DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 11, 20, are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application filed in PRO 63/327664 on 04/05/2022 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20050254560) in view of Neugebauer (US 20090290660).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang teaches the following limitations:
A system, comprising: a correlation engine; and (Huang – [0012] the correlation engine for accumulating a plurality of in-phase correlations to produce an in-phase coherent integration,)
a first input sample memory operatively coupled to the correlation engine, (Huang – [Claim 1] a correlation engine comprised of a plurality of partial correlation modules connected to the first memory)
the correlation engine comprising a channel selection controller and (Huang – [Fig. 1], [Fig. 4] C/A code selection, [0036] The decimator 206 is driven by the NCO 204 through a timing controller 208 to generate an in-phase signal I2 and a quadrature signal Q2, and I2 and Q2 have a lower data rate than I1 and Q1. For example, I1 and Q1 have a nominal data rate of 8 samples/chip, while the data rate of I2 and Q2 can be 2 (or 4) samples/chip. In addition, the decimator 206 also takes Doppler shift compensation into consideration. [0043] FIG. 4 illustrates the architecture of the correlation engine 300 according to the present invention. As show in FIG. 4, the correlation engine 300 comprises serial-to-parallel (S/P) converters 302A, 302B connected to the decimator 206 for grouping a plurality of samples into a word, RAM buffers 304A, 304B with a data width capable of storing the word, a plurality of partial correlation (ParCor) modules 330 for calculating a partial correlation between the word and a PN code segment, and an PN code LUT ROM 306 for storing the PN codes.)
being configured, under a control of the channel selection controller: to calculate, during a first execution interval, a correlation corresponding to a first channel, the first channel having a first context length defining a first amount of data processed during the calculation corresponding to the first channel; and (Huang – [0036], [0005] The PN code used in the spread-spectrum signal of the GPS has a length of 1023 chips with the period of 1 msec. [0032] The present invention will be described in detail below as being applied to the GPS, and one skilled in the art shall appreciate that the application of the present invention is not limited to the GPS system. [0033] an acquisition apparatus 200 for acquiring the GPS signal and a plurality of tracking modules 500 for tracking the GPS signal. The digitized IF output from the RF front-end 104 may be 1 to 4 bits per sample; 1 bit output is used in paragraphs below for illustration purposes.)
to calculate, during the first execution interval, a correlation corresponding to a second channel, the second channel having a second context length, different from the first context length, (Huang – [0036], [0044] The 16-bit words are to be written to the 128 word-by-16-bit RAM buffers 304A, 304B (or a single 128 word-by-32-bit RAM buffer), which serves the purpose of the sample delay line in FIG. 3.) Huang does not explicitly teach “different context lengths”.)
the second context length defining a second amount of data, different from the first amount of data, processed during the calculation of the correlation corresponding to the second channel, (Huang – [0005], [0032], [0033], [0036], [0044])
wherein the first channel has a first starting time to read the first amount of data and the second channel has a second starting time to read the second amount of data, the first starting time being different from the second starting time. (Huang – [0033], [0036], [0037] Accumulating the 1 msec outputs frame-by-frame and adding together at the same relative offset from the start of the frame will improve the signal-to-noise ratio, as shown in FIG. 2. Four frames 101, 102, 103 and 104 are added to produce a coherent integrated frame 105. [0006] A GPS receiver may, using the different PN sequences, search the signal spectrum to look for a match. If the GPS receiver finds a match, then it will identify the satellite that generated the signal. GNSS start times are dependent on the satellite signals, not the device.)
Huang does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Neugebauer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
different context length (Neugebauer – [0060] alternative PN sequence of similar or dissimilar length that indicates a frame timing boundary.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the correlation engine of Huang with the different frame lengths of Neugebauer in order to perform frame synchronization. (Neugebauer – [0006]).
Regarding Claims 2, 12, Huang further teaches:
further comprising a second input sample memory operatively coupled to the correlation engine. (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0043])
Regarding Claims 3, 13, Huang further teaches:
wherein the first channel is configured to process samples from the first input sample memory and (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0043])
the second channel is configured to process samples from the second input sample memory. (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0043])
Regarding Claims 4, 14, Huang further teaches:
further comprising a Global Navigation Satellite System front end processor, configured to store samples in the first input sample memory and in the second input sample memory. (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0043] a plurality of partial correlation (ParCor) modules 330 for calculating a partial correlation between the word and a PN code segment, and an PN code LUT ROM 306 for storing the PN codes.)
Regarding Claims 5, 15, Huang further teaches:
wherein the channel selection controller is configured to select a third channel, to be executed after the second channel, the selecting being based on a code phase of the third channel. (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0043], [0032] The process of position measurement in a GPS receiver involves a two-dimensional search of finding the exact code phase of the incoming PN code and carrier frequency residual of the signal. A GPS receiver steps through each possible frequency and checks each possible code phase by correlating the incoming carrier de-rotated signal with a self-generated PN code (also referred to as C/A code) phase delayed in half-chip increments, for a duration of one PN code period of one millisecond. If the value of the correlation result is larger than a programmed threshold, the signal is detected and the amount of delay introduced in the PN code corresponds to the arrival time of the GPS signal.)
Regarding Claims 6, 16, Huang further teaches:
wherein the selecting is further based on a size of an input sample memory, of the first input sample memory and the second input sample memory, associated with the third channel. (Huang – [0044] I2 and Q2 with 2.046E6-samples/sec (2 Fo) from the decimator 206 are grouped into 16-bit words by the S/P converters 302A, 302B, respectively, with data rate lowered to Fo/8, or one output every 8-chip period. The 16-bit words are to be written to the 128 word-by-16-bit RAM buffers 304A, 304B (or a single 128 word-by-32-bit RAM buffer), which serves the purpose of the sample delay line in FIG. 3.)
Regarding Claim 7, 17, Huang further teaches:
wherein the selecting is further based on a context length of the third channel. (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0043] Huang does not explicitly teach “different context lengths”.)
Huang does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Neugebauer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
different context length (Neugebauer – [0060] alternative PN sequence of similar or dissimilar length that indicates a frame timing boundary.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the correlation engine of Huang with the different frame lengths of Neugebauer in order to perform frame synchronization. (Neugebauer – [0006]).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang further teaches:
the correlation engine further comprises a sequencer; and (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0044] The 16-bit words are to be written to the 128 word-by-16-bit RAM buffers 304A, 304B (or a single 128 word-by-32-bit RAM buffer), which serves the purpose of the sample delay line in FIG. 3. An address generation unit (AGU) 308 generates address pointers for the RAM buffers 304A, 304B and the LUT ROM 306.)
the channel selection controller is further configured to forward information for the third channel to the sequencer. (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0044])
Regarding Claims 9, 18, Huang further teaches:
wherein the channel selection controller is configured to select, during the execution of the third channel, a fourth channel to be executed after the third channel. (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0032], [0042] I3 and Q3 outputs… A conventional 12-channel, 48 serial-correlator design generates 24 half-chip-spaced correlation points every millisecond.)
Regarding Claim 10, 19, Huang further teaches:
wherein the correlation engine is further configured to execute, during the first execution interval, a third channel, (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0042], [0043])
the third channel having a third context length, different from the first context length and different from the second context length. (Huang – [Fig. 4], [0042], [0043] Huang does not explicitly teach “different context lengths”.)
Huang does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Neugebauer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
different context length (Neugebauer – [0060] alternative PN sequence of similar or dissimilar length that indicates a frame timing boundary.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the correlation engine of Huang with the different frame lengths of Neugebauer in order to perform frame synchronization. (Neugebauer – [0006]).
Regarding Claim 11, Huang teaches the following limitations:
A method, comprising: (Huang – [0004])
calculating, by a correlation engine operatively coupled to a first input sample memory, (Huang – [Claim 1])
during a first execution interval, a correlation corresponding to a first channel, the first channel having a first context length defining a first amount of data processed during the calculation of the correlation corresponding to the first channel; and (Huang – [0005], [0032], [0033], [0036])
calculating, by the correlation engine, during the first execution interval, a correlation corresponding to a second channel, the second channel having a second context length, different from the first context length, (Huang – [0036], [0044]) Huang does not explicitly teach “different context lengths”.)
the second context length defining a second amount of data, different from the first amount of data, processed during the calculation of the corresponding to the second channel, (Huang – [0005], [0032], [0033], [0036], [0044])
wherein the first channel has a first starting time to read the first amount of data and the second channel has a second starting time to read the second amount of data, the first starting time being different from the second starting time. (Huang – [0006], [0033], [0036-0037])
Huang does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Neugebauer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
different context length (Neugebauer – [0060] alternative PN sequence of similar or dissimilar length that indicates a frame timing boundary.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the correlation engine of Huang with the different frame lengths of Neugebauer in order to perform frame synchronization. (Neugebauer – [0006]).
Regarding Claim 20, Huang teaches the following limitations:
A system, comprising: (Huang – [0012])
means for correlating; and a first input sample memory operatively coupled to the means for correlating, the means for correlating being configured: (Huang – [Claim 1])
to calculate, during a first execution interval, a correlation corresponding to a first channel, the first channel having a first context length defining a first amount of data processed during the calculation of the corresponding to the first channel; and (Huang – [0005], [0032], [0033], [0036])
to calculate, during the first execution interval, a correlation corresponding to a second channel, the second channel having a second context length, different from the first context length, (Huang – [0036], [0044] Huang does not explicitly teach “different context lengths”.)
the second context length defining a second amount of data, different from the first amount of data, processed during the calculation of the correlation corresponding to the second channel, (Huang – [0005], [0032], [0033], [0036], [0044])
wherein the first channel has a first starting time to read the first amount of data and the second channel has a second starting time to read the second amount of data, the first starting time being different from the second starting time. (Huang – [0006], [0033], [0036-0037])
Huang does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Neugebauer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
different context length (Neugebauer – [0060] alternative PN sequence of similar or dissimilar length that indicates a frame timing boundary.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the correlation engine of Huang with the different frame lengths of Neugebauer in order to perform frame synchronization. (Neugebauer – [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-8, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 regarding Claims 1, 11, 20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the combination of Huang and Neugebauer do not teach “the first channel has a first starting time to read the first amount of data and the second channel has a second starting time to read the second amount of data, the first starting time being different from the second starting time”. The examiner disagrees, the scope of the claims has not been changed. The examiner points out that Huang [0006] and applicant’s instant specification [0047-0048], [0051-0054] suggest that “a starting time” would be dependent on the signals received from various GNSS signals, not the claimed invention. Further, Huang [0033], [0036-0037] teaches that an IQ channel (I4 and Q4) of one tracking module must have a different start time and each of the plurality of tracking modules may have a start time based on the GPS satellite being tracked.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. As noted above, the examiner maintains Huang in view of Neugebauer teaches the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648