DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 has been amended to reflect the limitations of presently canceled Claim 15, as well as to define the chemical structure of the silane coupling agent. The Specification has been amended to correct typographical errors in several linear chemical formulae. No new subject matter has been added.
In light of the amendment to Claim 1, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-04-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the references cited in the prior office action (non-final rejection dated 2026-01-22) fail to teach or disclose a silane coupling agent of the formula (TA): R1-Si(OR2)3. However, as acknowledged in Applicant’s own remarks (2026-04-20), and as detailed in the updated rejection below, Zenitani (cited in the prior office action) teaches methyltrimethoxysilane (MTMS) as a silane coupling agent. MTMS conforms to formula (TA), having R1 and R2 both representing methyl groups.
For these reasons, the updated rejection below is not withdrawn. Accordingly, withdrawn Claim 20 is not rejoined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Formula (TA) for silane coupling agents is given at [0073] of the Specification. Where R2 is allowed to be a halide (e.g. Cl), the implied functional group would be a silyl hypohalite (e.g. Si-O-Cl). Since the intended silane coupling agents are almost certainly alkyl(alkoxy)silanes and alkyl(halo)silanes, and not alkyl(hypohalo)silanes, Formula (TA) should be amended to accurately reflect the intended functional groups. Specification paragraphs [0074], [0079], [0080], and [0084] (this list is not necessarily exhaustive) refer to Formula (TA) and/or R2, and would need to be amended accordingly.
The intended silane coupling agents might be more clearly described by a formula: R1n-SiX4-n where R1 has the same constraints as already described, and X is allowed to be a halide or alkoxy group.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to over the same informalities described above for the Specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10, 14, and 16 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al (JP 2013-156470) in view of Zenitani et al (JP 2021-151944), further in view of Sakai et al (JP 2005-202132) (machine translations of which are referred to henceforth).
Inoue teaches a toner comprising toner particles, to which fatty acid metal salt particles are externally added ([0010]). Inorganic fine particles may also be externally added to the toner particles ([0019]), and silica is given as an example of inorganic fine particles ([0020]). Inoue teaches that the silica particles are preferably hydrophobically surface-treated with a fluidity improver, and gives silane coupling agents as an example of a class of hydrophobic treatment agents ([0020]).
Inoue does not appear to offer further details surrounding specific silane coupling agents or the method of surface treatment, and does not appear to teach silica particles containing a nitrogen-containing compound also containing molybdenum.
Zenitani teaches silica particles which may be used as additives to improve the fluidity of powders ([0002]). The silica particles of Zenitani contain a quaternary ammonium salt ([0008]). Zenitani points out that silica particles tend to have high capacitance, leading to the accumulation of static electricity ([0022]), an effect which can be suppressed by the presence of the quaternary ammonium salt on the surface of the silica particles ([0024]). Zenitani teaches that TP-415 is a preferable quaternary ammonium salt for use as a surface treatment agent for the silica particles ([0041]), the same agent used in the present invention, which contains molybdenum. In addition, the molybdate anion is given as an optional counteranion contained alongside the quaternary ammonium ([0063]). Zenitani teaches that in the step of treating the silica particles with the quaternary ammonium treatment agent, the amount of quaternary ammonium salt is preferably 0.5 – 10% by mass relative to the mass of silica particles ([0087]).
The example silica particles of the present invention are prepared from 1000 parts by mass of TMOS (Specification, Table 1), which would convert to roughly 395 parts of silica particles.
1,000
p
a
r
t
s
T
M
O
S
*
60
g
m
o
l
S
i
O
2
152
g
m
o
l
T
M
S
O
=
394.7
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
Example silica particles S1, S2, and S4 – S7 are treated with TP-415 in an amount of 1 – 50 parts, corresponding to a treatment amount of 0.25 – 12.7% by mass relative to the amount of silica particles.
1
p
a
r
t
T
P
-
415
395
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
*
100
%
=
0.25
%
50
p
a
r
t
s
T
P
-
415
395
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
*
100
%
=
12.7
%
Those example silica particles also possess values for NMo/NSi lying across the range 0.035 – 0.45 (Specification, Table 1). Therefore, the silica particles of Zenitani, having a TP-415 treatment amount in a range encompassed by that for the particles of the present invention, would inherently possess a value for NMo/NSi lying in a range encompassed by that for the particles of the present invention.
Zenitani teaches surface treatment of externally added silica particles by an organosilicon compound ([0095]), which may be a silane coupling agent such as methyltrimethoxysilane (MTMS) ([0099]). MTMS conforms to Formula (TA) of Claim 1, having R1 and R2 both representing methyl groups.
Neither Inoue nor Zenitani appears to teach a nitrogen-containing compound also containing molybdenum which is adhered to a silane coupling agent-derived coating structure on the surface of a silica particle.
Sakai teaches a toner comprising toner particles comprising at least a binder resin, a colorant, a release agent, and an external additive ([0015]). The external additive includes large-diameter particles which are surface-treated with a charge control agent ([0015]). Sakai teaches that externally added particles surface-treated with a charge control agent stabilize charging, thereby improving the fluidity, charging properties, developability, transferability, cleaning properties, and fixing of the toner ([0020]).
The externally added particles may be inorganic particles, and silica is pointed out as an example ([0025]). Sakai describes a method of pre-treating the particles with an alkoxysilane or polysiloxane before treatment with the charge control agent, resulting in more uniform treatment of the particles with the charge control agent ([0027]). Sakai gives as examples of silane treatment agents methyltrichlorosilane, octyltrichlorosilane, and octyltrimethoxysilane ([0030]). Of those silane treatment agents, at least octyltrimethoxysilane conforms to Formula (TA) of Claim 1, where R1 represents an octyl group and R2 represents a methyl group. It is preferable to add 0.15 – 45 parts by mass of alkoxysilane surface treatment agent relative to 100 parts of inorganic particles to be treated ([0033]).
A charge control agent is then added to the particles that have been treated with the alkoxysilane agent ([0034]). Sakai points out quaternary ammonium salts as preferable charge control agents ([0035]). The charge control agent is preferably added in an amount of 3 – 30 parts by mass relative to 100 parts of particles to be treated, which ensures a resultant content of 0.1 – 10% by mass of the charge control agent in the treated particles ([0038]). Sakai describes a heating and drying step in which the treated particles are heated at 40 - 150°C, resulting in conversion of the alkoxysilane treatment agent into an organosilane reaction product ([0039]). The method of surface treatment of the silica particles described by Sakai is substantially the same as that described in the instant application (Specification, [0168] – [0178]), which results in a nitrogen-containing compound also containing molybdenum being adhered to a silane-derived coating structure on the surface of the silica particles.
In preparing the toner of Inoue, which comprises externally added fatty acid metal salt particles and externally added silica particles, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce the capacitance of the silica particles and suppress the accumulation of static electricity by the silica particles by surface-treating them as taught by Zenitani. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the uniformity of treatment of the silica particles by using the method taught by Sakai, thereby improving the charging properties, fluidity, developability, transferability, cleaning properties, and fixing of the toner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare the toner of Inoue having externally added silica particles surface-treated with the silane coupling agent and nitrogen-containing compound also containing molybdenum taught by Zenitani, wherein the silica particles are surface-treated by the method taught by Sakai. Such a toner would thus comprise fatty acid metal salt particles and silica particles treated with a nitrogen-containing compound also containing molybdenum, wherein the nitrogen-containing compound also containing molybdenum is adhered to a silane-derived coating structure on the surface of the silica particles, which also possess a value of NMo/NSi lying in the range stated in Claim 1.
Example silica particles S2, S4, and S5 are treated with TP-415 in an amount of 4 – 30 parts, corresponding to a treatment amount of 1.0 – 7.6% by mass relative to the amount of silica particles.
4
p
a
r
t
s
T
P
-
415
395
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
*
100
%
=
1.0
%
30
p
a
r
t
s
T
P
-
415
395
p
a
r
t
s
S
i
O
2
*
100
%
=
7.6
%
Those example silica particles also possess values for NMo/NSi lying across the range 0.10 – 0.30 (Specification, Table 1). Therefore, the silica particles of Zenitani, having a TP-415 treatment amount in a range encompassing that for the particles of the present invention, would inherently possess a value for NMo/NSi lying in a range encompassing that stated in Claim 2.
Inoue teaches that the fatty acid metal salt particles are preferably added in an amount of 0.10 – 0.50 parts by mass relative to 100 parts of toner particles ([0018]). Inoue further teaches that the inorganic fine particles, which may be silica particles, are preferably contained in the toner in an amount of 0.01 – 5.0% by mass ([0022]). Where the content expressed as % by mass is nearly the same as parts by mass relative to 100 parts of toner particles, the ratio of the content of silica particles to that of fatty acid metal salt particles would be roughly 0.02 – 50, overlapping the range for M2/M1 stated in Claim 3, and encompassing the range stated for M2/M1 in Claim 4.
0.01
p
a
r
t
s
s
i
l
i
c
a
0.5
p
a
r
t
s
f
a
t
t
y
a
c
i
d
m
e
t
a
l
s
a
l
t
=
0.02
5.0
p
a
r
t
s
s
i
l
i
c
a
0.1
p
a
r
t
s
f
a
t
t
y
a
c
i
d
m
e
t
a
l
s
a
l
t
=
50
As mentioned above, Inoue teaches a content of silica particles in the toner of 0.01 – 5.0% by mass, which would encompass the range as parts by mass stated in Claim 5.
Inoue teaches that the inorganic particles, which may be silica particles, preferably have a primary particle size of 5 – 500 nm, encompassing the range stated in Claim 6.
Inoue teaches that the fatty acid metal salt particles preferably have a particle size of 2 – 7 µm ([0017]), reading on the ranges stated in Claim 7, Claim 8, and Claim 9.
Inoue teaches that the fatty acid metal salt is preferably zinc stearate ([0016]), the same as the particles of Claim 10.
TP-415, the nitrogen-containing compound also containing molybdenum taught by Zenitani, is a quaternary ammonium salt, satisfying Claim 14.
Inoue teaches that the toner may be used as a one-component developer, or mixed with a carrier and used as a two-component developer ([0059]), satisfying Claim 16.
Inoue teaches a developer storage container, which stores the developer described above ([0069]) and is detachably attached to a process cartridge or an image forming apparatus ([0070]), analogous to the toner cartridge of Claim 17.
Inoue describes a process cartridge ([0095] – [0096]) and an image forming apparatus ([0097] - [0124]), satisfying Claim 18 and Claim 19.
Claims 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al (JP 2013-156470) in view of Zenitani et al (JP 2021-151944), further in view of Sakai et al (JP 2005-202132), further in view of Takigaura et al (US PGP 2019/0310565).
The above discussions of Inoue et al, Zenitani et al, and Sakai et al are incorporated herein.
Inoue makes mention of externally added strontium titanate particles ([0020]), and teaches that externally added inorganic fine particles may be used in combination of two or more types, but does not give further details specific to strontium titanate particles. Further, Zenitani makes no mention of strontium titanate particles.
Takigaura teaches a toner having externally added strontium titanate fine particles (Abstract). The strontium titanate particles of Takigaura include strontium titanate fine particles (A) and strontium titanate fine particles (B) ([0064]), where the fine particles (A) have a particle diameter of 10 – 100 nm ([0067]), and the fine particles (B) have a particle diameter of 300 – 2,000 nm ([0068]). Takigaura teaches that the content of strontium titanate particles in the toner is preferably 0.1 – 10.0 parts by mass relative to 100 parts of toner particles ([0090]). Takigaura teaches that external addition of strontium titanate fine particles, which are positively chargeable, helping to suppress excessive charging of the toner ([0013]).
In preparing the toner of Inoue having the externally added silica particles treated as taught by Zenitani and Sakai, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to suppress excessive charging of the toner by externally adding the strontium titanate particles as taught by Takigaura. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare the toner of Inoue having externally added silica particles surface-treated with the silane coupling agent and nitrogen-containing compound also containing molybdenum taught by Zenitani, wherein the silica particles are surface-treated by the method taught by Sakai, and also having externally added strontium titanate fine particles as taught by Takigaura. Such a toner would possess strontium titanate fine particles, satisfying Claim 11. The strontium titanate fine particles would also possess an average particle diameter lying in the range stated in Claim 12.
Where Takigaura teaches a preferred content of externally added strontium titanate fine particles of 0.1 – 10.0 parts by mass relative to 100 parts of toner particles, and Inoue teaches that the fatty acid metal salt particles are preferably added in an amount of 0.10 – 0.50 parts by mass relative to 100 parts of toner particles, the ratio of the content of strontium titanate particles to that of fatty acid metal salt particles would lie in the range 0.2 – 100, overlapping the range stated for M3/M1 in Claim 13.
0.1
p
a
r
t
s
S
r
T
i
O
3
0.5
p
a
r
t
s
f
a
t
t
y
a
c
i
d
m
e
t
a
l
s
a
l
t
=
0.2
10.0
p
a
r
t
s
S
r
T
i
O
3
0.1
p
a
r
t
s
f
a
t
t
y
a
c
i
d
m
e
t
a
l
s
a
l
t
=
100
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT STEVEN SEILER/Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 05/18/2026