DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s RCE filed 2/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 1, 13, 15, 17, and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims (pages 8-10) in a reply filed 1/29/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudan et al. US 20130265140 (hereinafter “Gudan”) in view of Luo et al. US 20250150999 (hereinafter “Luo”) and in further view of Huang et al. US 20250374031 (hereinafter “Huang”)
As to claim 1:
Gudan discloses:
A device for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to: (“performing and operating in the awake state, energy harvesting and storage circuitry 304 provides power to microprocessor and sensors 323.”, Gudan [0047])
receive a first signal in a first set of frequency domain resources; (FIG. 11 shows a tag harvesting energy using a signal on the 2.4GHz band and backscattering on the 5.8GHz band, Gudan) (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
receive a second signal in a second set of frequency domain resources associated with the operation band; (FIG. 11 shows a tag harvesting energy using a signal on the 2.4GHz band and backscattering on the 5.8GHz band, Gudan) (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmit an indication of a capability for harvesting energy and backscattering modulated data,
wherein the indication indicates an operation band, an amount of backscattering gain that the device is able to support in the operation band, and an angular range associated with the backscattering;
harvest, based on the capability, energy using the first signal;
and backscatter, based on the capability, modulated data using the second signal.
However, Luo further teaches transmitting an indication of a capability of energy harvesting and backscattering which includes:
transmit an indication of a capability for harvesting energy and backscattering modulated data, (“Optionally, the capability information may include one or more of the following: whether the first device supports energy harvesting, whether the first device supports a low-power consumption receiver, or whether the first device supports backscatter communication.”, Luo [0363]) (“For all embodiments of this application, in a possible implementation, the first device may send capability information to the second device. Correspondingly, the second device may receive the capability information from the first device.”, Luo [0358])
harvest, based on the capability, energy using the first signal; (“It should be understood that, that the first device supports energy harvesting may mean that the first device supports autonomously obtaining energy from an environment. A source of the energy may be at least one of the following: light, a radio wave (radio waves), a temperature difference (temperature differences), a vibration (vibrations), motion (motion), a salinity gradient (salinity gradients), or a wind or water flow (water flows). The first device converts the energy obtained from the environment into electric energy. An advantage of energy harvesting is that a battery is replaced to supply power to a device or battery energy is supplemented, to prolong a service life of the device. Energy generated in an energy harvesting manner may be provided for a signal processing circuit or a data storage circuit of the first device, to maintain a normal working state of the first device.”, Luo [0364])
and backscatter, based on the capability, modulated data using the second signal. (“FIG. 2 is a diagram of a structure of a backscatter communication system according to an embodiment of this application. As shown in FIG. 2, a backscatter communication system 200 usually includes an exciter 210, a receiver 220, a backscatter device (backscatter device) (also referred to as a tag) 230, and a communication link of the backscatter communication system 200 includes a downlink from the exciter 210 to the backscatter device 230 and an uplink from the backscatter device 230 to the receiver 220. An amplitude shift keying (Amplitude Shift Keying, ASK) modulation scheme is usually used for the downlink. The backscatter device 230 may demodulate a downlink modulation signal based on a low-power consumption envelope detector. The backscatter device 230 changes a load of an antenna based on an information bit to be sent, so that the information bit of the backscatter device 230 may be modulated to an incident carrier, to implement wireless transmission of uplink data. Because the backscatter device 230 does not need a high-power consumption device such as a radio frequency oscillator, a power amplifier, or a low noise amplifier, the backscatter device 230 is characterized by low costs and ultra-low power consumption.”, Luo [0248])
Luo and Gudan are analogous because they pertain to energy harvesting and backscattering.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting an indication of a capability of energy harvesting and backscattering as described in Luo into Gudan. By modifying the method to include transmitting an indication of a capability of energy harvesting and backscattering as taught by Luo, the benefits of improved backscattering technique (Gudan [0064]) and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
The combination of Gudan and Luo as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the indication indicates an operation band, an amount of backscattering gain that the device is able to support in the operation band, and an angular range associated with the backscattering;
However, Huang further teaches providing angle and gain information for backscattering which includes:
wherein the indication indicates an operation band, an amount of backscattering gain that the device is able to support in the operation band, and an angular range associated with the backscattering; (“In the method of this embodiment, the BSC terminal sends the capability information of the BSC terminal to the network side device, where the capability information is used to indicate the one or more capabilities supported by the BSC terminal”, Huang [0051]) (“Optionally, the capability parameter includes at least one of the following: an energy supply manner, an energy storage parameter, an amplitude modulation parameter, a phase modulation parameter, a frequency modulation parameter, an operating frequency band, a modulation bandwidth of a backscatter signal, a quantity of transmit antennas, a quantity of receive antennas, an encryption parameter, a coding parameter, or a device identifier ID.” Huang [0118]) (“Optionally, the amplitude modulation parameter is amplitude information of a supported adjustable reflected signal, continuous amplitude modulation or discrete amplitude modulation, and a quantity of states of corresponding continuous or discrete features. If the BSC terminal supports continuous amplitude modulation, the BSC terminal may report maximum and minimum amplitude modulation coefficients supported by the BSC terminal to the network side device, that is, [α.sub.min, α.sub.max]”, Huang [0060])(“Optionally, the phase modulation parameter is phase information of a supported adjustable reflected signal, continuous phase modulation or discrete phase modulation, and a quantity of states of corresponding continuous or discrete features. If the BSC terminal supports continuous phase modulation, the BSC terminal may report maximum and minimum phase modulation parameters supported by the BSC terminal to the network side device, that is, [θ.sub.min, θ.sub.max].”, Huang [0061])
Luo, Huang, and Gudan are analogous because they pertain to energy harvesting and backscattering.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include providing angle and gain information for backscattering as described in Huang into Gudan as modified by Luo. By modifying the method to include providing angle and gain information for backscattering as taught by Huang, the benefits of improved backscattering technique (Gudan [0064] and Huang [0051]) and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
As to claim 2:
Gudan discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to backscatter the modulated data, are configured to backscatter the modulated data in the second set of frequency domain resources or in a third set of frequency domain resources. (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
As to claim 3:
Gudan discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the first set of frequency domain resources includes a first frequency band, and the second set of frequency domain resources includes a second frequency band. (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
As to claim 4:
Gudan discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the first set of frequency domain resources is centered around a first center frequency, and the second set of frequency domain resources is centered around a second center frequency. (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
As to claim 5:
Gudan discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit information to a network entity using backscattering or receiving information from a network entity in the first set of frequency domain resources. (“FIGS. 5A-5C illustrate the backscatter tag of FIG. 3 performing backscatter communication with an access point (AP) in a sensor network. Referring to FIG. 5A, AP 501 transmits a `wake-up` sequence to tag 502. The passive RF pattern detector of tag 502 detects the sequence and wakes up/interrupts the tag's microcontroller. Energy is being harvested by tag 502, as is normal.”, Gudan [0058]) (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064]) (“Also, a separate passive RF pattern detector can be placed on the tag in the 2.4 GHz signal path, to complement or to replace the one in the 5.8 GHz path in FIG. 11.”, Gudan [0069])
As to claim 6:
Gudan discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive information from a network entity in the second set of frequency domain resources. (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
As to claim 7:
Gudan discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive information from a network entity in a third set of frequency domain resources. (“Referring to FIG. 11, multiple 5.8 GHz antennas can be added in the space of one 2.4 GHz antenna, to the access point, to the tag, or both. These antennas can take on the function of diversity, beamforming, and/or separate TX/RX depending on the needs. Although only a single 5.8 GHz antenna is shown, alternative embodiments may have more than one.”, Gudan [0068])
As to claim 15:
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the transmission end.
As to claim 16:
Gudan discloses:
The device of claim 15, wherein the first set of frequency domain resources is a first frequency band, and the second set of frequency domain resources is a second frequency band that is higher than the first frequency band. (FIG. 11 shows a tag harvesting energy using a signal on the 2.4GHz band and backscattering on the 5.8GHz band, Gudan) (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudan in view of Luo and Huang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fink et al. US 9715609 (hereinafter “Fink”)
As to claim 8:
The combination of Luo, Huang, and Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured for Van Atta architecture operations.
However, Fink further teaches Van Atta architecture which includes:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured for Van Atta architecture operations. (“Embodiments disclosed herein provide systems, methods, and apparatuses for beamforming RFID tags.”, Fink [3]) (“FIG. 16 is a schematic diagram illustrating a hybrid Rotman lens/van Atta retro-reflector, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The hybrid Rotman lens/van Atta retro-reflector is a hybrid combination of a Rotman lens, as described above, and a van Atta retro-reflector, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 8,466,776, issued on Jun. 18, 2013, which is hereby incorporated herein in its entirety. The hybrid Rotman lens/van Atta retro-reflector is formed by connecting corresponding input ports (terminal ports) on pairs of Rotman lenses as van Atta pairs. As seen in FIG. 16, two Rotman lenses 1400a and 1400b are provided, each one connected to a set of antennas 1401a and 1401b, respectively, and to a set of input ports 1403a and 1403b, respectively. Input ports 1403a are connected to corresponding ones of input ports 1403b, respectively. RFID functionality can be incorporated in this arrangement as described in aforementioned U.S. Pat. No. 8,466,776. This arrangement can be scaled by adding additional van Atta pairs of Rotman lenses. The hybrid Rotman lens/van Atta retro-reflector provides full steering over two orthogonal angles.”, Fink [76])
Huang, Luo, Gudan and Fink are analogous because they pertain to backscattering.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Van Atta architecture as described in Fink into Gudan as modified by Huang and Luo. By modifying the method to include Van Atta architecture as taught by Fink, the benefits of improved backscattering technique (Fink [76], Huang [0051], and Gudan [0064]) and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
The combination of Luo, Huang, and Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured for Rotman lens operations.
However, Fink further teaches Rotman lens architecture which includes:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured for Rotman lens operations. (“Embodiments disclosed herein provide systems, methods, and apparatuses for beamforming RFID tags.”, Fink [3]) (“FIG. 16 is a schematic diagram illustrating a hybrid Rotman lens/van Atta retro-reflector, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The hybrid Rotman lens/van Atta retro-reflector is a hybrid combination of a Rotman lens, as described above, and a van Atta retro-reflector, as described in U.S. Pat. No. 8,466,776, issued on Jun. 18, 2013, which is hereby incorporated herein in its entirety. The hybrid Rotman lens/van Atta retro-reflector is formed by connecting corresponding input ports (terminal ports) on pairs of Rotman lenses as van Atta pairs. As seen in FIG. 16, two Rotman lenses 1400a and 1400b are provided, each one connected to a set of antennas 1401a and 1401b, respectively, and to a set of input ports 1403a and 1403b, respectively. Input ports 1403a are connected to corresponding ones of input ports 1403b, respectively. RFID functionality can be incorporated in this arrangement as described in aforementioned U.S. Pat. No. 8,466,776. This arrangement can be scaled by adding additional van Atta pairs of Rotman lenses. The hybrid Rotman lens/van Atta retro-reflector provides full steering over two orthogonal angles.”, Fink [76])
Huang, Luo, Gudan and Fink are analogous because they pertain to backscattering.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Rotman lens architecture as described in Fink into Gudan as modified by Huang and Luo. By modifying the method to include Rotman lens architecture as taught by Fink, the benefits of improved backscattering technique (Fink [76], Huang [0051], and Gudan [0064]) and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudan in view of Luo and Huang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jameel et al. “Simultaneous Harvest-and-Transmit Ambient Backscatter Communications under Rayleigh Fading” (hereinafter “Jameel”)
As to claim 10:
The combination of Luo, Huang, and Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to harvest energy and backscatter modulated data in a same time slot.
However, Jameel further teaches harvesting energy and backscatter in the same time slot which includes:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to harvest energy and backscatter modulated data in a same time slot. (“Thus, the time slot T is divided into phases, i.e., compressive sensing duration (denoted as α) and energy harvesting/ backscattering duration (denoted as (1 − α)). After compressive sensing, the received signal at the device is divided into two streams of power. The first part is used for energy harvesting while the other part is used for performing backscattering operation.”, Jameel [page 3, paragraph 2])
Luo, Huang, Gudan and Jameel are analogous because they pertain to backscattering and energy harvesting.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include harvesting energy and backscatter in the same time slot as described in Jameel into Gudan as modified by Luo and Huang. By modifying the method to include harvesting energy and backscatter in the same time slot as taught by Jameel, the benefits of improved backscattering and energy harvesting technique (Jameel [page 3, paragraph 2], Huang [0051], and Gudan [0064]) and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudan in view of Luo and Huang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al. “Performance Analysis of RF-Powered Cognitive Radio Networks with Integrated Ambient Backscatter Communications” (hereinafter “Xu”)
As to claim 11:
The combination of Luo, Huang, and Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to harvest energy and backscatter modulated data in different time slots.
However, Xu further teaches harvesting energy and backscatter in different time slots which includes:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to harvest energy and backscatter modulated data in different time slots. (“Figure 3: An example of minislots assignment and selection for different mode when number of minislots is 7.”, Xu [Figure 3]) (Examiner’s Note: Figure 3 shows energy harvesting and backscatter happening at different mini time slots)
Luo, Huang, Gudan and Xu are analogous because they pertain to backscattering and energy harvesting.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include harvesting energy and backscatter in different time slots as described in Xu into Gudan as modified by Luo and Huang. By modifying the method to include harvesting energy and backscatter in different time slots as taught by Xu, the benefits of improved backscattering and energy harvesting technique (Xu [Figure 3], Huang [0051], and Gudan [0064]) and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 12, 14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudan in view of Luo and Huang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Landis et al. US 20220376555 (hereinafter “Landis”)
As to claim 12:
Gudan discloses capability for harvesting energy and backscatter modulated data in different frequency domain resources and uploading tag configuration parameters to the network:
(FIG. 11 shows a tag harvesting energy using a signal on the 2.4GHz band and backscattering on the 5.8GHz band, Gudan) (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
(“After sensing the state, the tag transitions into the upload state 203 in which the tag uploads (transmits) data to the network. In one embodiment, the data that is being uploaded is sensor results or other tag response data, which may include, but are not restricted to: tag unique identifiers, date/time, tag functional status, configuration and firmware update download status, and tag configuration parameters.”, Gudan [0035])
The combination of Luo, Huang, and Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 1, wherein the indication of the capability is further for harvesting energy and backscattering modulated data in different frequency domain resources.
However, Landis further teaches transmitting an indication of capability of power harvesting that includes one or more frequency parameters which includes:
The device of claim 1, wherein the indication of the capability is further for harvesting energy and backscattering modulated data in different frequency domain resources. (“In some implementations, the CED may determine one or more parameters that indicate the power harvesting capabilities of the CED. For example, the one or more parameters may include one or more of a frequency parameter, an angle parameter, an aperture size parameter, and a duty cycle parameter. The CED may provide a power harvesting capabilities message to the BS that includes the one or more parameters.”, Landis [0032])
Luo, Huang, Gudan and Landis are analogous because they pertain to power harvesting.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting an indication of capability of power harvesting that includes one or more frequency parameters as described in Landis into Gudan as modified by Luo and Huang. By modifying the method to include transmitting an indication of capability of power harvesting that includes one or more frequency parameters as taught by Landis, the benefits of improved configuration indication (Landis [0032] and Gudan [0064 and 0035]), improved backscattering technique (Huang [0051]), and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
As to claim 14:
Gudan discloses capability for harvesting energy and backscatter modulated data in different frequency domain resources and uploading tag configuration parameters to the network:
(FIG. 11 shows a tag harvesting energy using a signal on the 2.4GHz band and backscattering on the 5.8GHz band, Gudan) (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
(“After sensing the state, the tag transitions into the upload state 203 in which the tag uploads (transmits) data to the network. In one embodiment, the data that is being uploaded is sensor results or other tag response data, which may include, but are not restricted to: tag unique identifiers, date/time, tag functional status, configuration and firmware update download status, and tag configuration parameters.”, Gudan [0035])
The combination of Luo, Huang, and Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit a request for a configuration for the capability for harvesting energy and backscattering modulated data in different frequency domain resources,
However, Landis further teaches transmitting a request to configure power harvesting which includes:
The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit a request for a configuration for the capability for harvesting energy and
, (FIG. 4 shows the CED transmitting power harvesting capabilities which is basically a request to the BS to configure the power harvesting parameters, Landis)
based at least in part on one or more of an energy status of the device or traffic conditions. (“Since CEDs are passive devices with nominal power requirements, performing power harvesting at a CED may provide sufficient power for normal operations and without having to access alternative power sources (such as solar power or battery power).”, Landis [0069]) (Examiner’s Note: CEDs perform energy harvesting due to the energy status of the device)
Luo, Huang, Gudan and Landis are analogous because they pertain to power harvesting.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting a request to configure power harvesting as described in Landis into Gudan as modified by Luo and Huang. By modifying the method to include transmitting a request to configure power harvesting as taught by Landis, the benefits of improved configuration indication (Landis [0032] and Gudan [0064 and 0035]), improved backscattering technique (Huang [0051]), and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
As to claim 17:
Gudan discloses capability for harvesting energy and backscatter modulated data in different frequency domain resources and uploading tag configuration parameters to the network:
(“When no longer harvesting energy (for example the energy storage may be full, or a wake-up event has been detected), and performing and operating in the awake state, energy harvesting and storage circuitry 304 provides power to microprocessor and sensors 323.”, Gudan [0047])
(“A machine-readable medium includes any mechanism for storing or transmitting information in a form readable by a machine (e.g., a computer). For example, a machine-readable medium includes read only memory ("ROM"); random access memory ("RAM"); magnetic disk storage media; optical storage media; flash memory devices; etc.”, Gudan [0024])
(FIG. 11 shows a tag harvesting energy using a signal on the 2.4GHz band and backscattering on the 5.8GHz band, Gudan) (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
(“After sensing the state, the tag transitions into the upload state 203 in which the tag uploads (transmits) data to the network. In one embodiment, the data that is being uploaded is sensor results or other tag response data, which may include, but are not restricted to: tag unique identifiers, date/time, tag functional status, configuration and firmware update download status, and tag configuration parameters.”, Gudan [0035])
Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
receive, from a second device, an indication of a capability for harvesting energy and backscattering modulated data in different frequency domain resources,
wherein the indication indicates an operation band, an amount of backscattering gain that the second device is able to support in the operation band and an angular range associated with the backscattering;
generate a configuration for harvesting energy in a first set of frequency domain resources and for backscattering modulated data in a second set of frequency domain resources associated with the operation band, based at least in part on the configuration; and transmit the configuration.
However, Huang further teaches providing angle and gain information for backscattering which includes:
wherein the indication indicates an operation band, an amount of backscattering gain that the second device is able to support in the operation band and an angular range associated with the backscattering; (“In the method of this embodiment, the BSC terminal sends the capability information of the BSC terminal to the network side device, where the capability information is used to indicate the one or more capabilities supported by the BSC terminal”, Huang [0051]) (“Optionally, the capability parameter includes at least one of the following: an energy supply manner, an energy storage parameter, an amplitude modulation parameter, a phase modulation parameter, a frequency modulation parameter, an operating frequency band, a modulation bandwidth of a backscatter signal, a quantity of transmit antennas, a quantity of receive antennas, an encryption parameter, a coding parameter, or a device identifier ID.” Huang [0118]) (“Optionally, the amplitude modulation parameter is amplitude information of a supported adjustable reflected signal, continuous amplitude modulation or discrete amplitude modulation, and a quantity of states of corresponding continuous or discrete features. If the BSC terminal supports continuous amplitude modulation, the BSC terminal may report maximum and minimum amplitude modulation coefficients supported by the BSC terminal to the network side device, that is, [α.sub.min, α.sub.max]”, Huang [0060])(“Optionally, the phase modulation parameter is phase information of a supported adjustable reflected signal, continuous phase modulation or discrete phase modulation, and a quantity of states of corresponding continuous or discrete features. If the BSC terminal supports continuous phase modulation, the BSC terminal may report maximum and minimum phase modulation parameters supported by the BSC terminal to the network side device, that is, [θ.sub.min, θ.sub.max].”, Huang [0061])
Luo, Huang, and Gudan are analogous because they pertain to energy harvesting and backscattering.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include providing angle and gain information for backscattering as described in Huang into Gudan as modified by Luo. By modifying the method to include providing angle and gain information for backscattering as taught by Huang, the benefits of improved backscattering technique (Gudan [0064] and Huang [0051]) and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
The combination of Luo, Huang, and Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
receive, from a second device, an indication of a capability for harvesting energy and backscattering modulated data in different frequency domain resources,
generate a configuration for harvesting energy in a first set of frequency domain resources and for backscattering modulated data in a second set of frequency domain resources associated with the operation band, based at least in part on the configuration; and transmit the configuration.
However, Landis further teaches receiving an indication related to power harvesting in different frequency resources and generating a configuration for this indication which includes:
receive, from a second device, an indication of a capability for harvesting energy and resources, (“In some implementations, the CED may determine one or more parameters that indicate the power harvesting capabilities of the CED. For example, the one or more parameters may include one or more of a frequency parameter, an angle parameter, an aperture size parameter, and a duty cycle parameter. The CED may provide a power harvesting capabilities message to the BS that includes the one or more parameters.”, Landis [0032])
generate a configuration for harvesting energy in a first set of frequency domain resources and for(“The BS may receive and process the power harvesting capabilities message. In some implementations, based on the power harvesting capabilities message, the BS may determine timing information and frequency information associated with the power harvesting signals the BS will transmit to the CED for power harvesting. In some implementations, the BS may transmit a power harvesting configuration message to the CED that indicates the timing information and the frequency information. The power harvesting configuration message may configure the CED to receive the power harvesting signals at certain times and via certain frequencies to perform the power harvesting at the CED.”, Landis [0032])
Gudan, Luo, Huang, and Landis are analogous because they pertain to power harvesting.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving an indication related to power harvesting in different frequency resources and generating a configuration for this indication as described in Landis into Gudan as modified by Luo and Huang. By modifying the method to include receiving an indication related to power harvesting in different frequency resources and generating a configuration for this indication as taught by Landis, the benefits of improved configuration indication (Landis [0032] and Gudan [0064 and 0035]), improved backscattering technique (Huang [0051]), and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
As to claim 19:
Gudan discloses capability for harvesting energy and backscatter modulated data in different frequency domain resources and uploading tag configuration parameters to the network:
(“When no longer harvesting energy (for example the energy storage may be full, or a wake-up event has been detected), and performing and operating in the awake state, energy harvesting and storage circuitry 304 provides power to microprocessor and sensors 323.”, Gudan [0047])
(FIG. 11 shows a tag harvesting energy using a signal on the 2.4GHz band and backscattering on the 5.8GHz band, Gudan) (“In one embodiment, the RF energy harvesting happens in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, while backscatter communications occur in the 5.8 GHz ISM band. FIG. 11 illustrates a wireless communication system that uses this approach.”, Gudan [0064])
(“After sensing the state, the tag transitions into the upload state 203 in which the tag uploads (transmits) data to the network. In one embodiment, the data that is being uploaded is sensor results or other tag response data, which may include, but are not restricted to: tag unique identifiers, date/time, tag functional status, configuration and firmware update download status, and tag configuration parameters.”, Gudan [0035])
The combination of Luo, Huang, and Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive a request for a configuration for the capability for harvesting energy and backscatter modulated data in different frequency domain resources, and wherein the one or more processors, to generate the configuration, are configured to generate the configuration based at least in part on the capability.
However, Landis further teaches receiving a request to configure power harvesting parameters which includes:
The device of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive a request for a configuration for the capability for harvesting energy and (FIG. 4 shows the CED transmitting power harvesting capabilities which is basically a request to the BS to configure the power harvesting parameters, Landis)
Gudan, Luo, Huang, and Landis are analogous because they pertain to power harvesting.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving a request to configure power harvesting parameters as described in Landis into Gudan as modified by Luo and Huang. By modifying the method to include receiving a request to configure power harvesting parameters as taught by Landis, the benefits of improved configuration indication (Landis [0032] and Gudan [0064 and 0035]), improved backscattering technique (Huang [0051]), and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudan in view of Landis, Luo, and Huang, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Li et al. US 20250150178 (hereinafter “Li”)
As to claim 13:
The combination of Gudan, Luo, Huang, and Landis as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 12, wherein the capability indicates one or more of a backscattering characteristic, or a supported modulation scheme.
However, Li further teaches backscattering gain indication which includes:
The device of claim 12, wherein the capability indicates one or more of a backscattering characteristic, or a supported modulation scheme. (“In some embodiments, the backscatter signal type is a type of the first backscatter signal, and may be a specific sequence (for example, 1010101010 or 111111111) or specific information (for example, an RN16, an EPC, or a backscatter signal gain or loss indication). The modulation scheme may be double sideband (DSB) amplitude shift keying (ASK) (DSB-ASK), single sideband (SSB) ASK (SSB-ASK), or phase reversal (PR) ASK (PR-ASK). The coding scheme may be Manchester coding, Miller coding, or FM0 coding. In addition, the carrier frequency and/or the reflection coefficient are preconfigured or agreed upon in a protocol for a reader and a tag.”, Li [0126])
Gudan, Luo, Huang, and Li are analogous because they pertain to backscattering.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include backscattering gain indication as described in Li into Gudan as modified by Huang and Luo. By modifying the method to include backscattering gain indication as taught by Li, the benefits of improved configuration indication (Li [0126] and Gudan [0064 and 0035]), improved backscattering technique (Huang [0051]), and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
As to claim 18:
The combination of Huang, Luo, Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 17, wherein the capability indicates one or more of an operation band, a backscattering characteristic, or a supported modulation scheme.
However, Li further teaches backscattering gain indication which includes:
The device of claim 17, wherein the capability indicates one or more of an operation band, a backscattering characteristic, or a supported modulation scheme. (“In some embodiments, the backscatter signal type is a type of the first backscatter signal, and may be a specific sequence (for example, 1010101010 or 111111111) or specific information (for example, an RN16, an EPC, or a backscatter signal gain or loss indication). The modulation scheme may be double sideband (DSB) amplitude shift keying (ASK) (DSB-ASK), single sideband (SSB) ASK (SSB-ASK), or phase reversal (PR) ASK (PR-ASK). The coding scheme may be Manchester coding, Miller coding, or FM0 coding. In addition, the carrier frequency and/or the reflection coefficient are preconfigured or agreed upon in a protocol for a reader and a tag.”, Li [0126])
Gudan, Luo, Huang, and Li are analogous because they pertain to backscattering.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include backscattering gain indication as described in Li into Gudan as modified by Luo and Huang. By modifying the method to include backscattering gain indication as taught by Li, the benefits of improved configuration indication (Li [0126] and Gudan [0064 and 0035]), improved backscattering technique (Huang [0051]), and improved communication (Luo [0363]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudan in view of Landis, Luo, and Huang, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Jian et al. WO 2024022395 (hereinafter “Jian”)
As to claim 20:
The combination of Luo, Huang, Landis, and Gudan as described above does not explicitly teach:
The device of claim 17, wherein the capability indicates a type or class of a backscattering device, and wherein the one or more processors, to generate the configuration, are configured to generate the configuration based at least in part on the type or class of the backscattering device.
However, Jian further teaches indicating backscattering device type which includes:
The device of claim 17, wherein the capability indicates a type or class of a backscattering device, and wherein the one or more processors, to generate the configuration, are configured to generate the configuration based at least in part on the type or class of the backscattering device. (“A first receiving unit, configured to receive first capability information reported by the backscattering device; the first capability information includes switching capability information and/or amplifier capability information of the backscattering device; wherein the switching capability information A related module including a switch connection is included, and the amplifier capability information indicates at least one of the following: whether the backscattering device includes an amplifier; and the type of amplifier.”, Jian [page 2, line 38]
Gudan, Luo, Huang, and Jian are analogous because they pertain to backscattering.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include indicating backscattering device type as described in Jian into Gudan as modified by Luo, Huang, and Landis. By modifying the method to include indicating backscattering device type as taught by Jian, the benefits of improved configuration indication (Landis [0032] and Gudan [0064 and 0035]), improved backscattering technique (Huang [0051]), improved communication (Luo [0363]), and improved configuration indication (Jian [page 2, line 38] are achieved.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471