DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species 1 in the reply filed on 1/20/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant argues that the species election must be based on claims. Claims are not species. MPEP 806.04. The figures disclose illustrations of various species. Therefore identification of various species via identification of the species shown in the figures is appropriate. Applicant argues that the embodiments have overlapping structures. The examiner maintains that the structures can be described as “overlapping” only in the generic sense, such as electrical connectors have overlapping structures including conductors and sometimes insulators. The various species have little similarity in structure and consequently are classified in different subclasses. For example, the connector of species 1 is best classified in H01R13/5221, whereas none of the other species are classified therein. The species of figure 5 would best classified in H01R13/6275. The species of figure 8 would best be classified in H01R13/22. The species of figure 11 would be best classified in H01R13/187. The species of figure 16 would be classified with switches, outside of class H01R electrical connectors. etc. Thus searching for multiple species would entail a serious burden.
Applicant further seems to be arguing that the species are not independent or distinct. If applicant’s position is that the species are not patentably distinct, such position should be made clear on the record.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5 and 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 19, “the eVTOL battery connector” is ambiguous because claim 18 recites first and second battery connectors and the limitation of claim 19 is ambiguous as to which it refers to. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - and 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 15, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Smith et al. US 973268 (“Smith”) in view of Buechling et al. US 11901653 (“Buechling”).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a first battery connector (6, i.e. a connector capable of being used in conjunction with a battery) having a first battery contact (10, i.e., a contact capable of transmitting electrical current from a battery), the first battery contact having a first separable mating interface 14. Smith discloses wires 4 which function as a “jumper” as claimed.
Smith does not specifically disclose a second connector 6 at the at the end of the wires 4.
Buechling discloses identical battery connectors (4a, 4b, col. 2, lines 45-50, analogous to Smith connector 6) provided at opposing ends of conductor assembly 10 (analogous to Smith wires 4). It would have been obvious to provide connectors 6 as taught in Smith at both ends of wires 4 (making wires 4 a “jumper” as claimed), as taught in Buechling. The reason would have been to provide electrical transmission between two components as was known in the art. Providing a connector 6 on opposing ends wires 4 would have been a duplication of parts without patentable significance given that no new or unexpected results would have been produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669 (CCPA 1960).
Smith does not disclose that the connectors are connected to batteries. Buechling discloses both battery connectors (4a, 4b) connected to batteries 2.
It would have been obvious to connect two Smith battery connectors 6, connected by Smith jumper/wires (4), as set above, to two batteries, as taught in Buechling. It would have been obvious to do this by providing Smith connectors 8 (mateable with Smith connectors 6) on two batteries, such as batteries 2 of Buechling. The reason for doing so would have been to provide increased voltage or capacity in a battery powered circuit as was well known in the art.
To the extent that Smith does not specify that the batteries are eVTOL battery modules, the selection of batteries based on size and intended purpose would have been a matter of engineering design choice without patentable significance.
Per claim 2, the assembly of claim 1 results in the assembly where the first battery contact is connected to the first battery terminal at the first separable mating interface and the second battery contact is connected to the second battery terminal at the second separable mating interface.
Per claim 3, the first battery contact includes a spring finger 12 at the first separable mating interface, the spring finger being slidably coupled to the first battery terminal, the second battery contact including a spring finger 12 at the second separable mating interface, the spring finger being slidably coupled to the second battery terminal.
Per claim 4, the first end of the jumper conductor is electrically connected to the first battery contact at a compression connection (Smith at 18, 19) and the second end of the jumper conductor is electrically connected to the second battery contact at a compression connection (Smith at 18, 19).
Per claim 6 the first battery connector includes a first connector housing (30, 90) holding the first battery contact and the second battery connector includes a second connector housing (30, 90) holding the second battery contact.
Per claim 7 the first battery connector includes a first seal 100 coupled to the first connector housing and configured to be coupled to a first shroud 156 extending from the first battery that covers the first battery terminal 20,
and wherein the second battery connector includes a second seal 100 coupled to the second connector housing and configured to be coupled to a second shroud 156 extending from the second battery that covers the second battery terminal.
Per claim 8, the first battery connector includes a first latch 92 coupled to the first connector housing and configured to be coupled to a first shroud extending from the first battery and covering the first battery terminal, and wherein the second battery connector includes a second latch 92 coupled to the second connector housing and configured to be coupled to a second shroud extending from the second battery and covering the second battery terminal.
Per claim 10, the jumper conductor includes a first jumper contact (i.e. the portion of the wire 4 attached to the contact 10) at the first end and a second jumper contact (i.e. the portion of the wire 4 attached to the contact 10) at the second end.
Regarding claim 15, Smith discloses a connector assembly comprising
a first battery connector (6, i.e. a connector capable of being used in conjunction with a battery) having a first connector housing (30, 90) holding a first battery contact 10 in a first cavity, the first battery contact 10 having a first separable mating interface 14 for mating with a first battery terminal of a first eVTOL battery module.
Smith discloses wires 4 which function as a flexible “jumper” as claimed.
Smith does not specifically disclose a second connector 6 at the at the end of the wires 4.
Buechling discloses identical battery connectors (4a, 4b, col. 2, lines 45-50, analogous to Smith connector 6) provided at opposing ends of conductor assembly 10 (analogous to Smith wires 4). It would have been obvious to provide connectors 6 as taught in Smith at both ends of wires 4 (making wires 4 a “jumper” as claimed, as taught in Buechling. The reason would have been to provide electrical transmission between two components as was known in the art. Providing a connector 6 on opposing ends wires 4 would have been a duplication of parts without patentable significance given that no new or unexpected results would have been produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669 (CCPA 1960).
The resulting assembly would include a jumper (wires 4) electrically connecting the first battery connector and the second battery connector, the jumper including a jumper conductor having a first end and a second end, the first end of the jumper conductor being terminated to the first battery contact, the second end of the jumper conductor being terminated to the second battery contact, the jumper conductor being flexible between the first end and the second end.
Regarding claim 16, Smith does not disclose that the connectors are connected to batteries. Buechling discloses both battery connectors (4a, 4b) connected to batteries 2.
It would have been obvious to connect two Smith battery connectors 6, connected by Smith jumper/wires (4), as set out above, to two batteries, as taught in Buechling. It would have been obvious to do this by providing Smith connectors 8 (mateable with Smith connectors 6) on two batteries, such as batteries 2 of Buechling. The reason for doing so would have been to provide increased voltage or capacity in a battery powered circuit as was well known in the art.
To the extent that Smith does not specify that the batteries are eVTOL battery modules, the selection of batteries based on size and intended purpose would have been a matter of engineering design choice without patentable significance.
Regarding claim 18, Smith discloses a system comprising:
a first battery connector (6, i.e. a connector capable of being used in conjunction with a battery) having a first battery contact (10, i.e., a contact capable of transmitting electrical current from a battery), the first battery contact having a first separable mating interface 14.
Smith discloses wires 4 which function as a “jumper” as claimed.
Smith does not specifically disclose a second connector 6 at the at the end of the wires 4.
Buechling discloses identical battery connectors (4a, 4b, col. 2, lines 45-50, analogous to Smith connector 6) provided at opposing ends of conductor assembly 10 (analogous to Smith wires 4). It would have been obvious to provide connectors 6 as taught in Smith at both ends of wires 4 (making wires 4 a “jumper” as claimed, as taught in Buechling. The reason would have been to provide electrical transmission between two components as was known in the art. Providing a connector 6 on opposing ends wires 4 would have been a duplication of parts without patentable significance given that no new or unexpected results would have been produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669 (CCPA 1960).
Smith does not disclose that the connectors are connected to batteries. Buechling discloses both battery connectors (4a, 4b) connected to batteries 2.
It would have been obvious to connect two Smith battery connectors 6, connected by Smith jumper/wires (4), as set above, to two batteries, as taught in Buechling. It would have been obvious to do this by providing Smith connectors 8 (mateable with Smith connectors 6) on two batteries, such as batteries 2 of Buechling. The reason for doing so would have been to provide increased voltage or capacity in a battery powered circuit as was well known in the art. The result of providing Smith connector 8 on batteries, such as two batteries 2 of Buechling, would be a first battery module (battery 2 of Buechling) having a first battery terminal (terminals 20 of Smith) and a second (identical) battery module having a second battery terminal.
To the extent that Smith does not specify that the batteries are eVTOL battery modules, the selection of batteries based on size and intended purpose would have been a matter of engineering design choice without patentable significance.
Per claim 19, the system resulting from the provisions as set out regarding claim 18 would result in connector system wherein the battery connector is coupled to the first battery.
Per claim 20, Buechling discloses that the batteries have a top (see figure 1) at which the battery connectors 4 are provided. It would have been obvious to provide the Smith connectors 8 at the top of a battery as suggested in Buechling. Such a selection of location for the terminals, such as at the top of the battery, would have been a matter of engineering design choice, being a rearrangement of parts without patentable significance. See In re In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669 (CCPA 1960) (Duplication of parts has no patentable significance) and In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Rearrangement of parts where operation of device not modified is not patentably significant).
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith and Buechling in view of De Castro US 5476396.
Regarding claim 9, the Smith connector housing surrounds the first battery contact and is made of plastic (col. 3, lines 10-15) which forms a barrier which is to some extent inherently “fire resistant.” De Castro discloses a connector housing 11 formed of fire resistant plastic materials (col. 4, lines 15-25). It would have been obvious to form the Smith plastic connector housings out of fire resistant plastics as taught in De Castro. The reason would have been to prevent heat/fire damage to the connector as was well known in the art. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose would have been obvious. Sinclair & Carroll Col. V. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 17, the Smith connector housing surrounds the first battery contact and is made of plastic (col. 3, lines 10-15) which forms a barrier which is to some extent inherently “fire resistant.” De Castro discloses a connector housing 11 formed of fire resistant plastic materials (col. 4, lines 15-25). It would have been obvious to form the Smith plastic connector housings out of fire resistant plastics as taught in De Castro. The reason would have been to prevent heat/fire damage to the connector as was well known in the art. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose would have been obvious. Sinclair & Carroll Col. V. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
/ROSS N GUSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834