DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 – 14 and 19 in the reply filed on 01/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/19/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20210276723) in view of Kumar (US 20240116397).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a charge status control system for controlling a state of charge of a battery (shown in figure 5 item 900 defined in paragraph [0046] as a flight control system controlling a battery item 400), comprising:
a power generator configured to generate electrical power and to supply the electrical power to a load (figure 5 item 300 defined in paragraph [0037] as an electrical generator which supplies power to a load such as rotors to directly drive the rotors);
a battery configured to store the electrical power generated by the power generator and to supply the stored electrical power to the load (shown in figure 5 item 400 battery defined in paragraph [0039] electrically connected to generator and to the load or rotors).
Han does not explicitly teach a detection unit configured to detect a state of charge of the battery; and a control unit configured to, if a detection result of a remaining charge amount of the battery by the detection unit is a storage threshold or more, control the state of charge of the battery by discharging the electrical power stored in the battery to an external power source.
Kumar teaches a detection unit configured to detect a state of charge of the battery; and a control unit configured to, if a detection result of a remaining charge amount of the battery by the detection unit is a storage threshold or more, control the state of charge of the battery by discharging the electrical power stored in the battery to an external power source (Figure 1 items 116, 120 and 122 are external devices which receive charge from onboard batteries. paragraph [0028] teaches wherein the State of Charge (SOC) of the batteries are determined. Paragraph [0031] teaches wherein the battery discharged to bring the state of charge to a certain level. Paragraph [0073] teaches wherein the external conditioning device may be connected to internal power packs items in figure 8 item 300. Paragraph [0076] teaches wherein the system controller may operate switches, connected to the conditioning device, based on the state of charge of the battery packs. Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0065] – [0067] wherein batteries are discharged externally, interpreted as the excess charge in power packs may be directed externally to an off-board conditioning device, by operating the switching devices to conduct the excess charge in the companion packs to the resistive elements where the excess charge is dissipated or consumed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Han reference with the charging system of the Kumar reference so that batteries may be easily identified for removal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kumar reference in paragraph [0003] wherein batteries may be easily identified for removal.
Han figure 7 shows an aircraft with power supply and generators.
Kumar figure 1 shows a vehicle with an external conditioner and power supply.
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 1 (Han teaches a plurality of sensors [0047]), but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a temperature conditioner configured to warm, cool, or keep temperature of the battery by each of power-supplying from the battery and power-supplying from the external power source, wherein the detection unit is further configured to detect a temperature of the battery, and wherein the control unit is configured to control a temperature state of the battery by operating the temperature conditioner based on the detection result of the battery by the detection unit.
Kumar teaches a temperature conditioner configured to warm, cool, or keep temperature of the battery by each of power-supplying from the battery (paragraph [0083] teaches wherein the conditioning system warms or cools batteries to desired temperatures or ranges) and
power-supplying from the external power source, wherein the detection unit is further configured to detect a temperature of the battery (paragraph [0028] teaches wherein a detection unit or sensors detect a temperature of the battery);
wherein the control unit is configured to control a temperature state of the battery by operating the temperature conditioner based on the detection result of the battery by the detection unit (paragraph [0082] teaches wherein the sensors, within a control unit ([0028] discloses a controller includes sensors), measure the temperature and/or one or more cooling systems and the sensors may be used to monitor and maintain the pack being conditioned to within acceptable limits).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Han reference with the charging system of the Kumar reference so that batteries may be easily identified for removal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kumar reference in paragraph [0003] wherein batteries may be easily identified for removal.
Regarding claim 3. Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 2, further comprising: a transformer configured to step down electrical power of the battery to supply the electrical power to the temperature conditioner and the external power source (paragraph [0070] teaches wherein a step-down converter or a DCDC converter is provided to convert the electrical power to supply power to the external power and temperature conditioner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Han reference with the charging system of the Kumar reference so that batteries may be easily identified for removal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kumar reference in paragraph [0003] wherein batteries may be easily identified for removal.
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to, if a remaining charge amount of the battery is the storage threshold or more, discharge the electrical power stored in the battery to the external power source and to supply the electrical power to the temperature conditioner to operate the temperature conditioner.
Kumar teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, if a remaining charge amount of the battery is the storage threshold or more, discharge the electrical power stored in the battery to the external power source and to supply the electrical power to the temperature conditioner to operate the temperature conditioner (Figure 1 items 116, 120 and 122 are external devices which receive charge from onboard batteries. Paragraph [0028] teaches wherein the State of Charge (SOC) of the batteries are determined. Paragraph [0031] teaches wherein the battery discharged to bring the state of charge to a certain level. Paragraph [0073] teaches wherein the external conditioning device may be connected to internal power packs items in figure 8 item 300. Paragraph [0076] teaches wherein the system controller may operate switches, connected to the conditioning device, based on the state of charge of the battery packs. Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0065] – [0067] wherein batteries are discharged externally, interpreted as the excess charge in power packs may be directed externally to an off-board conditioning device, by operating the switching devices to conduct the excess charge in the companion packs to the resistive elements where the excess charge is dissipated or consumed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Han reference with the charging system of the Kumar reference so that batteries may be easily identified for removal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kumar reference in paragraph [0003] wherein batteries may be easily identified for removal.
Regarding claim 5, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to, if a remaining charge amount of the battery is the storage threshold or more, discharge the electrical power stored in the battery to the external power source and to supply the electrical power to the temperature conditioner to operate the temperature conditioner.
Kumar teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, if a remaining charge amount of the battery is the storage threshold or more, discharge the electrical power stored in the battery to the external power source and to supply the electrical power to the temperature conditioner to operate the temperature conditioner (Figure 1 items 116, 120 and 122 are external devices which receive charge from onboard batteries. Paragraph [0028] teaches wherein the State of Charge (SOC) of the batteries are determined. Paragraph [0031] teaches wherein the battery discharged to bring the state of charge to a certain level. Paragraph [0073] teaches wherein the external conditioning device may be connected to internal power packs items in figure 8 item 300. Paragraph [0076] teaches wherein the system controller may operate switches, connected to the conditioning device, based on the state of charge of the battery packs. Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0065] – [0067] wherein batteries are discharged externally, interpreted as the excess charge in power packs may be directed externally to an off-board conditioning device, by operating the switching devices to conduct the excess charge in the companion packs to the resistive elements where the excess charge is dissipated or consumed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Han reference with the charging system of the Kumar reference so that batteries may be easily identified for removal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kumar reference in paragraph [0003] wherein batteries may be easily identified for removal.
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to, if a remaining charge amount of the battery decreases to the storage threshold or less and a start threshold or more required to start the power generator, stop discharging to the external power source.
Kumar teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, if a remaining charge amount of the battery decreases to the storage threshold or less and a start threshold or more required to start the power generator, stop discharging to the external power source (paragraphs [0034] discloses wherein the directing and conducting energy into and out of, or charging and discharging the batteries may be stopped when necessary. Paragraph [0038] discloses wherein charging and discharging is controlled by a threshold level of a detected State of Charge of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Han reference with the charging system of the Kumar reference so that batteries may be easily identified for removal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kumar reference in paragraph [0003] wherein batteries may be easily identified for removal.
Regarding claim 7, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 5, but does to explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to, if a remaining charge amount of the battery decreases to the storage threshold or less and a start threshold or more required to start the power generator, stop discharging to the external power source.
Kumar teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, if a remaining charge amount of the battery decreases to the storage threshold or less and a start threshold or more required to start the power generator, stop discharging to the external power source
(paragraphs [0034] discloses wherein the directing and conducting energy into and out of, or charging and discharging the batteries may be stopped when necessary. Paragraph [0038] discloses wherein charging and discharging to the external power source is controlled by a threshold level of a detected State of Charge of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Han reference with the charging system of the Kumar reference so that batteries may be easily identified for removal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kumar reference in paragraph [0003] wherein batteries may be easily identified for removal.
Regarding claim 8, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to, after stopping discharging to the external power source, operate the temperature conditioner by power-supplying from the external power source.
Kumar teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, after stopping discharging to the external power source, operate the temperature conditioner by power-supplying from the external power source (paragraphs [0034] discloses wherein the directing and conducting energy into and out of, or charging and discharging the batteries may be stopped when necessary. Figure 1 items 116, 120 and 122 are external devices which receive charge from onboard batteries. Paragraph [0028] teaches wherein the State of Charge (SOC) of the batteries are determined. Paragraph [0031] teaches wherein the battery discharged to bring the state of charge to a certain level. Paragraph [0073] teaches wherein the external conditioning device may be connected to internal power packs items in figure 8 item 300. Paragraph [0076] teaches wherein the system controller may operate switches, connected to the conditioning device, based on the state of charge of the battery packs. Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0065] – [0067] wherein batteries are discharged externally, interpreted as the excess charge in power packs may be directed externally to an off-board conditioning device, by operating the switching devices to conduct the excess charge in the companion packs to the resistive elements where the excess charge is dissipated or consumed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Han reference with the charging system of the Kumar reference so that batteries may be easily identified for removal.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kumar reference in paragraph [0003] wherein batteries may be easily identified for removal.
Regarding claim 9, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 8, wherein the control unit is configured to start the power generator by power-supplying from the battery, and to charge the battery by power-supplying from the power generator (defined in paragraph [0028] wherein the generator generates electricity to charge the battery).
Regarding claim 10, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to, if a period until starting time of a charging operation to operate the power generator and store electrical power in the battery is longer than a threshold time, control a state of charge of the battery (paragraph [0029] teaches wherein during a period of time, the generator can control the state of charge by selectively charging the battery).
Regarding claim 11, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 2, wherein the control unit is configured to, if a period until starting time of a charging operation to operate the power generator and store electrical power in the battery, is longer than a threshold time, control a state of charge of the battery (paragraph [0029] teaches wherein during a period of time, the generator can control the state of charge by selectively charging the battery).
Regarding claim 12, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 3, wherein the control unit is configured to, if a period until starting time of a charging operation to operate the power generator and store electrical power in the battery, is longer than a threshold time, control a state of charge of the battery (paragraph [0029] teaches wherein during a period of time, the generator can control the state of charge by selectively charging the battery).
Regarding claim 13, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 4, wherein the control unit is configured to, if a period until starting time of a charging operation to operate the power generator and store electrical power in the battery, is longer than a threshold time, control a state of charge of the battery (paragraph [0029] teaches wherein during a period of time, the generator can control the state of charge by selectively charging the battery).
Regarding claim 14, Han teaches the charge status control system according to claim 10, wherein the control unit is configured to set the threshold time to be longer as the detection result of the remaining charge amount of the battery is greater (paragraphs [0049] and [0055] teaches wherein the time is set or preset based on the state of charge of the battery or whether the battery is fully charged).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20210276723) in view of Kumar (US 20240116397) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Phlegm (US 20150210182 )
Regarding claim 19, Han teaches wherein aircraft according to claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein the external power source is a low voltage power source installed outside an aircraft body.
Phlegm teaches wherein the external power source is a low voltage power source installed outside an aircraft body ([0040] teaches wherein the vehicle or aircraft ([0022] teaches an aircraft) may accept a low voltage power from an external low voltage power source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Han reference with the charging system of the Phlegm reference so that the functionality of the battery monitoring electronics is not limited.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Phlegm reference in paragraph [0003] wherein the functionality of the battery monitoring is not limited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20230139190 A1 Energy Management Amari; Martin Richard Et Al.
Us 20220153170 A1 Preconditioning Within A Vehicle Badger, Ii; Charles Everett
Us 20250206184 A1 Monitor A Vehicle Battery Bilby; David Et Al.
Us 20220271363 A1 Battery Management System Burkell; Neil Et Al.
Us 20200086849 A1 Hybrid Electric Vehicle Method Colavincenzo; David Et Al.
Us 20230170693 A1 Circuit And System For Coupling Battery Packs To Motor Controller In Electric Or Hybrid Aircraft Demont; Sébastien Et Al.
Us 20220394482 A1 Control System Ehara; Masato Et Al.
Us 20240270394 A1 Systems And Methods For Oil Maintenance In Gearboxes For Evtol Aircraft Graves; Scott Et Al.
Us 20210276723 A1 Power Assembly, Power System And Unmanned Aerial Vehicle Han; Jiexing
Us 20210247450 A1 Battery Diagnosis Apparatus And Vehicle Ito; Hirotaka Et Al.
Us 20240286517 A1 Power Charging/Discharging Facility For E-Mobility Having Even Data Recording Device, And Server Computer For Managing Power Charging/Discharging Stations And Predicting Risk In Real Time Kim; Won Kug
Us 20100019729 A1 Power Supply System And Vehicle With The System Kaita; Keiji Et Al.
Us 20230089535 A1 Battery Cooling Control System And Method Thereof Lee; Jung Hyun
Us 20160229411 A1 Power Storage System Murata; Takashi
Us 20180072183 A1 Vehicle Nomura; Yoshihiro
Us 20150210182 A1 Systems And Methods For Determining Battery State Information Based On Internal Battery Pressure Phlegm; Herman K. Et Al.
Us 20240405313 A1 Thermal Management Of Battery Systems Reddy; Suresh Baddam Et Al.
Us 20230395890 A1 Heating Circuit For Battery, Control Method Therefor, Battery, And Electric Vehicle Zhao; Yuanmiao Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859