Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,628,903. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the presently claimed limitations are taught by the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagne ((WO2018/185528, cited by applicant) in view of Fairgrieve (US PGPub 2015/0224989).
Regarding claims 1 and 24, Gagne teaches a driving control system and method for enhancing steering control of a vehicle (power steering system), the vehicle having a vehicle body (Figures 1A or 1B) and at least one ground engaging member 18 (ski or wheel) connected to the vehicle body, the driving control system comprising: a steering system 12 having a user operated steering element (handlebar 22) for adjusting an angle of the at least one ground engaging member relative to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle; an electrically actuated device (electric power steering system; para [0013], lines 1-3; Figure 2) coupled to the steering system for applying a torque to the steering system; a plurality of sensors (controller 26 receives various inputs from various sensors on the vehicle, para [0013], [0014], [0016]; vehicle speed sensor 28, steering torque sensor, steering rate sensor, steering position sensor) to generate terrain condition data of the terrain and to generate operational data of the vehicle, wherein said plurality of sensors comprises a torque sensor (para [0005], line 5) to generate a portion of the operational data of the vehicle and at least one additional sensor (speed sensor, steering position sensor, etc.); and at least one controller 26 coupled to the electrically actuated device and the sensors (see Figure 2), the at least one controller determining a torque to apply to the steering system responsive to an angle and speed of rotation of the user operated steering element by using the generated operational data (para [0013]); and operating the electrically actuated device (power steering electric motor) to apply the torque to the steering system for providing enhanced steering control of the vehicle responsive to the angle and speed of rotation of the user operated steering element (para [0016], lines 1-5), with the torque being applied only by the electrically actuated device.
Gagne does not explicitly teach selecting a terrain condition mode using the generated terrain condition data and determining the torque to apply to the steering system using the selected terrain condition mode, wherein the terrain condition mode is selected from a first mode, a second mode, and a third mode.
Fairgrieve teaches a driving control system for enhancing steering control of a vehicle (a power steering system is one of the vehicle subsystems that is controlled based on terrain conditions) including selecting a terrain condition mode (the control system automatically selects the appropriate operating mode (para [0008], lines 1-5) using the generated terrain condition data and selecting the torque to apply to the steering system in response to the selected terrain condition mode generated operational data, wherein the terrain condition mode is selected from a first mode, a second mode, and a third mode (many modes are discussed including a mud mode, an ice mode, a sand mode, a rock crawl mode, a rough-road mode, etc.; para [0036]-[0040]). Each operating mode is automatically selected in response to driving conditions and provides a control mode for the vehicle subsystems (including a steering subsystem; para [0066], [0067], [0116], [0117], [0118]). The power steering systems, in particular, are then operated in different modes to provide a varying level of assistance depending on the selected mode driving conditions (see para [0003], lines 11-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering control strategy of Gagne to include selecting a terrain condition mode, from at least three different terrain condition modes, using generated terrain condition data, to determine the torque to apply to the steering system, in view of Fairgrieve, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a varying level of assistance based on driving conditions for greater driving stability.
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Gagne teaches that the at least one controller 26 operates the electrically actuated device (electric steering motor) to apply the torque to the steering system during the rotation of the user operated steering element in a direction that is opposite the rotation of the user operated steering element or toward the center position (counteracts feedback to steering device due to rough road conditions and dampens steering operation; para [0004], [0022]).
Regarding claim 3, Gagne teaches at least one additional sensor is selected from the group consisting of a tachometer, a torque request sensor (throttle sensor; para 0020], line 3), a speedometer (speed sensor 28; para [0020, line 4), a force sensor (para [0020], line 21), a side load torque sensor, a steering angle sensor (para [0016], line 5), a position sensor, a global positioning satellite module and an inertial navigation system module.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches that the at least one controller determines the torque to apply to the steering system responsive to an angle and speed of rotation of the user (Gagne) operated steering element by: using the selected terrain condition mode and the generated operational data to determine a current torque of the steering system responsive to the angle and speed of rotation of the user operated steering element (Fairgrieve); using the selected terrain condition mode and the generated operational data to calculate a target torque for the steering system responsive to the angle and speed of rotation of the user operated steering element; and operating the electrically actuated device to adjust the torque applied to the steering system responsive to the angle and speed of rotation of the user operated steering element from the determined current torque to the calculated target torque.
Regarding claim 5, Gagne teaches the at least one controller calculates the target torque from an engine RPM value (para [0014], lines 1-3; para [0020], line 4), an engine torque request value (throttle level; para [0020], line 4), and a determined current speed of the vehicle on the terrain (vehicle speed 28; para [0014], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Fairgrieve teaches the at least one controller implements a feedback loop that adjusts the torque applied to the steering system based on updates to the selected terrain condition mode and angle over time (terrain conditions are continuously monitored and a subsystem controller adjusts the selected mode to terrain conditions).
Regarding claim 8, Gagne teaches the user operated steering element 22 comprises a handle (para [0004], line 4; Figure 1A, 1B, 2).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagne and Fairgrieve as applied to claims 1-8 and 24 above, and further in view of Amatsuka (GPub 2018/0009474).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches all of the claimed limitations except for the controller determining an uphill condition, a neutral condition, or a downhill condition of the vehicle on the terrain and modifying a relative degree of the torque applied to the steering system based on the determined uphill condition or based on the determined downhill condition.
Amatsuka teaches a steering controller that determines an uphill condition, a neutral condition, or a downhill condition of the vehicle on the terrain (determines a slope parameter of the road ) and modifies a relative degree of the torque applied to the steering system based on the determined uphill condition or based on the determined downhill condition (Figure 12C shows relationship between uphill slope of the road on which the vehicle drives and the assist amount; para [0119]-[0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control strategy of the combination by determining an uphill condition and controlling the assist torque applied by the steering assist motor at least in part based on the determined uphill condition, in view of Amatsuka, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to maintain turning stability of the steering wheel and easily change the steering angle of the steering wheel (see para Amatsuka, para [0123])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the obviousness double patenting rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Walsh, Kato, Yan, Kreis, and Ankar teach steering systems responsive to terrain conditions.
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/