Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment to the title, the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
In view of the amendment dated 2/4/2026, the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation is withdrawn.
In view of the amendment dated 2/4/2026, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1 and 19 recite “... execute a mode in which a first chart and a second chart are secondarily transferred the recording medium and output.” This is improper grammar. It appears the word “to” or similar should be inserted between “transferred” and “the.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al., (JP Pub No. 2007137012) in view of Kikuchi et al., (JP Pub No. 2016102922).
Claim 1: Tanaka discloses an image forming apparatus [Overview] comprising:
a plurality of image forming units each having a plurality of image forming sections, and an intermediate transfer body on which toner images formed by the plurality of image forming sections are primarily transferred, wherein each of the plurality of image forming sections comprises a photoconductor and a developing device [the print engine 201/301 has a configuration in which developing units 203/303 of four colors of Y (yellow), M (magenta), C (cyan), and K (black) are arranged in tandem. Toner images of the respective colors are formed by an electrophotographic method in the developing units 203,303 of the four colors, and the toner images of the four colors are transferred onto the intermediate transfer belt 205,305 in a superimposed manner, whereby a full-color toner image is formed, p0019];
a plurality of secondary transfer units that are provided corresponding to the plurality of the image forming units, and secondarily transfer the toner images of the intermediate transfer body to a recording medium [The full-color toner image on the intermediate transfer belt 205,305 is transferred onto a sheet by a transfer unit 207,307, p0019]; and
a processor [system control unit 500, p0038] configured to: in response to an instruction for adjusting misalignment of the toner images, execute a mode in which a first chart and a second chart are secondarily transferred the recording medium and output [the inspection chart to be printed by each print engine is a chart for inspecting the print position deviation between the print engines, and includes a mark indicating the same position on the page, and the color of the mark is different for each print engine … an inspection chart for misalignment inspection is printed on each of the A unit and the B unit, p0012, p0038 & p0047],
wherein the first chart comprises a plurality of amounts of misalignment between a toner image formed by a reference image forming section and the toner images formed by another image forming section respectively corresponding to a plurality of first adjustment values, for each image forming unit [In the 5C of the figure, still another example of a chart for positional deviation inspection is shown. This example is an inspection chart disclosed in Japanese Patent Application Laid-Open No. 109218 / 2001 … in the A-unit chart 710A, the positions in the vertical direction of the line segments 710B in the same row in the B-unit chart 711B are shifted stepwise … misregistration between the respective colors in the single print engine may be detected by separately printing a similar chart on the photosensitive drums of the respective colors, p0052 & p0055 – the Examiner notes that although an adjustment value is not explicitly stated, the chart is printed at stepwise intervals that are used to correspond misregistration. Therefore, some type corresponding adjustment value in reference to the formed images necessarily is present], and
wherein the second chart comprises a plurality of amounts of misalignment between toner images formed by reference image forming sections of the plurality of image forming units respectively corresponding to a plurality of second adjustment values [in the A-unit chart 710A, the positions in the vertical direction of the line segments 710B in the same row in the B-unit chart 711B are shifted stepwise … when there is a positional deviation in the vertical direction between the A unit and the B unit, the line segments 711A and 711B of the rows other than the central row overlap. Then, the amount of positional deviation in the vertical direction can be obtained depending on which line of the line segments overlaps. In addition, it is preferable that the line segment 711A and the line segment 711B have different colors, particularly, one of the line segment LA and the line segment LA is a chromatic color and the other is black [e.g., one is reference color and the other is the another color], in terms of identification. In addition, as the colors of the line segment 711A and the line segment 711B, it is preferable to use primary colors of printing, that is, any one of CMY for one and K for the other, p0053 – the Examiner notes that although an adjustment value is not explicitly stated, the chart is printed at stepwise intervals that are used to correspond misregistration. Therefore, some type corresponding adjustment value in reference to the formed images necessarily is present], and
receive an input of a first designated adjustment value, among the plurality of adjustment values, for adjusting misalignment for each image forming unit, and receive an input of a second designated adjustment value, among the plurality of second adjustment values, for adjusting misalignment between the image forming units [the amount of positional deviation [interpreted to mean value amount of adjustment needed] in the vertical direction can be obtained depending on which line of the line segments overlaps, p0053 & p0055 – the Examiner notes that the correctional process including the adjustment amount applied is enacted the same whether for a single printing unit or between different units as taught].
Tanaka does not appear to explicitly disclose printing the first chart onto a recording medium.
Kikuchi discloses in a well-known, related system from the same field of endeavor [Overview] printing a misalignment chart by the plurality of image forming sections for correction of misalignment between a toner images formed between each section where one section is utilized as the reference [in order to check the misregistration amount, the control unit 5 causes the printing unit 4 (engine control unit 40) to print a chart 8 including a yellow check image 8Y for grasping the misregistration amount between yellow and black, a cyan check image 8C for grasping the misregistration amount between cyan and black, and a magenta check image 8M for grasping the misregistration amount between magenta and black … a plurality of (in this example, 19) combinations of black lines (upper lines) extending in the main scanning direction and lines (lower lines) of another color (in this case, yellow) extending in the main scanning direction are arranged in the sub-scanning direction. Each combination is numbered [i.e., plurality of adjustment values], p0057-0058].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Tanaka the support for outputting the chart onto a recording medium as taught by Kikuchi in addition to the image forming units having been aligned with each other as taught by Tanaka.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention.
Claim 2: Tanaka in view of Kikuchi discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the mode, after the first chart is secondarily transferred to the recording medium and output to receive the input of the first designated adjustment value [the amount of positional deviation [interpreted to mean value amount of adjustment needed] in the vertical direction can be obtained depending on which line of the line segments overlaps, p0034, p0053 & p0055], the second chart is secondarily transferred to the recording medium and output to receive the input of the second designated adjustment value [the inspection chart to be printed by each print engine is a chart for inspecting the print position deviation between the print engines, and includes a mark indicating the same position on the page, and the color of the mark is different for each print engine … an inspection chart for misalignment inspection is printed on each of the A unit and the B unit, p0012, p0038 & p0047].
Tanaka does not appear to disclose wherein in the mode, after the first chart is secondarily transferred to the recording medium nor a particular order.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have recognized in the invention of Tanaka that the misregistration (positional deviation) correction can be accomplished in either order would produce equivalent results differing only in whether the forming units or the forming sections were adjusted first or second because the Applicant has not disclosed that a particular order provides a particular advantage or is exclusive in its purpose (see specification Figures 9 & 10).
Kikuchi discloses printing a first chart secondarily transferred to the recording medium and output to receive the input of the first designated adjustment value [in order to check the misregistration amount, the control unit 5 causes the printing unit 4 (engine control unit 40) to print a chart 8 including a yellow check image 8Y for grasping the misregistration amount between yellow and black, a cyan check image 8C for grasping the misregistration amount between cyan and black, and a magenta check image 8M for grasping the misregistration amount between magenta and black … a plurality of (in this example, 19) combinations of black lines (upper lines) extending in the main scanning direction and lines (lower lines) of another color (in this case, yellow) extending in the main scanning direction are arranged in the sub-scanning direction. Each combination is numbered [i.e., plurality of adjustment values], p0057-0058].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Tanaka the support wherein in the mode, after the first chart is secondarily transferred to the recording medium and output to receive the input of the first designated adjustment value as taught by Kikuchi because it would result in providing an improved rendered image having image forming sections being aligned with each other as taught by Kikuchi in further having the image forming units having been aligned with each other as taught by Tanaka
Claim 3: Tanaka in view of Kikuchi discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein in the mode, misalignment of the plurality of the image forming sections of each image forming unit is adjusted by using the first designated adjustment value, and misalignment of each of the plurality of image forming sections of the plurality of the image forming units is adjusted by using the second designated adjustment value [the amount of positional deviation [interpreted to mean value amount of adjustment needed] in the vertical direction can be obtained depending on which line of the line segments overlaps, p0034, p0053 & p0055 – the Examiner notes that the correctional process including the adjustment amount applied is enacted the same whether for a single printing unit or between different units as taught].
Claim 4: Tanaka in view of Kikuchi discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the mode, after the second chart is secondarily transferred to the recording medium and output to receive the input of the second designated adjustment value, the first chart is secondarily transferred to the recording medium and output to receive the input of the first designated adjustment value [the amount of positional deviation [interpreted to mean value amount of adjustment needed] in the vertical direction can be obtained depending on which line of the line segments overlaps, p0034, p0053 & p0055 – the Examiner notes that the correctional process including the adjustment amount applied is enacted the same whether for a single printing unit or between different units as taught].
Tanaka does not appear to disclose a particular order.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have recognized in the invention of Tanaka that the misregistration (positional deviation) correction can be accomplished in either order would produce equivalent results differing only in whether the forming units or the forming sections were adjusted first or second because the Applicant has not disclosed that a particular order provides a particular advantage or is exclusive in its purpose (see specification Figures 9 & 10).
Claim 5: Tanaka in view of Kikuchi discloses the image forming apparatus according to 4, wherein in the mode, misalignment between the reference image forming sections of the plurality of image forming units is adjusted by using the second designated adjustment value, and misalignment of another image forming section with respect to the reference image forming sections of the plurality of image forming units is adjusted by using the first designated adjustment value [in the A-unit chart 710A, the positions in the vertical direction of the line segments 710B in the same row in the B-unit chart 711B are shifted stepwise … when there is a positional deviation in the vertical direction between the A unit and the B unit, the line segments 711A and 711B of the rows other than the central row overlap. Then, the amount of positional deviation in the vertical direction [interpreted to mean value amount of adjustment needed] can be obtained depending on which line of the line segments overlaps. In addition, it is preferable that the line segment 711A and the line segment 711B have different colors, particularly, one of the line segment LA and the line segment LA is a chromatic color and the other is black [e.g., one is reference color and the other is the another color], in terms of identification. In addition, as the colors of the line segment 711A and the line segment 711B, it is preferable to use primary colors of printing, that is, any one of CMY for one and K for the other, p0034, p0053 & p0055 – the Examiner notes that the correctional process including the adjustment amount applied is enacted the same whether for a single printing unit or between different units as taught].
Claim 19: the program herein has been executed or performed by the apparatus of claim 1 and is therefore likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al., (JP Pub No. 2007137012) in view of Kikuchi et al., (JP Pub No. 2016102922) and in further view of Wong (US Pub No. 20080278757).
Claim 5: Tanaka in view of Kikuchi discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the mode, after the input of the first designated adjustment value and the input of the designated second adjustment value are received [the amount of positional deviation [interpreted to mean value amount of adjustment needed] in the vertical direction can be obtained depending on which line of the line segments overlaps, p0034, p0053 & p0055], the first chart and the second chart are formed again, secondarily transferred to the recording medium, and output.
Tanaka nor Kikuchi appear to disclose where the first chart and the second chart are formed again, secondarily transferred to the recording medium, and output.
Wong discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] where it is well-known, after executing an adjustment process, form the test chart again, secondarily transferred to the recording medium and output [At S204, the test image is sent to print engine 10 and is duplex printed on print media … At S206, an operator may examine the test image in hardcopy to evaluate whether modifications are needed to one or more geometric parameters for one or both sides of the sheet … At S208, if an adjustment to the geometric parameters is needed, the image edit tab 58 on the GUI 18 is selected and adjustments to one or more of the geometric parameters may be made … Steps S204, S206, and S208 may be repeated one or more times until the operator is satisfied with the selection of adjustments … e.g., a registration error, p0041-0044].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have explicitly included in Tanaka in view of Kikuchi the support for outputting the test chart on a recording medium after the adjustment has been made as taught by Wong because it permits the operator the ability to verify printing errors have been remedied especially in printing systems in tandem as discussed by Wong in at least paragraphs 0044-0045.
Claims 11-18: have been executed or performed by claim 10 and are therefore likewise rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, the Examiner found neither prior art cited in its entirety, nor based on the prior art of record, found any motivation to combine any of the said prior art that teaches “… in a case where there is an image forming section for which misalignment is not to be adjusted by reflecting the second adjustment value, the second adjustment value is divided and reflected in the plurality of the image forming units.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tanaka et al., JP Pub No. 2001109218, discloses correction of positional deviation utilizing a test pattern comprised of a plurality of lines in parallel, and a C(cyan) test pattern is obtained by arranging a plurality of patterns in a step state obtained by providing level differences in a direction orthogonally crossing with a K line in a direction in parallel with the K line.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARBARA D REINIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682