DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (JP 2011238569 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a battery (paragraph 0022, figures 1-2), comprising an electrode assembly and a housing assembly (case 10, electrode body 50), wherein the housing assembly defines an accommodation space for accommodating the electrode assembly (paragraph 0022, figure 2); wherein, the housing assembly is made of a conductive material (paragraph 0023, made of metal), the housing assembly comprises a first housing and a second housing connected to the first housing (paragraph 0023, case 10 includes lid 17 and body 11), and the first housing is electrically insulated from the second housing (paragraph 0023, gasket PK); the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator located between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate; the electrode assembly is formed by winding the first electrode plate, the second electrode plate, and the separator (paragraph 0022, figure 2); the first electrode plate comprises a first current collector and a first active material layer disposed on the first current collector, and the second electrode plate comprises a second current collector and a second active material layer disposed on the second current collector (paragraph 0027, positive and negative electrode plates 60 and 70); the first current collector comprises a first blank foil region, the first blank foil region is located at an edge region of the first current collector, the first blank foil region extends from a winding start end of the first electrode plate toward a winding termination end of the first electrode plate, and the first blank foil region is electrically connected to one of the first housing or the second housing (paragraphs 0027, 0030-0031, figures 3-6, positive electrode foil exposed portion 62f is connected to the lid 17 through second metal tubular portion 32Y); and the second current collector comprises a second blank foil region, the second blank foil region is located at a winding start end of the second electrode plate and/or a winding termination end of the second electrode plate, and the second blank foil region is electrically connected to the other of the first housing or the second housing (paragraphs 0027, 0030-0031, figures 3-6, negative electrode foil exposed portion 72f is electrically connected to case body 11 through first metal tubular portion 32X).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses that the electrode assembly further comprises a winding needle (paragraph 0027, figure 4, assembly wound around core 30); the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate form the electrode assembly by winding around the winding needle where the winding needle serves as a central axis (paragraphs 0027-0028, figure 4); the second blank foil region is located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate (paragraph 0030, figure 4, foil exposed portion 72f extends from the start to the termination end); the second blank foil region is electrically connected to the winding needle (paragraph 0032, first metal tubular portion 32X); and the winding needle is electrically connected to the first housing or the second housing (paragraph 0031, case body 11 and first metal tubular portion 32X).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses that the electrode assembly further comprises a winding needle (paragraph 0027, figure 4, assembly wound around core 30); the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate form the electrode assembly by winding around the winding needle where the winding needle serves as a central axis (paragraphs 0027-0028, figure 4); the second blank foil region is located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate and the winding termination end of the second electrode plate (paragraphs 0027-0030, figure 4, negative electrode foil exposed portion 72f extends from the winding start to termination end); the second blank foil region located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate is electrically connected to the winding needle; the winding needle is electrically connected to the second housing; and the second blank foil region located at the winding termination end of the second electrode plate is electrically connected to the second housing (paragraphs 0030-0031, figures 4-6, negative electrode foil exposed portion 72f extends from the winding start to termination end, electrically connects to first joint portion 32XA of first metal tubular portion 32X, which connects to case body 11, electrically connecting 72f and case body 11).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi disclose the limitations of claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses that the electrode assembly further comprises a winding needle (paragraph 0027, figure 4, assembly wound around core 30); the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate form the electrode assembly by winding around the winding needle where the winding needle serves as a central axis (paragraphs 0027-0028, figure 4); the second blank foil region is located at the winding termination end of the second electrode plate (paragraphs 0027-0030, figure 4, negative electrode foil exposed portion 72f extends from the winding start to termination end).
Regarding clam 6, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses that at least one side of the first blank foil region is not coated with the first active material layer, and at least one side of the second blank foil region is not coated with the second active material layer (paragraph 0027, figure 4, foil exposed portions 62f and 72f do not support active material layers and are exposed).
Regarding claims 10-12, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claims 2-4. Kobayashi further discloses that the winding needle is formed in one piece or by splicing (paragraph 0029, figure 3, formed by parts).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 6. Kobayashi further discloses a second insulation piece, and the second insulation piece connects the first housing and the second housing to electrically insulate the first housing from the second housing (paragraph 0023, figure 2, gasket PK).
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises the battery (paragraphs 0018-0020).
Regarding claim 15, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 14. Kobayashi further discloses that the electrode assembly further comprises a winding needle (paragraph 0027, figure 4, assembly wound around core 30); the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate form the electrode assembly by winding around the winding needle where the winding needle serves as a central axis (paragraphs 0027-0028, figure 4); the second blank foil region is located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate (paragraph 0030, figure 4, foil exposed portion 72f extends from the start to the termination end); the second blank foil region is electrically connected to the winding needle (paragraph 0032, first metal tubular portion 32X); and the winding needle is electrically connected to the first housing or the second housing (paragraph 0031, case body 11 and first metal tubular portion 32X).
Regarding claim 16, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 14. Kobayashi further discloses that the electrode assembly further comprises a winding needle (paragraph 0027, figure 4, assembly wound around core 30); the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate form the electrode assembly by winding around the winding needle where the winding needle serves as a central axis (paragraphs 0027-0028, figure 4); the second blank foil region is located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate and the winding termination end of the second electrode plate (paragraphs 0027-0030, figure 4, negative electrode foil exposed portion 72f extends from the winding start to termination end); the second blank foil region located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate is electrically connected to the winding needle; the winding needle is electrically connected to the second housing; and the second blank foil region located at the winding termination end of the second electrode plate is electrically connected to the second housing (paragraphs 0030-0031, figures 4-6, negative electrode foil exposed portion 72f extends from the winding start to termination end, electrically connects to first joint portion 32XA of first metal tubular portion 32X, which connects to case body 11, electrically connecting 72f and case body 11).
Regarding claim 17, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 14. Kobayashi further discloses that the electrode assembly further comprises a winding needle (paragraph 0027, figure 4, assembly wound around core 30); the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate form the electrode assembly by winding around the winding needle where the winding needle serves as a central axis (paragraphs 0027-0028, figure 4); the second blank foil region is located at the winding termination end of the second electrode plate (paragraphs 0027-0030, figure 4, negative electrode foil exposed portion 72f extends from the winding start to termination end).
Regarding claim 19, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 14. Kobayashi further discloses that at least one side of the first blank foil region is not coated with the first active material layer, and at least one side of the second blank foil region is not coated with the second active material layer (paragraph 0027, figure 4, foil exposed portions 62f and 72f do not support active material layers and are exposed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP 2011238569 A) in view of Yoshida et al. (JPH09306471).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 15. Kobayashi is silent regarding wherein the first blank foil region is located at two edge regions on two opposite sides of the first current collector.
Yoshida discloses a power generating element comprising a positive electrode plate, a negative, electrode plate, and a separator interposed therebetween, spirally wound around a winding core to form an electrode group (Yoshida paragraph 0029). Yoshida further discloses that uncoated portions are formed on both side edges of the positive electrode current collector (Yoshida paragraph 0039, figures 1 and 5, uncoated portions 12 and 13). The reference teaches that this prevents the planar shape from bending when pressed, and enables a high capacity battery with a low defect rate (Yoshida paragraphs 0020, 0038). Yoshida and Kobayashi are analogous because they both disclose batteries comprising wound electrode assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi to include the exposed portions on both side edges of the positive electrode as disclosed by Yoshida. Doing so would enable a high capacity battery with a low defect rate.
Claim 7-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP 2011238569 A) in view of Lee et al. (US 20170117526 A1).
Regarding claims 7-9 and 20, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claims 2-4 and 15. Kobayashi is silent regarding a first insulation piece, and the first insulation piece connects the winding needle and the first housing to electrically insulate the winding needle from the first housing.
Lee discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a wound electrode assembly and a housing made of conductive material (Lee paragraphs 0009, 0036, 0038). Lee further discloses a center pin at the center of the electrode assembly and electrically coupled to an electrode, and a gasket positioned between the terminal portion of the pin and the case and insulating between the pin and the case (Lee paragraphs 0009, 0045, 0051). The reference teaches that the insulating gasket prevents a short-circuit between the pin and case (Lee paragraphs 0046, 0051). Lee and Kobayashi are analogous because they both disclose wound electrode assemblies in conductive housings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Kobayashi to include the insulating gasket as disclosed by Lee. Doing so would prevent a short-circuit between the winding core and housing.
Conclusion
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727