DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Embodiment 1, corresponding to Figures 1-5B and claims 1-15 and 20, in the reply filed on 05/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the outer top case recited in claims 1 and 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casparian et al. [Casparian hereinafter, US 8,674,941].
In regard to claim 1, Casparian discloses [in Figs. 2A and 3A] an electronics assembly of a computer peripheral device, comprising: an outer top case [204]; a mechanical support layer [208] disposed on an inner side of the outer top case [204]; a membrane layer [210] coupled with the mechanical support layer [208], the membrane layer [210] comprising a printed trace [232] on at least one surface of the membrane layer [210]; and a ground plane [275] positioned on an opposite side of the membrane layer [210] as the outer top case [204] such that the mechanical support layer [208] and the membrane layer [210] are disposed between the outer top case [204] and the ground plane [274].
In regard to claim 4, Casparian discloses [in Figs. 2A and 3A] the electronics assembly of a computer peripheral device of claim 1, wherein: the membrane layer [210] comprises one or more vias [279] that extend through a thickness of the membrane layer [210] to electrically couple the ground plane [275] and the printed trace [232].
In regard to claim 5, Casparian discloses [in Figs. 2A and 3A] the electronics assembly of a computer peripheral device of claim 1, further comprising: an additional membrane layer [206] that is coupled with the mechanical support layer [208], the additional membrane layer [206] comprising an additional printed trace [234] on at least one surface of the additional membrane layer [206].
In regard to claim 9, Casparian discloses [in Figs. 2A and 3A] an electronics assembly of a computer peripheral device, comprising: an outer top case [204]; a mechanical support layer [208]; a first membrane layer [206] coupled with the mechanical support layer [208], the first membrane layer [206] comprising a first trace [234] that is printed on at least one surface of the first membrane layer [206]; a second membrane layer [210] coupled with the mechanical support layer [208], the second membrane layer [210] comprising a second trace [236] that is printed on at least one surface of the second membrane layer [210]; and a ground plane [275] positioned on an opposite side of the first [206] and second [210] membrane layers as the outer top case [204] such that the mechanical support layer [208], the first membrane layer [206], and the second membrane layer [210] are disposed between the outer top case [204] and the ground plane [275].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casparian et al. [Casparian hereinafter, US 8,674,941] in view of Krumpelman et al. [Krumpelman hereinafter, US 9,240,296]. Casparian discloses [in Figs. 2A and 3A] the electronics assembly of a computer peripheral device of claim 1. Casparian does not disclose that the ground plane comprises a conductive mesh. Krumpelman teaches [in Fig. 9A and col. 15, lines 9-12] that the ground plane comprises a conductive mesh. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the ground plane of Casparian with the ground plane of Krumpelman in order to actuate the switch as desired.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casparian et al. [Casparian hereinafter, US 8,674,941] in view of Niu [US 9,012,795]. Casparian discloses [in Figs. 2A and 3A] the electronics assembly of a computer peripheral device of claim 9. Casparian does not disclose that the first membrane layer comprises one or both of polyethylene terephthalate and a polyamide. Niu teaches [in Fig. 6] that the membrane layer [250] comprises one or both of polyethylene terephthalate and a polyamide [col. 7, lines 8-11]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a membrane layer that comprises one or both of polyethylene terephthalate and a polyamide, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casparian et al. [Casparian hereinafter, US 8,674,941] in view of Peterson et al. [Peterson hereinafter, US 2014/0224633]. Casparian discloses [in Figs. 2A and 3A] the electronics assembly of a computer peripheral device of claim 9. Casparian does not disclose that the first and second traces are printed using conductive ink that comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of silver, carbon, and copper. Peterson teaches [in Fig. 7A] that traces are printed using conductive ink that comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of silver, carbon, and copper. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide traces are printed using conductive ink that comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of silver, carbon, and copper, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 20 are allowed. In regard to claim 15, in combination with other limitations, a ground plane positioned on an opposite side of the membrane layer as the outer top case such that the mechanical support layer and the membrane layer are disposed between the outer top case and the ground plane, and a plurality of switches that each extend through the membrane layer and the mechanical support layer is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Claims 3, 6-8, and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 3, in combination with other limitations, the conductive mesh being printed on the membrane layer on an opposite side of the printed trace is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
In regard to claim 6, in combination with other limitations, an ultraviolet ink insulation layer disposed atop the printed trace is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
In regard to claim 8, in combination with other limitations, a keyboard switch that extends through the membrane layer and the mechanical support layer is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
In regard to claim 10, in combination with other limitations, an additional ground plane positioned between the first and second membrane layers and the outer top case is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
In regard to claim 11, in combination with other limitations, the ground plane bine printed on one of the first and second membrane layers is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
In regard to claim 12, in combination with other limitations, the ground plane being printed on a third membrane layer is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gadelle et al. [US 2024/0321533] discloses a similar electronics assembly.
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831