DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is in response to claims 5-8, 12-14, and 16-28 filed on 10/27/2025 for examination. Claims 5-8, 12-14, and 16-23 are being examined and are pending. Claims 24-28 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention (see hereinbelow).
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim(s) 24-28 is/are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Independent claims 5 and 12 do not require receiving a verifiable presentation from an entity, wherein the verifiable presentation is used to prove that the entity possesses one or more verifiable credentials with predetermined characteristics; obtaining a public key from a public decentralized identifier (DID) associated with a non- fungible token (NFT); […] and confirming that the verifiable presentation is valid based on the verification. Similarly, independent claim 24 does not require receiving a verifiable presentation that is signed using a private key of a public key infrastructure, wherein the private key is associated with a cryptocurrency address holding a non-fungible token (NFT); and obtaining a public key corresponding to the private key.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim(s) 24-28 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-6, 8, 12-13, 16-18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (CN113743921A; Hereinafter “Hu”).
Regarding claim 5, Hu teaches a method for verifying user credentials (abstract, [0163-265]), comprising:
receiving a verifiable presentation that is signed using a private key of a public key infrastructure ([0034], [0111-112], and [0150-156] – a verifiable presentation/statement is signed using a private key of the holder. The verifiable statement is received by the verification party. The private key has a corresponding public key <i.e., part of a public key infrastructure>), wherein the private key is associated with a cryptocurrency address holding a non-fungible token (NFT) ([0162-165], [0122], and [0133] – the holder’s private key is associated with the holder’s DID/blockchain address holding an asset/non-fungible token “NFT”);
obtaining a public key corresponding to the private key ([0037-038], [0047], [0157-160] – the DID document is queried and the holder’s public key is acquired and used to perform signature verification on the verifiable representation/presentation); and
verifying the verifiable presentation using the obtained public key, wherein the verifiable presentation is to prove possession of one or more verifiable credentials with predetermined characteristics ([0162-165], [0111-112], and [0142] – the verifiable presentation is verified using the public key of the holder obtained via the DID document. The verifiable presentation is verified to confirm the holder’s possession of both the verifiable credential and the entitlement/status to use it <i.e., predetermined characteristics>. E.g., the verifiable credential is combined with the digital signature of the holder to create the verifiable presentation).
Regarding claim 6, Hu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein an owner of the NFT assigns a public decentralized identifier (DID) to the NFT and registers the public DID on a public ledger ([0128-131] and [0110] – the DID document is deployed <i.e., registered> on a public blockchain ledger. The DID is associated with <i.e., assigned to> the NFT via a holder), the method further comprising: resolving the public DID of the NFT to a DID document ([0110], [0047], and [0158-159] – the DID is resolved into a DID document. The DID is associated with the NFT via the holder); and obtaining the public key from the DID document ([0110], [0047], [0158-159], and [0173-175] – the DID documents include the public key, and the public key is obtained by querying the identifier/identification document <i.e., DID document> for the holder).
Regarding claim 8, Hu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein; the cryptocurrency address is an Ethereum address ([0113] and [0164] – the blockchain used is an Ethereum blockchain <i.e., the address is an Ethereum address>).
Regarding claim 12, Hu teaches an apparatus for verifying user credentials (abstract, [0163-265]), comprising:
a processor configured to receive a verifiable presentation that is signed using a private key of a public key infrastructure ([0034], [0111-112], and [0150-156] – a verifiable presentation/statement is signed using a private key of the holder. The verifiable statement is received by the verification party. The private key has a corresponding public key <i.e., part of a public key infrastructure>), obtain a public key corresponding to the private key ([0037-038], [0047], [0157-160] – the DID document is queried and the holder’s public key is acquired and used to perform signature verification on the verifiable representation/presentation), and verify the verifiable presentation using the obtained public key ([0162-165], [0111-112], and [0142] – the verifiable presentation is verified using the public key of the holder obtained via the DID document), wherein the private key is associated with a cryptocurrency address holding a non-fungible token (NFT) ([0162-165], [0122], and [0133] – the holder’s private key is associated with the holder’s DID/blockchain address holding an asset/non-fungible token “NFT”), and
the verifiable presentation is to prove possession of one or more verifiable credentials with predetermined characteristics ([0162-165], [0111-112], and [0142] – the verifiable presentation is verified using the public key of the holder obtained via the DID document. The verifiable presentation is verified to confirm the holder’s possession of both the verifiable credential and the entitlement/status to use it <i.e., predetermined characteristics>. E.g., the verifiable credential is combined with the digital signature of the holder to create the verifiable presentation).
Regarding claim 13, Hu teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein; an owner of the NFT assigns a public decentralized identifier (DID) to the NFT and registers the public DID on a public ledger ([0128-131] and [0110] – the DID document is deployed <i.e., registered> on a public blockchain ledger. The DID is associated with <i.e., assigned to> the NFT via a holder), and the processor is configured to determine a DID document based on the public DID of the NFT and obtain the public key from the DID document ([0110], [0047], [0158-159], and [0173-175] – the DID documents include the public key, and the public key is obtained by querying the identifier/identification document <i.e., DID document> for the holder; [0037-038], [0047], [0157-160] – the DID document is queried and the holder’s public key is acquired and used to perform signature verification on the verifiable representation/presentation).
Regarding claim 16, Hu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein: the verifiable presentation is comprised of data synthesized from, but not containing, the one or more verifiable credentials such that the data is synthesized using zero-knowledge proofs ([0111-0112] – the verifiable presentation may be generated based on zero-knowledge proofs pertaining to the verifiable credential).
Regarding claim 17, Hu teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising: processing of the verifiable presentation to prove possession of the one or more verifiable credentials by cryptographically verifying a digital signature of the one or more verifiable credentials with the public key ([0162-165], [0142], and [0171-176] – the verifier performs signature verification using the public key obtained from the identifier/DID documents to verify the verifiable presentation. The verifiable presentation is verified to confirm the holder’s possession of both the verifiable credential and the entitlement/status to use it).
Regarding claim 18, Hu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein: the verifiable presentation is issued by the NFT or an owner of the NFT ([0111-112], [0034], and [0150-160] – the verifiable presentation is created/signed by the holder <i.e., NFT/owner of the NFT>), and the verifiable presentation is verified without reliance on third-party verifiable credentials ([0157-165], [0131], and [0177-178] – the verification is based on the holder’s public key/signature and confirming the holding status by querying the NFT contract and comparing the NFT address to Holder <i.e., not using third-party VCs>).
Regarding claim 20, Hu teaches the apparatus of claim 12,wherein: the verifiable presentation is comprised of data synthesized from, but not containing, the one or more verifiable credentials such that the data is synthesized using zero-knowledge proofs ([0111-0112] – the verifiable presentation may be generated based on zero-knowledge proofs pertaining to the verifiable credential).
Regarding claim 21, Hu teaches the apparatus of claim 12, the processor further configured to: process the verifiable presentation to prove possession of the one or more verifiable credentials by cryptographically verifying a digital signature of the one or more verifiable credentials with the public key ([0162-165], [0142], and [0171-176] – the verifier performs signature verification using the public key obtained from the identifier/DID documents to verify the verifiable presentation. The verifiable presentation is verified to confirm the holder’s possession of both the verifiable credential and the entitlement/status to use it).
Regarding claim 22, Hu teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein: the verifiable presentation is issued by the NFT or an owner of the NFT ([0111-112], [0034], and [0150-160] – the verifiable presentation is created/signed by the holder <i.e., NFT/owner of the NFT>), and the verifiable presentation is verified without reliance on third-party verifiable credentials ([0157-165], [0131], and [0177-178] – the verification is based on the holder’s public key/signature and confirming the holding status by querying the NFT contract and comparing the NFT address to Holder <i.e., not using third-party VCs>).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 14, 19, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Eby et al. (US20230104103A1; Hereinafter “Eby”).
Regarding claim 7, Hu teaches the method of claim 6, wherein: the verifiable presentation is verified when the cryptocurrency address holding the NFT can be derived |from the DID information| ([0164] and [0141]when the NFT holder address matches the signer’s DID information the verifiable presentation may be verified). Yet, Hu fails to specifically disclose the verifiable presentation is verified when the cryptocurrency address holding the NFT can be derived from the public key.
However, Eby teaches a similar system wherein verifiable credentials are verified by recipients (see, e.g., Eby at [0022-024]), wherein the verifiable presentation is verified when the cryptocurrency address holding the NFT can be derived from the public key ([0034], [0016], and [0007] – cryptocurrency address is holding the NFT. The cryptocurrency address can be the public key of the NFT owner <i.e., can be derived from the public key>; [0045-048], and [0022-024] – a verifier obtains the public key/address from the custody account’s public DID. The verifier may verify a signature associated with the verifiable credential using the public key/address <i.e., if the public key/address are wrong, verification fails>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu with the teachings of Eby, wherein the verifiable presentation is verified when the cryptocurrency address holding the NFT can be derived from the public key, to securely ensure the holder is entitled to utilize the NFT/verifiable credential via the blockchain (see, e.g., Hu at [0164] and [0141]; with Eby at [0034], [0016], [0045-048], and [0022-024]).
Regarding claim 14, Hu teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the verifiable presentation is verified when the cryptocurrency address holding the NFT can be derived |from the DID information| ([0164] and [0141]when the NFT holder address matches the signer’s DID information the verifiable presentation may be verified). Yet, Hu fails to specifically disclose the verifiable presentation is verified when the cryptocurrency address holding the NFT can be derived from the public key.
However, Eby teaches a similar system wherein verifiable credentials are verified by recipients (see, e.g., Eby at [0022-024]), wherein the verifiable presentation is verified when the cryptocurrency address holding the NFT can be derived from the public key ([0034], [0016], and [0007] – cryptocurrency address is holding the NFT. The cryptocurrency address can be the public key of the NFT owner <i.e., can be derived from the public key>; [0045-048], and [0022-024] – a verifier obtains the public key/address from the custody account’s public DID. The verifier may verify a signature associated with the verifiable credential using the public key/address <i.e., if the public key/address are wrong, verification fails>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu with the teachings of Eby, wherein the verifiable presentation is verified when the cryptocurrency address holding the NFT can be derived from the public key, to securely ensure the holder is entitled to utilize the NFT/verifiable credential via the blockchain (see, e.g., Hu at [0164] and [0141]; with Eby at [0034], [0016], [0045-048], and [0022-024]).
Regarding claim 19, Hu teaches the method of claim 5. Yet, Hu appears to fail to specifically disclose further comprising: determining that a public decentralized identifier (DID) of the NFT is deprecated due to a transfer of the NFT to a new owner having a different public and private key pair.
However, Eby teaches a similar system wherein verifiable credentials are verified by recipients (see, e.g., Eby at [0022-024]), further comprising: determining that a public decentralized identifier (DID) of the NFT is deprecated due to a transfer of the NFT to a new owner having a different public and private key pair ([0050-053], [0018], and [0022] – when the NFT is transferred to a new owner any/all previous ownership claims are updated in the blockchain to show they are revoked. The new owner and the old owner are represented as owners in the blockchain using their DID documents, which are each associated with respective public and private key pairs <i.e., the old owner/key pair is deprecated for the NFT, and the new owner has a different key pair>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu with the teachings of Eby, further comprising: determining that a public decentralized identifier (DID) of the NFT is deprecated due to a transfer of the NFT to a new owner having a different public and private key pair, to ensure former owners cannot continue to exert control over the NFT/VCs (see, e.g., Eby at [0050-053], [0018], and [0022]).
Regarding claim 23, Hu teaches the apparatus of claim 12. Yet, Hu appears to fail to specifically disclose further comprising: determining that a public decentralized identifier (DID) of the NFT is deprecated due to a transfer of the NFT to a new owner having a different public and private key pair.
However, Eby teaches a similar system wherein verifiable credentials are verified by recipients (see, e.g., Eby at [0022-024]), further comprising: determining that a public decentralized identifier (DID) of the NFT is deprecated due to a transfer of the NFT to a new owner having a different public and private key pair ([0050-053], [0018], and [0022] – when the NFT is transferred to a new owner any/all previous ownership claims are updated in the blockchain to show they are revoked. The new owner and the old owner are represented as owners in the blockchain using their DID documents, which are each associated with respective public and private key pairs <i.e., the old owner/key pair is deprecated for the NFT, and the new owner has a different key pair>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu with the teachings of Eby, further comprising: determining that a public decentralized identifier (DID) of the NFT is deprecated due to a transfer of the NFT to a new owner having a different public and private key pair, to ensure former owners cannot continue to exert control over the NFT/VCs (see, e.g., Eby at [0050-053], [0018], and [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Suk (US20230145439) teaches a system for providing real asset authentication via DIDs and NFTs, wherein verifiable credentials are used for authentication (see, e.g., Suk at abstract, ([0070-071]). Hernandez et al. (NPL: “SSI Essentials: What are Decentralized Identifiers (DIDs) & Verifiable Credentials (VSs)?”, November 14, 2021) teaches using verifiable credentials, decentralized identifiers, and verifiable presentations to verify claims (see, e.g., Hernandez at pgs. 5-8). Brunner et al. (NPL: “DID and VC: Untangling Decentralized Identifiers and Verifiable Credentials for the Web of Trust”; March 2021) teaches a standard for the generation and verification of verifiable credentials, as well as verifiable credential usage with decentralized identifiers (see, e.g., Brunner at abstract, pgs. 62-63).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2438 /TAGHI T ARANI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2438