DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 are pending. Claims 6-7 were previously canceled. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 3 is previously presented. Claims 2 and 4-5 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on pages 5-6 of the remarks asserting that the Examiner’s current mapping of primary reference WALLEY fails to meet the amended claim recitation, it is submitted that the previous office action and the current office action rely upon the switch controlled by controller 122 in Figure 2 of WALLEY as the first charging source, and the buck converter 121 as the second charging source, wherein the switch controlled by controller 122 is disclosed as providing the faster charging in paragraph 0034. Therefore, WALLEY discloses the amended recitation “the first charging source has a first charge rate that is faster than a second charge rate of the second charging source”.
In response to arguments on page 6 of the remarks that primary reference WALLEY does not disclose the recitation “the second charging source configured to power the load when the battery is being charged by the first charging source”, secondary reference HONG is relied upon to teach said recitation.
In response to arguments on pages 7-8 of the remarks that secondary reference HONG does not disclose “the first charging source has a first charge rate that is faster than a second charge rate of the second charging source”, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, primary reference WALLEY is relied upon to teach said recitation. HONG is not relied upon to teach the charging rates of the charging sources, but rather HONG is relied upon to teach “the second charging source configured to power the load when the battery is being charged by the first charging source”. Including this feature of HONG in WALLEY would not change the charging rates of the charging sources as disclosed in WALLEY. The combination of WALLEY as modified by HONG teaches the recitations argued by Applicant, and it is maintained that WALLEY as modified by LIM and HONG teaches the system for charging of a battery as described in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WALLEY (Pub. No.: US 2018/0041060; cited in previous office action) in view of LIM (Pub. No.: US 2017/0279284; cited in previous office action; cited on IDS with date 3/21/2024) and HONG (Pub. No.: US 2011/0163604; cited in previous office action; cited on IDS with date 3/21/2024).
Regarding claim 1, WALLEY discloses a system (120, Fig. 2) for charging of a battery (133, Fig. 1; battery is shown in Fig. 2 without a reference number), the system comprising:
a first charging source (charging source comprises a switch controlled by controller 122 in Fig. 2) coupled to an input node of the battery (battery is shown in Fig. 2 without a reference number), the first charging source configured to charge the battery through the input node of the battery (¶ 0034: charging architecture 200 provides two conduction paths to the battery 133 that may be selected individually in a dual-mode operation of the charger 120….The second conduction path traverses the controller 122 to provide a fast charge path);
a second charging source (121, Fig. 2), parallel with the first charging source (¶ 0034: charging architecture 200 provides two conduction paths to the battery 133 that may be selected individually in a dual-mode operation of the charger 120. The first conduction path traverses the inductive buck converter 121 to provide a slow charge path. Given that inductors have small height restrictions, the inductors may not store a large amount of power in an x-y footprint, thereby limiting the amount of current that can run through the first conduction path), coupled to an input node of a load (¶ 0061: output system voltage Vsys may be tapped from a node located between the inductor and the pass gate 124; as shown in Fig. 2, the output of charging source 121 is connected to “Vsys” which provides power to the system load as disclosed in ¶ 0060-0061 and 0063), and the first charging source (comprising a switch controlled by controller 122 in Fig. 2) has a first charge rate that is faster than a second charge rate of the second charging source (¶ 0034: The first conduction path traverses the inductive buck converter 121 to provide a slow charge path.… The second conduction path traverses the controller 122 to provide a fast charge path; ¶ 0037: To obtain at least 98% efficiency from the charging architecture 200, a bypass mode for a fast charge is provided by traversing the second conduction path. In this path, the inductive buck converter 121 is bypassed to support a high current transmission to the battery 133 and, thereby charge the battery 133 in less time. In this implementation, the adapter output 115 may be configured to match (or at least correspond to) the operational voltage needed to charge the battery 133. Otherwise, for a normal charge (or slow charge), the inductive buck converter 121 can be traversed over the first conduction path); and
a switch (124, Fig. 2) having a first node coupled to the input node of the battery and a second node on an opposite side of the switch, the second node coupled to the input node of the load (as shown in Figure 2, switch 12 has a first node directly connected to the battery at Vbat and a second node directly connected to the load at Vsys), wherein the switch is configured to switch from the second charging source to the first charging source for charging the battery (¶ 0034: charging architecture 200 provides two conduction paths to the battery 133 that may be selected individually in a dual-mode operation of the charger 120. The first conduction path traverses the inductive buck converter 121 to provide a slow charge path. Given that inductors have small height restrictions, the inductors may not store a large amount of power in an x-y footprint, thereby limiting the amount of current that can run through the first conduction path. The second conduction path traverses the controller 122 to provide a fast charge path; ¶ 0035: the total path resistance Rdrop for each of the two conduction paths is measured. In this respect, the path with the least amount of conduction loss is selected; ¶ 0037: see above; ¶ 0039: charger controller 122 may be configured to control the second conduction path such that the charge current is provided to the battery 133 as a periodic pulse signal; the “switch from the second charging source to the first charging source” is implied in the selection of one of the charging sources, in that if the first charging source is active, then the switch 124 must be closed in order that, e.g., the pulse charging of the first charging source as disclosed in ¶ 0039 does not affect the load connected at Vsys at the output of charging source 121) by isolating the battery from the load (¶ 0031: charger 120 may include one or more pass gates (e.g., 123, 124); ¶ 0060: the pass gate 124 is coupled in series between the output system voltage Vsys and the load (e.g., the battery 133); switch 124 is located between load connected at Vsys and battery connected at Vbat and is operable to isolate the battery from the load) such that an electrical current from the second charging source is configured to enter the load at a point between the input node of the load and the second node of the switch (¶ 0061: output system voltage Vsys may be tapped from a node located between the inductor and the pass gate 124), and wherein the battery is different from the load (¶ 0060 discloses, as an example, that battery voltage Vbat and the output system voltage Vsys are different, which shows that the battery is different from the load).
WALLEY fails to disclose the first charging source is coupled to a first power source to power the first charging source; and the second charging source is coupled to a second power source to power the second charging source, the second power source different from the first power source.
LIM discloses the first charging source (102a, Fig. 1A) is coupled to a first power source (at 104a, Fig. 1A) to power the first charging source (¶ 0013: first battery charger 102a is configured to receive a first input voltage, Vin 1, at a first input terminal 104a); and the second charging source (112a, Fig. 1A) is coupled to a second power source (at 114a, Fig. 1A) to power the second charging source (¶ 0015: second battery charger 112a is configured to receive a second input voltage, Vin 2, at a second input terminal 114a), the second power source different from the first power source (¶ 0011: if each input source could be connected to a different battery charger and the multiple chargers utilized together to charge the battery, then that capability would negate the need for complicated input power selection circuitry, and also significantly increase the battery charging speed. As described below, the present invention provides such a capability with a multiple input, multiple battery charger configuration for each single system involved; ¶ 0012: FIG. 1A is a schematic circuit diagram of a multiple charger configuration 100a, which can be utilized to implement one exemplary embodiment of the present invention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first power source and the second power source of LIM into the system for charging of WALLEY to produce an expected result of a system for charging including a first power source and a second power source. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide multiple power sources utilized together, therefore significantly increasing the charging speed (LIM, ¶ 0011) and/or in order to provide enhanced redundancy such that should one power source fail, the system can continue operating with the other power source.
WALLEY fails to disclose the second charging source configured to power the load when the battery is being charged by the first charging source.
HONG discloses the second charging source (20, Figs. 1 & 4) configured to power the load (40) when the battery (60) is being charged by the first charging source (50; ¶ 0048: an adapter 10 connects with a power interface 90 of a power supply circuit 100. Accordingly, the adapter 10 may supply power to a DC-DC converter 20 and a charging IC 50, respectively. At this time, the DC-DC converter 20 converts power provided from the adapter 10 into an appropriate level. For example, power supplied from the adapter 10 may be regulated to a level of 4.2V/3 A and provided to the system 40 through the first switch 30; ¶ 0050: Meanwhile, power provided from the adapter 10 is also transferred to a charger IC 50, and the charger IC 50 may control power provided from the adapter 10 and provide it to the battery 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the second charging source powering the load when the battery is being charged by the first charging source as disclosed in HONG into the system for charging of WALLEY to produce an expected result of a system for charging including a second charging source powering a load when a battery is being charged by a first charging source. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve system efficiency by reducing load on the battery, ensuring faster charging times, and/or extending the battery's lifespan.
Regarding claim 2, WALLEY discloses the first charging source comprises one of a pulse current charger, a buck charger, or a buck/boost charger (¶ 0039).
Regarding claim 3, WALLEY discloses when the battery is charged by the first charging source, the switch is configured to decouple the battery from the load (¶ 0034-0035: this is implied in the selection of one of the charging sources, in that if the first charging source is active, then the switch 124 must be closed in order that, e.g., the pulse charging as disclosed in ¶ 0039 does not affect the load connected at Vsys at the output of charging source 121).
Regarding claim 4, WALLEY discloses a protection circuit module (PCM) configurable to monitor a state of the battery and determine data relevant for managing the battery (¶ 0031, 0033).
Regarding claim 5, WALLEY discloses the PCM is configured to monitor the battery by measuring one or more of voltage, temperature, state of charge, depth of discharge, health, air flow, and current (¶ 0031, 0033).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 9/21/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859