DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-13,15, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/20/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1 – 4, 14, 16-18 and 20 in the reply filed on 02/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups II-IV are not mutually exclusive This is not found persuasive because figures 2 – 12 show a plurality of subcombinations of the system including: a power storage system, a control apparatus within a server, a control apparatus within a vehicle, methods of controlling power. This is a serious search and/or examination burden for the reasons stated above.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ehara (US 20230013438).
Regarding claim 1, Ehara teaches a control apparatus (figure 1 item 150 defined in paragraph [0032] as an Electric Control Unit (ECU)) comprising:
a determination unit configured to determine whether a battery included in a moving object satisfies a predetermined guarantee application condition (figure 2 shows a determination unit interpreted as a server with a database and a control device. The database stores vehicle information such as usage or state of the vehicle); and
a limitation unit configured to limit an amount of power which is discharged from the battery to an outside of the moving object, to be lower than or equal to a first limit value, when the battery satisfies the guarantee application condition ([0006] discloses wherein the server limits the exchange of power to an upper limit or a lower limit. [0064] – [0069] discloses wherein the server uses the contract information to adjust the discharge electric energy to predetermined value),
the determination unit is configured to determine that the guarantee application condition is not satisfied when a usage time from a start date of use of the moving object is greater than or equal to a predetermined value (paragraph [0073] discloses wherein the server determines a usage time, interpreted as a total mileage including an unused period. [0077] determines wherein the unused period is equal to more than a predetermined number of days) , when a virtual travel distance is greater than or equal to a predetermined value (paragraph [0044] discloses wherein a navigation unit, NAVI determines a travel route based on battery energy), or when a total amount of discharge of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (paragraph [0036] discloses wherein a monitoring module monitors the state of discharge to determine whether the discharge is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Paragraph [0065] discloses wherein a predetermined discharge amount is monitored), a virtual travel distance calculation unit configured to calculate the virtual travel distance by summing a movement distance stored in the movement distance storage unit, and a value obtained by converting an amount of power calculated by the discharge power amount calculation unit into a movement distance (paragraphs [0041], [0043]-[0044] discloses wherein a navigation unit calculates a driving routes and destinations. paragraphs [0073] – [0074] disclose wherein a discharge power amount is calculated as a function of the total mileage).
wherein the limitation unit is configured when the battery does not satisfy the guarantee application condition to
(i) limit, the amount of power which is discharged from the battery to the outside of the moving object, to be lower than or equal to a second limit value which is higher than the first limit value, (paragraph [0066] – [0070] discloses wherein the exchange of power limited based on information received from the server, such as a detection value of the smart meter. [0043] teaches wherein the meter determines information such as traveling speed and mileage. [0059] discloses wherein the smart meter measures power consumption) or
(ii) refrain from limiting the amount of power which is discharged from the battery outside of the moving object (paragraphs [0121] – [0123] discloses wherein the discharging unit is allowed to discharge based on meeting specific conditions).
Ehara figure 1 shows vehicle with a charge-discharge control
Regarding claim 14, Ehara teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the moving object is a vehicle (figure 1 item 50 shows a vehicle).
Regarding claim 16, Ehara teaches a control apparatus (figure 1 item 150 defined in paragraph [0032] as an Electric Control Unit (ECU)) comprising:
a determination unit configured to determine whether electrical equipment that is operated, when a battery included in a moving object is charged and discharged, satisfies a guarantee application condition (defined in paragraph [0063] wherein a guarantee application is interpreted as a contract which the user signs to register with the server and to comply with the charging and/or discharging request); and
a limitation unit configured to limit a usage amount of the electrical equipment for discharging from the battery to an outside of the moving object, to be lower than or equal to a first limit value, when the electrical equipment satisfies the guarantee application condition ([0006] discloses wherein the server limits the exchange of power to an upper limit or a lower limit. [0064] – [0069] discloses wherein the server uses the contract information to adjust the discharge electric energy to predetermined value),
the determination unit is configured to determine that the guarantee application condition is not satisfied when a usage time from a start date of use of the moving object is greater than or equal to a predetermined value (paragraph [0073] discloses wherein the server determines a usage time, interpreted as a total mileage including an unused period. [0077] determines wherein the unused period is equal to more than a predetermined number of days) , when a virtual travel distance is greater than or equal to a predetermined value (paragraph [0044] discloses wherein a navigation unit, NAVI determines a travel route based on battery energy), or when a total amount of discharge of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (paragraph [0036] discloses wherein a monitoring module monitors the state of discharge to determine whether the discharge is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Paragraph [0065] discloses wherein a predetermined discharge amount is monitored), a virtual travel distance calculation unit configured to calculate the virtual travel distance by summing a movement distance stored in the movement distance storage unit, and a value obtained by converting an amount of power calculated by the discharge power amount calculation unit into a movement distance (paragraphs [0041], [0043]-[0044] discloses wherein a navigation unit calculates a driving routes and destinations. paragraphs [0073] – [0074] disclose wherein a discharge power amount is calculated as a function of the total mileage).
wherein the limitation unit is configured to limit, or not to limit the usage amount of the electrical equipment for the discharging from the battery to the outside of the moving object, to be lower than or equal to a second limit value which is higher than the first limit value, when the electrical equipment does not satisfy the guarantee application condition (paragraph [0066] – [0070] discloses wherein the exchange of power limited based on information received from the server, such as a detection value of the smart meter. [0043] teaches wherein the meter determines information such as traveling speed and mileage. [0059] discloses wherein the smart meter measures power consumption).
(ii) refrain from limiting the amount of power which is discharged from the battery outside of the moving object (paragraphs [0121] – [0123] discloses wherein the discharging unit is allowed to discharge based on meeting specific conditions).
Regarding claim 20, Ehara teaches a method (figure 4 shows a method) comprising:
determining whether a battery included in a moving object satisfies a predetermined guarantee application condition (defined in paragraph [0063] wherein a guarantee application is interpreted as a contract which the user signs to register with the server and to comply with the charging and/or discharging request);
limiting an amount of power which is discharged from the battery to an outside of the moving object, to be lower than or equal to a first limit value, when the battery satisfies the guarantee application condition ([0006] discloses wherein the server limits the exchange of power to an upper limit or a lower limit. [0064] – [0069] discloses wherein the server uses the contract information to adjust the discharge electric energy to predetermined value); and
the determination unit is configured to determine that the guarantee application condition is not satisfied when a usage time from a start date of use of the moving object is greater than or equal to a predetermined value (paragraph [0073] discloses wherein the server determines a usage time, interpreted as a total mileage including an unused period. [0077] determines wherein the unused period is equal to more than a predetermined number of days) , when a virtual travel distance is greater than or equal to a predetermined value (paragraph [0044] discloses wherein a navigation unit, NAVI determines a travel route based on battery energy), or when a total amount of discharge of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (paragraph [0036] discloses wherein a monitoring module monitors the state of discharge to determine whether the discharge is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Paragraph [0065] discloses wherein a predetermined discharge amount is monitored), a virtual travel distance calculation unit configured to calculate the virtual travel distance by summing a movement distance stored in the movement distance storage unit, and a value obtained by converting an amount of power calculated by the discharge power amount calculation unit into a movement distance (paragraphs [0041], [0043]-[0044] discloses wherein a navigation unit calculates a driving routes and destinations. paragraphs [0073] – [0074] disclose wherein a discharge power amount is calculated as a function of the total mileage),
limiting the amount of power which is discharged from the battery to the outside of the moving object, to be lower than or equal to a second limit value which is higher than the first limit value, when the battery does not satisfy the guarantee application condition (paragraph [0066] – [0070] discloses wherein the exchange of power limited based on information received from the server, such as a detection value of the smart meter. [0043] teaches wherein the meter determines information such as traveling speed and mileage. [0059] discloses wherein the smart meter measures power consumption).
(ii) refrain from limiting the amount of power which is discharged from the battery outside of the moving object (paragraphs [0121] – [0123] discloses wherein the discharging unit is allowed to discharge based on meeting specific conditions).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the Ehara reference does not explicitly teach or suggest the “usage time from a start date of use of the moving object is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, when a virtual travel distance is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, or when a total amount of discharge of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value, the virtual travel distance being calculated by summing a movement distance of the moving object and a converted distance obtained by converting an amount of power discharged from the battery to the outside of the moving object into a movement distance.” This argument is not persuasive.
Ehara discloses in paragraph [0077] wherein the server stores information on the vehicle and manages this information. The information includes the state of the vehicle, the position, travel plan, automated driving control, and state of the energy storage, etc. Paragraph [0078] discloses wherein the usage history of the power supply equipment is stored and managed. Paragraph [0081] discloses wherein a power supply request is fulfilled, when a predetermined condition is satisfied. Figure 3 and paragraphs [0089] – [0091] discloses that the discharging of the vehicle is activated when specific predetermined conditions are met. For these reasons, the Ehara reference reads on the claims disclosed above and the rejection is maintained.
In regards to claims 16 and 20, as disclosed above in claim 1, Ehara discloses in paragraph [0077] wherein the server stores information on the vehicle and manages this information. The information includes the state of the vehicle, the position, travel plan, automated driving control, and state of the energy storage, etc. Paragraph [0078] discloses wherein the usage history of the power supply equipment is stored and managed. Paragraph [0081] discloses wherein a power supply request is fulfilled, when a predetermined condition is satisfied. Figure 3 and paragraphs [0089] – [0091] discloses that the discharging of the vehicle is activated when specific predetermined conditions are met. For these reasons, the Ehara reference reads on the claims disclosed above and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20230278451 A1 Power Supply System Ehara; Masato Et Al.
Us 20230138275 A1 Electric Power Adjusting Device Furukawa; Kimihiko Et Al.
Us 20230208144 A1 Controlling Charging And Discharging Kim; Kyoung Joo Et Al.
Us 20230014362 A1 Electric Power Management System Ehara; Masato Et Al.
Us 20220305948 A1 Control System And Display Device Munemoto; Kentaro Et Al.
Us 20220289060 A1 Control System And Energy Management Tsuchiya; Yoshiyuki
Us 20230143398 A1 E-Fleet Aggregator Ito; Tomoki Et Al.
Us 20220097552 A1 Communication Method Dow; Young Soo
Us 20200282855 A1 Protect Electric Vehicle Battery Health Slutzky; David Lee Et Al.
Us 20220200313 A1 Charge And Discharge Control Ogasawara; Keisuke Et Al.
Us 20150042288 A1 Vehicle With An Electric Storage Ishii; Daisuke Et Al.
Us 20110202217 A1 EVSE For Grid-Integrated Vehicles Kempton; Willett
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859