying a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item, Sugiura is dedicated to controlling display of the local data and the network data on a display unit based on time information associated with the network data and the local data and Naaman is dedicated to conducting multi-lot, multi-buyer auctions on electronic auction platforms, and the combined teaching would have enabled Scott in view of Sugiura’s users to appreciate the flexibility and convenience of using scale lines to convey the sales quantities of products sold over different years.
As per claim 15, Scott in view of Sugiura and further in view of Naaman further teaches the information processing method according to claim 14, wherein each of the plurality of products is associated with the chronological information that is information of a release year of the product (See Naaman: [0027]-[0028], offering a 12 month contract for 1,200 units of product equally distributed over this or the following year and sales being desired in many forms).
As per claim 16, Scott in view of Sugiura and further in view of Naaman further teaches the information processing method according to claim 14, wherein the chronological information associated with the first icon corresponds to a year of purchase of the product corresponding to the first icon by the user (See Naaman: [0027], where the buyer may be bidding for future volumes ( e.g., including that the bidding price includes a pricing formula ( e.g., an auction is offering a 12 month contract for 1,200 units of product equally distributed over this or the following year (e.g., time and quantity can be defined)). Here the time of offering product may be defined, including the year).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
Scott in view of Sugiura, as applied to claims 1-4, 10, 12, 14 and 17-19 above and further in view of
Krishnaraj et al.:" Gallery Application For Content Viewing", (United States Patent Application Publication US 20110126155 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2011-05-26; and DATE FILED 2010-02-09, hereafter "Krishnaraj").
As per claim 7, Scott in view of Sugiura teaches the information processing method according to claim 1, comprising a slider in a manner on the plurality of products within the display range of the display screen (Scott: Fig. 10 and col. 14, lines 3-10, products selected based on type, category, subcategory and additional criterial scrolled by different sliders of and within perspective range and displayed within the range of the advertisement display), while Sugiura teaches displaying in an overlapping manner (See Sugiura: Figs. 4-5 and [0079]-[0080] and [0087], the year list and the scroll bar both read on a slider an overlapping manner on the plurality of thumbnail images within the year list range of the display screen in the playlist; and when comments are posted on other thumbnail images, a plurality of comments may also be displayed after the comment 53 with overlapping).
Scott in view of Sugiura does not explicitly teach controlling the display to, in response to selection of the icon by the user, transition to a display screen displaying the information about the product.
However, Krishnaraj teaches the information processing method according to claim 1, comprising:
controlling the display to, in response to selection of the icon by the user, transition to a display screen displaying the information about the product (See Krishnaraj: Abstract, A gallery software application enables a user to browse, view, and interact with various content items, such as still images and videos. The gallery includes a graphical user interface, where a content item is represented by an image. A group of content items is represented by a displayed stack of partially-overlapping images. A content item is associated with gee-location information and timestamp information. This information is used to divide the content items into groups).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant's application was filed to combine Krishnaraj's teaching with Scott in view of Sugiura reference because Scott is dedicated to displaying a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item, Sugiura is dedicated to controlling display of the local data and the network data on a display unit based on time information associated with the network data and the local data and Krishnaraj is dedicated to browsing, viewing, and/or interacting with content items, and the combined teaching would have enabled Scott in view of Sugiura’s users to create album displaying overlapped shoes images to view and switch to view more items at the same time.
Scott in view of Sugiura and further in view of Krishnaraj further teaches the following:
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
Scott in view of Sugiura, as applied to claims 1-4, 10, 12, 14 and 17-19 above and further in view of
Altamura et al.: "ORNAMENTAL LIGHTING", (United States Patent Application Publication US 20150084515 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2015-03-26; and DATE FILED 2014-09-23, hereafter "Altamura").
As per claim 8, Scott in view of Sugiura teaches the information processing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
controlling the display to display a user possession icon indicating that the product is possessed by the user and a user view icon indicating that the user has viewed the product (See Scott: col. 12, lines 38-39, and col. 13, lines 22-26, the customer uses a graphical user interface (GUI) for selecting products for purchase from the merchant 20 via the web site 22 includes a product selection screen 1050 and the customer 10 actually purchases or otherwise obtain the desired item. Here the actual purchase or obtain reads on possessed).
Scott in view of Sugiura does not explicitly teach in a case where the user has viewed the product, changing a color or a shape of the user view icon in a manner differently from that in a case where the user has not viewed the product.
However, Altamura teaches in a case where the user has viewed the product, changing a color or a shape of the user view icon in a manner differently from that in a case where the user has not viewed the product (See [0258], the system would then adjust the lighting in that region of the display (such as a refrigerator) to automatically adjust for the optimum color for that product where the food manufacturer, or other, has provide that information in a look up table associated with the code. Here the manufacturer reads on an owner possesses the product and adjusting for the optimum color for that product teaches color changing).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant's application was filed to combine Altamura's teaching with Scott in view of Sugiura reference because Scott is dedicated to displaying a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item, Sugiura is dedicated to controlling display of the local data and the network data on a display unit based on time information associated with the network data and the local data, and Altamura is dedicated to controlling ornamental illumination with color pallet control whereby a user can vary, and the combined teaching would have enabled Scott in view of Sugiura’s users to improve product images for better lighting effects.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
Scott in view of Sugiura, as applied to claims 1-4, 10, 12, 14 and 17-19 above and further in view of
Ishii et al.: "INFORMATION TERMINAL DEVICE, INFORMATION PROCESSING METHOD AND INFORMATION PROCESSING PROGRAM", (United States Patent Application Publication US 20110022310 A1, DATE PUBLISHED 2011-01-27; and DATE FILED 2008-12-24, hereafter "Ishii").
As per claim 13, Scott in view of Sugiura does not explicitly teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein controlling the display to change the display range based on the amount of the operation of the slider scale comprises:
determine an amount of change in a contact position on the display screen while a contact with the display screen is kept.
However, Ishii teaches the information processing method according to claim 1,
wherein controlling the display to change the display range based on the amount of the operation of the slider scale comprises:
determine an amount of change in a contact position on the display screen while a contact with the display screen is kept (See [0099], the rectangles are displayed as if they are rotated in the direction from the movement start position of the finger to the movement end position of the finger and at the rotational speed corresponding to the moving distance or the moving speed of the finger.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant's application was filed to combine Ishii's teaching with Scott in view of Sugiura reference because Scott is dedicated to displaying a large image of a selected item, a plurality of view icons indicative of different views of the selected item, and item details associated with a selected item, Sugiura is dedicated to controlling display of the local data and the network data on a display unit based on time information associated with the network data and the local data, and Ishii is dedicated to operating the slider, the icon or map as an information element can be displayed with being enlarged or reduced in scale, and the combined teaching would have enabled Scott in view of Sugiura’s users to provide an information terminal device having higher operationality.
Scott in view of Sugiura and further in view of Ishii further teaches the following:
controlling the display to change the display range of the display screen based on the amount of change in the contact position on the display screen while the contact with the display screen is kept (See Ishii: [0113], when the zoom area 96 is traced from the upper side to the lower side, the reduction scale is increased in accordance with the movement distance of the finger. Conversely, when the zoom area 96 is traced from the lower side to the upper side, the reduction scale is reduced in accordance with the movement distance of the finger.), and
wherein controlling the display to display the information about the product registered by the user associated with the icon (See Scott: Figs. 10 and 12, and col. 20, lines 20-22, 31-36 and 50-53, a selected price range to display in the display window 1058 only the selected shoes priced in a range selected by a customer via sliding over the price range between minimum price and maximum price identifiers (the price icons), and in response to the price range selected, the display window is updated to include products listed by image 1076 and/or description 1078 for only the selected products within the price range selected via the price range selector 1094, and the customer selects the brand Adidas® in the brand menu 1084, the product search tools 1080 in the filter window 1056B are updated in real time. The price identifiers teaches icons associated with a product of a brand selected by the customer teaches the product registered by the customer to purchase and the price range in dollars teaches price scale),
in response to selection of the icon comprises controlling the display to transition directly from display of a currently-displayed display range of the display screen to an arbitrary display range of the display screen, the arbitrary display range displaying information about the product registered by the user associated with the icon (See Ishii: [0013], when a display screen is selected by the selecting unit, the display unit displays on a part of the display operating unit a slider for adjusting scale-enlarged display or scale-reduced display of plural information elements contained in an image information displayed on the display operating unit on a display screen which is displayed next to the reference screen in each operation mode ).
Related Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-5] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984) In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). >See also MPEP §2123.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Contact Information
KUEN S LU /Kuen S Lu/
Art Unit 2156
Primary Patent Examiner
February 3, 2026