DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite the limitations, "a site” and “a native heart valve" in line 3 lack antecedence. The two “a” should be replaced by ---the---.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the applicant’s representative should add the following words in order to properly identify that the retracting and advancing steps are steps, the words are:
In claim 1, line 10, add the following: ---the step of--- between the words “after” and “retracting”.
In claim 1, line 11, it should be the word “an” instead of “and”.
In claim 1, line 13, add: ---the step of--- between the words: “after” and “advancing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,612,482 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both cases disclose the same delivery system deploying a heart valve. Both cases disclose a catheter having an outer shaft, intermediate shaft, an inner shaft and a heart valve having an outer member coupled to an inner member and leaflets connected to the inner member.
In addition to the structural limitations, the two cases disclose the step of retracting the outer shaft, advancing the catheter such that a brim of the outer member engages an upstream side of an annulus and after advancing the catheter, a retracting of the intermediate shaft releases the inner member of the heart valve prosthesis.
Regarding claim 3, see claim 14 of the patent.
Regarding claim 2, a mitral valve is an atrioventricular valve.
Regarding claim 4, see claim 15 of the patent.
Regarding claim 6, see claim 16 of the patent.
Regarding claim 7, see claim 17 of the patent.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 14 of Keogh et al U.S. Patent No. 11,612,482 in view of Morriss et al US Patent 9,125,740 B2.
Keogh et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the claims are silent regarding a tricuspid valve.
Morriss et al teaches multiple embodiments comprising different catheters and different heart valves. In Fig. 2I and col. 43, lines 34-38 disclose different embodiments disclosing a tricuspid heart valve implant and bicuspid aortic valves for the purpose of treating different atrioventricular valves. Additionally, throughout the Keogh et al reference also discloses that the invention can also be use in tricuspid valves.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the claimed bicuspid heart valve of the Keogh et al reference with the tricuspid valve of the Morriss et al reference in order to be able to replace any heart valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morriss et al US Patent 9,125,740 B2.
Morriss et al discloses a method of delivering and deploying a heart valve prosthesis (100, see Fig. 2I) at a site of a native heart valve (aortic valve), the method comprising: positioning a delivery catheter (200, see Fig. 10) at a site of a native heart valve with the heart valve prosthesis in a radially compressed configuration within the delivery catheter (see col. 54, lines 53-61). The heart valve prosthesis (100) includes an outer member (120) coupled to an inner member (110) and a prosthetic valve (150, see Figs. 2A2 and 2I) coupled to the inner member (110). The delivery catheter (200) includes an outer shaft (20), an intermediate shaft (226), and an inner shaft (204).
Retracting the outer shaft (20) to release the outer member of the heart valve prosthesis from the outer shaft such that the outer member radially expands (See col. 54, lines 50-55). After the step of retracting the outer shaft, the delivery catheter advances such that a brim of the outer member engages and upstream side of an annulus of the native heart valve (see note); and after advancing the delivery catheter, retracting the intermediate shaft to release the inner member of the heart valve prosthesis from the intermediate shaft such that the inner member radially expands (see col. 54, lines 55-64).
NOTE: even though the step of advancing the delivery catheter is not explicitly mentioned in col. 54, lines 28-64, it will be inherent to advance (move forward) the catheter (200) toward the Ascending Aorta (see Fig. 2I) in order to leave enough space to the arms (120) expand and later slightly retract the catheter in order to makes element 122 (see Fig. 2I) be in contact with the upstream annulus of the native heart valve for the purpose of compressing or retaining the leaflets between the arms.
The Examiner, is interpreting the advancing step of the delivery catheter broadly. For example, the step of “advancing the delivery catheter such that a brim…” does not require that the advancing step cause the brim engages the upstream side of the annulus. The Examiner is looking for a reference that has the step of advancing the delivery catheter (to expand the arms 120) with a different step of engaging the brim with the annulus, no matter if the step of engaging the brim with the annulus is by later retracting slightly the catheter.
In order to expand the arms (120) in the Morriss et al reference, the catheter needs to advance toward the Ascending Aorta, however, in order to the brim of the arms (120) engage with the upstream side of the annulus, the catheter has to slightly retract in order to element (122, see Fig. 2I) be in contact with the upstream annulus. Therefore, in order to overcome this rejection, the Applicant’s representative must clearly define that the distal advancing step of the delivery system is the step that engages an upstream side of the annulus by the brim.
Language that can be used:
“after the step of retracting the outer shaft, a brim of the expanded outer member engages an upstream side of an annulus of the native heart valve by distally advancing the delivery catheter”.
Regarding claim 5, see Fig. 2I showing a tricuspid valve.
Regarding claim 6, in the Morriss et al invention the inflow portion is always at the proximal portion of the catheter and the outflow portion is always the connection between the outer member and the inner member and always at the distal portion of the catheter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 11/14/25