DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9 and 11-20, and Species I, (Claims 2-3, 6, and 8) in the reply filed on 12/15/25 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/22/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/22/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”).
As to Claim 1:
DE’992 disclose:
an energy storage device comprising at least one battery cell and a cooling device for cooling the at least one battery cell (Abstract; [0022]);
the battery cell (3) has a first side formed as a head or end face (8) that faces a first side of the cooling device, namely a first channel (10) configured to carry a cooling medium (Fig. 1; [0026]; [0029]);
the battery cell includes a releasable degassing opening (13) which is arranged on the first side of the battery cell (Fig. 1; [0027]–[0028]);
the energy storage device includes a thermal interface material formed as a thermally conductive material (14) which is arranged between the first side of the battery cell (8) and the first side of the cooling device (10) (Fig. 1; [0031]–[0033]);
the energy storage device has at least one degassing channel, namely the first channel (10), into which a gas emerging from the releasable degassing opening (13) can be introduced ([0028]–[0030]);
and a flow path from the releasable degassing opening to the degassing channel is sealed off from an area surrounding the battery cell by a seal, wherein the seal is provided by the thermally conductive material (14) arranged between the battery cell and the cooling device ([0031]–[0034]; Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of DE 102020133255 A1 (“DE’255”).
As to Claim 2:
DE’992 further discloses that the battery cell (3) has a first side formed as a head or end face (8) facing a first side of the cooling device, and that the battery cell includes a releasable degassing opening (13) arranged on the first side of the battery cell (Fig. 1; [0026]–[0028]).
However, DE’992 does not disclose that the at least one battery cell is designed as a prismatic battery cell. Instead, DE’992 describes battery cells in a general manner and illustrates cells having a cylindrical configuration (Fig. 1; [0024]–[0026]).
DE’255 discloses an energy storage device comprising prismatic battery cells, wherein the battery cells have a prismatic housing shape and are arranged in a battery module or cell stack ([0018]–[0021]; [0025]; Fig. 2). DE’255 therefore teaches the limitation of designing the at least one battery cell as a prismatic battery cell, which is not disclosed by DE’992.
DE’992 and DE’255 are analogous arts because both references are directed to energy storage devices and battery modules, and more particularly to structural configurations of battery cells used in cooled battery systems. Both address similar technical problems relating to thermal management, packaging, and safety of battery cells, and thus are in the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992 to employ a prismatic battery cell as taught by DE’255, because selecting a prismatic cell form factor is a predictable design choice for improving packing efficiency and thermal contact with a cooling device, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2009/0148753 A1 (“US’753”).
As to Claim 3:
DE’992 additionally discloses a thermal interface material (14) arranged between the first side of the battery cell and the first side of the cooling device, as well as a degassing channel (10) into which gas emerging from the degassing opening is introduced, with the flow path sealed by the thermal interface material ([0031]–[0034]).
DE’992 further discloses that the battery cell includes two cell poles (positive and negative terminals) for electrical connection (Fig. 1; [0024]).
However, DE’992 does not disclose that the two cell poles are arranged on a side different from the first side of the battery cell, nor does DE’992 disclose arranging one pole on a second side and the other pole on a third side opposite one another with respect to a first direction. Instead, DE’992 illustrates the electrical terminals as being arranged on the same end face as the degassing opening, i.e., on the first side of the battery cell (Fig. 1).
US’753 discloses a battery cell having a positive pole and a negative pole arranged on different sides of the battery cell body, rather than on the same end face. In particular, US’753 teaches arranging the positive and negative terminals on opposite sides of the cell housing to facilitate electrical connection and module integration ([0032]–[0035]; Fig. 3). US’753 therefore teaches arranging one pole on a second side and one pole on a third side of the battery cell, which are opposite one another, and on sides different from the first side.
DE’992 and US’753 are analogous arts because both references are directed to battery cells and energy storage devices, including structural arrangements of battery cells, electrical terminals, and safety features. Both address related technical problems of battery packaging, electrical routing, and integration into larger systems, and thus would have been considered by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992 to arrange the positive and negative cell poles on sides of the battery cell different from the first side, with the poles located on opposite sides as taught by US’753, because relocating electrical terminals away from the cooling and degassing face is a predictable design choice that improves electrical routing, safety, and packaging flexibility, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of DE 102011103993 A1 (“DE’993”).
As to Claim 6:
DE’992 additionally discloses a thermal interface material formed as a thermally conductive material (14) arranged between the first side of the battery cell (8) and the first side of the cooling device (10) (Fig. 1; [0031]–[0033]). DE’992 further discloses that the energy storage device has at least one degassing channel (10) into which gas emerging from the degassing opening can be introduced, with the flow path sealed off from an area surrounding the battery cell by the thermally conductive material (14) ([0031]–[0034]).
However, DE’992 does not disclose that the thermal interface material is arranged in the form of at least one layer having a layer thickness of at most 2 mm in a third direction. While DE’992 describes a thermally conductive material between the battery cell and the cooling device, it does not specify that the material is provided as a discrete thin layer nor does it disclose any numerical thickness limitation.
DE’993 discloses a thermal interface material provided in the form of a layer or film arranged between a heat-generating component and a cooling or heat-dissipating element ([0024]–[0026]). DE’993 further teaches that such thermal interface layers are thin to ensure efficient heat transfer, and explicitly describes layer thicknesses in the millimeter range, suitable for compact assemblies ([0027]–[0029]). Accordingly, DE’993 teaches arranging a thermal interface material as at least one layer having a thickness of at most 2 mm.
DE’992 and DE’993 are analogous arts because both references are directed to thermal management of battery systems and heat-generating components, and more specifically to structures that thermally couple battery cells or components to cooling devices using thermal interface materials. Both address similar problems of efficient heat transfer and compact packaging, and thus are within the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992 by arranging the thermal interface material as a thin layer having a thickness of at most 2 mm, as taught by DE’993, because using a thin, layered thermal interface material between a battery cell (or cell stack side) and a cooling device is a predictable design choice that improves thermal conduction while maintaining compact module dimensions, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/033419 A1 (“US’419”).
As to Claim 7:
DE’992 additionally discloses a thermal interface material formed as a thermally conductive material (14) arranged between the first side of the battery cell (8) and the first side of the cooling device (10), and that the energy storage device has at least one degassing channel, namely the first channel (10), into which gas emerging from the degassing opening can be introduced, with the flow path sealed off from an area surrounding the battery cell by the thermally conductive material (14) ([0031]–[0034]).
However, DE’992 does not disclose that the degassing channel is formed as a free region between a first region of a cell stack and the first side of the cooling device. Instead, DE’992 discloses the degassing channel as a structurally defined channel integrated into the cooling device, rather than an open or free space formed between the cell stack and the cooling device.
US’419 discloses a battery module in which a venting or degassing flow path is formed as a free space (“space between”) between adjacent structural components, such as stacked frames or cooling plates, and wherein this free region itself functions as a venting/degassing channel for gas generated from battery cells ([0043]–[0046]; [0051]; Figs. 4–6). US’419 explicitly describes that the venting flow path is defined by an empty space formed between components, rather than by a dedicated enclosed duct, and that gas from the battery cells is guided through this free region for discharge ([0046]; [0052]).
Accordingly, US’419 teaches forming a free region between a battery stack region and a cooling structure, wherein the free region represents a degassing channel.
DE’992 and US’419 are analogous arts because both references are directed to battery modules and energy storage devices, and more particularly to cooling and degassing/venting arrangements for battery cells. Both address related safety and thermal-management problems associated with controlled discharge of gases from battery cells in proximity to cooling devices, and thus would have been considered by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992 such that the degassing channel is formed as a free region between a first region of a cell stack and the first side of the cooling device, as taught by US’419, because forming a venting path as an open or free space between battery cells and cooling structures is a predictable design choice that facilitates gas discharge while maintaining the cooling function, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of DE 102021112231 A1 (“DE’231”).
As to Claim 8:
DE’992 further discloses that the battery cell (3) has a first side formed as a head or end face (8) facing a first side of the cooling device, and that the battery cell includes a releasable degassing opening (13) arranged on the first side of the battery cell (Fig. 1; [0026]–[0028]).
However, DE’992 does not disclose that the energy storage device has a second degassing channel arranged on a second side of the cooling device facing away from the battery cell. DE’992 teaches only a single degassing channel located on the side of the cooling device facing the battery cell.
DE’231 discloses an energy storage device arranged in a motor vehicle in which vent gas from battery cells is guided through a cooling floor and discharged into a degassing channel or space located on the underside of the cooling floor, i.e., on a side of the cooling device facing away from the battery cells (Abstract; [0011]–[0013]; [0028]–[0031]). DE’231 explicitly teaches that vent gases are routed downward through the cooling structure into a space or duct below the cooling device, thereby providing a degassing channel on the opposite side of the cooling device from the battery cells.
Accordingly, DE’231 teaches providing a second degassing channel on a second side of the cooling device facing away from the battery cell, supplying the limitation missing from DE’992.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992 to include a second degassing channel on a second side of the cooling device facing away from the battery cell, as taught by DE’231, because routing vent gases to the opposite side of a cooling device is a predictable design choice for directing gases away from battery cells and surrounding components while maintaining effective cooling, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device.
As to Claim 9:
DE’992 does not disclose that the energy storage device is provided in or forms part of a motor vehicle. DE’992 is directed to an energy storage device per se and does not describe its installation or use within a motor vehicle.
DE’231 discloses an energy storage device arranged in a motor vehicle, including a battery system installed in a vehicle body and configured with cooling and degassing structures suitable for vehicular use (Abstract; [0010]–[0013]). DE’231 explicitly describes a battery or energy storage device mounted in a motor vehicle, including venting and cooling arrangements adapted for vehicle integration ([0020]–[0024]).
Thus, DE’231 teaches the motor vehicle context, i.e., a motor vehicle having an energy storage device, which is the limitation missing from DE’992.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the energy storage device of DE’992 in a motor vehicle as taught by DE’231, because using a known energy storage device in a motor vehicle environment is a predictable application of that device, and DE’231 expressly demonstrates that such battery systems are commonly installed and used in motor vehicles, thereby resulting in the claimed motor vehicle.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”) in view of DE 102020133255 A1 (“DE’255”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2009/0148753 A1 (“US’753”).
As to Claim 11:
DE’992 further discloses that the battery cell includes two cell poles (positive and negative terminals) for electrical connection (Fig. 1; [0024]).
However, DE’992 does not disclose that the two cell poles are arranged on sides different from the first side of the battery cell, with one pole arranged on a second side and the other pole arranged on a third side opposite one another with respect to a first direction. Instead, DE’992 illustrates the terminals as being arranged on the same end face as the degassing opening (Fig. 1).
US’753 discloses a battery cell having a positive pole and a negative pole arranged on different sides of the battery cell housing, rather than on a single end face ([0032]–[0035]). US’753 further teaches arranging the poles on opposite sides of the battery cell body to facilitate electrical connection and module integration ([0034]; Fig. 3). Accordingly, US’753 teaches arranging one pole on a second side and one pole on a third side of the battery cell, which are opposite one another with respect to a first direction, and on sides different from the first side.
DE’992, DE’255, and US’753 are analogous arts because all references are directed to battery cells and energy storage devices, and more particularly to structural configurations of battery cells, cooling arrangements, and electrical terminal placement. Each reference addresses related technical problems of battery packaging, electrical routing, and safety, and thus would have been considered by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992 to employ prismatic battery cells as taught by DE’255 and to arrange the positive and negative cell poles on opposite sides of the battery cell as taught by US’753, because relocating electrical terminals away from the cooling and degassing face and using a prismatic cell form factor are predictable design choices that improve electrical routing, packaging efficiency, and safety, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device.
As to Claim 14:
DE’992 further discloses that the battery cell (3) has a first side formed as a head or end face (8) facing a first side of the cooling device, and that the battery cell includes a releasable degassing opening (13) arranged on the first side of the battery cell (Fig. 1; [0026]–[0028]).
However, DE’992 disclose that the thermal interface material is arranged in the form of at least one layer having a layer thickness of at most 2 mm. DE’992 describes the presence of a thermally conductive material but does not specify a layered configuration or a maximum thickness.
US’753 discloses providing a thermal interface material in the form of a thin layer or sheet between a battery cell or battery module and a cooling or heat-dissipation structure ([0035]–[0038]; [0042]). US’753 further teaches that the thermal interface layer may be very thin to improve thermal coupling, including layer thicknesses in the millimeter range or less, suitable for compact battery module assemblies ([0037]; [0044]). Thus, US’753 teaches arranging the thermal interface material as at least one layer having a thickness of at most 2 mm.
DE’992, DE’255, and US’753 are analogous arts because all are directed to battery cells and energy storage devices, and more specifically to thermal management structures, including cooling devices and thermal interface materials used in battery modules. Each reference addresses closely related problems of heat transfer efficiency, packaging, and safety in battery systems.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992 by employing prismatic battery cells as taught by DE’255 and by arranging the thermal interface material as a thin layered material having a thickness of at most 2 mm as taught by US’753, because using a thin, layered thermal interface material between a prismatic cell stack and a cooling device is a predictable design choice that improves thermal conduction while maintaining compact packaging, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”) in view of US 2009/0148753 A1 (“US’753”), as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of DE 102011103993 A1 (“DE’993”).
As to Claim 15:
DE’992 additionally discloses a thermal interface material (14) arranged between the first side of the battery cell (8) and the first side of the cooling device (10), and that the energy storage device has at least one degassing channel (10) into which gas emerging from the degassing opening is introduced, with the flow path sealed off from an area surrounding the battery cell by the thermally conductive material (14) ([0031]–[0034]).
DE’992 does not disclose that the thermal interface material is arranged in the form of at least one layer having a layer thickness of at most 2 mm in a third direction. While DE’992 describes a thermally conductive material between the battery cell and the cooling device, it does not characterize this material as a discrete thin layer nor does it disclose any numerical thickness limitation.
US’753 discloses providing a thermal interface material in the form of a sheet or layered structure between a battery cell or battery module and a heat dissipation member ([0035]–[0038]). US’753 further teaches that the thermal interface material may be formed as a thin layer to improve heat transfer efficiency in compact battery assemblies ([0037]; [0042]).
DE’993 discloses a thermal interface material applied as a thin layer or film between a heat-generating component and a cooling element, and explicitly teaches that such layers may have thicknesses in the millimeter range, suitable for compact installations ([0024]–[0026]; [0027]–[0029]). DE’993 therefore teaches arranging the thermal interface material as at least one layer having a thickness of at most 2 mm.
DE’992, US’753, and DE’993 are analogous arts because all are directed to battery systems and thermal management structures, including thermal interface materials used to transfer heat from battery cells to cooling devices. Each reference addresses related problems of efficient heat transfer, compact packaging, and system reliability, and thus would have been considered by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992 to arrange the thermal interface material as at least one thin layer having a thickness of at most 2 mm, as taught by US’753 and DE’993, because providing a thin, layered thermal interface material between a battery cell (or cell stack side) and a cooling device is a predictable design choice that improves thermal conduction while maintaining compact module dimensions, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device recited.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”) in view of DE 102020133255 A1 (“DE’255”), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of US 2017/033419 A1 (“US’419”).
As to Claim 18:
DE’992 further discloses that the battery cell (3) has a first side formed as a head or end face (8) facing a first side of the cooling device, and that the battery cell includes a releasable degassing opening (13) arranged on the first side of the battery cell (Fig. 1; [0026]–[0028]).
However, DE’992 does not disclose that the degassing channel is formed as a free region between a first region of the cell stack and the first side of the cooling device. Instead, DE’992 describes the degassing channel as a defined structural channel associated with the cooling device, rather than an open or free space formed between the cell stack and the cooling device.
US’419 discloses a battery module in which a venting or degassing channel is formed as an open or free region between stacked battery cells (or a cell stack region) and an adjacent structural component such as a cooling plate or housing wall ([0043]–[0046]; [0051]–[0052]; Figs. 4–6). US’419 explicitly teaches that this free space itself functions as a degassing channel, guiding vent gas away from the battery cells without requiring a fully enclosed duct.
Accordingly, US’419 teaches forming a free region between a first region of a cell stack and the first side of a cooling device, wherein the free region represents a first degassing channel.
DE’992, DE’255, and US’419 are analogous arts because all references are directed to battery modules or energy storage devices, and more specifically to cell stacking arrangements, cooling structures, and controlled degassing or venting of battery cells. Each reference addresses related safety and thermal-management problems associated with battery systems, and thus would have been considered by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992, using prismatic battery cells as taught by DE’255, such that the degassing channel is formed as a free region between a first region of the cell stack and the first side of the cooling device, as taught by US’419, because forming a venting path as an open space between battery cells and cooling structures is a predictable design choice that facilitates safe gas discharge while maintaining effective cooling, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102020120992 A1 (“DE’992”) in view of US 2009/0148753 A1 (“US’753”), as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of US 2017/033419 A1 (“US’419”).
As to Claim 19:
DE’992 further discloses that the battery cell (3) has a first side formed as a head or end face (8) facing a first side of the cooling device, and that the battery cell includes a releasable degassing opening (13) arranged on the first side of the battery cell (Fig. 1; [0026]–[0028]).
However, DE’992 does not disclose that the degassing channel is formed as a free region between a first region of a cell stack and the first side of the cooling device. Instead, DE’992 teaches a degassing channel that is structurally defined as part of or adjacent to the cooling device, rather than an open or free space formed between the cell stack and the cooling device.
US’753 discloses battery cells assembled into cell stacks or modules, including arrangements in which battery cells are positioned adjacent to cooling or structural components in a stacked configuration ([0028]–[0031]). US’753 therefore supports the use of cell stack configurations in energy storage devices of the type disclosed in DE’992.
US’419 discloses a battery module in which a venting or degassing channel is formed as a free or open region between a cell stack region and an adjacent structural component such as a cooling plate or housing wall ([0043]–[0046]; [0051]–[0052]; Figs. 4–6). US’419 explicitly teaches that this free region itself functions as a degassing channel, guiding vent gas away from the battery cells without a fully enclosed duct.
Accordingly, US’419 teaches forming a free region between a first region of a cell stack and the first side of a cooling device, wherein the free region represents a first degassing channel.
DE’992, US’753, and US’419 are analogous arts because all references are directed to battery cells, battery modules, and energy storage devices, and more particularly to cell stacking arrangements, cooling structures, and controlled degassing or venting of battery cells. Each reference addresses related problems of battery safety, thermal management, and gas discharge, and thus would have been considered by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy storage device of DE’992, using a cell stack arrangement as evidenced by US’753, such that the degassing channel is formed as a free region between a first region of the cell stack and the first side of the cooling device, as taught by US’419, because forming a venting path as an open space between battery cells and cooling structures is a predictable design choice that facilitates safe gas discharge while maintaining effective cooling, thereby resulting in the claimed energy storage device.
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723