DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on March 21st, 2023. A summary of this action:
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Claim 1-20 objected to because of informalities
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of both a mathematical concept and mental process without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022.
Claim(s) 2, 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 and Gaafar, Gamal Ragab, and M. Mehmet Altunbay. "Lithofacies classification based on open hole logging using ternary diagram techniques." Journal of Petroleum Exploration and Production Technology 9.3 (2019): 1695-1704
Claim(s) 3-4, 14-15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 and Gaafar, Gamal Ragab, and M. Mehmet Altunbay. "Lithofacies classification based on open hole logging using ternary diagram techniques." Journal of Petroleum Exploration and Production Technology 9.3 (2019): 1695-1704 and in further view of Aldred, R. D., and W. Sritongthae. "3D Petrophysical Modelling to Resolve Complex Reservoir Interpretation Problems: A Case Study from South East Asia." SPE Asia Pacific Oil and Gas Conference and Exhibition. SPE, 2015.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 in view of Skelt, Christopher. "Simultaneous evaluation of formation composition and texture." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 2014.
Claim(s) 6-7, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 in view of Ye, Shin-Ju, and Philippe Rabiller. "A new tool for electro-facies analysis: multi-resolution graph-based clustering." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 2000
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 in view of Ye, Shin-Ju, and Philippe Rabiller. "A new tool for electro-facies analysis: multi-resolution graph-based clustering." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 2000 in further view of Gaafar, Gamal Ragab, and M. Mehmet Altunbay. "Lithofacies classification based on open hole logging using ternary diagram techniques." Journal of Petroleum Exploration and Production Technology 9.3 (2019): 1695-1704
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 as taken in view of Eyvazzadeh, Ramsin, Rami BinNasser, and David Kersey. "Real-time Geology/Petrophysics in Complex Carbonate Reservoirs." SPE Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Annual Technical Symposium and Exhibition. SPE, 2009.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 in view of Bruned, Vianney, et al. "Evaluation of mineralogy per geological layers by Approximate Bayesian Computation." SPE Journal 25.05 (2020): 2418-2432.
This action is non-final
Claim Objections
Claim 1-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims have numerous issues with antecedent basis. The Examiner suggests amending the claims such that the first recitation of each distinct element uses articles such as “a”/”an”, later recitations referring back to the same distinct element uses articles such as “the”/”said”, to use disambiguating modifiers (e.g., first, second, etc.) when there are multiple distinct elements with the same base term, and that the use of modifiers for each distinct element is kept consistent. Below is a non-exhaustive list of examples of these issues:
Claim 1: preamble recites “a subterranean reservoir” but later recitations refer back to “the subterranean formation” – Examiner suggests amending to be consistent in the precise wording used for each distinct element
Dependent claims also have this issue in numerous places
Claim 3 – “the saturation of fluids” was not previously recited
Claim 6 – “wherein generating a model…” appears to indicate that this is to further limiting the generating step of claim 1, but does not refer back to “the model”
Claim 7 – “wherein clustering values…” – similar objection as claim 6 above (i.e. its not expressly clear its further limiting the prior recitation, although the wherein shows the intent to further limit)
Claim 8 “electrofacies” is repeated twice, second recitation does not expressly refer back to prior
Claims 6 and 9 recite “a predicted permeability”, however the independent recites “a predicted permeability distribution”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of both a mathematical concept and mental process without significantly more.
Step 1
Claim 1 is directed towards the statutory category of a process.
Claim 17 is directed towards the statutory category of an apparatus.
Claim 10 is directed towards the statutory category of an article of manufacture.
Claims 10 and 17, and the dependents thereof, are rejected under a similar rationale as representative claim 1, and the dependents thereof.
Step 2A – Prong 1
The claims recite an abstract idea of both a mental process and mathematical concept.
See MPEP § 2106.04: “...In other claims, multiple abstract ideas, which may fall in the same or different groupings, or multiple laws of nature may be recited. In these cases, examiners should not parse the claim. For example, in a claim that includes a series of steps that recite mental steps as well as a mathematical calculation, an examiner should identify the claim as reciting both a mental process and a mathematical concept for Step 2A Prong One to make the analysis clear on the record.”
To clarify, see the USPTO 101 training examples, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility.
The mental process recited in claim 1 is:
generating a first distribution of values representing a fluid volume and a second distribution of values representing a mineral volume of the subterranean formation, the generating being based on a probabilistic mineralogical evaluation;
A mental process, given the generality recited. See ¶ 37 which conveys that this is merely processing “input data”, e.g. “logs”. A person is readily able to mentally evaluate logs of measurements, e.g. observing tabular representations of the measurements, and from them generate distribution of values.
E.g. a person is readily able to look at time-stamped logs with multiple columns of data, and tabulate for each column the frequency of each measurement value such as in the form of another table (e.g. counting every time a certain measurement has the same specific value), and such a table would be a distribution of values among the logs.
To give a simple analogy, a person is readily able to mentally count cards, counting the number of times each card in a game of blackjack (before the shuffle) is drawn and laid out, and tabulate this in their own mind, and from this estimate the probability that the next card to be drawn is of a certain value and suite.
determining a third distribution of values representing a volume of silt distribution in the subterranean formation;
A mental process, similar as above. See ¶ 38. To clarify, ¶ 38 discusses processing data from Thomas Stieber plots, but as the instant specification is devoid of any further description of these plots, or the associated model, in view of MPEP § 2111 for the plain meaning of this limitation and ¶ 38 for what these plots are to POSITA, see Aldred, Rick. "Tutorial: Petrophysics of thinly bedded formations." Petrophysics 62.04 (2021): 335-352. Section on “SHALE DISTRIBUTION” which conveys a simple graphical plotting technique that a person is readily able to mentally do. To clarify, by way of analogy, electrical engineers have routinely used the engineering diagram of Smith charts mentally for such as for impedance matching, since long before the invention of the computer. What the instant specification and Alred convey is merely a mental data plotting method to be used in this mental process, akin to an EE using a smith chart to determine a distribution of impedances during impedance matching.
Should further clarification on the plain meaning on this Thomas Stieber plot be required, see Thomas, E. C., and und SJ Stieber. "The distribution of shale in sandstones and its effect upon porosity." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 1975. Original work on Thomas-Stieber Plots.
and generating a model specifying a predicted permeability distribution for the subterranean formation, the model being based on the first distribution of values representing the fluid volume, the second distribution of values representing the mineral volume, and the third distribution of values representing the volume of silt.
A mental evaluation, similar to above, given the generality recited herein. The claim merely recites what data is output from the model, and what data it is based on, but goes into zero detail on how this is to be done. ¶ 44 merely describes “performs a multiresolution graphic clustering (MRGC) analysis” but goes into no detail on what this entails, i.e. its conveyed as merely invoking a generic computer algorithm to perform the abstract idea, with a purely result-oriented description of steps readily performed mentally, e.g. “The MRCG analysis includes labeling the selected logs as the best log predictors.” – humans are readily able to judge/evaluate which logs are best mentally, e.g. “For example, the data processing system, based on the MRGC analysis, may select a log that specifies a volume of silt.” – again, a mental judgement/evaluation of selecting a log that provides the volume of silt data, e.g. “In some implementations, the data processing system matches the predicted permeability to the measured data inside one standard deviation” – simply using a simple mathematical calculation to obtain a mathematical variable (the standard deviation calculation), then a mental judgement of comparing whether the predicted permeability is within one standard deviation, e.g. calculating the standard deviation and mean for a group of employees on their productivity metric, and seeing if a certain employee is within one standard deviation of the mean – readily a mental process, with a few basic math calculations for use of physical aids. “Using the MRGC analysis, the data processing system generates a set of clusters representative of unique fingerprints in the best log predictors corresponding to fingerprints of core permeability at specific depths. In depth intervals without core permeability measurements, the measurement of each log input are compared with the fingerprint associated with each cluster, the input data is assigned to one cluster, and the permeability value of that cluster is assigned for to the depth interval.” – clustering is readily a mental process. Akin to Example 48, claim 2, limitation (d) at prong 1: “Step (d) recites “partitioning the embedding vectors V into clusters corresponding to the different sources sn.” The claim places no limits on how this partitioning is performed. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “partitioning . . . into clusters” encompasses a human arbitrarily selecting groups of vectors and mentally assigning them to clusters. The recitation of a DNN in this claim does not negate the mental nature of these limitations because the claim here merely uses the DNN as a tool to perform the otherwise mental process.”
To clarify, a person is readily able to use a simple equation with a mental evaluation (or aided by physical aids) to do this step
As a final point of clarity, the Examiner notes the claims do not even specify/require that the distributions are probability density functions (or the like, e.g. CDFs, i.e. statistical distributions),– should it be found that this is how “distribution” is to be interpreted, then this would be rejected as a series of math calculations in textual form in view of MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C): “i. performing a resampled statistical analysis to generate a resampled distribution, SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1163-65, 127 USPQ2d 1597, 1598-1600 (Fed. Cir. 2018), modifying SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 126 USPQ2d 1638 (Fed. Cir. 2018);”
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations are process steps that cover mental processes including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of physical aids but for the recitation of a generic computer component. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Process" grouping of abstract ideas. A person would readily be able to perform this process either mentally or with the assistance of physical aids. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
To clarify, see the USPTO 101 training examples, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility. In particular, with respect to the physical aids, see example # 45, analysis of claim 1 under step 2A prong 1, including: “Note that even if most humans would use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper, a slide rule, or a calculator) to help them complete the recited calculation, the use of such physical aid does not negate the mental nature of this limitation.”; also see example # 49, analysis of claim 1, under step 2A prong 1: “Moreover, the recited mathematical calculation is simple enough that it can be practically performed in the human mind. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper or a calculator, to make such calculations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation.”
As such, the claims recite an abstract idea of both a mental process and mathematical concept.
Step 2A, prong 2
The claimed invention does not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Refer to MPEP §2106.04(d).
The following limitations are merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f), including the “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”:
Preambles of claims 12 and 17.
Claim 1 does not even recite the use of a computer. See MPEP § 2111 for In re Prater.
A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) “…Instead, under Prong Two, a claim that recites a judicial exception is not directed to that judicial exception, if the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of that exception. Prong Two thus distinguishes claims that are "directed to" the recited judicial exception from claims that are not "directed to" the recited judicial exception…Because a judicial exception is not eligible subject matter, Bilski, 561 U.S. at 601, 95 USPQ2d at 1005-06 (quoting Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. at 309, 206 USPQ at 197 (1980)), if there are no additional claim elements besides the judicial exception, or if the additional claim elements merely recite another judicial exception, that is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See, e.g., RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract"); Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (eligibility "cannot be furnished by the unpatentable law of nature (or natural phenomenon or abstract idea) itself."). For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981, either at Prong Two or in Step 2B” and MPEP § 2106(I): “Mayo, 566 U.S. at 80, 84, 101 USPQ2dat 1969, 1971 (noting that the Court in Diamond v. Diehr found “the overall process patent eligible because of the way the additional steps of the process integrated the equation into the process as a whole,”” – and see MPEP § 2106.05(e).
To further clarify, MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1): “Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 216, 110 USPQ2d at 1980 (citing Mayo, 566 US at 71, 101 USPQ2d at 1965). Yet, the Court has explained that ‘‘[a]t some level, all inventions embody, use, reflect, rest upon, or apply laws of nature, natural phenomena, or abstract ideas,’’ and has cautioned ‘‘to tread carefully in construing this exclusionary principle lest it swallow all of patent law” See also Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The ‘directed to’ inquiry, therefore, cannot simply ask whether the claims involve a patent-ineligible concept, because essentially every routinely patent-eligible claim involving physical products and actions involves a law of nature and/or natural phenomenon").”
As a point of clarity, RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract"); Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (eligibility "cannot be furnished by the unpatentable law of nature (or natural phenomenon or abstract idea) itself." discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2) as well as MPEP § 2106.04(I): “Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea") (emphasis in original).
The claimed invention does not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Refer to MPEP §2106.04(d).
Step 2B
The claimed invention does not recite any additional elements/limitations that amount to significantly more.
The following limitations are merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f), including the “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”:
Preambles of claims 12 and 17.
Claim 1 does not even recite the use of a computer. See MPEP § 2111 for In re Prater.
The claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea of both a mathematical concept and a mental process without significantly more.
Regarding the dependent claims
Claim 2 is a mental judgement/evaluation, given the generality recited.
Claim 3 is another mental step, given the generality recited. ¶ 49 goes into no detail as well, but merely generally describes fitting of variables but no description of what this is to entail, or what the saturation height model is. It readily encompasses being a simple equation, or a few simple equations, wherein a person mentally evaluates/judges such as with physical aids how to make the equations fit the measured data, e.g. by mental trial-and-error with mental calculations (or with aid of physical aids) of the equations with different variable values until the equations fit.
Claim 4 – another mental step, for similar reasons – see ¶ 51. The claim and specification go into no detail on how this is to be performed, i.e. a person is readily able to do this with a few simple equations and mental evaluation (or with physical aids).
Claim 5 – mental process, similar to that discussed above
Claim 6 – Mental step, see example 48, claim 2, limitation (d) as noted above
Claim 7 – mere instructions to do it on a computer. See example 48, claim 2, limitation (d) as noted above
Claim 8 – a mental step as well of labelling the datasets, with no particularity about how this to be performed, and merely, at most, specifying the data environment, akin to being in the “context of XML” in MPEP § 2106.05(f) in Intellectual Ventures (also see MPEP § 2106.05(h) for a similar citation)
Claim 9 – a token post-solution activity and mere instruction to “apply it” without any restriction on how this is to be performed or any particular machine to be used for this, or any particular action to be performed for the controlling. To clarify, there is not even an asserted improvement in the specification resultant from this act (¶ 51), or any other particular details, i.e. it is so generically described that it merely conveys that which is well-known in the art. To clarify:
MPEP § 2106.07(a)(III): “(A) A citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during prosecution that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s). A specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of additional elements when it describes the additional elements as well-understood or routine or conventional (or an equivalent term), as a commercially available product, or in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. 112(a).” - To clarify, see MPEP § 2164.01: “A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. In re Buchner, 929 F.2d 660, 661, 18 USPQ2d 1331, 1332 (Fed. Cir. 1991); Hybritech, Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d 1367, 1384, 231 USPQ 81, 94 (Fed. Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 947 (1987); and Lindemann Maschinenfabrik GMBH v. American Hoist & Derrick Co., 730 F.2d 1452, 1463, 221 USPQ 481, 489 (Fed. Cir. 1984).” - Also see MPEP § 2163(II)(A)(3)(a): “What is conventional or well known to one of ordinary skill in the art need not be disclosed in detail. See Hybritech Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d at 1384, 231 USPQ at 94. See also Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1085 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("The ‘written description’ requirement must be applied in the context of the particular invention and the state of the knowledge…. As each field evolves, the balance also evolves between what is known and what is added by each inventive contribution."). If a skilled artisan would have understood the inventor to be in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing, even if every nuance of the claims is not explicitly described in the specification, then the adequate description requirement is met.”
Claim 11 – more mental steps as well, given the generality recited, e.g. ¶ 37, along with a math calculation of the last limitation as “refining the forward modeled distributions by minimizing an error between the generated set of logs and the measured well logs”, i.e. “The data processing system refines the forward modeled mineral and fluid volumes by minimizing least squares error between the forward modeled logs and the input logs to generate estimates of the mineral volumes and the fluid volumes in the subsurface.” (¶ 37) is a math calculation in textual form (the equation being least squares error, the math calculation being the minimizing)
Remaining dependent claims rejected under similar rationales as their representative claims above
The claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea of both a mathematical concept and a mental process without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022.
Regarding Claim 1
Kasim teaches:
A method for petrophysical modeling of a subterranean reservoir, the method comprising: generating a first distribution of values representing a fluid volume and a second distribution of values representing a mineral volume of the subterranean formation, the generating being based on a probabilistic mineralogical evaluation; determining a third distribution of values representing a volume of silt distribution in the subterranean formation;
Kasim, abstract, then see page 7 subsection Lithology Model: “A model known as sand, silt, and clay was widely used in Malaysian Basin due to a high volume of silty size sediments with fresh to brackish formation waters (Kuttan, et al. 1980). The model frame was generated based on density-neutron triangle cross plot where zone between silt and sand points is reservoir and zone between silt and clay points is non reservoir (Figure 7). The data points which have a boomerang type distribution can be related to quartz (sand), water [example of a fluid], dry clay, and silt (Gamal Ragab 2016). Dry sand was pre-determined at points. The percentage of each minerals volume were determined using ratio based its location on the plot.” – the clay and quartz are both examples of a mineral, and to further clarify cf. 7, noting the three end points are “Fluid”, “Dry Sand”, and “Dry Clay”, with the distribution as plotted showing points including points labelled “Wet Sand”, “Wet Silt”, and “Wet Clay” – i.e. based on the location of a point on this plot, the volume fraction (note x-axis is “frac”; subsection “Formation Total Porosity” to clarify: “The grain density is calculated using the average grain density equation, where the fraction of Dry Sand, Dry Silt, and Dry Clay are obtained from the previous lithology determination. The density of Dry Sand (~2.65), Dry Silt (~2.68), and Dry Clay are The Dry Clay point is obtained by extending the Dry Sand-Dry Silt trend to intersect the Water Wet Clay trend. Then, the total porosity is calculated using the density porosity equation defined…Where ρg is the Average Grain Density (g/cc), V is referred to volume fraction, ρ is referred to density, sd is the dry sand, si is the dry silt and dc is the dry clay…”- i.e. fig. 7 shows a generated distribution of “water” volumes, various mineral volumes, and the silt volume (see plot to clarify))
and generating a model specifying a predicted permeability distribution for the subterranean formation, the model being based on the first distribution of values representing the fluid volume, the second distribution of values representing the mineral volume, and the third distribution of values representing the volume of silt. (Kasim, as cited above incl. cf. 7, then see the section cited above for the formation total porosity, then see the section on “Permeability” including its calculation of “permeability” based on the “Clay Volume (frac)” [volume fraction] and “Silt Volume (frac)” [volume fraction] – this also includes being based on the fluid volume, as it is the volume fraction, i.e. the fraction of the volume of all materials of fig. 7 (“quartz (sand), water, dry clay, and silt”) that is “Clay” and “Silt” (i.e. the water is in the denominator as it is part of the total volume of which this is a fraction of) – to clarify on the model, cf. 6, noting that “Routine core analysis” is part of the training data as “Core Information” as well as the logs – see the section on “Prediction Validation” to clarify: “ The plotting of ML porosity and ML permeability are shown in Figure 9, Figure 10, Figure 11, Figure 12 and Figure 13. The R2value for porosity and permeability plots are average of 85% and 82% respectively which is higher than the benchmark of R2 80%.” – see corresponding figures to further clarify, also to clarify it’s a permeability distribution see the figures 9-13, then see 14-18 as discussed in the “Prediction Model” subsection (permeability is in the 6th track in fig. 14-18)
Regarding Claim 10.
Kasim teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
validating the predicted permeability distribution based on comparing the predicted permeability to measured core data. (Kasim, p. 9, section “Prediction Validation”: “The machine learning prediction result is validated through comparison with core data….”
Regarding Claim 12.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 17.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 and Gaafar, Gamal Ragab, and M. Mehmet Altunbay. "Lithofacies classification based on open hole logging using ternary diagram techniques." Journal of Petroleum Exploration and Production Technology 9.3 (2019): 1695-1704
Regarding Claim 2
While Kasim does not explicitly teach the following, Kasim in view of Gaafar teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: defining, based on the model, distinct petrophysical rock types for the subterranean formation. (Kasim, as cited above, including its estimation of permeability using the equation from Chiew/Choo, then see Gaafar, abstract: “To minimize the uncertainty due to minimum core, the current approach was used to help the geoscientist to identify the lithofacies classification based on ternary diagram. The proposed approach is to use the ternary diagram to identify and classify the lithofacies based on the clay, silt, and sand volume produced from well logging interpretation including traditional logs and NMR technology. The fractions of the sand, silt and clay can be calculated from openhole logging based on gamma ray, density and neutron logs using the PETRONAS algorithm SSC model to compute the volume of the three fractions (sand, silt, and clay). The volume was calibrated with XRD data and sieve analysis. Ternary diagram was used to identify the lithofacies association for the reservoir interval which [shows] a good match with rock typing identified from porosity/permeability of core data. NMR technology used to derive grain-size-distributions in contrast to core analysis, NMR provides a continuous along hole profile of grain-size-distributions which have match with LPSA and sieve analysis, which can be utilize a continuous grain-size-distribution profile. Based on the T2 cutoff we can easily define clay, silt and sand volumes” – to clarify, see the sections “Ternary diagram” and “Methodology” starting on p. 1698, include seeing fig. 8, followed by the section “Results and discussions from case studies”, e.g. see fig. 9-12, noting in particular that “permeability” notes in the ternary diagram =, i.e. “Ternary diagram was used to identify the lithofacies association for the reservoir interval which [shows] a good match with rock typing identified from porosity/permeability of core data”
Examiner notes that Gaafar is also using a “Chiew equation” from “Choo 2010” (Gaafar, p. 1697, col. 2, second to last paragraph) for relevance
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Kasim on a method to “predict reservoir properties using a data driven approach and indicated a very promising result” (Kasim, abstract) with the teachings from Gaafar on “To date the facies and lithofacies identification and classified based on the description of core analysis, which is always limited due to cost of the core samples. To minimize the uncertainty due to minimum core, the current approach was used to help the geoscientist to identify the lithofacies classification based on ternary diagram. The proposed approach is to use the ternary diagram to identify and classify the lithofacies based on the clay, silt, and sand volume produced from well logging interpretation including traditional logs and NMR technology. The fractions of the sand, silt and clay can be calculated from openhole logging based on gamma ray, density and neutron logs using the PETRONAS algorithm SSC model to compute the volume of the three fractions (sand, silt, and clay). The volume was calibrated with XRD data and sieve analysis. Ternary diagram was used to identify the lithofacies association for the reservoir interval which showing a good match with rock typing identified from porosity/permeability of core data. NMR technology used to derive grain-size-distributions in contrast to core analysis” (Gaafar, abstract) The motivation to combine would have been that “To date the facies and lithofacies identification and classified based on the description of core analysis, which is always limited due to cost of the core samples. To minimize the uncertainty due to minimum core, the current approach was used to help the geoscientist to identify the lithofacies classification based on ternary diagram… The proposed model will help to minimize the uncertainty as a fit-for-purpose approach by improving the lithofacies association which can be translated to rock typing to improve the facies distribution in the static model and consequently, reserve estimations.” (Gaafar, abstract).
Regarding Claim 13.
Rejected under similar rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 18.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 3-4, 14-15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 and Gaafar, Gamal Ragab, and M. Mehmet Altunbay. "Lithofacies classification based on open hole logging using ternary diagram techniques." Journal of Petroleum Exploration and Production Technology 9.3 (2019): 1695-1704 and in further view of Aldred, R. D., and W. Sritongthae. "3D Petrophysical Modelling to Resolve Complex Reservoir Interpretation Problems: A Case Study from South East Asia." SPE Asia Pacific Oil and Gas Conference and Exhibition. SPE, 2015.
Regarding Claim 3
While Kasim in view of Gaafar does not explicitly teach the following, Kasim in view of Gaafar and Aldred teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising:
generating, based on the predicted permeability distribution and the defined petrophysical rock types, a saturation height function model specifying the saturation of fluids in the subterranean formation. (Kasim, as was taken in view of Gaafar above
as taken in further view of Aldred abstract: “This paper describes a technique for petrophysical interpretation of these reservoirs based on three dimensional modelling of the formation properties. Extensive log and core data sets were available. Information from core was used to distinguish the different types of sand, NMR-T2 distributions were used to quantify the ratio of sand types at each depth and a saturation-height function was used to determine saturations for the different layers, based on height above the free water level. Synthetic log responses were created from the resulting models and inversion processing based on actual log responses was then applied.” – then see pp. 9-10 for the sections 3D Formation Evaluation in the case study well, the input data used, the porosity and permeability estimations (Examiner noting that permeability estimation is again based on the “volume percentage for [each] component” akin to Kasim and Gaafar, wherein this section on the permeability calculation concludes with: “Furthermore, when permeability is used for saturation height modelling, the individual permeability values are used to calculate a separate saturation for each component, as described below.” (p. 10, ¶ 4) – see section “Multi-pore System Capillary Pressure Functions” to further clarify, in particular see fig. 9, and accompanying description, including of tracks 5-7, 9-10, then see summary of results noting table 1 shows the estimated “Net Pay” [net hydrocarbon reserves]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Kasim, as was modified above, on a method to “predict reservoir properties using a data driven approach and indicated a very promising result” (Kasim, abstract) with the teachings from Aldred on “a technique for petrophysical interpretation of these reservoirs based on three dimensional modelling of the formation properties” (Aldred, abstract). The motivation to combine would have been that “This case study illustrates a useful technique for situations where conventional deterministic and optimising routines don’t give reliable results. It also provides a methodology, which can be built on in the future, to provide a more robust interpretation model for the many situations where formation structure and anisotropy affect log responses.” (Aldred, abstract)
Regarding Claim 4
Kasim, in view of Gaafar and Aldred, teaches:
The method of claim 3, further comprising:
estimating, based on the predicted permeability distribution, the defined petrophysical rock types and the saturation height function model, hydrocarbon reserves in the subterranean formation. (See above combination for claim 3, in particular table 1 of Aldred, the net pay entry)
Regarding Claim 14.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 15.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 19.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 in view of Skelt, Christopher. "Simultaneous evaluation of formation composition and texture." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 2014.
Regarding Claim 5
While Kasim does not explicitly teach the following, Kasim in view of
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the volume of silt distribution comprises processing data from Thomas Stieber plots and a deterministic shaly silt sand model.
See Kasim, as was cited above for the determine of the silt volume and note the cited section Lithography Model: “A model known as sand, silt, and clay was widely used in Malaysian Basin due to a high volume of silty size sediments with fresh to brackish formation waters (Kuttan, et al. 1980)” which is an example of a deterministic shaly silt sand model
As taken in view of Skelt, abstract and cf. 3, then see section “IMPLEMENTING THE T-S CONSTRUCTION IN A PETROPHYSICAL ANALYSIS” incl.: “These three equations, plus three equations characterizing the responses of the density, neutron and shallow resistivity and the explicit unity equation totals seven. This permits solving for seven volume fractions, in this case three shale types with individual textures—laminated, dispersed and structural—plus sand, mud filtrate, connate water and hydrocar-bon. The above has explained how to embed the Thomas-Stieber model in a response equation based petro-physical analysis application…” – then see the “DISCUSSION” section for: “Although these examples were derived from a simple sand-shale model interpreted with a triple combo logging suite, nothing prevents combination of T-S and a more comprehensive volumetric petrophysical analysis using additional logs to quantify more rocks and minerals, or to analyze the fluid in more detail. And model combination logic enables laminated sandy intervals to be spliced to sand-silt-shale intervals where the logs fully resolve the beds and points lying below the T-S leading diagonal are interpreted as silty using the logic introduced by Poupon et al. (1970) and Coates et al (1982) embedded by Skelt (2002) in a response equation based application.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Kasim on a method to “predict reservoir properties using a data driven approach and indicated a very promising result” (Kasim, abstract) with the teachings from Skelt on the Thomas-Stieber construction. The motivation to combine would have been that “The Thomas-Stieber construction is a simple and robust way of recasting computed porosity, shale fraction and fluid saturation as a laminated formation description. It has stood the test of time and is still widely used forty years after its introduction”
Claim(s) 6-7, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 in view of Ye, Shin-Ju, and Philippe Rabiller. "A new tool for electro-facies analysis: multi-resolution graph-based clustering." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 2000
Regarding Claim 6
Kasim teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein generating a model specifying a predicted permeability comprises clustering values from a set of log predictors. (Kasim, as cited above
In view of Ye, abstract: “A classic approach to facies analysis, automatic clustering, requires an estimate of the number of clusters, with the results being very sensitive to this
parameter… This paper proposes a novel method for electrofacies analysis, Multi-Resolution Graph-based Clustering1 (MRGC), that solves the problem of dimensionality and derives valuable information about the geological facies from the structure of the data itself. MRGC offers all the advantages, while eliminating most of the drawbacks, of the two-step method.” and introduction ¶ 1: “In addition to evaluation of porosity and water saturation, log interpretation helps define three dimensional reservoir facies models that describe the distribution of porosity, permeability and capillary pressure in more detail than is possible with reflection seismology. Facies distribution is also key information to define layering and to select the best options for production test interpretation…” – see the section on “Optimal Number of Clusters and Kernel Representative Index” for more clarification, as well as the following two sections which provide further detail on Ye’s clustering technique, and section: “FIELD RESULTS AND COMPARISON WITH A TWO-STEP METHOD” for example results
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Kasim on a method to “predict reservoir properties using a data driven approach and indicated a very promising result” (Kasim, abstract) with the teachings from Ye on “a novel method for electrofacies analysis, Multi-Resolution Graph-based Clustering” The motivation to combine would have been that “MRGC offers all the advantages, while eliminating most of the drawbacks, of the two-step method…This new electrofacies analysis tool has been tested under real-world conditions using conventional logs and NMR T2 distributions, and results from such studies are presented in the paper. In comparison with the existing two-step tool, MRGC has been found to make the work much faster and easier, and is both more direct and more intuitive” (Ye, abstract) – see conclusion section as well.
Regarding Claim 7
Kasim in view of Ye teaches:
The method of claim 6, wherein clustering values comprises a machine learning model clustering values from a set of log predictors. (See rejection of claim 6 above, in particular pp. 5-6 of Ye)
Regarding Claim 16.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claims 6-7 above.
Regarding Claim 20.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claims 6-7 above.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 in view of Ye, Shin-Ju, and Philippe Rabiller. "A new tool for electro-facies analysis: multi-resolution graph-based clustering." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 2000 in further view of Gaafar, Gamal Ragab, and M. Mehmet Altunbay. "Lithofacies classification based on open hole logging using ternary diagram techniques." Journal of Petroleum Exploration and Production Technology 9.3 (2019): 1695-1704
Regarding Claim 8
While Kasim does not explicitly teach the following, Kasim in view of Ye and Gaafar teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: classifying, based on the model, electrofacies of the subterranean formation, wherein classes of electrofacies correspond with ranges of predicted permeability. (Kasim, as was taken in combination with Ye above for claim 6, in particular note the title and abstract teach it is labelling the electrofacies, e.g. “…Second, one manually merges small clusters into electrofacies to which geological characteristics [e.g. permeability] are assigned….MRGC automatically determines the optimal number of clusters, yet allows the geologist to control the level of detail actually needed to define the electrofacies” – e.g. c.f. 4a as discussed on p.7: “The results of these three models are displayed (facing right in the electrofacies tracks: 5, 7 and 8) along with the core descriptions (facing the left). The electrofacies (except NMR) were re-ordered and color encoded after a quantitative contingency evaluation in order to ease their reading and comparison with core data” and note as well Ye, Introduction ¶ 1 as discussed above: “In addition to evaluation of porosity and water
saturation, log interpretation helps define three dimensional reservoir facies models that describe the distribution of porosity, permeability and capillary pressure in more detail than is possible with reflection seismology. Facies distribution is also key information to define layering and to select the best options for production test interpretation”
As taken in further view of Gaarfar, as cited above for claim 2, e.g. the abstract: “Gaafar, abstract: “To minimize the uncertainty due to minimum core, the current approach was used to help the geoscientist to identify the lithofacies classification based on ternary diagram. The proposed approach is to use the ternary diagram to identify and classify the lithofacies based on the clay, silt, and sand volume produced from well logging interpretation including traditional logs and NMR technology. The fractions of the sand, silt and clay can be calculated from openhole logging based on gamma ray, density and neutron logs using the PETRONAS algorithm SSC model to compute the volume of the three fractions (sand, silt, and clay). The volume was calibrated with XRD data and sieve analysis. Ternary diagram was used to identify the lithofacies association for the reservoir interval which [shows] a good match with rock typing identified from porosity/permeability of core data. NMR technology used to derive grain-size-distributions in contrast to core analysis, NMR provides a continuous along hole profile of grain-size-distributions which have match with LPSA and sieve analysis, which can be utilize a continuous grain-size-distribution profile. Based on the T2 cutoff we can easily define clay, silt and sand volumes” – to clarify, see the sections “Ternary diagram” and “Methodology” starting on p. 1698, include seeing fig. 8, followed by the section “Results and discussions from case studies”, e.g. see fig. 9-12, noting in particular that “permeability” notes in the ternary diagram indicating ranges of permeability, i.e. “Ternary diagram was used to identify the lithofacies association for the reservoir interval which [shows] a good match with rock typing identified from porosity/permeability of core data”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Kasim on a method to “predict reservoir properties using a data driven approach and indicated a very promising result” (Kasim, abstract) with the teachings from Ye on “a novel method for electrofacies analysis, Multi-Resolution Graph-based Clustering” The motivation to combine would have been that “MRGC offers all the advantages, while eliminating most of the drawbacks, of the two-step method…This new electrofacies analysis tool has been tested under real-world conditions using conventional logs and NMR T2 distributions, and results from such studies are presented in the paper. In comparison with the existing two-step tool, MRGC has been found to make the work much faster and easier, and is both more direct and more intuitive” (Ye, abstract) – see conclusion section as well.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Kasim, as modified by Ye above, on a method to “predict reservoir properties using a data driven approach and indicated a very promising result” (Kasim, abstract) with the teachings from Gaafar on “To date the facies and lithofacies identification and classified based on the description of core analysis, which is always limited due to cost of the core samples. To minimize the uncertainty due to minimum core, the current approach was used to help the geoscientist to identify the lithofacies classification based on ternary diagram. The proposed approach is to use the ternary diagram to identify and classify the lithofacies based on the clay, silt, and sand volume produced from well logging interpretation including traditional logs and NMR technology. The fractions of the sand, silt and clay can be calculated from openhole logging based on gamma ray, density and neutron logs using the PETRONAS algorithm SSC model to compute the volume of the three fractions (sand, silt, and clay). The volume was calibrated with XRD data and sieve analysis. Ternary diagram was used to identify the lithofacies association for the reservoir interval which showing a good match with rock typing identified from porosity/permeability of core data. NMR technology used to derive grain-size-distributions in contrast to core analysis” (Gaafar, abstract) The motivation to combine would have been that “To date the facies and lithofacies identification and classified based on the description of core analysis, which is always limited due to cost of the core samples. To minimize the uncertainty due to minimum core, the current approach was used to help the geoscientist to identify the lithofacies classification based on ternary diagram… The proposed model will help to minimize the uncertainty as a fit-for-purpose approach by improving the lithofacies association which can be translated to rock typing to improve the facies distribution in the static model and consequently, reserve estimations.” (Gaafar, abstract).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 as taken in view of Eyvazzadeh, Ramsin, Rami BinNasser, and David Kersey. "Real-time Geology/Petrophysics in Complex Carbonate Reservoirs." SPE Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Annual Technical Symposium and Exhibition. SPE, 2009.
Regarding Claim 9
While Kasim does not explicitly teach the following, Kasim in view of Eyvazzadeh teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
controlling production of hydrocarbons from the subterranean formation based on the predicted permeability. (Kasim, as cited above, as taken in further view of Eyvazzadeh, abstract: “A new technique has been developed that utilizes LWD data and neural network analysis to determine key geological and petrophysical parameters such as lithology, permeability, hydraulic flow units and reservoir quality indicators. These parameters are determined real-time to place wells into the most productive reservoir intervals. This new technique integrates core descriptions, logging and laboratory measured core data from several offset wells to
develop cluster based models that are used to train log data to determine rock types and their inherent petrophysical characteristics. The prediction model is then used in a real-time analysis to geosteer wells into high-pay intervals.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Kasim, as modified by Ye above, on a method to “predict reservoir properties using a data driven approach and indicated a very promising result” (Kasim, abstract) with the teachings from Eyvazzadeh on geosteering based on predicted permeability (Eyvazzadeh, abstract). The motivation to combine would have been that “Recent advancements in LWD technology have greatly enhanced the ability to accurately steer wells that are several kilometers in length into window targets of 2-3 meters. These targets have generally been defined as intervals of “highest porosity” or “highest productivity.” Even though these terms are interchangeablly in many formations, complex carbonate formations have generally poor porosity and permeability relationships and the highest porosity zones are do not always have high permeability and high productivity. In these types of reservoirs permeability is required to steer wells into productive zones of interest…” (Eyvazzadeh, introduction), e.g. Example # 1 on p. 4: “Based on the lithology and permeability analysis, the well was geosteered into a more productive interval.” And conclusions: “In carbonate reservoirs, the most productive zones are not always defined by the highest porosity. Using porosity and hydrocarbon saturation measurements as a guide in Geosteering can maximize OOIP or OOGP but might not maximize well productivity. In addition to porosity, real-time permeability is required in these types of reservoirs.”
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim, Fadzlin Hasani, et al. "Machine learning assisted reservoir properties prediction in a brownfield offshore Malaysia." International Petroleum Technology Conference. IPTC, 2022 in view of Bruned, Vianney, et al. "Evaluation of mineralogy per geological layers by Approximate Bayesian Computation." SPE Journal 25.05 (2020): 2418-2432.
Regarding Claim 11.
While Kasim does not explicitly teach the following, Kasim in view of Bruned teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the probabilistic mineralogical evaluation comprises generating forward modeled distributions of values representing fluid and mineral volumes; generating a set of logs based on the forward modeled distributions representative of measured well logs; and refining the forward modeled distributions by minimizing an error between the generated set of logs and the measured well logs. (Kasim, as cited above for the distributions of the volumes,
in view of Bruned, see fig. 1 wherein this is to generate “synthetic lithologies”, from that to generate “synthetic logs”, and then to “Compare [the synthetic logs] with the real logs” so as to find the “Most likely lithologies” – to clarify, abstract: “The first step makes use of approximate Bayesian computation (ABC) for each depth sample to evaluate all the possible mineral proportions that are consistent with the measured log responses. The second step gathers these candidates for a given stratum and computes through a density-based clustering algorithm the most probable mineralogical compositions. Finally, for each stratum and for the most probable combinations, a mineralogical inversion is performed with an associated confidence estimate.” and introduction ¶¶ 1-5: “One of the main goals of reservoir evaluation is the determination of petrophysical parameters such as porosity, permeability, or water saturation. To obtain an accurate estimate of these parameters, a complete characterization of the lithology or the nature of the rocks is necessary… We propose a Bayesian approach to select minerals in a stratum. Forward modeling liberates us from the underdetermination of the classical inversion problem using conventional logs.” – then, see the section on Methodology including: “Our aim is to select the minerals that might appear within the geological stratum. Computing the exact amount of the volumetric fraction of the minerals is performed in the final step. Notice that whenever the number of selected components is M with M<dþ1, a classical inversion program can be run to obtain the exact volumetric fraction… The latter are ordered in different families of minerals: shale, sand, and carbonate. The porosity /, containing the different fluids (water, oil, or gas), is added to the model…” – see table 1, and see fig. 1 – see the section “Results on Synthetic Data”, in particular see the figures showing the box plots of the volume fractions
to further clarify on the refining step, first note in the methodology section, subsection Model and Context, ¶¶ 1-2: “mineralogical inversion, a crucial step is the choice of the components of the lithology. Starting from d logs and using a classical inversion implies a maximum of dþ1 minerals or fluids in the inversion model. Usually, M, the number of mineral components, is such that M _ d, so a model selection is needed. …Our aim is to select the minerals that might appear within the geological stratum. Computing the exact amount of the volumetric fraction of the minerals is performed in the final step.” And the final two steps in the abstract: “The second step gathers these candidates for a given stratum and computes through a density-based clustering algorithm the most probable mineralogical compositions. Finally, for each stratum and for the most probable combinations, a mineralogical inversion is performed with an associated confidence estimate” and fig. 1, i.e. this is selecting the compositions for using with an inversion technique for the refining – see introduction, ¶¶ 2-3: “…• Selection of the mineralogical components and fluids for each zone, and computation of the lithology using an inversion approach. • Tuning [refining] the physical parameters (endpoints) of the components (when needed)… The petrophysicist will iterate the latter two points until they reach a model fitting the data or having a good match with core data. Tuning the endpoints is often necessary for the shaly component” – then see last paragraph of introduction: “Then, a density-based clustering algorithm is performed on this posterior probability to distinguish the different lithological hypotheses, as described in the subsection Clustering on the Results of ABC. Finally, for each of these hypotheses, we propose a method to tune the endpoints using the resolution of a global optimization problem. Our method is therefore entirely automated and proposes different plausible lithological hypotheses as well as a confidence estimate for each of them.” – and finally, see the abstract: “The advantage of this approach is to explore all possible mineralogy hypotheses that match the wellbore data.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Kasim, as modified by Ye above, on a method to “predict reservoir properties using a data driven approach and indicated a very promising result” (Kasim, abstract) with the teachings from Bruned on “a new three-step methodology to perform an automated mineralogical inversion from wellbore logs”. The motivation to combine would have been that “…The advantage of this approach is to explore all possible mineralogy hypotheses that match the wellbore data…” and discussion ¶ 1: “The method is fully automated and delivers lithological hypotheses weighted by posterior probabilities. The method needs fewer logs (four logs in the case study against eight logs for the classical inversion) to produce results, and augmenting the number of logs reduces the uncertainties associated with the hypotheses.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choo, Chiew F. "State-Of-The-Art permeability determination from well logs to predict drainage capillary water saturation in clastic rocks." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 2010. Abstract and pp. 2-5
Eghbali, Ali. Combining spectroscopy elemental well logs, inverted nuclear logs, and high-resolution borehole images for improved mineral and petrophysical interpretations. Diss. 2021. Pp. 8-11, 16.
Gaafar, Gamal Ragab, et al. "Sand-silt-clay evaluation models: which one to use-a case study in the Malay Basin." Offshore technology conference Asia. OTC, 2016. Abstract, pp. 2-6
Kantaatmadja, Budi P., et al. "Thinly Bedded Reservoir Study, Application of Sand-Slit-Clay (SSC)-SHARP-Thomas Stieber Juhasz Models, in a Deep Water Field, Offshore Sabah, Malaysia." SPE Asia Pacific Oil and Gas Conference and Exhibition. SPE, 2015. Abstract, pp. 2-5
Luijendijk, Elco, and Tom Gleeson. "How well can we predict permeability in sedimentary basins? Deriving and evaluating porosity–permeability equations for noncemented sand and clay mixtures." (2015). Pp. 70-74
Schlumberger. Energy Glossary, definition of “pay”. Accessed via URL: glossary(dot)slb(dot)com/terms/p/pay. Definition:
A reservoir or portion of a reservoir that contains economically producible hydrocarbons. The term derives from the fact that it is capable of "paying" an income. Pay is also called pay sand or pay zone. The overall interval in which pay sections occur is the gross pay; the smaller portions of the gross pay that meet local criteria for pay (such as minimum porosity, permeability and hydrocarbon saturation) are net pay.
Deng, Tianqi, Joaquín Ambía, and Carlos Torres-Verdín. "Fast Bayesian inversion method for the generalized petrophysical and compositional interpretation of multiple well logs with uncertainty quantification." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 2019. Pp. 1-5.
/David A Hopkins/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188