DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
For purposes of claim interpretation, “solid content” as recited in claims 1-2 (see claim 1 at line 9 and claim 2 at lines 3 and 5) is interpreted as meaning the content of components other than the solvent, as this would appear most in keeping with Applicant’s intent as discussed in the specification at paragraph [0012].
It is noted that the recitations of “for forming an interlayer for nanoimprint, which is used for forming an interlayer existing between a base material and a curable layer” in claim 1 (see claim 1 at lines 1-2) and “for forming an interlayer for nanoimprint” recited in claims 1-6 (see claim 1 at lines 9-11, claims 2-5 each at line 1 and claim 6 at lines 1 and 4) are merely directed toward an intended use of the composition formed and do not hold patentable weight in the present claims 1-6. Claims 1-6 are directed toward a method for producing a composition, not toward a method of using a composition or a method of forming an interlayer for a nanoimprint, and any composition formed by the method of claims 1-6 as claimed would be expected to be able to perform the intended use of being used to form an interlayer for a nanoimprint. See MPEP § 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a concentration of solid contents of the precursor composition 2 subjected to the second filtering step is 1.0% by mass or lower" (see claim 2 at lines 5-6); however, the meaning of this limitation is unclear as the claim does not specify whether this is a solid contents of precursor composition 2 before filtering or after filtering, i.e., it is not clear whether “subjected to” means that the precursor composition 2 has been subjected to the second filtering step or is to be subjected to the second filtering step, rendering the metes and bounds of the claim unclear.
For purposes of examination, Examiner treated this limitation in claim 2 as meaning the solid contents of the precursor composition 2 after being subjected to the second filtering step. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto, et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0207943-A1) (hereinafter, “ENOMOTO”).
Regarding claim 1, ENOMOTO teaches a method for producing a composition (see ENOMOTO at generally at Abstract and paragraphs [0011], [0022], [0027], [0050], [0219] and [0224], teaching a method of producing a polymeric composition which may be used, e.g., to form a first layer between a substrate and a patterning layer, for nanoimprints), the method comprising:
a first filtering step of filtering a precursor composition 1 including a resin having a polymerizable group with a filter (see ENOMOTO at Abstract and paragraph [0027], teaching a first composition comprising a polymerizable monomer which is subjected to a first filtering step);
a preparing step of adding a solvent to the precursor composition 1 after the first filtering step to obtain a precursor composition 2 (see ENOMOTO at Abstract and paragraph [0027], teaching adding solvent to the filtered composition);
and a second filtering step of filtering the precursor composition 2 with a filter (see ENOMOTO at paragraph [0036], teaching subjecting the composition comprising the solvent to a second filtering step),
wherein a proportion of a total solid content of the obtained composition to a total mass of the obtained composition overlaps with and thereby renders obvious the claimed range of 0.1% to 1.0% by mass (see ENOMOTO at paragraph [0201], teaching a solvent content of up to 99% by mass, i.e., a solid content of 1% by mass or more).
As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, ENOMOTO teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein a concentration of solid contents of the precursor composition 1 subjected to the first filtering step is greater than 1.0% by mass (see ENOMOTO at Abstract and paragraph [0027], teaching no solvent in the first composition) and a concentration of solid contents of the precursor composition 2 subjected to the second filtering step overlaps with and thereby renders obvious the claimed range of 1.0% by mass or lower (see ENOMOTO at paragraph [0201], teaching a solvent content in the second composition of up to 99% by mass, i.e., a solid content of 1% by mass or more). As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, ENOMOTO teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein a pore diameter of the filter used in the second filtering step is smaller than a pore diameter of the filter used in the first filtering step (see ENOMOTO at paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, ENOMOTO teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein a filtration speed in a case where the precursor composition 1 passes through the filter in the first filtering step is 1.0 to 100.0 cm/min (see ENOMOTO at paragraphs [0055], [0060], [0255] and Tables 1-2, teaching filtration speeds and filtration areas resulting in filtration speeds within this range, e.g., a filtration speed of 0.05 L/min (i.e., 50 cm3/min) and a filtration area of 17 cm2, resulting in a filtration speed of 2.9 cm/min).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, ENOMOTO teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein at least one filter used in the second filtering step is polyethylene, polypropylene, nylon, or polytetrafluoroethylene (see ENOMOTO at paragraphs [0040] and [0062], teaching polypropylene, polyethylene and nylon).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, ENOMOTO teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein a content of a polymerization inhibitor overlaps with and thereby renders obvious the claimed range of 0.01 mass% or lower with respect to the total mass of the composition for forming an interlayer for nanoimprint (see ENOMOTO at paragraph [0126], teaching that polymerization inhibitor is a preference and therefore not required (i.e., the content could be 0%), and teaching an amount of polymerization inhibitor of 0.001 to 1% by mass).
As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Conclusion
/S.C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731