Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5, 6, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Horiguchi discloses a communication apparatus comprising: control circuitry (see, circuit as external module of PC, sections 0035-0038; noted, circuit can be control circuit, section 0006) which, in operation, based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and a communication partner, makes a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and makes a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) lower than the first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module sensing the main band to know the usage of the frequency and determine that the frequency band whose power is lower than a threshold of the available band, section 0073); and communication circuitry (see, communication scheme and communication frequency selection processing unit associated with circuits, section 0068) which, in operation, performs the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015).
Horiguchi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and a communication partner, makes a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and makes a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) lower than the first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module sensing the main band to know the usage of the frequency and determine that the frequency band whose power is lower than a threshold of the available band, section 0073); and communication circuitry (see, communication scheme and communication frequency selection processing unit associated with circuits, section 0068) which, in operation, performs the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015).
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor disclose: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and a communication partner (see, propagation characteristics of transmitters used for transmitting power control and beamforming, section 0478 Sachs), makes a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band and makes a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band lower than the first radio frequency band; and communication circuitry which, in operation, performs the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the radio communication module of Horiguchi with the propagation characteristics of Sachs. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Horiguchi discloses a communication method performed by a communication apparatus, the communication method comprising: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and another communication apparatus, making a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and making a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) lower than the first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module sensing the main band to know the usage of the frequency and determine that the frequency band whose power is lower than a threshold of the available band, section 0073); and performing the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015).
Horiguchi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and another communication apparatus, making a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and making a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) lower than the first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module sensing the main band to know the usage of the frequency and determine that the frequency band whose power is lower than a threshold of the available band, section 0073); and performing the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015).
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor disclose: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and another communication apparatus (see, propagation characteristics of transmitters used for transmitting power control and beamforming, section 0478 Sachs), making a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band and making a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band lower than the first radio frequency band; and performing the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the radio communication module of Horiguchi with the propagation characteristics of Sachs. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
Claims 5, 19, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Lee et al. US 20240291577 A1 (Foreign Priority June 21, 2021).
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in is-a line of sight environment, and the control circuitry makes the setting of the enabling of the first communication in a case of the line of sight environment, and makes the setting of the enabling of the second communication in a case of not the line of sight environment.
However Lee from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according claim 1, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in a line of sight environment (see, different bands may have different radio propagation channel characteristics. By using the physical characteristic of the radio propagation channel, a plurality of pieces of various channel information may be obtained, and one of them is the existence or non-existence of an LOS channel, section 0074 Lee), and the control circuitry makes the setting of the enabling of the first communication in a case of the line of sight environment, and makes the setting of the enabling of the second communication in a case of not the line of sight environment (see, BS may determine whether the corresponding channel is an LOS channel, by determining whether reception powers of the multiple bands are greater than threshold power values of the multiple bands such as through it being of a low or high frequency band, sections 0140-151 Lee).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the determining of LOS channel of Lee. The motivation would have been to support higher data rates after the 4th generation (4G) communication system such as 5G and 6G.
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according to Claim 18, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in a line of sight environment, and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band in a case of the line of sight environment, and selects the millimeter wave band in a case of not the line of sight environment.
However Lee from a similar field of endeavor disclose: The communication apparatus according to Claim 18, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in a line of sight environment (see, different bands may have different radio propagation channel characteristics. By using the physical characteristic of the radio propagation channel, a plurality of pieces of various channel information may be obtained, and one of them is the existence or non-existence of an LOS channel, section 0074 Lee), and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band in a case of the line of sight environment, and selects the millimeter wave band in a case of not the line of sight environment (see, BS may determine whether the corresponding channel is an LOS channel, by determining whether reception powers of the multiple bands are greater than threshold power values of the multiple bands such as through it being of a low or high frequency band, sections 0140-151 Lee; noted, the division of multiple bands between sub 6G and Thz, section 0145 Lee; noted, the low frequency band being associated with sub 6G and the high frequency band associated with Thz, section 0158 Lee, noted, LOS channels associated with high frequency band, section 0162 Lee, noted, NLOS path associated with low by a threshold power, section 0166 Lee).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the determining of LOS channel of Lee. The motivation would have been to support higher data rates after the 4th generation (4G) communication system such as 5G and 6G.
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according to Claim 21, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in a line of sight environment, and the control circuitry selects the first radio frequency band in a case of the line of sight environment, and selects the second radio frequency band in a case of not the line of sight environment.
However Lee from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 21, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in a line of sight environment (see, different bands may have different radio propagation channel characteristics. By using the physical characteristic of the radio propagation channel, a plurality of pieces of various channel information may be obtained, and one of them is the existence or non-existence of an LOS channel, section 0074 Lee), and the control circuitry selects the first radio frequency band in a case of the line of sight environment, and selects the second radio frequency band in a case of not the line of sight environment (see, BS may determine whether the corresponding channel is an LOS channel, by determining whether reception powers of the multiple bands are greater than threshold power values of the multiple bands such as through it being of a low or high frequency band, sections 0140-151 Lee; noted, the division of multiple bands between sub 6G and Thz, section 0145 Lee; noted, the low frequency band being associated with sub 6G and the high frequency band associated with Thz, section 0158 Lee, noted, LOS channels associated with high frequency band, section 0162 Lee, noted, NLOS path associated with low by a threshold power, section 0166 Lee).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the determining of LOS channel of Lee. The motivation would have been to support higher data rates after the 4th generation (4G) communication system such as 5G and 6G.
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 25 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according to Claim 24, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner is in a line of sight environment, and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band in a case of the line of sight environment, and selects the millimeter wave band in a case of not the line of sight environment.
However Lee from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 24, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner is in a line of sight environment (see, different bands may have different radio propagation channel characteristics. By using the physical characteristic of the radio propagation channel, a plurality of pieces of various channel information may be obtained, and one of them is the existence or non-existence of an LOS channel, section 0074 Lee), and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band in a case of the line of sight environment, and selects the millimeter wave band in a case of not the line of sight environment (see, BS may determine whether the corresponding channel is an LOS channel, by determining whether reception powers of the multiple bands are greater than threshold power values of the multiple bands such as through it being of a low or high frequency band, sections 0140-151 Lee; noted, the division of multiple bands between sub 6G and Thz, section 0145 Lee; noted, the low frequency band being associated with sub 6G and the high frequency band associated with Thz, section 0158 Lee, noted, LOS channels associated with high frequency band, section 0162 Lee, noted, NLOS path associated with low by a threshold power, section 0166 Lee).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the determining of LOS channel of Lee. The motivation would have been to support higher data rates after the 4th generation (4G) communication system such as 5G and 6G.
Claims 6, 20, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Aldana et al. US 20200120458 A1 (Domestic Priority July 1, 2017).
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according claim 1, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner, and the control circuitry makes the setting of the enabling of the first communication when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value, and makes the setting of the enabling of the second communication when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value.
However Aldana from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner (see, one or more processors configured to estimate a performance parameter of a channel between a terminal device and a target device, determine whether the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than a predefined threshold, and omit a timing advance update or reduce an update frequency for timing advance updates if the performance parameter is less than the predefined threshold, section 1983 Aldana), and the control circuitry makes the setting of the enabling of the first communication when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value (see, increasing or decreasing the current timing advance by a fixed amount based on whether the estimated separation distance or propagation delay is greater than or less than the separation distance and/or propagation delay conveyed by the current timing advance, section 0853 Aldana), and makes the setting of the enabling of the second communication when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value (see, one or more processors are configured to omit the timing advance update or reduce the update frequency for timing advance updates if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the predefined threshold by omitting the timing advance update or reducing the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the threshold, and performing the timing advance update or maintaining the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation deal is greater than the threshold, sections 1900-1903, 1912-1918, 1932-1934, 1944-1956, 1965-1971, 1980-1983 Aldana).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the propagation delay of Aldana. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20 (New), the communication apparatus according to Claim 18, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner, and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value, and selects the millimeter wave band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value.
However Aldana from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 18, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner (see, one or more processors configured to estimate a performance parameter of a channel between a terminal device and a target device, determine whether the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than a predefined threshold, and omit a timing advance update or reduce an update frequency for timing advance updates if the performance parameter is less than the predefined threshold, section 1983 Aldana), and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value (see, increasing or decreasing the current timing advance by a fixed amount based on whether the estimated separation distance or propagation delay is greater than or less than the separation distance and/or propagation delay conveyed by the current timing advance, section 0853 Aldana), and selects the millimeter wave band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value (see, one or more processors are configured to omit the timing advance update or reduce the update frequency for timing advance updates if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the predefined threshold by omitting the timing advance update or reducing the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the threshold, and performing the timing advance update or maintaining the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation deal is greater than the threshold, sections 1900-1903, 1912-1918, 1932-1934, 1944-1956, 1965-1971, 1980-1983 Aldana).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the propagation delay of Aldana. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 23 (New), the communication apparatus according to Claim 21, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner, and the control circuitry selects the first radio frequency band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value, and selects the second radio frequency band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value.
However Aldana from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 21, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner (see, one or more processors configured to estimate a performance parameter of a channel between a terminal device and a target device, determine whether the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than a predefined threshold, and omit a timing advance update or reduce an update frequency for timing advance updates if the performance parameter is less than the predefined threshold, section 1983 Aldana), and the control circuitry selects the first radio frequency band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value (see, increasing or decreasing the current timing advance by a fixed amount based on whether the estimated separation distance or propagation delay is greater than or less than the separation distance and/or propagation delay conveyed by the current timing advance, section 0853 Aldana), and selects the second radio frequency band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value (see, one or more processors are configured to omit the timing advance update or reduce the update frequency for timing advance updates if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the predefined threshold by omitting the timing advance update or reducing the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the threshold, and performing the timing advance update or maintaining the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation deal is greater than the threshold, sections 1900-1903, 1912-1918, 1932-1934, 1944-1956, 1965-1971, 1980-1983 Aldana).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the propagation delay of Aldana. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 26 (New), the communication apparatus according to Claim 24, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner, and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value, and selects the millimeter wave band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value.
However Aldana from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 24, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner (see, one or more processors configured to estimate a performance parameter of a channel between a terminal device and a target device, determine whether the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than a predefined threshold, and omit a timing advance update or reduce an update frequency for timing advance updates if the performance parameter is less than the predefined threshold, section 1983 Aldana), and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value (see, increasing or decreasing the current timing advance by a fixed amount based on whether the estimated separation distance or propagation delay is greater than or less than the separation distance and/or propagation delay conveyed by the current timing advance, section 0853 Aldana), and selects the millimeter wave band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value (see, one or more processors are configured to omit the timing advance update or reduce the update frequency for timing advance updates if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the predefined threshold by omitting the timing advance update or reducing the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the threshold, and performing the timing advance update or maintaining the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation deal is greater than the threshold, sections 1900-1903, 1912-1918, 1932-1934, 1944-1956, 1965-1971, 1980-1983 Aldana).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the propagation delay of Aldana. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Kreienkamp et al. US 20200228264 A1 (Domestic Priority September 28, 2017).
The combination of Horiguchi and Sachs discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11 (Original), the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the control circuitry includes baseband processing circuitry which, in operation, performs baseband processing, the baseband processing circuitry being common to the first communication and the second communication.
However Kreienkamp from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the control circuitry includes baseband processing circuitry which, in operation, performs baseband processing (see, circuitry for processing (filtering, symbol mapping) information of the baseband transmit signal, section 0045 Kreienkamp), the baseband processing circuitry being common to the first communication and the second communication (see, baseband transmit signal being processed using either the first bandwidth or second bandwidth, section 0078 Kreienkamp).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the processing of baseband transmit signal of Kreienkamp. The motivation would have been to improve the methods for controlling bandwidth used for processing a baseband.
The combination of Horiguchi and Sachs discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 12 (Original), the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes a first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band and a second local oscillator which, in operation, generates a signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band.
However Kreienkamp from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes a first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a first frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp) and a second local oscillator which, in operation, generates a signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a second frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the generation of signals of Kreienkamp. The motivation would have been to improve the methods for controlling bandwidth used for processing a baseband.
The combination of Horiguchi and Sachs discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes: a first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band; and a second local oscillator which, in operation, generates a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the communication circuitry includes an up-converter corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the up-converter being common to the first communication and the second communication, and the first signal corresponds to a frequency equal to a difference in frequency between the first radio frequency band and the second radio frequency band.
However Kreienkamp from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes: a first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a first frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp); and a second local oscillator which, in operation (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a second frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp), generates a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a second frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp), the communication circuitry includes an up-converter corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, circuitry used to up-convert baseband transmit signal, section 0045 Kreienkamp; noted, converters can correspond to a first or second frequency, section 0306 Kreienkamp), the up-converter being common to the first communication and the second communication (see, circuitry used to up-convert baseband transmit signal, section 0045 Kreienkamp; noted, converters can correspond to a first or second frequency, section 0306 Kreienkamp), and the first signal corresponds to a frequency equal to a difference in frequency between the first radio frequency band and the second radio frequency band (see, to shift a phase of the baseband transmit signal processed by the transmit path using the second bandwidth based on a difference between a frequency of data of the baseband transmit signal related to an allocated physical resource bock and a desired frequency of the data at the first bandwidth, section 0282 Kreienkamp).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the up-convert baseband transmit signal of Kreienkamp. The motivation would have been to improve the methods for controlling bandwidth used for processing a baseband.
The combination of Horiguchi and Sachs discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Original), the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes a local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band, and a frequency divider which, in operation, divides a frequency of the first signal to generate a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band.
However Kreienkamp from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes a local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a first frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp), and a frequency divider (see, oscillation is further frequency divided by divider, section 0164 Kreienkamp) which, in operation, divides a frequency of the first signal to generate a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, generation of a second Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) from oscillation signal that is generated by divider based on the first ADC, section 0241 Kreienkamp).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the dividers of Kreienkamp. The motivation would have been to improve the methods for controlling bandwidth used for processing a baseband.
The combination of Horiguchi and Sachs discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes: a local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band; and a frequency divider which, in operation, divides a frequency of the first signal to generate a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the communication circuitry includes an up-converter corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the up-converter being common to the first communication and the second communication, and the first signal corresponds to a frequency equal to a difference in frequency between the first radio frequency band and the second radio frequency band.
However Kreienkamp from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes: a local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a first frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp); and a frequency divider (see, oscillation is further frequency divided by divider, section 0164 Kreienkamp) which, in operation, divides a frequency of the first signal to generate a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the communication circuitry includes an up-converter (see, circuitry used to up-convert baseband transmit signal, section 0045 Kreienkamp; noted, converters can correspond to a first or second frequency, section 0306 Kreienkamp) corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, generation of a second Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) from oscillation signal that is generated by divider based on the first ADC, section 0241 Kreienkamp), the up-converter being common to the first communication and the second communication (see, circuitry used to up-convert baseband transmit signal, section 0045 Kreienkamp; noted, converters can correspond to a first or second frequency, section 0306 Kreienkamp), and the first signal corresponds to a frequency equal to a difference in frequency between the first radio frequency band and the second radio frequency band (see, to shift a phase of the baseband transmit signal processed by the transmit path using the second bandwidth based on a difference between a frequency of data of the baseband transmit signal related to an allocated physical resource bock and a desired frequency of the data at the first bandwidth, section 0282 Kreienkamp).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the generation of signals of Kreienkamp. The motivation would have been to improve the methods for controlling bandwidth used for processing a baseband.
The combination of Horiguchi and Sachs discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16 (Original), the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes a local oscillator which, in operation, switches between outputting a signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band and outputting a signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band.
However Kreienkamp from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes a local oscillator which, in operation, switches between outputting a signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band (see, optimization block switches the bandwidth used for processing the baseband transmit signal, section 0091 Kreienkamp; noted, switching between first and second bandwidth, section 0132 Kreienkamp) and outputting a signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, optimization block switches the bandwidth used for processing the baseband transmit signal, section 0091 Kreienkamp; noted, switching between first and second bandwidth, section 0132 Kreienkamp).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the switching of Kreienkamp. The motivation would have been to improve the methods for controlling bandwidth used for processing a baseband.
Claims 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Singh et al. US 20100315954 A1 (Domestic Priority June 16, 2009).
The combination of Horiguchi and Sachs discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 18 (New), the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first radio frequency band is a terahertz band, and the second radio frequency band is a millimeter wave band.
However Singh from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first radio frequency band is a terahertz band (see, high-rate channel can use a terahertz frequency ranging between 300 GHz and 3 THz, section 0034 Singh; noted, high-rate channel associated with a first multi-band station, section 0038 Singh; noted, first multi-band wireless station that is capable of using a first frequency band and a second frequency band for wireless communication, section 0009 Singh; noted, first multi-band wireless station includes multi-band manager that manages use of multiple bands, sections 0053-0054 Singh), and the second radio frequency band is a millimeter wave band (see, low-rate channel may be a channel having a frequency below 6 GHz, section 0035 Singh; noted, LR network uses a lower rate channel that include a low-rate (LR) access point, section 0037; noted, first multi-band station is associated with the low-rate access point; noted, first multi-band wireless station that is capable of using a first frequency band and a second frequency band for wireless communication, section 0009 Singh; noted, first multi-band wireless station includes multi-band manager that manages use of multiple bands, sections 0053-0054 Singh).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the different frequency bands of Singh. The motivation would have been to share the monitored status between stations.
The combination of Horiguchi and Sachs discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 24 (New), the communication apparatus according to Claim 21, wherein the first radio frequency band is a terahertz band, and the second radio frequency band is a millimeter wave band.
However Singh from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 21, wherein the first radio frequency band is a terahertz band (see, high-rate channel can use a terahertz frequency ranging between 300 GHz and 3 THz, section 0034 Singh; noted, high-rate channel associated with a first multi-band station, section 0038 Singh; noted, first multi-band wireless station that is capable of using a first frequency band and a second frequency band for wireless communication, section 0009 Singh; noted, first multi-band wireless station includes multi-band manager that manages use of multiple bands, sections 0053-0054 Singh), and the second radio frequency band is a millimeter wave band (see, low-rate channel may be a channel having a frequency below 6 GHz, section 0035 Singh; noted, LR network uses a lower rate channel that include a low-rate (LR) access point, section 0037; noted, first multi-band station is associated with the low-rate access point; noted, first multi-band wireless station that is capable of using a first frequency band and a second frequency band for wireless communication, section 0009 Singh; noted, first multi-band wireless station includes multi-band manager that manages use of multiple bands, sections 0053-0054 Singh).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the different frequency bands of Singh. The motivation would have been to share the monitored status between stations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473