DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-7 and 21-33 are pending in the application. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 21-22, 24-25, 27-29, and 31-32 are currently amended. Claims 8-20 have been canceled. No new claims are currently added.
Response to Arguments
With regard to Applicant’s remarks dated January 29, 2026:
Regarding the rejection of claims 4-5, 24-25, and 31-32 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and is sufficient. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-3, 21-23, and 28-30 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claims 4-7, 24-27, and 31-33 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s amendment and arguments have been fully considered. Applicants argue that Bean fails to teach the newly added claimed features. Examiner agrees to the extent that Bean fails to teach comparing at least one of densities or covariances of the test representative model and the corresponding representative model. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejection are made in view of the newly discovered references.
As to any arguments not specifically addressed, they are the same as those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 21-23, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bean et al. (US 2021/0216632 A1) in view of Sui et al. (US 2023/0076346 A1).
As to claim 1, Bean teaches a method, comprising:
storing, in a device management system, (i) an identifier associated with a genuine device [trusted system 202 and its components] that has been authenticated as being genuine and (ii) a first sensor output generated by a first hardware sensor of the genuine device in response to a first sensor output [power trace data of the trusted system that is the output of the hardware sensors 204 in response to input vectors 114 is compiled into system templates 116] (par. [0022]);
receiving, at a second hardware sensor of a test device [remote system 106 that is being tested], a second sensor input that corresponds to the first sensor input [challenge 206 that is analogous to input vectors 114 in that it is designed to elicit a particular response from the hardware sensors of the remote system] (par. [0018], [0023]-[0024]), the second hardware sensor corresponding to the first hardware sensor [trusted system 202 and the remote system 106 share hardware-based and software-based similarities; based on these similarities, if the remote system is uncontaminated, the remote system should then operate or behave identically to the trusted system, given any set of input vectors 114 or other stimuli such as challenges 206] (par [0021]);
identifying a second sensor output generated by the second hardware sensor based on the second sensor input [collecting real-time sensor response date 208 from the test system 106] (par. [0023]-[0024]);
comparing a test representative model associated with the second sensor output [real-time remote system response data] with a corresponding representative model associated with the first sensor output [system templates corresponding to the issued challenges] [if the received sensor response data 208 matches or fits the corresponding system template 116, the processors 102 verify that the remote system is a trusted system] (par. [0024]); and
determining, based at least in part on the comparing, that the test device includes a counterfeit component based at least in part on the second sensor output being different than the first sensor output [if discorrelations or deviations of the received sensor response data are detected, the processors determine that the remote system has an anomaly, which may be a hardware-based Trojan or other like malware element present or an element absent as compared to the verified system 202] (par. [0021], [0024], [0031]).
Bean fails to teach that the comparing comprises comparing at least one of densities or covariances of the test representative model and the corresponding representative model.
Sui is directed to a 2-dimensionality detection method for industrial control system attacks (abstract). In particular, Sui teaches comparing at least one of densities or covariances of the test representative model and the corresponding representative model [function relationships of the system at this moment are compared with the function relationships recorded in the system health data model, the current type of probability density distribution is compared with the types of the probability density distribution stored in the health data model; covariances of the data of each sensor are counted, and compared with the covariances stored in the health data model] (par. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Bean by comparing at least one of densities or covariances of the test representative model and the corresponding representative model in order to provide multiple levels of attack detection (par. [0022]-[0024] in Sui).
As to claim 2, Bean teaches that the second hardware sensor includes at least one of a voltage sensor detecting a voltage input, a current sensor detecting a current input, a temperature sensor detecting a temperature input, a fan speed sensor detecting a fan speed input, or a power sensor detecting a power input (par. [0018]),
wherein the at least one of the voltage sensor, the current sensor, the temperature sensor, the fan speed sensor, or the power sensor are soldered on a printed circuit board (PCB) within the test device (par. [0017]-[0018], Fig. 1), and
wherein the second sensor output data is at least one of an output of the voltage sensor, an output of the current sensor, an output of the temperature sensor, an output of the fan speed sensor, or an output of the power sensor, the telemetry data being used as input data for the ML model to determine whether the test device is counterfeit (par. [0018]).
As to claim 3, Bean teaches that the second sensor output data is generated at run-time of the test device [remote system 106 must be functioning to produce a real-time response 208 to input vectors 114/challenge 206] (par. [0024]).
As to claim 21, Bean in view of Sui teaches a system, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (claim 1 of Bean), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising the method steps, as discussed per corresponding method claim 1 above.
As to claims 22-23, Bean teaches all the elements, as discussed per corresponding method claims 2-3 above.
As to claim 28, Bean in view of Sui teaches a distributed application system hosting an application service, the distributed application system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (claim 1 of Bean), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising the method steps, as discussed per corresponding method claim 1 above.
As to claims 29-30, Bean teaches all the elements, as discussed per corresponding method claims 2-3 above.
Claims 4-7, 24-27, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bean et al. in view of Sui et al. and in further view of Yuan et al. (US 2023/0281186 A1).
As to claims 4, 24, and 31, Bean in view of Sui teaches all the elements except analyzing, by a specific model, the second sensor output to generate N-dimensional data, with N being greater than or equal to 2; converting the N-dimensional data to two-dimensional (2D) data; and outputting the test representative model as a scatter plot of the 2D data.
Yuan is directed to anomaly detection and correction for categorical sensor data (abstract). In particular, Yuan teaches analyzing, by a specific model, a sensor output to generate N-dimensional data, with N being greater than or equal to 2; converting the N-dimensional data to two-dimensional (2D) data; and outputting a test representative model as a scatter plot of the 2D data [converting the categorical data to histograms] (Figs. 4-5, par. [0030]-[0031], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Bean in view of Sui by analyzing, by a specific model, the second sensor output to generate N-dimensional data, with N being greater than or equal to 2; converting the N-dimensional data to two-dimensional (2D) data; and outputting the test representative model as a scatter plot of the 2D data, in order to more efficiently detect anomalies in the sensor output data (par. [0031] in Yuan).
As to claims 5, 25, and 32, Bean in view of Sui teaches all the elements except that the specific model includes at least one of a uniform manifold approximation and projection (UMAP) model, a t-distributed stochastic neighbor embedding (t-SNE) model, a rank metrics model, an auto-encoding model, or a principal component analysis (PCA) model.
Yuan is directed to anomaly detection and correction for categorical sensor data (abstract). In particular, Yuan teaches that the specific model includes at least one of a uniform manifold approximation and projection (UMAP) model, a t-distributed stochastic neighbor embedding (t-SNE) model, a rank metrics model, an auto-encoding model, or a principal component analysis (PCA) model (par. [0029], [0036]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Bean in view of Sui by having the specific model include at least one of a uniform manifold approximation and projection (UMAP) model, a t-distributed stochastic neighbor embedding (t-SNE) model, a rank metrics model, an auto-encoding model, or a principal component analysis (PCA) model in order to determine normal ranges and thresholds for anomalies (par. [0036] in Yuan).
As to claims 6, 26, and 33, Bean in view of Sui teaches all the elements except transmitting, to a computing device connected to the test device, an authentication response comprising an alert notification that the test device includes the counterfeit component.
Yuan is directed to anomaly detection and correction for categorical sensor data (abstract). In particular, Yuan teaches transmitting, to a computing device connected to the test device, an authentication response comprising an alert notification that the test device includes the anomaly (par. [0032], [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Bean in view of Sui by transmitting, to a computing device connected to the test device, an authentication response comprising an alert notification that the test device includes the counterfeit component, as detected by Bean, in order to allow a human operator to better identify the cause of the problem (par. [0052] in Yuan).
As to claims 7 and 27, Bean in view of Sui teaches all the elements except causing presentation of a test result notification by a display of an external device, the test result notification including an indication that the test device includes the counterfeit component.
Yuan is directed to anomaly detection and correction for categorical sensor data (abstract). In particular, Yuan teaches causing presentation of a test result notification by a display of an external device, the test result notification including an indication that the test device includes a counterfeit component (par. [0032], [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Bean in view of Sui by causing presentation of a test result notification by a display of an external device, the test result notification including an indication that the test device includes the counterfeit component, as detected by Bean, in order to allow a human operator to better identify the cause of the problem (par. [0052] in Yuan).
Conclusion
/OLEG SURVILLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457