DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that the 112(f) interpretation and the objection to the title are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1-14 are not amended to state that the placement unit is provided with a column. According to applicant’s disclosure, the placement unit is the unit which is where the document is placed, element 16. The column is a separate unit, which is provided as part of the upper housing and is separate from the placement unit. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabuuchi (US 2017/0244853) in view of Schirdewahn (US 2012/0001999).
Regarding Claim 1, Yabuuchi teaches an image processing apparatus (Paragraph 3) comprising:
a placement unit that is provided on an upper surface of a housing and on which a document is placed (Element 203 and Paragraph 30, wherein there is a document platen to place the document on) and that is provided with a column (Element 204, paragraph 30, wherein there is a support member);
an imaging unit that comprises a charge coupled device install above the placement unit and configured to image the placement unit from above (Paragraphs 31 and 35, wherein there is a top shot scanner), wherein the imaging unit is attached to an end portion of the column (Paragraph 31 and Fig. 2A, wherein the area sensor is supported by the support member); and
a processor (Paragraph 37, wherein there is a CPU).
display guidance information on the operation panel to indicate that the document to be imaged by the imaging unit is to be placed on the placement unit (Paragraphs 53, 54, and 58, wherein information can be obtained about the document upon placing the document on the platen for scanning).
Yabuuchi does not teach an operation panel that includes a display and input screen and that is installed on the column between the placement unit and the imaging unit.
Schirdewahn does teach an operation panel that includes a display and input screen and that is installed on the column between the placement unit and the imaging unit (Paragraph 30 and Fig. 5 and 6, wherein the document camera can be placed above the display, wherein the display is shown to be between the document placement area and the camera, on the support for the camera.).
Yabuuchi contained a device which differed from the claimed process by the substitution of the display being on the main body, the lower housing. Schirdewahn teaches the substituted step of having the display being placed on the support between the document placement area and the camera and their functions were known in the art to enable a more compact apparatus and allow for more easily readable, displaying, of information to a user. Yabuuchi’s display could have been substituted with Schirdewahn’s display being on the support and the results would have been predictable and resulted in enabling a more compact apparatus and allowing for more easily readable, displaying, of information to a user.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application.
Regarding Claim 2, Yabuuchi further teaches wherein the guidance information includes information on an orientation in a case where the document is placed (Paragraphs 50, 51, 62 and 63, wherein orientation information is determined and added to the display).
Regarding Claim 7, Yabuuchi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
detect whether or not the document is placed on the placement unit, by using an image captured by the imaging unit, in a case where the guidance information is displayed on the operation panel (Paragraph 77 and 78, wherein a document detection unit detects if the document is within the frame. This would detect document placement).
Regarding Claim 8, Yabuuchi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
stop displaying the guidance information on the operation panel, and display an image representing a current state captured by the imaging unit, on the operation panel, in a case where the document is placed on the placement unit (Paragraph 71, wherein the document is continuously displayed prior to scanning).
Regarding Claim 9, Yabuuchi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
stop detection of whether or not the document is placed on the placement unit, in a case where a selection screen for selecting a function to be used is displayed on the operation panel (Paragraph 57, wherein the document is not detected until the scanner mode is selected. Therefore, if the function selection is displayed, the document is not detected).
Regarding Claim 10, Yabuuchi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
stop an operation of the imaging unit while the detection is stopped (Paragraph 71, wherein once scanning starts, the document is no longer displayed).
Regarding Claim 11, Yabuuchi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
display an operator for executing a function, on the operation panel, together with the guidance information (Paragraph 71, wherein the user can press start the scanning operation).
Regarding Claim 12, Yabuuchi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
first display, on the operation panel, the guidance information or a selection screen for selecting a function to be used, in at least one situation among after start-up of the image processing apparatus, after return from a power saving state of the image processing apparatus, or after authentication of a user who uses the image processing apparatus (Paragraph 58, wherein the user can select the scanning mode prior to displaying the document).
Regarding Claim 13, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 14, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabuuchi (US 2017/0244853) in view of Schirdewahn (US 2012/0001999) further in view of Imaoka (US 2018/0183952).
Regarding Claim 3, Yabuuchi in view of Schirdewahn does not clearly teach wherein the processor is configured to:
display, on the operation panel, an operator for transitioning to a selection screen for selecting a function to be used, from among functions including at least one of a function of using the imaging unit, a function of using a document scanning unit, a function of using a document output unit, a function of setting the image processing apparatus, or a function of editing a destination table, together with the guidance information.
Imaoka does teach display, on the operation panel, an operator for transitioning to a selection screen for selecting a function to be used, from among functions including at least one of a function of using the imaging unit, a function of using a document scanning unit, a function of using a document output unit, a function of setting the image processing apparatus, or a function of editing a destination table, together with the guidance information (Fig. 5A and 5B and paragraphs 48-51, wherein the preview image is generated. The function options can be switched while the preview image is shown).
Yabuuchi and Imaoka are combinable because they both deal with scan preview images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yabuuchi in view of Schirdewahn with the teachings of Imaoka for the purpose of ensuring desired processing is occurring without undergoing multiple screens (Imaoka: Paragraph 54).
Regarding Claim 4, Imaoka further teaches wherein a function that is to be selected on the selection screen includes the function of using the imaging unit (Element d4 and paragraph 42, wherein there is a scan function), and
the processor is configured to:
display the guidance information on the operation panel, in a case where the function of using the imaging unit is selected on the selection screen (Paragraph 47, wherein when the desired function is used, the appropriate settings are displayed accordingly).
Yabuuchi and Imaoka are combinable because they both deal with scan preview images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yabuuchi in view of Schirdewahn with the teachings of Imaoka for the purpose of ensuring desired processing is occurring without undergoing multiple screens (Imaoka: Paragraph 54).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabuuchi (US 2017/0244853) in view of Schirdewahn (US 2012/0001999) further in view of Kato (US 2016/0255212).
Regarding Claim 5, Yabuuchi in view of Schirdewahn does not teach wherein the processor is configured to:
control the imaging unit to image the document, without receiving an instruction from a user, in a case where a position of the document placed on the placement unit does not change for a set time or more.
Kato does teach wherein the processor is configured to:
control the imaging unit to image the document, without receiving an instruction from a user, in a case where a position of the document placed on the placement unit does not change for a set time or more (Paragraphs 40-43, wherein scanning occurs after a time period).
Yabuuchi and Kato are combinable because they both deal with scanning control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Yabuuchi in view of Schirdewahn with the teachings of Kato for the purpose of ensuring users proper placement of the document (Kato: Paragraph 40).
.
Regarding Claim 6, Yabuuchi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
change a time until the document is imaged since the document is placed on the placement unit, in response to an instruction from the user (Paragraphs 58 and 78, wherein based on user’s manipulation of the document the time to capture, even the preview image, is adjusted. This would correspond to user’s operation).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699