Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/30/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-16 is/are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2026 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurster et al. (US 2013/0223092) (hereinafter Wurster) in view of Curlett et al. (US 2021/0025580) (hereinafter Curlett).
Claim 1: Wurster teaches a structure-mounted lighting system comprising: a plurality of light units (2, fig. 8), each light unit comprising a light fixture (2, 5, fig. 2) configured to emit light directed in a first direction (D1, see annotated fig. 8) at a first radial angle (90 degree angle, see annotated fig. 8) in relation to a central longitudinal axis (AX, fig. 8) of the structure (tower supporting 2 and 3, see annotated fig. 8) on which the lighting system (2) is mounted; and a lighting beacon (3, 4, fig. 8) configured to warn aircraft (warning, see abstract), coupled to one or more of the light units (2, 5), and configured to emit light directed in a second direction at a second radial angle (90 degree angle, see annotated fig. 8) in relation to the central longitudinal axis (AX1) of the structure on which the lighting system is mounted (see fig. 8).
Curlett teaches a plurality of light units (32, fig. 2) configured to emit light in a first direction (individual lamp assemblies may also be individually adjusted to provide a desired light direction, see para [0126]) (note: since the plurality of light units can be individually adjusted the first radial angle and second radial angles can be different from each other.
Therefore, in view of Curlett, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the plurality of light of Wurster with the plurality of light units of Curlett where the plurality of light units are individually adjustable such that the first radial angle and the second radial angle are different from each other, in order to adjust the light output direction to provide desired illumination direction in a target area [Curlett, 0126].
Claim 2: Wurster teaches a power source (electrical supply… storage batteries, see para [0010] and [0011]) configured to provide power to both the light units (2) and the lighting beacon (3, 4).
Claim 3: Wurster teaches a reflector (11, fig. 7) coupled to one or more of the light units (2, fig. 7).
Claim 4: Wurster teaches each light unit (2) comprises an elongate member (6, fig. 7) structurally coupled to a light fixture (2).
Claim 9: Wurster teaches each light unit (2) is structurally independent from the other light units (see fig. 8).
Claim 11: Wurster teaches the power source is a battery (storage batteries, see para [0011]).
Claim 15: Wurster teaches the lighting beacon is compliant with Federal Aviation Administration obstruction marking and lighting regulations (US regulations, see para [0028]).
Claim 16: Wurster teaches the light emitted by the lighting beacon is red (4 emits red light, see para [0044]).
Claim(s) 5-8, 10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurster et al. (US 2013/0223092) in view of Curlett et al. (US 2021/0025580) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Gowanlock (US 11,111,761).
Claim 5: Wurster fails to teach each light unit comprises a bracket configured to attach the elongate member to a structure.
Gowanlock teaches ach light unit (101, fig. 1B) comprises a bracket (202, fig. 2) configured to attach an elongate member (204, fig. 2) to a structure (14, fig. 1A).
Therefore, in view of Gowanlock, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a bracket configured to attach the elongate member to a structure, in order to provide a light fixture which can swivel in both horizontal and vertical directions [Gowanlock, Col. 3 lines 42-45].
Claim 6: Wurster teaches the structure is a high mast structure (see fig. 8) (radio mast, see para [0042]).
Claim 7: Wurster fails to teach the high mast structure is a drilling rig.
Gowanlock teaches the high mast structure is a drilling rig (40, fig. 1) (see Col. 3 lines 13-14).
Therefore, in view of Gowanlock'761, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the high mast structure to a drilling rig, in order to provide lighting to a drilling rig site [Gowanlock, Abstract].
Claim 8: Wurster fails to teach each bracket is configured to attach the elongate member to a crown deck of the drilling rig.
Gowanlock teaches each bracket (202, fig. 2) is configured to attach the elongate member (204, fig. 2) to a crown deck of the drilling rig (attached directly to the crown, see Col. 3 lines 40-63).
Therefore, in view of Gowanlock'761, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add brackets where each bracket is configured to attach the elongate member to a crown deck of the drilling rig, in order to provide a light fixture which can swivel in both horizontal and vertical directions [Gowanlock, Col. 3 lines 42-45].
Claim 10: Wurster fails to teach one or more safety nets.
Gowanlock'761 teaches one or more safety nets (301, fig. 3)(safety certified nets, see Col. 3 lines 53-63).
Therefore, in view of Gowanlock'761, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add safety nets connected to the lighting system of Roe, in order to prevent objects from falling.
Claim 12: Wurster fails to teach the lighting beacon is mounted on the bracket of the lighting system.
Gowanlock teaches a lighting beacon (one of other light sources of 203, fig. 2) is mounted on the bracket (204, fig. 2) of the lighting system (one light source of 203, fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Gowanlock'761, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the lighting system of Wurster such that the lighting beacon is mounted on the bracket of the lighting system, in order to simplify mounting of the lighting devices.
Claim 13: Wurster fails to teach the lighting beacon is mounted on the light fixture.
Gowanlock teaches the lighting beacon (other light source of 203, fig. 2) is mounted on the light fixture (light source of 203, fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Gowanlock, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the lighting beacon of Wurster on the light fixture, in order to simplify mounting of the lighting devices.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurster et al. (US 2013/0223092) in view of Curlett et al. (US 2021/0025580) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Gowanlock (US 11,111,761).
Claim 14: Wurster teaches each light unit (2) comprises an elongate member (6, fig. 7) structurally coupled to a light fixture (2) and
However, Wurster fails to teach the reflector comprises reflective tape, taped along the length of the elongate member.
Thomas teaches reflective tape (86, fig. 1), taped along the length of the elongate member (22, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Thomas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add reflective tape to the reflector of Roe taped along the length of the elongate member, in order to render the elongate member visible and improv visibility of the lighting system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that “This is the specific direction in which "lamps 2" in Wurster must be oriented in order to serve their intended purpose of aviation obstruction lighting”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that the cited portion states “approximately 2.5° vertical” meaning there is a range of angles where the peak intensity is desirable” i.e. the arrangement of the light source could be in such a position where the peak intensity is between 2° or 3°. Therefore, the proposed combination of Wurster in view of Curlett would be beneficial to the intended purpose of Wurster of providing a lighting system that complies with aviation standards since it would enable the adjustment of the light source to achieve a peak intensity located at 2.5° vertical. If the light were not adjustable then it would be possible that if the lights were to be shifted or moved then it would not comply with the standards. Adding the ability to adjust the light units would allow the lights to be moved back into a compliant position.
Regarding applicant’s argument that “The relevant industry standard - identified within the reference itself - establishes that the three different types of lamps disclosed in Wurster should all be oriented in the same direction”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that the standard allows a range of tolerance for the direction of light emission so long as it is “approximately 2.5° within vertical”. Therefore, adding the functionality of making the plurality of light units to be individually adjustable such that the first radial angle and the second radial angle are different from each other, in order to adjust the light output direction to provide desired illumination direction would be beneficial to Wurster.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875