DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman, III et al. (US 20180268784 A1) in view of Raskar et al. (US 6,709,116 B1) and further in view of Racz et al. (US 2019/0020658 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chapman teaches projectors (202, figure 7 and 108, figure 2) operative to project images onto a surface of a screen, a computer processor (104B, figure 3) coupled with a database (306, figure 3), operative to obtain video content (paragraph 0075) and transmit the video content to the projectors as well as to manipulate the projectors (via 208, figure 2), a remote alignment system comprising:
A camera (106, figure 1, 202, figure 7) collocated with each of the projectors and configured provide a live feed view of the surface of the screen (paragraph 0063), the camera electronically connected to the projector system by way of the computer processor via a wired internet connection (paragraph 0043); and
A client computer device (102-C, figure 6) running remote alignment software operative to display a graphical user interface (on 302-C, figure 6) that enables remote viewing of the projected images (paragraph 0063), manipulation of the camera (210, figure 1, paragraph 0111) and manipulation (208, figure 2) of the projectors to enable remote alignment of the projector system (figure 15, paragraph 0118 and 0124).
Chapman does not specify the projection surface is a spherical screen nor that the wired internet connection for the camera is a power over the ethernet connection injector cable.
Raskar teaches projection onto a spherical surface (column 12 line 33-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Chapman to project on a hemispherical or dome surface such as taught in Raskar in order to extend the marketability of the projector system to further projection environments.
Chapman in view of Raskar does not teach the wired internet connection for the camera via a powered over the ethernet connection injector cable.
Racz teaches cameras connected to computer systems using powered over the ethernet connection injector cables (paragraph 0117).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the wired connection of Chapman in view of Raskar to use a PoE cable in order to eliminate a power cable for the camera.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman, III et al. (US 20180268784 A1) in view of Raskar et al. (US 6,709,116 B1).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Chapman teaches a computer implemented method of remotely aligning a projector system (figure 7), comprising:
Viewing a screen remotely (on 302-C, figure 6) via a first live video camera (106-C, figure 6) feed through remote access software;,
Manipulating a first projector (108-C, figure 6) remotely (paragraph 0115 and 0124) via a remote alignment software interface to adjust an image characteristic selected form the group of orientation (paragraph 0124),
Viewing the screen remotely iteratively (figure 7) via other live video camera feeds through the remote access software; and
Manipulating (paragraph 0124) other projectors remotely iteratively via the remote alignment software interface to adjust the other projector image characteristics selected from the group of orientation (paragraph 0124) until alignment of the projector system is achieved (figures 14 and 15).
Chapman does not teach that the screen is a spherical surface.
Raskar teaches projection onto a spherical surface (column 12 line 33-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Chapman to project on a hemispherical or dome surface such as taught in Raskar in order to extend the marketability of the projector system to further projection environments.
Conclusion
/RYAN D HOWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 10/02/2025