DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 04/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1-4 and 15-17 are amended. Support for the amended claims is found in paragraph 0049 of the examined specification and in figures 2B. In view of Applicant’s amendments, the rejections set forth in the previous Office Action mailed 01/08/2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al. (US 20200152952 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20170117526 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Heo discloses a battery (paragraph 0015), comprising an electrode assembly and a housing assembly (paragraphs 0038-0042, figures 1-2), wherein the housing assembly defines an accommodation space for accommodating the electrode assembly (paragraphs 0046-0047); wherein, the housing assembly is made of a conductive material (paragraph 0019, housing serves as terminal and is therefore a conductive material), the housing assembly comprises a first housing and a second housing connected to the first housing (paragraphs 0047-0048, figure 3, cap assembly 320 and case 310); the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator located between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate; the electrode assembly is formed by winding the first electrode plate, the second electrode plate, and the separator; the first electrode plate comprises a first current collector and a first active material layer disposed on the first current collector, and the second electrode plate comprises a second current collector and a second active material layer disposed on the second current collector (paragraphs 0042-0044, figure 2, positive electrode 210, positive electrode mixture layer 212, positive electrode current collector 211; and negative electrode 230, negative electrode mixture layer 232, negative electrode current collector 231; and separator 220); wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a winding needle; wherein the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate are wound around the winding needle where the winding needle serves as a central axis (paragraphs 0047-0049, figure 3, welding pole 330); the first current collector comprises a first blank foil region, the first blank foil region is located at an edge region of the first current collector, the first blank foil region extends from a winding start end of the first electrode plate toward a winding termination end of the first electrode plate, and the first blank foil region is electrically connected to one of the first housing or the second housing (paragraphs 0043, 0048, figure 2, positive electrode tab is connected to cap assembly); and the second current collector comprises a second blank foil region, the second blank foil region is located at a winding start end of the second electrode plate and/or a winding termination end of the second electrode plate, and the second blank foil region is electrically connected to the other of the first housing or the second housing; wherein the second blank foil region is electrically connected to the other of the first housing or the second housing through the winding needle (paragraphs 0019, 0044, 0048, figures 2-3, negative electrode current collector is connected to the case through the welding pole). Heo is silent regarding wherein the first housing is electrically insulated from the second housing; and wherein the first blank foil region is directly electrically connected to one of the first housing or the second housing.
Lee discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a wound electrode assembly and a housing made of conductive material (Lee paragraphs 0009, 0036, 0038). Lee further discloses a center pin at the center of the electrode assembly and electrically coupled to an electrode, and a gasket positioned between the terminal portion of the pin and the case and insulating between the pin and the case (Lee paragraphs 0009, 0045, 0051). The uncoated region of the second electrode which may be the positive electrode contacts and is electrically coupled to an inner surface of the case (Lee paragraph 0044). The reference teaches that the configuration results in increased capacity and space, and the insulating gasket prevents a short-circuit between the terminal portion and outer case (Lee paragraphs 0008, 0046, 0051). Lee and Heo are analogous because they both disclose wound electrode assemblies with winding cores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Heo to include the insulating gasket as disclosed by Lee to insulate the first and second housing, and to directly connect the positive electrode blank foil region to the housing. Doing so would prevent a short-circuit between the terminal portion and housing and improve space and capacity.
Regarding claim 2, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Heo further disclose that the second blank foil region is located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate (figure 2, negative electrode current collector 231); the second blank foil region is electrically connected to the winding needle; and the winding needle is electrically connected to the first housing or the second housing (paragraphs 0019, 0048, figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Heo further discloses that the second blank foil region is located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate and the winding termination end of the second electrode plate (figure 2, negative electrode current collector 231); the second blank foil region located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate is electrically connected to the winding needle (paragraphs 0044, 0048); the winding needle is electrically connected to the second housing (paragraph 0019); and the second blank foil region located at the winding termination end of the second electrode plate is electrically connected to the second housing (paragraphs 0019, 0044, 0048).
Regarding claim 4, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Heo further discloses that the second blank foil region is located at the winding termination end of the second electrode plate (figure 2, negative electrode current collector 231).
Regarding claim 5, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Heo further discloses that the first blank foil region is located at two edge regions on two opposite sides of the first current collector (figure 2, positive current collector 211).
Regarding claim 6, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Heo further discloses that at least one side of the first blank foil region is not coated with the first active material layer, and at least one side of the second blank foil region is not coated with the second active material layer (figure 2, current collectors 211 and 231 and mixture layers 212 and 232).
Regarding claims 7-9, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claims 2-4. Heo is silent regarding a first insulation piece, and the first insulation piece connects the winding needle and the first housing to electrically insulate the winding needle from the first housing.
Lee discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a wound electrode assembly and a housing made of conductive material (Lee paragraphs 0009, 0036, 0038). Lee further discloses a center pin at the center of the electrode assembly and electrically coupled to an electrode, and a gasket positioned between the terminal portion of the pin and the case and insulating between the pin and the case (Lee paragraphs 0009, 0045, 0051). The reference teaches that the insulating gasket prevents a short-circuit between the pin and case (Lee paragraphs 0046, 0051). Lee and Heo are analogous because they both disclose wound electrode assemblies with winding cores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Heo to include the insulating gasket as disclosed by Lee. Doing so would prevent a short-circuit between the winding core and housing.
Regarding claims 10-12, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claims 2-4. Heo further discloses that the winding needle is formed in one piece (paragraphs 0046-0049, figures 1 and 3, formed in one piece extending up from bottom case surface).
Regarding claim 14, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Heo further discloses an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises the battery (paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 15, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 14. Heo further discloses that the second blank foil region is located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate; the second blank foil region is electrically connected to the winding needle; and the winding needle is electrically connected to the first housing or the second housing (paragraphs 0016, 0044, 0048).
Regarding claim 16, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 14. Heo further discloses that the second blank foil region is located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate and the winding termination end of the second electrode plate (paragraph 0044, figure 2, negative electrode current collector 231); the second blank foil region located at the winding start end of the second electrode plate is electrically connected to the winding needle; the winding needle is electrically connected to the second housing; and the second blank foil region located at the winding termination end of the second electrode plate is electrically connected to the second housing (paragraphs 0019, 0044, 0048).
Regarding claim 17, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 14. Heo further discloses that the second blank foil region is located at the winding termination end of the second electrode plate (figure 2, negative current collector 231).
Regarding claim 18, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 14, Heo further discloses that the first blank foil region is located at each of edge regions on two opposite sides of the first current collector (figure 2, negative current collector 231).
Regarding claim 19, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 14. Heo further discloses that at least one side of the first blank foil region is not coated with the first active material layer, and at least one side of the second blank foil region is not coated with the second active material layer (figure 2, negative current collector 231, negative mixture layer 232).
Regarding claim 20, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 15. Heo is silent regarding a first insulation piece, and the first insulation piece connects the winding needle and the first housing to electrically insulate the winding needle from the first housing.
Lee discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a wound electrode assembly and a housing made of conductive material (Lee paragraphs 0009, 0036, 0038). Lee further discloses a center pin at the center of the electrode assembly and electrically coupled to an electrode, and a gasket positioned between the terminal portion of the pin and the case and insulating between the pin and the case (Lee paragraphs 0009, 0045, 0051). The reference teaches that the insulating gasket prevents a short-circuit between the pin and case (Lee paragraphs 0046, 0051). Lee and Heo are analogous because they both disclose wound electrode assemblies with winding cores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Heo to include the insulating gasket as disclosed by Lee. Doing so would prevent a short-circuit between the winding core and housing.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al. (US 20200152952 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20170117526 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (JP 2011238569 A).
Regarding claim 13, modified Heo discloses the limitations of claim 6. Heo is silent regarding a second insulation piece, and the second insulation piece connects the first housing and the second housing to electrically insulate the first housing from the second housing.
Kobayashi discloses a battery comprising an electrode assembly and a housing assembly (Kobayashi case 10, electrode body 50), wherein, the housing assembly is made of a conductive material (Kobayashi paragraph 0023), a first blank foil region is electrically connected to one of the first housing or the second housing (Kobayashi paragraphs 0027, 0030-0031, figures 3-6, positive electrode foil exposed portion 62f is connected to the lid 17 through second metal tubular portion 32Y); and a second current collector is electrically connected to the other of the first housing or the second housing (Kobayashi paragraphs 0027, 0030-0031, figures 3-6, negative electrode foil exposed portion 72f is electrically connected to case body 11 through first metal tubular portion 32X). Kobayashi further discloses that the battery comprises a gasket disposed between the case body and lid which allows them to be integrated while electrically insulated from each other (Kobayashi paragraph 0023, gasket PK, case body 11, lid 17). Kobayashi and Heo are analogous because they both disclose wound batteries with winding cores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Heo to include the insulating gasket disclosed by Kobayashi. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Incorporating the known insulating gasket between the case and cap assembly of Heo would yield the predictable results of electrically insulating the housings which serve as terminals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727