DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 12/16/2025 has been fully considered. Claim 12 is new and claims 1-12 are pending.
The Examiner is presenting a new non-final rejection due to the limitation of the auxiliary layer comprising OPS not being met by Kim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, the limitation of an auxiliary layer being a film does not further limit claim 1 or claim 2 as the term “layer” implies that the auxiliary layer is a film. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al (JP 2008-103131 A) in view of Kim (US 2014/0065471 A1).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Miyata et al (JP 2008-103131 A).
Regarding claim 1, Miyata disclose a secondary battery (pg. 4 of Miyata translation) comprising:
a cylindrical can (case; Fig. 1 #4; pg. 4 of Miyata translation);
an electrode assembly in the cylindrical can with an electrolyte (electrode group in the can with an electrolyte; pg. 4 of Miyata translation), the electrode assembly comprising a cathode and an anode (electrode group comprises a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate; Fig. 1 #5; pg. 4 of Miyata translation);
a cap assembly coupled to a top of the cylindrical can (sealing plate coupled to the top of the case; Fig. 1 #1; pg. 4 of Miyata translation); and
a plate-shaped upper insulating plate between the electrode assembly and the cap assembly (insulating plate between the electrode group and the sealing plate; Fig. 1 #4; pg. 4 of Miyata translation), the plate-shaped upper insulating plate (insulating plate; Fig. 1 #4; pg. 4 of Miyata translation) comprising:
a main layer having a plurality of pores extending between an upper surface and a lower surface thereof (base material for insulating plate and being a mesh; pg. 4 of Miyata translation); and
an auxiliary layer adhered to at least one surface of the main layer (insulating material coated on upper surface of insulating plate; pg. 4 of Miyata translation).
Miyata does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the auxiliary layer comprising at least one of nylon, polystyrene (PS), or oriented polystyrene (OPS).
However, Kim ‘471 discloses a secondary battery (paragraph [0042]) comprising a cylindrical can (paragraph [0049]) and an auxiliary layer comprising oriented polystyrene (OPS) (an upper insulation member comprising a heat shrinkable film comprising OPS or PP and the upper insulation member disposed between an electrode assembly and a cap assembly; paragraphs [0049] and [0059]).
The insulating material of Miyata comprises polypropylene (see pg. 4 of Miyata translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Miyata to substitute the polypropylene of the insulating material of Miyata for the OPS of Kim ‘471 because having an OPS heat shrinkable film provides an upper insulation member not affected by the reaction of electrolytic solution (paragraph [0061] of Kim ‘471).
Regarding claim 2, Miyata and Kim ‘471 discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 as noted above and Miyata discloses the secondary battery comprising the main layer is a mesh film having regular pores extending between the upper and lower surfaces (insulating plate comprises a base material and having holes or notches; Fig. 1; pg. 4 of Miyata translation).
Regarding claim 3, Miyata and Kim ‘471 discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 as noted above and Miyata discloses the secondary battery comprising the main layer being stainless steel (base material comprising a SUS 304 metal plate; pg. 7 of Miyata translation).
Regarding claim 4, Miyata and Kim ‘471 discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 as noted above and Miyata discloses the secondary battery comprising main layer being a mesh film (the insulating plate comprises a base material and has holes or notches; Fig. 1; pg. 4 of Miyata translation)
Miyata does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the main layer having a mesh count in a range of 16 x 18 to 32 x 32 and a pore size of at least 700 µm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amount of holes or notches in the base material in order to provide a mesh film with a mesh count in a range of 16 x 18 to 32 x 32 and to adjust the size of the holes or notches such that the pore size is at least 700 µm because doing so would provide the desired function as an insulator and the required strength at high temperatures (pg. 4 of Miyata translation).
Regarding claim 5, Miyata and Kim ‘471 discloses the secondary battery of claim 2 as noted above and Miyata discloses the secondary battery comprising the auxiliary layer being a film (insulating material coated on upper surface of insulating plate; pg. 4 of Miyata translation).
Regarding claim 11, Miyata and Kim ‘471 discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 as noted above.
Miyata does not disclose the secondary battery comprising the auxiliary layer comprising at least one of nylon, polystyrene (PS), or oriented polystyrene (OPS).
However, Kim ‘471 discloses a secondary battery (paragraph [0042]) comprising a cylindrical can (paragraph [0049]) and an auxiliary layer comprising oriented polystyrene (OPS) (an upper insulation member comprising a heat shrinkable film comprising OPS or PP and the upper insulation member disposed between an electrode assembly and a cap assembly; paragraphs [0049] and [0059]).
The insulating material of Miyata comprises polypropylene (see pg. 4 of Miyata translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Miyata to substitute the polypropylene of the insulating material of Miyata for the OPS of Kim ‘471 because having an OPS heat shrinkable film provides an upper insulation member not affected by the reaction of electrolytic solution (paragraph [0061] of Kim ‘471).
Miyata and Kim ‘471 do not disclose the secondary battery comprising the main layer being OPS.
However, it would have been obvious to duplicate the OPS heat shrinkable film of Kim ‘471 in order to provide a main layer being OPS.
It has been held that "mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced". Please see MPEP 2144.04 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). It would be obvious to duplicate OPS heat shrinkable film since the mere duplication of OPS heat shrinkable film would produce a known and unexpected result which would be increased resistance from the reaction of electrolytic solution.
Regarding claim 12, Miyata and Kim ‘471 disclose the secondary battery of claim 1 as noted above and Miyata discloses the secondary battery comprising the plate-shaped upper insulating plate having a hole extending therethrough (pg. 4 of Miyata translation).
Claims 6-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al (JP 2008-103131 A) in view of Kim (US 2014/0065471 A1) in further view of Kim et al (WO 2021/101082 A1).
Machine translations are being used as the English translations for Miyata et al (JP 2008-103131 A) and Kim et al (WO 2021/101082 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Miyata and Kim ‘471 disclose the secondary battery of claim 1 as noted above.
Miyata and Kim ‘471 do not disclose the secondary battery comprising the main layer being a nonwoven fabric.
However, Kim ‘082 discloses a secondary battery comprising the main layer being a nonwoven fabric (an upper insulating plate comprising a non-woven fabric; pg. 5 of Kim ‘082 translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Miyata to substitute the base material of Miyata for the nonwoven fabric of Kim ‘082 because having the nonwoven fabric provides electrical insulation for the electrode assembly preventing short circuiting (pg. 5 of Kim ‘082 translation).
Regarding claim 7, Miyata, Kim ‘471 and Kim ‘082 discloses the secondary battery of claim 6 as noted above and Miyata discloses the secondary battery comprising the auxiliary layer being a film (insulating material coated on upper surface of insulating plate; pg. 4 of Miyata translation).
Regarding claim 10, Miyata, Kim ‘471 and Kim ‘032 discloses the secondary battery of claim 7 as noted above and Miyata discloses the secondary battery comprising the thickness of the auxiliary layer being 0.05 mm or more (thickness of the insulating material being 0.4 mm; Fig. 1; pg. 7 of Miyata translation).
The thickness of the insulating material overlaps the claimed range for the thickness of the auxiliary layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference in order to prevent contact with the metal plate (pg. 4 of Miyata translation). It has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” Please see MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al (JP 2008-103131 A) in view of Kim (US 2014/0065471 A1) in further view of Kim et al (WO 2021/101082 A1) in further view of Kim (US 2009/0269664 A1).
Machine translations are being used as the English translations for Miyata et al (JP 2008-103131 A) and Kim et al (WO 2021/101082 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Miyata, Kim ‘471 and Kim ‘082 disclose the secondary battery of claim 7 as noted above.
Miyata, Kim ‘471 and Kim ‘082 do not disclose the secondary battery comprising the auxiliary layer bonded to at least one of the upper and lower surfaces of the main layer by acrylic adhesive.
However, Kim ‘664 discloses the secondary battery comprising the auxiliary layer bonded to at least one of the upper and lower surfaces of the main layer by acrylic adhesive (insulating member #23c having an adhesive layer attached to one side where the adhesive layer is ethylene acetic acid vinyl copolymer; paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Miyata, Kim ‘471 and Kim ‘082 to include the adhesive layer of Kim ‘664 between the base material and insulating material of Miyata because having the required adhesive layer provides improved adhesion between layers.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al (JP 2008-103131 A) in view of Kim (US 2014/0065471 A1) in further view of Kim et al (WO 2021/101082 A1) in further view of Kim (US 2011/0297302 A1).
Machine translations are being used as the English translations for Miyata et al (JP 2008-103131 A) and Kim et al (WO 2021/101082 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Miyata, Kim ‘471 and Kim ‘082 disclose the secondary battery of claim 7 as noted above.
Miyata, Kim ‘471 and Kim ‘082 do not disclose the secondary battery comprising the electrolyte being LiPF6 dissolved in a solvent having EC, EMC, DEC, PC and DMC mixed in equal volume ratios.
However, Kim ‘302 discloses the secondary battery comprising an electrolyte of LiPF6 (paragraphs [0093] and [0166]) and at least one carbonate solvent comprising EC, EMC, DEC, PC and DMC (paragraph [0093]).
Kim ‘302 does not disclose the secondary battery comprising solvent having EC, EMC, DEC, PC and DMC mixed in equal volume ratios.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amounts of EC, EMC, DEC, PC and DMC such that they are in equal ratio because doing so allows for the solvent to be easily permeated between molecules of the polymer in the base layer and has the base layer exhibiting an adhesive property (paragraph [0093] of Kim ‘302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery of Miyata, Kim ‘471 and Kim ‘082 to substitute the electrolyte and solvent of Miyata for the electrolyte and solvent of Kim ‘302 because doing so allows for the solvent to be easily permeated between molecules of the polymer in the base layer and has the base layer exhibiting an adhesive property (paragraph [0093] of Kim ‘302).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the 112(a) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The 112(a) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 5 under 103 by Miyata in view of Kim ‘302 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are noted above.
Applicants argue that Kim ‘302 does not disclose the auxiliary layer made of polystyrene.
This argument is persuasive as Kim ‘302 does not disclose the auxiliary layer made of polystyrene. Therefore, the previous rejections have been withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejection are noted above.
Conclusion
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785