DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/22/2023, 09/21/2023 and 02/22/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restriction requirement
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 01/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, “the first end” should be ““the first end of the second water cartridge”
Claim 4, line 2, “is” should be “are”.
Claim 9, line 4, “a refrigerator” should be “the refrigerator”.
Claim 9, line 5-7, “a refrigerator cartridge head assembly” should be “the refrigerator cartridge head assembly”.
Claim 10, “the first end” should be ““the first end of the second water cartridge”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the features: “a second water cartridge” and “a second coupler” in lines 1-3 which are unclear if they correspond to the “second water cartridge” and “ second coupler” previously recited in claim 1, last lines. For examination purposes, the “a second water cartridge” and “a second coupler” (claim 3) are construed as the ones previously recited in claim 1. Claim 10 recites the same features “a second water cartridge” and “a second coupler” in lines 1-3 so this claim is rejected by the same reason as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 5 recites the features: “a second water cartridge” in last line which is unclear it corresponds to the “second water cartridge” previously recited in claim 1, last lines. For examination purposes, the “a second water cartridge” (claim 5) is construed as the one previously recited in claim 1. Claim 11 recites the same feature “a second water cartridge” so this claim is rejected by the same reason as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 4 is rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Patera (US 20140131265 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Patera discloses
A refrigerator (combo 300 and 10, see fig. 2), comprising:
a cabinet (300, see fig.2) including a case (see case in annotated fig.2 below) having one or more food storage compartments (310, see fig.2) defined therein and one or more doors (see door in annotated fig.2 below) positioned to access the one or more food storage compartments (310) from an exterior environment (See fig.2), and the cabinet (300) further including a refrigerator cartridge head assembly (connector 154, see fig.9, which is a part of the combo appliance 300 and fluid treatment assembly 10 so that the connector 154 is interpreted as “refrigerator cartridge head assembly” ) in fluid communication with a water supply (“ water source connection”, see para.0040, water is supplied to the inlet 28 of the connector 154 );
Annotated fig.2 of Patera
and
one or more water cartridges (156, 158, 160 or 162 see fig.9 and para.0073-0074: “ the channel 104 is shown as a cylindrical passage 204…” and “the intake water flows through the channel 104”. Thus, the item(s) 156, 158, 160 or 162 contain(s) water in the passage 204) wherein at least a first water cartridge (combo 156 and 158, see fig.9 and para.0069, wherein the items 156 and 158 are engaged) of the one or more water cartridges (156, 158, 160 or 162, see fig.9 and para.0068) includes a housing (housing of the combo 156 and 158) having a first end (174, see fig.9) and a second end (190, see fig.9),
wherein the first end (174) includes a first coupler (172, see fig.9) releasably connected to the refrigerator cartridge head assembly (154) between a first configuration (See fig.9, wherein the connector 154 does not engage with the base cartridge 156) wherein the first water cartridge (156, see fig.9) is not in fluid communication with the refrigerator cartridge head assembly (154, see fig.9) and a second configuration (see fig.3 and para.0069, wherein the connector 154 are engaged with the base cartridge 156) wherein the first water cartridge (156) is in fluid communication with the refrigerator cartridge head assembly (connector 154, see fig.3 and 9, para.0073-0074, fluid travels through the passage 204 extending from the inlet 28 in the connector 154, longitudinally extending through the cartridge 156), wherein the second end (190, see fig.9) includes a first cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9), and wherein the first cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9) is configured to receive a second coupler (192, see fig.9) of a second water cartridge (160, see fig.9 and para.0069: “…the first receiver end 190 of the first variable cartridge 158 that are configured to matingly engage five recesses 192 formed on the second connector 194 end of the second variable cartridge 160”).
Regarding claim 2, Patera further discloses the one or more water cartridges (156, 158, 160 or 162) includes a filter (162, see para.0073: “the cap 162 may also include a pre-filter or a top filter disposed therein, or another variable cartridge disposed therein, for filtering the water flow”) , a water tank, and/or an additive (see para.0072: “a water treatment cartridge functions to add nutritive components such as vitamins, minerals, pharmaceuticals, and/or nutraceuticals (glucisomial and or chondroitin, for example…)”.
Regarding claim 3, Patera further discloses a second water cartridge (160, see fig.9 and see 112(b) rejections above) having a housing (housing of 160) having a first end (194, see fig.9) and a second end (200, see fig.9), wherein the first end (194, see fig.9) includes a second coupler (192, see fig.9 and see 112(b) rejections above) releasably connected to the first cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9) between a first configuration (See fig.9, wherein the first variable cartridge 158 does not engage with cartridge 160) wherein the second water cartridge (160) is not in fluid communication with the first cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9) and a second configuration (See fig.3, wherein the first variable cartridge 158 engages with cartridge 160) wherein the second water cartridge (160) is in fluid communication with the first cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.3 and para.0069).
Regarding claim 4, Patera further discloses the first coupler (172, see fig.9) and the second coupler (192, see fig.9) is the same (see fig.9).
Regarding claim 5, Patera further discloses the cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9) includes a first configuration (see para.0076, when the by-pass valve is closed) and a second configuration (see para.0076, when the by-pass valve is opened), when in the first configuration (see para.0076, when the by-pass valve is closed) an inlet passage (204) of the cartridge head assembly (158) is closed (see para.0076, the inlet passage (204) of the cartridge head assembly (158) is closed when the by-pass valve is closed) and when in the second configuration (see para.0076, when the by-pass valve is opened), the inlet passage (204/ 205, see fig.9) of the cartridge head assembly (158) is open (see fig.9 and para.0076: “a by-pass valve is opened in the filter head assembly 400 by rotating the fluid treatment assembly 10, thereby supplying a water flow from the appliance 300 through the inlet 28, through the channel 86, through the treatment medium of the cartridges wherein the water flow is treated, and thereafter dispensed through the outlet 30 back into the appliance 300”) and configured to be in fluid communication with a second water cartridge (160, see fig.9 and see 112(b) rejections above. See para.0073: “Upon assembly and operation of the fluid treatment assembly 10, each channel segment 205 is substantially aligned to create the continuous channel from the inlet 28 to the cap 162”).
Regarding claim 6, Patera further discloses two or more (combo 156-158 and 162) of the one or more water cartridges (156, 158, 160 or 162 see fig.9) are in fluid communication with each other in series (see fig.9) between a water supply line (204, see fig.9) and a water discharge line (30, see fig.6 or the central aperture of 10, see fig.9) connected to the refrigerator cartridge head assembly (154, see figs.3 and 9).
Regarding claim 7, Patera further discloses a container (400, see fig.3 and para.0041: “the filter head assembly 400 may include a receptor 404 for mechanically retaining and supporting the fluid treatment assembly 10”) in downstream communication with the refrigerator cartridge head assembly (154, see fig.3, and para.0076: “and the outlet 30 of the connector is engaged with a water delivery port 412 of the filter head assembly 400”).
Regarding claim 8, Patera further discloses two or more (combo 156-158 and 162) of the one or more water cartridges (156, 158, 160 or 162 see fig.9) provide different properties to the water supply (see para.004: “the first and second ends of the base cartridge are configured to receive a fluid, bring the fluid into operative contact with the treatment medium”, whereas “the cap 162 may also include a pre-filter or a top filter disposed therein, or another variable cartridge disposed therein, for filtering the water flow”. combo 156-158 brings the fluid into operative contact with the treatment medium while the cap 162 filters the water flow).
Regarding claim 9, Patera discloses A water cartridge (combo 154, 156 and 158, see fig.9 and para.0069, items 154,156, 148 are engaged by the keyed mating arrangements 168 and 176) for a refrigerator (300, see fig.2) comprising:
a housing (combo 154, 156 and 158, see fig.9 and para.0069, items 154,156, 148 are engaged by the keyed mating arrangements 168 and 176) having a first end (see first end in annotated fig.9 below) and a second end (190, see fig.9),
wherein the first end (see first end in annotated fig.9 above) includes a first coupler (connector 154, see fig.9) configured to be releasably connected to a refrigerator cartridge head assembly (400, see fig.3 and para.0076: “The fluid treatment assembly 10 that is used to treat a fluid, is installed by first exposing the receiving cavity 402 on the filter head assembly 400 of the appliance 300 to allow for removal or insertion of a fluid treatment assembly 10”. See para.0037: “As generally illustrated in FIGS. 1-10B, the reference numeral 10 generally designates one embodiment of a customizable multi-stage fluid treatment assembly or water treatment assembly” ) of a refrigerator (300, see fig.2 ) between a first configuration (See fig.9, wherein the connector 154 does not engage with the item 400) configured to not be in fluid communication with a refrigerator cartridge head assembly (400) and a second configuration (see fig.3 and para.0069, wherein the connector of the fluid treatment assembly 10 is matingly engaged with the item 400) configured to be in fluid communication with a refrigerator cartridge head assembly (400, see fig.3), wherein the second end (190, see fig.9) includes a cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9); and
wherein the cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9) is configured to receive a second coupler (192, see fig.9) of a second water cartridge (160, see fig.9 and para.0069).
. Regarding claim 10, Patera further discloses a second water cartridge (160, see fig.9 and see 112(b) rejections above) having a housing (160) having a first end (194, see fig.9) and a second end (200, see fig.9), wherein the first end (194, see fig.9) includes a second coupler (192, see fig.9 and see 112(b) rejections above) releasably connected to the cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9) between a first configuration (See fig.9, wherein the first variable cartridge 158 does not engage with the cartridge 160) wherein the second water cartridge (160) is not in fluid communication with the cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9) and a second configuration wherein the second water cartridge (160, see fig.9) is in fluid communication with the cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.3 and para.0069, wherein the cartridges 158 and 160 are engaged).
Regarding claim 11, Patera further discloses the cartridge head assembly (158, see fig.9) includes a first configuration (see para.0076, when the by-pass valve is closed) and a second configuration (see para.0076, when the by-pass valve is opened), when in the first configuration (see para.0076, when the by-pass valve is closed) an inlet passage (204) of the cartridge head assembly (158) is closed (see para.0076, the inlet passage (204) of the cartridge head assembly (158) is closed when the by-pass valve is closed) and when in the second configuration (see para.0076, when the by-pass valve is opened), the inlet passage (204/ 205, see fig.9) of the cartridge head assembly (158) is open (see fig.9 and para.0076: “a by-pass valve is opened in the filter head assembly 400 by rotating the fluid treatment assembly 10, thereby supplying a water flow from the appliance 300 through the inlet 28, through the channel 86, through the treatment medium of the cartridges wherein the water flow is treated, and thereafter dispensed through the outlet 30 back into the appliance 300”) and configured to be in fluid communication with a second water cartridge (160, see fig.9 and see 112(b) rejections above. See para.0073: “Upon assembly and operation of the fluid treatment assembly 10, each channel segment 205 is substantially aligned to create the continuous channel from the inlet 28 to the cap 162”).
Regarding claim 12, Patera further discloses an additive (see para.0072: “a water treatment cartridge functions to add nutritive components such as vitamins, minerals, pharmaceuticals, and/or nutraceuticals (glucisomial and or chondroitin, for example…)”. .
Regarding claim 13, Patera further discloses the additive (see para.0072: “a water treatment cartridge functions to add nutritive components such as vitamins, minerals, pharmaceuticals, and/or nutraceuticals (glucisomial and or chondroitin, for example. …)”. . .
Regarding claim 14, Patera further discloses a downstream water cartridge (162, see fig.9) that is in fluid communication between an inlet (28, see fig.9) and an outlet (central opening of 154, see fig.9) of the first coupler (154, see fig.9 and para.0073: “the channel 104 is shown as a cylindrical passage 204 extending from the inlet 28 in the connector 154, longitudinally extending through each cartridge, and extending through the cap 162 to a central cavity 88 positioned coaxial in relation to the plurality of cartridges”, wherein fluid travels through the channel 104/204, see para.0075).
Regarding claim 15, Patera further discloses the water cartridge of claim 14 (combo 154, 156 and 158, see fig.9 and para.0069) is different than the downstream water cartridge (162, see fig.9)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230085032 A1 discloses a dispensing system comprising a housing supporting a first cartridge and a second dispensing cartridge where the first cartridge is positionable in a first compartment of the housing but not in a second compartment of the housing to prevent a change in an axial position of the first cartridge and the second dispensing when a cartridge is replaced in the housing.
The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 10am - 6pm.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761