DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
first input device [configured to rotate the pad] (claim 1), disclosed as element ;
first input device configured to energize the burnisher (claim 7);
second input device [configured to] throttle the one or more motors to alter a rotational speed of the pad (clam 1);
second input device [configured to rotate the pad] (claim 7);
third input device [configured to] adjust a rotational speed of the burnisher pad (claim 7);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan CN 209690754 U in view of Chen US 2015/0265124.
Re claims 15-16, Wan discloses a variable speed burnisher comprising:
a power source [battery power supply];
a motor [infinite speed motor] in electrical communication with the power source;
a control area including at least one input device [burnisher control circuit] and at least one output device [display] wherein the at least one input device is configured to alter a power output of the motor [to vary the speed]; and wherein the at least one input device includes a first input device provided as a throttle designed to change a rotational speed of a pad coupled to the motor in response to throttling initiated by a user, and the battery is designed to adapt an amount of energy applied to the motor [the description of an infinite variable input connected to a battery power display is reasonably interpreted as a type of electric throttle connected with a battery, as claimed].
Wan does not specifically teach the power source includes a first rechargeable lithium ion battery and a second rechargeable lithium ion battery.
Chen teaches a first rechargeable lithium ion battery and a second rechargeable lithium ion battery 276 [fig. 12].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first rechargeable lithium ion battery and second rechargeable lithium ion battery of Chen with the burnisher of Wan in order to yield the predictable result of using rechargeable batteries that can be controlled to evaluate the structural integrity of the components of the batteries (¶72).
Re claim 20, Wan further teaches wherein the at least one input device is configured to provide a fourth power level to the motor [infinite variable speed motor].
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan CN 209690754 U in view of Kasper US 4,675,935.
Re claim 19, Wan discloses the invention as claimed in claim 15, but fail to disclose wherein the at least one output device includes a help button, and wherein the help button provides a user with troubleshooting options related to operation of the burnisher.
Kasper teaches a floor scrubber including a diagnostic display panel 152 with a help button 142 so that an operator can troubleshoot the machine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a help button in Wan in order to yield the predictable result of providing with troubleshooting options of the machine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not show or fairly render obvious the combination set forth in the claims. In particular, the prior art does not show, for claim 1, a first input device coupled to the handle, wherein, when the first input device is moved toward the handle, the pad begins rotating a second input device in communication with the at least one battery and the one or more motors, the second input device designed to throttle the one or more motors to alter a rotational speed of the pad from a first, non-zero rotational speed to a second, non-zero rotational speed, and increments therebetween and a third input device provided in the form of a key switch configured to energize and de-energize the variable-speed burnisher, for claim 7, a first input device configured to energize the burnisher; a second input device coupled to the handle, wherein, when the second input device is actuated, the burnisher pad begins to rotate; a third input device; a controller in electrical communication with the one or more input devices, the motor, and the display, the controller configured to: adjust a rotational speed of the burnisher pad based on actuation of the third input device; and provide an output to the display
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not show or fairly render obvious the combination set forth in the claims. In particular, the prior art does not show, the first input device is provided in the form of a dial, the at least one input device includes a second input device provided in the form of a key switch designed to energize the burnisher and de-energize the burnisher, when the key switch is actuated to energize the burnisher, via the first input device, at least a first power level, a second power level, and a third power level can be provided to the motor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723