OBJECTION
2. The specification is objected to because of the following informality: the continuation information must be updated to indicate the current status of the parent applications.
3. Claims 28 and 43 are objected to because of the following informality: “particles comprises’ should be ‘particles comprise’. Correction is required.
NON-PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. This claim is indefinite because of the relative language ‘long’ and ‘short’ nucleic acid strand(s), as it cannot be determined what is encompassed. The specification does not define this language, and one or ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of its meaning. Clarification is required.
6. Claims 28-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,203,612 in view of Niemeyer et al. (US 2016/0102344). The difference between the patented claims and the pending claims is that the patented claims recite attachment of a generic protein to a nucleic acid origami, whereas the pending claims recite attachment of the protein species ‘antibody’ to a nucleic acid origami. One of ordinary skill in the art considering the patented claims would have been motivated to use the species ‘antibody’ as the protein attached to the origami because Niemeyer disclosed the use of antibody-attached nucleic acid origami in microarray analysis. See paragraphs 0002-0042, 0049-0051, and 0067-0068. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art considering the patented claims to carry out the pending claims in light of Neimeyer.
PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Claims 28-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gremyachinskiy et al. (WO 2019/195633, effective filing date 04/04/2018).
The applied reference has a common inventor (Mallick and Patel) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding independent claims 28 and 43, Gremyachinskiy discloses an array of spatially separated nucleic acid origami structures, each attached to a protein, wherein the protein is an antibody, and methods of preparing such an array. See paragraphs 0003-0025, 0051-0070, 0081, and 00219. The claimed solid support and method of preparing cannot be distinguished from that of Gremyachinskiy. Regarding dependent claims 29-42, the further limitations are also disclosed in the cited portions of Gremyachinskiy.
9. Claims 28-32 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niemeyer et al. (US 2016/0102344).
Regarding independent claims 28 and 43, Niemeyer discloses an array of spatially separated nucleic acid origami structures, each attached to an object of interest, wherein the object of interest is a protein, or more specifically an antibody, and methods of preparing such an array. See paragraphs 0002-0039 and 0049-0068. The claimed solid support and method of preparing cannot be distinguished from that of Niemeyer. Regarding dependent claims 29-32, the further limitations are also disclosed in the cited portions of Niemeyer.
13. Claims 33-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemeyer as applied to claims 28-32 and 43 above, and further in view of Gremyachinskiy.
As noted above, Niemeyer discloses the method and array of claims 28-32 and 43, but does not disclose the further limitations of claims 33-42.
However, Gremyachinskiy discloses these further limitations; see paragraphs 0003-0025, 0051-0070, 0081-00189, and 00216-00226.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Niemeyer in the manner of these claims because the further limitations were disclosed by Gremyachinskiy. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to carry out the claimed methods.
CONCLUSION
14. No claims are free of the prior art.
15. Chang et al. (US 2011/0275702) is made of record by the Office as a reference of interest.
07/23/26
/KENNETH R HORLICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681