DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2025 & 01/08/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 12/23/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-20 Remain pending. Claims 3-5, 15, & 17-18 Have been amended.
Applicant’s amendments & arguments, see "Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment" page 7 lines 1-9, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to Claim Objections of Claims 4-8, & 17-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections of Claims 4-8, & 17-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments & arguments, see "Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment" , filed 12/23/2025, with respect to 112 Rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Rejections of Claims has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see "Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment" , filed 12/23/2025, with respect to Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that (page 9 line 1-7):
“However, there is no discussion in Horng of using the straight line 210 while “operating in a first conversion mode” or using the “voltage curve 272” while operating in a second conversion mode. Thus, Hong also fails to disclose “convert the sensor readings into condition measurements using a first transformation while operating in a first conversion mode or using a second transformation while operating in a first conversion mode” as recited in claim 1”
& (page 9 lines 11-12):
“Hong fails to disclose, however, using different transformations while operating in different conversion modes.”
The Examiner respectfully responds:
Fig. 2A and curves 210 & 220 show that there would only need to be one calibration curve (i.e., 210) if temperature were constant and there would need to be a second calibration curve (i.e., 220) if the temperature were not constant. Thus, at least under the broadest reasonable interpretation there are at least 2 conversion modes and which is proper is dependent on the temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030074591 A1 (McClendon) in view of US 11493389 B2 (Horng).
(1. Original)
Regarding claim 1, McClendon teaches the system comprising: one or more sensors to sense conditions of a component and output sensor readings (Fig. 1 – 102 Temperature Sensor); and a system manager to (Fig. 1 - 114 “Clock Controller”, para 0027: “The temperature signal 104 is input to a clock controller 114. The clock controller 114 uses the temperature signal 104 to determine a frequency of operation. The clock controller 114 outputs a clock signal 116 for use by electronic circuits 118 within the electronic device 100.”, system manager/(“clock controller”) converts condition/(“temperature”) measurements into data): … ; and adjust operation of the component based on the condition measurements (Fig. 1 – 118 “Electronic Circuit”, system uses the data to control the electronic circuit).
McClendon does not teach … convert the sensor readings into condition measurements using a first transformation while operating in a first conversion mode or using a second transformation while operating in a second conversion mode.
Horng does teach … convert the sensor readings into condition measurements using a first transformation while operating in a first conversion mode or using a second transformation while operating in a second conversion mode (Fig. 2A - 210 & 2B – 272, shows that there are two different transformations/(“calibration curves”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by McClendon with the teachings of Horng. One would have added to the “self adjusting clocks in computer systems that adjust in response to changes in their environment” the thermal sensor the two component thermal sensors of Horng. The motivation would have been that the combination would enable more accurate determinations of temperatures (see Horng column 1 lines 14-25: “Where a thermal sensor is calibrated at only one or limited number of temperatures, the accuracy of the thermal sensor over the full range of intended use may be difficult to ensure due to deviations of the sensor characteristics from ideal characteristics. Efforts are ongoing in improving thermal sensor accuracy.”)
(2. Original)
Regarding claim 2, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the system of claim 1,
McClendon further teaches wherein the one or more sensors include one or more thermal diodes (para 0027: “If the electronic device 100 is a single integrated circuit, the temperature sensor 102 may be a thermal diode fabricated within the integrated circuit.”).
(3. Currently Amended)
Regarding claim 3, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the system of claim 1,
McClendon further teaches wherein the condition measurements are one of: temperature measurements (Fig. 1 – 102 Temperature Sensor) humidity measurements, light measurements, barometric-pressure measurements, vibration measurements, decibel measurements air flow rate measurements, or fluid flow rate measurements.
(4. Currently Amended)
Regarding claim 4, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the system of claim 1,
Horng further teaches wherein the first conversion mode is associated with a temperature range above -49 degrees Celsius and wherein the second conversion mode is associated with a temperature range below -49 degrees Celsius (Fig. 2A - 210 & 2B - 272, shows different calibration curves for different temperature regions where the first of those temperatures is above -49 degrees Celsius and the second is below -49 Celsius).
(5. Currently Amended)
Regarding claim 5, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the system of claim 1,
Horng further teaches wherein the first conversion mode is associated with the condition measurements being above a condition threshold, and wherein the second conversion mode is associated with the condition measurements being below the condition threshold (Fig. 2A - 210 & 2B - 272, shows different calibration curves for different temperature regions where the first of those temperatures is above -49 degrees Celsius and the second is below -49 Celsius).
(6. Original)
Regarding claim 6, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the system of claim 5,
Horng further teaches wherein the system manager is further configured to switch from the first conversion mode to the second conversion mode responsive to detecting that the condition measurements are below the condition threshold (Fig. 2A shows that the error Ɛ1 or Ɛ2 increases on either side of a threshold and that depending on which side of this threshold the system is operating, a different approximation is a better estimate of the temperature).
(7. Original)
Regarding claim 7, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the system of claim 5,
Horng further teaches wherein the condition measurements produced based on the first transformation have a first granularity, and wherein the condition measurements produced using the second transformation have a second granularity that is different than the first granularity (Fig. 2A shows that a first granularity /(bounds on Ɛ2) is different than for a second granularity/(bounds on Ɛ1)).
(8. Original)
Regarding claim 8, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the system of claim 7,
Horng further teaches wherein the second granularity is less granular than the first granularity (Fig. 2A, second granularity/(bounds on Ɛ1) are smaller than the first granularity/(bounds on Ɛ2), Ɛ1 is bounded below the threshold and Ɛ2 is unbounded).
(9. Original)
Regarding claim 9, McClendon teaches the apparatus comprising: a component; a temperature sensor (Fig. 1 – 102 Temperature Sensor); and a system manager to (Fig. 1 - 114 “Clock Controller”, para 0027: “The temperature signal 104 is input to a clock controller 114. The clock controller 114 uses the temperature signal 104 to determine a frequency of operation. The clock controller 114 outputs a clock signal 116 for use by electronic circuits 118 within the electronic device 100.”, system manager/(“clock controller”) converts condition/(“temperature”) measurements into data): … ; and adjust operation of the component based on the temperature measurements (Fig. 1 – 118 “Electronic Circuit”, system uses the data to control the electronic circuit).
McClendon does not teach … convert voltage readings received from the temperature sensor into temperature measurements using a first transformation while operating in a first conversion mode associated with a first temperature range; switch to a second conversion mode associated with a second temperature range responsive to detecting that the temperature measurements are below a threshold temperature measurement; convert voltage readings received from the temperature sensor into temperature measurements using a second transformation while operating in a second conversion mode associated with a second temperature range.
Horng does teach … convert voltage readings received from the temperature sensor into temperature measurements using a first transformation while operating in a first conversion mode associated with a first temperature range (Fig. 2A - 210 & 2B – 272, shows that there are two different transformations/(“calibration curves”)); switch to a second conversion mode associated with a second temperature range responsive to detecting that the temperature measurements are below a threshold temperature measurement (Fig. 2A - 210 & 2B – 272, shows that there are two different transformations/(“calibration curves”)); convert voltage readings received from the temperature sensor into temperature measurements using a second transformation while operating in a second conversion mode associated with a second temperature range(Fig. 2A - 210 & 2B – 272, shows that there are two different transformations/(“calibration curves”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus taught by McClendon with the teachings of Horng. One would have added to the “self adjusting clocks in computer systems that adjust in response to changes in their environment” the thermal sensor the two component thermal sensors of Horng. The motivation would have been that the combination would enable more accurate determinations of temperatures (see Horng column 1 lines 14-25: “Where a thermal sensor is calibrated at only one or limited number of temperatures, the accuracy of the thermal sensor over the full range of intended use may be difficult to ensure due to deviations of the sensor characteristics from ideal characteristics. Efforts are ongoing in improving thermal sensor accuracy.”)
(10. Original)
Regarding claim 10, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the apparatus of claim 9,
Horng further teaches wherein the first transformation and the second transformation cause the system manager to produce temperature measurements having different granularities (Fig. 2A shows that a first granularity /(bounds on Ɛ2) is different than for a second granularity/(bounds on Ɛ1)).
(11. Original)
Regarding claim 11, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the apparatus of claim 10,
Horng further teaches wherein the temperature measurements produced while operating in the second conversion mode are less granular than the temperature measurements produced while operating in the first conversion mode(Fig. 2A, second granularity/(bounds on Ɛ1) are smaller than the first granularity/(bounds on Ɛ2), Ɛ1 is bounded below the threshold and Ɛ2 is unbounded).
(12. Original)
Regarding claim 12, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the apparatus of claim 9,
McClendon further teaches wherein the temperature sensor comprises a thermal diode (para 0027: “If the electronic device 100 is a single integrated circuit, the temperature sensor 102 may be a thermal diode fabricated within the integrated circuit.”).
(13. Original)
Regarding claim 13, McClendon teaches the method comprising: receiving sensor readings from a sensor associated with a component (Fig. 1 – 102 Temperature Sensor); .., ; and adjusting operation of the component based on the condition measurements (Fig. 1 – 118 “Electric Circuit”, system uses the data to control the electronic circuit).
McClendon does not teach … converting the sensor readings into condition measurements using a first transformation while operating in a first conversion mode or using a second transformation while operating in a second conversion mode
Hrong does teach … converting the sensor readings into condition measurements using a first transformation while operating in a first conversion mode or using a second transformation while operating in a second conversion mode (Fig. 2A - 210 & 2B – 272, shows that there are two different transformations/(“calibration curves”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by McClendon with the teachings of Horng. One would have added to the “self adjusting clocks in computer systems that adjust in response to changes in their environment” the thermal sensor the two component thermal sensors of Horng. The motivation would have been that the combination would enable more accurate determinations of temperatures (see Horng column 1 lines 14-25: “Where a thermal sensor is calibrated at only one or limited number of temperatures, the accuracy of the thermal sensor over the full range of intended use may be difficult to ensure due to deviations of the sensor characteristics from ideal characteristics. Efforts are ongoing in improving thermal sensor accuracy.”)
(14. Original)
Regarding claim 14, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the method of claim 13,
McClendon further teaches wherein the sensor is a thermal diode (para 0027: “If the electronic device 100 is a single integrated circuit, the temperature sensor 102 may be a thermal diode fabricated within the integrated circuit.”).
(15. Currently Amended)
Regarding claim 15, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the method of claim 13,
McClendon further teaches wherein the condition measurements are one of: temperature measurements (Fig. 1 – 102 Temperature Sensor), humidity measurements, light measurements, barometric-pressure measurements, vibration measurements, decibel measurements, air flow rate measurements, or fluid flow rate measurements.
(16. Original)
Regarding claim 16, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the method of claim 13,
Horng further teaches wherein the first mode is associated with a temperature range above -49 degrees Celsius and wherein the second mode is associated with a temperature range below -49 degrees Celsius (Fig. 2A - 210 & 2B - 272, shows different calibration curves for different temperature regions where the first of those temperatures is above -49 degrees Celsius and the second is below -49 Celsius).
(17. Currently Amended)
Regarding claim 17, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the method of claim 13,
Horng further teaches wherein the first conversion mode is associated with the condition measurements being above a condition threshold and wherein the second conversion mode is associated with the condition measurements being below the condition threshold (Fig. 2A - 210 & 2B - 272, shows different calibration curves for different temperature regions where the first of those temperatures is above -49 degrees Celsius and the second is below -49 Celsius).
(18. Currently Amended)
Regarding claim 18, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the method of claim 17,
Horng further teaches comprising switching from the first conversion mode to the second conversion mode responsive to detecting that the condition measurements are below the condition threshold (Fig. 2A shows that the error Ɛ1 or Ɛ2 increases on either side of a threshold and that depending on which side of this threshold the system is operating, a different approximation is a better estimate of the temperature).
(19. Original)
Regarding claim 19, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the method of claim 17,
Horng further teaches wherein the condition measurements produced based on the first transformation have a first granularity, and wherein the condition measurements produced using the second transformation have a second granularity that is different than the first granularity (Fig. 2A shows that a first granularity /(bounds on Ɛ2) is different than for a second granularity/(bounds on Ɛ1)).
(20. Original)
Regarding claim 20, McClendon in view of Horng teaches the method of claim 19,
Horng further teaches wherein the second granularity is less granular than the first granularity (Fig. 2A, second granularity/(bounds on Ɛ1) are smaller than the first granularity/(bounds on Ɛ2), Ɛ1 is bounded below the threshold and Ɛ2 is unbounded).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12267581 B2 "Boot Sequence In Cold Temperatures" (Vacquerie) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 5.
US 8315746 B2 "Thermal Management Techniques In An Electronic Device" (Cox) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 2C.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARTIN WALTER BRAUNLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858