DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/04/2025 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-21 are presented for examination. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9-12, 16, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al. (US 20230179640 A1) in view of Kim (US 20240224256 A1) in further view of Chai (WO 2022028076 A1).
For applicant’s convenience, the English translation of Chai (WO 2022028076 A1) is currently being cited by the current Office Action.
For claim 1, Qaio discloses an apparatus (Figs. 3, 4, 14), comprising: at least one processor (318/414/1431); and at least one memory (326/416/1432) storing instructions of a session management function (SMF) (160) of a core network, wherein the instruction of the session management function, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform operations [0037, 0197, 0355], the operations comprising:
sending, to a charging function (CHF) of a core network, a charging data request (1430/1440) (Figs. 16, 17, 20 Charing Function/CHF request step), comprising:
an identifier configured to indicate that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) has been used for sending data traffic of a service from a radio access network to the core network (Fig. 16, the request contains identifier for service data session of the satellite transceiver) [0389, 0358, 0425]; and
information related to the NTN backhaul, the information related to the NTN backhaul to be used by the charging function to charge a customer for sending data traffic of the service via the NTN (Fig. 16, the request contains identifier for service data session of the satellite transceiver, the identifier is used by the CHF to charge the client for data usage) [0389, 0358, 0425],
in response to the charging data request, receiving, from the charging function, a charging data response comprising a granted quota for sending the data traffic of the service via the NTN (Figs. 16, 17, and 20 Charing Function/CHF response step include granted quota for the data usage of the service) [0390, 0369]
But Qiao doesn’t explicitly teach non-terrestrial network backhaul.
However, Kim discloses non-terrestrial network backhaul (Fig. 2 209) [0079];
wherein the charging data request comprises an identifier configured to indicate that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) backhaul (209/309/409) has been used for sending data traffic of a service from a radio access network to the core network (Fig. 5 or 6 step 1) [0143-151, 0132-138].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing charging events used in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Qiao with Kim to ensure non-terrestrial network backhaul can be properly utilized to mitigate traffic, thus, improving data traffic transmission for the communication network.
But Qiao and Kim don’t explicitly teach wherein the information related to the NTN backhaul comprises information indicative of an observed backhaul delay of the NTN backhaul;
However, Chai discloses the information related to the NTN backhaul (Satellite transceiver/antenna) comprises information indicative of an observed backhaul delay of the NTN backhaul (Page 22 Paragraph 5-7; Page 33 Paragraphs 2-4);
Since, all are analogous arts addressing charging events used in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Qiao, Kim with Chai to ensure critical information can be properly implemented to help data processing, thus, improving efficiency of the system data flow for the communication network.
For claim 11, Qaio discloses an apparatus (Figs. 3, 4, 14), comprising: at least one processor (318/414/1431); and at least one memory (326/416/1432) storing instructions of a charging function of a core network, wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations [0037, 0197, 0355], the operations comprising:
receiving from a session management function (SMF) of the core network (1430/1440) (Figs. 16, 17, 20 SMF request step), a charging data request comprising:
an identifier configured to indicate that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) has been used for sending data traffic of a service from a radio access network to the core network (Fig. 16, the request contains identifier for service data session of the satellite transceiver) [0389, 0358, 0425]; and
information related to the NTN backhaul, the information related to the NTN backhaul to be used by the charging function to charge a customer for sending data traffic of the service via the NTN (Fig. 16, the request contains identifier for service data session of the satellite transceiver, the identifier is used by the CHF to charge the client for data usage) [0389, 0358, 0425],
generating a quota for sending the data traffic of the service via the NTN based on the information related to the NTN backhaul (Figs. 16, 17, and 20, the Charing Function/CHF response step include creating granted quota for the data usage of the service) [0390, 0369]; and
sending, to the session management function, a charging data response comprising the quota for sending the data traffic of the service via the NTN (Figs. 16, 17, and 20 Charing Function/CHF response step to SMF) [0369, 0390].
But Qiao doesn’t explicitly teach non-terrestrial network backhaul.
However, Kim discloses non-terrestrial network backhaul (Fig. 2 209) [0079];
wherein the charging data request comprises an identifier configured to indicate that a non-terrestrial network (NTN) backhaul (209/309/409) has been used for sending data traffic of a service from a radio access network to the core network (Fig. 5 or 6 step 1) [0143-151, 0132-138].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing charging events used in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Qiao with Kim to ensure non-terrestrial network backhaul can be properly utilized to mitigate traffic, thus, improving data traffic transmission for the communication network.
But Qiao and Kim don’t explicitly teach wherein the information related to the NTN backhaul comprises information indicative of an observed backhaul delay of the NTN backhaul;
However, Chai discloses the information related to the NTN backhaul (Satellite transceiver/antenna) comprises information indicative of an observed backhaul delay of the NTN backhaul (Page 22 Paragraph 5-7; Page 33 Paragraphs 2-4);
Since, all are analogous arts addressing charging events used in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Qiao, Kim with Chai to ensure critical information can be properly implemented to help data processing, thus, improving efficiency of the system data flow for the communication network.
Claim 21 differs from claims 1 and 11, only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior art. The cited prior arts, Qiao as modified by Kim and Chai, Qiao further discloses a system for a core network of wireless telecommunication system [0037, 0197, 0355], the system comprising:
All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claims 2 and 12, Qiao as modified by Kim and Chai, Kim further discloses the NTN backhaul comprises a satellite backhaul and wherein the information related to the NTN backhaul comprises information indicative of a satellite backhaul category corresponding to the satellite backhaul (satellite backhaul type) [0085, 0118, 0127]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claims 6 and 16, Qiao as modified by Kim and Chai, Kim further discloses the observed backhaul delay comprises one-way delay for the data traffic of the service through the satellite backhaul [0138, 0161]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claims 9 and 18, Qiao as modified by Kim and Chai, Kim further discloses the information related to the NTN backhaul further comprises one or more quality of service parameters corresponding to the NTN backhaul [0138, 0155]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claims 10 and 19, Qiao as modified by Kim and Chai, Kim further discloses the one or more quality of service parameters comprise at least one of throughput, latency, jitter, or error rate [0007, 0013, 0138, 0161]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 20, Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, discloses storing, in a charging data record (CDR), identifier and the information related to the NTN backhaul [0367, 0369, 0371]; and
sending the charging data records to a billing engine or to a customer care engine [0367, 0369, 0371].
Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al. (US 20230179640 A1) in view of Kim (US 20240224256 A1) in further view of Chai (WO 2022028076 A1) in further view of Teter et al. (US 20170142033 A1).
For claims 3 and 13, Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Teter.
Teter discloses the information related to the NTN backhaul further comprises a start time of usage of the satellite backhaul (satellite backhaul latency start and end time) [0047, 0141, 0022-24].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing charging events used in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Qiao, Kim, and Chai with Teter to ensure delay tracking timer can be utilized to alert the network, thus, improving traffic congestion for the communication network.
For claims 4 and 14, Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Teter.
Teter discloses the information related to the NTN backhaul further comprises an end time of usage of the satellite backhaul (satellite backhaul latency start and end time) [0047, 0141, 0022-24].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing charging events used in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Qiao, Kim, and Chai with Teter to ensure delay tracking timer can be utilized to alert the network, thus, improving traffic congestion for the communication network.
For claim 7, Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Teter.
Teter discloses the information related to the NTN backhaul further comprises a starting time of the observed backhaul delay (satellite backhaul latency start and end time) [0047, 0141, 0022-24].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing charging events used in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Qiao, Kim, and Chai with Teter to ensure delay tracking timer can be utilized to alert the network, thus, improving traffic congestion for the communication network.
For claim 8, Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Teter.
Teter discloses the information related to the NTN backhaul further comprises an end time of the observed backhaul delay (satellite backhaul latency start and end time) [0047, 0141, 0022-24].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing charging events used in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Qiao, Kim, and Chai with Teter to ensure delay tracking timer can be utilized to alert the network, thus, improving traffic congestion for the communication network.
For claim 17, Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Qiao, as modified by Kim and Chai, doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Teter.
Teter discloses the information related to the NTN backhaul further comprises at least one of a starting time of the observed backhaul delay or an end time of the observed backhaul delay (satellite backhaul latency start and end time) [0047, 0141, 0022-24].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing charging events used in a mobile system; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Qiao, Kim, and Chai with Teter to ensure delay tracking timer can be utilized to alert the network, thus, improving traffic congestion for the communication network.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In view of amendment, a new reference has been used for new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409