Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Narathong et al. US 20130229954 A1 (Domestic Priority March 1, 2012).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Horiguchi discloses a communication apparatus comprising: control circuitry (see, circuit as external module of PC, sections 0035-0038; noted, circuit can be control circuit, section 0006) including at least one of a first local oscillator, a second local oscillator, or a frequency divider (see, the sensing processing unit measures the power in each frequency while dividing the main band into fine grids according to an instruction of the sensing frequency selection processing unit, section 0070), wherein the control circuitry, in operation, based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and a communication partner, makes a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and makes a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) lower than the first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module sensing the main band to know the usage of the frequency and determine that the frequency band whose power is lower than a threshold of the available band, section 0073); and communication circuitry (see, communication scheme and communication frequency selection processing unit associated with circuits, section 0068) including at least one of a first up-converter or a second up- converter, wherein the communication circuitry, in operation, performs the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015), wherein, the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider.
Horiguchi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and a communication partner, makes a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band and makes a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band lower than the first radio frequency band; and communication circuitry including at least one of a first up-converter or a second up- converter, wherein the communication circuitry, in operation, performs the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication, wherein, the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and a communication partner (see, propagation characteristics of transmitters used for transmitting power control and beamforming, section 0478 Sachs), makes a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band and makes a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band lower than the first radio frequency band; and communication circuitry including at least one of a first up-converter or a second up- converter, wherein the communication circuitry, in operation, performs the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication, wherein, the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the radio communication module of Horiguchi with the propagation characteristics of Sachs. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: communication circuitry including at least one of a first up-converter or a second up- converter, wherein the communication circuitry, in operation, performs the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication, wherein, the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider.
However Narathong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: communication circuitry including at least one of a first up-converter or a second up- converter (see, transmit circuits include a buffer, a frequency divider, and an upconverter, section 0033 Narathong), wherein the communication circuitry, in operation, performs the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication, wherein, the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the upconverter of Narathong. The motivation would have been to improve dual frequency synthesizer architecture.
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Horiguchi discloses a communication method performed by a communication apparatus that includes at least one of a first local oscillator, a second local oscillator, a first up- converter, a second up-converter or a frequency divider(see, the sensing processing unit measures the power in each frequency while dividing the main band into fine grids according to an instruction of the sensing frequency selection processing unit, section 0070), the communication method comprising: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and another communication apparatus, making a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and making a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band (see, radio communication module of a frequency band determines whether the communication is enabled or disabled, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) lower than the first radio frequency band (see, radio communication module sensing the main band to know the usage of the frequency and determine that the frequency band whose power is lower than a threshold of the available band, section 0073); and performing the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the first frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015) and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication (noted, when the radio communication module determines whether commination is enabled or disabled, it notifies other radio communication apparatus to perform different processing, section 0050; noted, the second frequency band being affected by different signal power, sections 0007-0015), wherein the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider.
Horiguchi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and another communication apparatus, making a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band and making a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band lower than the first radio frequency band; and performing the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication, wherein the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: based on a propagation characteristic between the communication apparatus and another communication apparatus (see, propagation characteristics of transmitters used for transmitting power control and beamforming, section 0478 Sachs), making a setting of enabling or disabling of first communication using a first radio frequency band and making a setting of enabling or disabling of second communication using a second radio frequency band lower than the first radio frequency band; and performing the first communication or the second communication in accordance with the setting of the enabling or disabling of the first communication and the setting of the enabling or disabling of the second communication, wherein the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the radio communication module of Horiguchi with the propagation characteristics of Sachs. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
The combination of Horiguchi and Saches discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider.
However Narathong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the enabling of the first communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), the enabling of the second communication includes enabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), the disabling of the first communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling at least one of the first local oscillator, the second local oscillator, the first up-converter, the second up-converter, or the frequency divider (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi and Sachs with the upconverter of Narathong. The motivation would have been to improve dual frequency synthesizer architecture.
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Narathong et al. US 20130229954 A1 (Domestic Priority March 1, 2012), and in further view of Lee et al. US 20240291577 A1 (Foreign Priority June 21, 2021).
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5 (Previously Presented), the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in is-a line of sight environment, and the control circuitry makes the setting of the enabling of the first communication in a case of the line of sight environment, and makes the setting of the enabling of the second communication in a case of not the line of sight environment.
However Lee from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the communication apparatus according claim 1, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in a line of sight environment (see, different bands may have different radio propagation channel characteristics. By using the physical characteristic of the radio propagation channel, a plurality of pieces of various channel information may be obtained, and one of them is the existence or non-existence of an LOS channel, section 0074 Lee), and the control circuitry makes the setting of the enabling of the first communication in a case of the line of sight environment, and makes the setting of the enabling of the second communication in a case of not the line of sight environment (see, BS may determine whether the corresponding channel is an LOS channel, by determining whether reception powers of the multiple bands are greater than threshold power values of the multiple bands such as through it being of a low or high frequency band, sections 0140-151 Lee).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong with the determining of LOS channel of Lee. The motivation would have been to support higher data rates after the 4th generation (4G) communication system such as 5G and 6G.
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 19 (Previously Presented), the communication apparatus according to Claim 18, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in a line of sight environment, and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band in a case of the line of sight environment, and selects the millimeter wave band in a case of not the line of sight environment.
However Lee from a similar field of endeavor discloses: The communication apparatus according to Claim 18, wherein the propagation characteristic is whether or not the communication apparatus and the communication partner are in a line of sight environment (see, different bands may have different radio propagation channel characteristics. By using the physical characteristic of the radio propagation channel, a plurality of pieces of various channel information may be obtained, and one of them is the existence or non-existence of an LOS channel, section 0074 Lee), and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band in a case of the line of sight environment, and selects the millimeter wave band in a case of not the line of sight environment (see, BS may determine whether the corresponding channel is an LOS channel, by determining whether reception powers of the multiple bands are greater than threshold power values of the multiple bands such as through it being of a low or high frequency band, sections 0140-151 Lee; noted, the division of multiple bands between sub 6G and Thz, section 0145 Lee; noted, the low frequency band being associated with sub 6G and the high frequency band associated with Thz, section 0158 Lee, noted, LOS channels associated with high frequency band, section 0162 Lee, noted, NLOS path associated with low by a threshold power, section 0166 Lee).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong with the determining of LOS channel of Lee. The motivation would have been to support higher data rates after the 4th generation (4G) communication system such as 5G and 6G.
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Narathong et al. US 20130229954 A1 (Domestic Priority March 1, 2012), and in further view of Aldana et al. US 20200120458 A1 (Domestic Priority July 1, 2017).
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6 (Previously Presented), the communication apparatus according claim 1, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner, and the control circuitry makes the setting of the enabling of the first communication when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value, and makes the setting of the enabling of the second communication when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value.
However Aldana from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner (see, one or more processors configured to estimate a performance parameter of a channel between a terminal device and a target device, determine whether the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than a predefined threshold, and omit a timing advance update or reduce an update frequency for timing advance updates if the performance parameter is less than the predefined threshold, section 1983 Aldana), and the control circuitry makes the setting of the enabling of the first communication when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value (see, increasing or decreasing the current timing advance by a fixed amount based on whether the estimated separation distance or propagation delay is greater than or less than the separation distance and/or propagation delay conveyed by the current timing advance, section 0853 Aldana), and makes the setting of the enabling of the second communication when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value (see, one or more processors are configured to omit the timing advance update or reduce the update frequency for timing advance updates if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the predefined threshold by omitting the timing advance update or reducing the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the threshold, and performing the timing advance update or maintaining the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation deal is greater than the threshold, sections 1900-1903, 1912-1918, 1932-1934, 1944-1956, 1965-1971, 1980-1983 Aldana).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong with the propagation delay of Aldana. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20 (Previously Presented), the communication apparatus according to Claim 18, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner, and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value, and selects the millimeter wave band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value.
However Aldana from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the communication apparatus according to Claim 18, wherein the propagation characteristic is a delay amount or a delay spread amount of a delay wave of communication between the communication apparatus and the communication partner (see, one or more processors configured to estimate a performance parameter of a channel between a terminal device and a target device, determine whether the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than a predefined threshold, and omit a timing advance update or reduce an update frequency for timing advance updates if the performance parameter is less than the predefined threshold, section 1983 Aldana), and the control circuitry selects the terahertz band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is greater than or equal to a threshold value (see, increasing or decreasing the current timing advance by a fixed amount based on whether the estimated separation distance or propagation delay is greater than or less than the separation distance and/or propagation delay conveyed by the current timing advance, section 0853 Aldana), and selects the millimeter wave band when the delay amount or the delay spread amount is less than the threshold value (see, one or more processors are configured to omit the timing advance update or reduce the update frequency for timing advance updates if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the predefined threshold by omitting the timing advance update or reducing the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation delay is less than the threshold, and performing the timing advance update or maintaining the update frequency if the separation distance or the propagation deal is greater than the threshold, sections 1900-1903, 1912-1918, 1932-1934, 1944-1956, 1965-1971, 1980-1983 Aldana).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong with the propagation delay of Aldana. The motivation would have been to improve radio communication technology.
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Narathong et al. US 20130229954 A1 (Domestic Priority March 1, 2012), and in further view of Kreienkamp et al. US 20200228264 A1 (Domestic Priority September 28, 2017).
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11 (Original), the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the control circuitry includes baseband processing circuitry which, in operation, performs baseband processing, the baseband processing circuitry being common to the first communication and the second communication.
However Kreienkamp from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the control circuitry includes baseband processing circuitry which, in operation, performs baseband processing (see, circuitry for processing (filtering, symbol mapping) information of the baseband transmit signal, section 0045 Kreienkamp), the baseband processing circuitry being common to the first communication and the second communication (see, baseband transmit signal being processed using either the first bandwidth or second bandwidth, section 0078 Kreienkamp).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong with the processing of baseband transmit signal of Kreienkamp. The motivation would have been to improve the methods for controlling bandwidth used for processing a baseband.
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16 (Original), the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes a local oscillator which, in operation, switches between outputting a signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band and outputting a signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band.
However Kreienkamp from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the control circuitry includes a local oscillator which, in operation, switches between outputting a signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band (see, optimization block switches the bandwidth used for processing the baseband transmit signal, section 0091 Kreienkamp; noted, switching between first and second bandwidth, section 0132 Kreienkamp) and outputting a signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, optimization block switches the bandwidth used for processing the baseband transmit signal, section 0091 Kreienkamp; noted, switching between first and second bandwidth, section 0132 Kreienkamp).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, and Narathong with the switching of Kreienkamp. The motivation would have been to improve the methods for controlling bandwidth used for processing a baseband.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Narathong et al. US 20130229954 A1 (Domestic Priority March 1, 2012) of claim 1, and in further view of Kreienkamp et al. US 20200228264 A1 (Domestic Priority September 28, 2017), and in further view of Narathong et al. US 20130229954 A1 (Domestic Priority March 1, 2012).
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, Narathong of claim 1, and Kreienkamp discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein, the control circuitry includes the first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a first frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp) and the second local oscillator which, in operation, generates a signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a second frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp), the enabling of the first communication includes enabling the first local oscillator, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling the second local oscillator, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling the first local oscillator, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling the second local oscillator.
However Narathong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein, the control circuitry includes the first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band and the second local oscillator which, in operation, generates a signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, transceiver includes multiple receivers and transmitters to support multiple frequency bands, section 0025 Narathong), the enabling of the first communication includes enabling the first local oscillator (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), the enabling of the second communication includes enabling the second local oscillator (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), the disabling of the first communication includes disabling the first local oscillator (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling the second local oscillator (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, Narathong of claim 1, and Kreienkamp with the frequency divider and upconverter of Narathong. The motivation would have been to improve generation of radio frequency signals.
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, Narathong of claim 1, and Kreienkamp discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein, the control circuitry includes the first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band (see, the generation of an oscillation signal based on a first frequency control word, section 0306 Kreienkamp), and the frequency divider (see, oscillation is further frequency divided by divider, section 0164 Kreienkamp) which, in operation, divides a frequency of the first signal to generate a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band (see, generation of a second Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) from oscillation signal that is generated by divider based on the first ADC, section 0241 Kreienkamp), the enabling of the first communication includes enabling an output from the first local oscillator to the first up-converter, the enabling of the second communication includes enabling an output from the first local oscillator to the frequency divider, the disabling of the first communication includes disabling an output from the first local oscillator to the first up-converter, and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling an output from the first local oscillator to the frequency divider.
However Narathong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein, the control circuitry includes the first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to the first radio frequency band, and the frequency divider which, in operation, divides a frequency of the first signal to generate a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the enabling of the first communication includes enabling an output from the first local oscillator to the first up-converter (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), the enabling of the second communication includes enabling an output from the first local oscillator to the frequency divider (see, first and second oscillator signals may be divided in frequency, section 0078 Narathong), the disabling of the first communication includes disabling an output from the first local oscillator to the first up-converter (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong), and the disabling of the second communication includes disabling an output from the first local oscillator to the frequency divider (see, frequency synthesizer 250a is enabled a short time prior to when receiver 230 is enabled and is disabled when receiver 230 is disabled, section 0065 Narathong; noted, two frequency synthesizers 250a and 250b that are each supported by a transceiver that include a transmitter that include transmit circuits such as a frequency divider and an upconverter, section 0040 Narathong; noted, first and second frequency synthesizers may generate the first and second oscillator signals at different oscillator/VCO frequencies, section 0078 Narathong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, Narathong of claim 1, and Kreienkamp with the frequency divider and upconverter of Narathong. The motivation would have been to improve generation of radio frequency signals.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Narathong et al. US 20130229954 A1 (Domestic Priority March 1, 2012) , and in further view of Kreienkamp et al. US 20200228264 A1 (Domestic Priority September 28, 2017), and in further view of Kuo et al. US 20140120846 A1 (Foreign Priority October 30, 2012).
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, Narathong, and Kreienkamp discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein, the control circuitry includes: the first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to a difference in frequency between the first radio frequency band and the second radio frequency band; and the second local oscillator which, in operation, generates a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the communication circuitry includes: the second up-converter that inputs an output signal of the baseband processing circuitry and an output signal of the second local oscillator; and the first up-converter that inputs an output signal of the second up-converter and an output signal of the first local oscillator, the enabling of the first communication and the disabling of the second communication includes enabling both of the first local oscillator and the second local oscillator, and the disabling of the first communication and the enabling of the second communication includes disabling the first local oscillator and enabling the second local oscillator.
However Kuo from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein, the control circuitry includes: the first local oscillator which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to a difference in frequency between the first radio frequency band and the second radio frequency band (see, a phase difference between the first differential oscillation signal and the second differential oscillation signal, section 0038 Kuo); and the second local oscillator which, in operation, generates a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the communication circuitry includes: an the second up-converter that inputs an output signal of the baseband processing circuitry (see, the baseband signal processing unit may up-convert the baseband signal outputted from the baseband signal generating unit, section 0026 Kuo) and an output signal of the second local oscillator (see, generation of a component radio frequency signal with oscillation signal while in up-convert mode, section 0054 Kuo); and the first up-converter that inputs an output signal of the second up-converter and an output signal of the first local oscillator (see, in the up-convert mode, the first differential pair and the second differential pair may collectively mix a baseband signal with a local oscillation signal, section 0051 Kuo), the enabling of the first communication and the disabling of the second communication includes enabling both of the first local oscillator and the second local oscillator (see, first differential current source and the second differential current source are enabled in the up-convert mode, section 0033 Kuo), and the disabling of the first communication and the enabling of the second communication includes disabling the first local oscillator and enabling the second local oscillator (see, enabling and disabling a corresponding component in the baseband signal processing unit from upconvert mode, section 0028 Kuo).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, Narathong, and Kreienkamp with the baseband signal processing of Kuo. The motivation would have been to improve generation of radio frequency signals.
The combination of Horiguchi, Saches, Narathong, and Kreienkamp discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein, the control circuitry includes: the first local oscillator, which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to a difference in frequency between the first radio frequency band and the second radio frequency band; and the frequency divider, which, in operation, divides a frequency of the first signal to generate a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the communication circuitry includes: the second up-converter that inputs an output signal of the baseband processing circuitry and an output signal of the second up-converter; and the first up-converter that inputs an output signal of the second up-converter and an output signal of the first local oscillator, the enabling of the first communication and the disabling of the second communication includes enabling both of the first local oscillator and the frequency divider, and the disabling of the first communication and the enabling of the second communication includes enabling an output from the first local oscillator to the frequency divider and disabling an output from the first local oscillator to the first up-converter.
However Kuo from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended) The communication apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein, the control circuitry includes: the first local oscillator, which, in operation, generates a first signal corresponding to a difference in frequency between the first radio frequency band and the second radio frequency band (see, a phase difference between the first differential oscillation signal and the second differential oscillation signal, section 0038 Kuo); and the frequency divider, which, in operation, divides a frequency of the first signal to generate a second signal corresponding to the second radio frequency band, the communication circuitry includes: the second up-converter that inputs an output signal of the baseband processing circuitry (see, the baseband signal processing unit may up-convert the baseband signal outputted from the baseband signal generating unit, section 0026 Kuo) and an output signal of the second up-converter (see, generation of a component radio frequency signal with oscillation signal while in up-convert mode, section 0054 Kuo); and the first up-converter that inputs an output signal of the second up-converter and an output signal of the first local oscillator (see, in the up-convert mode, the first differential pair and the second differential pair may collectively mix a baseband signal with a local oscillation signal, section 0051 Kuo), the enabling of the first communication and the disabling of the second communication includes enabling both of the first local oscillator and the frequency divider (see, first differential current source and the second differential current source are enabled in the up-convert mode, section 0033 Kuo), and the disabling of the first communication and the enabling of the second communication includes enabling an output from the first local oscillator to the frequency divider (see, enabling and disabling a corresponding component in the baseband signal processing unit from upconvert mode, section 0028 Kuo) and disabling an output from the first local oscillator to the first up-converter (see, disabling of multiple components in the up-convert mode, section 0049 Kuo).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Saches, Narathong, and Kreienkamp with the baseband signal processing of Kuo. The motivation would have been to improve generation of radio frequency signals.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. US 20080260084 A1 (Foreign Priority April 20, 2007) in view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Narathong et al. US 20130229954 A1 (Domestic Priority March 1, 2012), and in further view of Singh et al. US 20100315954 A1 (Domestic Priority June 16, 2009).
The combination of Horiguchi, Sachs, and Narathong discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 18 (Previously Presented), the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first radio frequency band is a terahertz band, and the second radio frequency band is a millimeter wave band.
However Singh from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first radio frequency band is a terahertz band (see, high-rate channel can use a terahertz frequency ranging between 300 GHz and 3 THz, section 0034 Singh; noted, high-rate channel associated with a first multi-band station, section 0038 Singh; noted, first multi-band wireless station that is capable of using a first frequency band and a second frequency band for wireless communication, section 0009 Singh; noted, first multi-band wireless station includes multi-band manager that manages use of multiple bands, sections 0053-0054 Singh), and the second radio frequency band is a millimeter wave band (see, low-rate channel may be a channel having a frequency below 6 GHz, section 0035 Singh; noted, LR network uses a lower rate channel that include a low-rate (LR) access point, section 0037; noted, first multi-band station is associated with the low-rate access point; noted, first multi-band wireless station that is capable of using a first frequency band and a second frequency band for wireless communication, section 0009 Singh; noted, first multi-band wireless station includes multi-band manager that manages use of multiple bands, sections 0053-0054 Singh).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Horiguchi, Sachs, and Narathong with the different frequency bands of Singh. The motivation would have been to share the monitored status between stations.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473