Priority
This U.S. patent application is a continuation of, and claims priority under 35 U.S.C. §120 from, U.S. Patent Application 17/310,732, filed on August 19, 2021, which is a national phase application of, and claims priority under 35 U.S.C. §371 from, international Application PCT/US2019/063334, filed on November 26, 2019, which claims priority under 35 U.S.C. §119(e) to U.S. 62/808,627, filed on February 21, 2019
Response to Amendment
No claims are amended. Claims 2, 8, 12 and 18 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been considered. Following is the response:
Claim Rejections Under35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant argues “The Examiner has alleged that Haque teaches obtaining a phoneme transcript characterizing the speech utterance in the second accent by citing Haque's statement that "[s]pectrograms remain the dominant acoustic representation for both phoneme and word level tasks since the high sampling rate and dimensionality of waveforms is difficult to model." See Office A ction, page 9. However, this passage merely describes the general capability of spectrograms as acoustic representations, it does not teach that Haque's method obtains or uses a phoneme transcript during training. Haque's model is trained using spectrograms conditioned on speaker identity, not phoneme transcripts. See Haque, Section 3, Experiments ("We condition our model on the source and target style. For the case of speech, style refers to the speaker.").” However, clearly based on above the phonetic transcription is obtained. Additionally, in 3.1 Haque teaches our model is able to capture the phonetic properties of each speaker. Haque clearly is based upon obtaining phoneme transcript.
Applicant further argues “Critically, the Examiner relies on Hirokazu to teach the without performing any speech recognition limitation, citing that Hirokazu's method "allows the direct conversion of a source speech feature sequence without relying on ASR modules." See Office A ction, page 10. However, Hirokazu explicitly teaches the opposite of the claimed training method. Specifically, Hirokazu states that "our model does not rely on ASR or TTS models and requires no text annotations for model training." See Hirokazu, Related Work (emphasis added). This creates an internal contradiction in the Examiner's proposed combination-the very reference relied upon to teach voice conversion "without speech recognition" explicitly teaches training without phoneme transcripts or text annotations, which directly contradicts the claimed training method that requires obtaining a phoneme transcript and training the voice conversion model using... the phoneme transcript.” However, what examiner is trying to relay here is that the idea of sequence to sequence model of Haque clearly means “without speech recognition” because that’s what these models do. They do the transfer without the speech recognition and Hirokazu explicitly says that in words which Haque inherently but does not say in those words. Additionally, if that’s true for Hirokazu, it is also true for applicant’s own invention since they are also using the sequence to sequence modeling for accent transfer. Where the invention uses the phoneme transcript is for synthesizing which is taught by Haque. There the two different process one for training and another for synthesizing the received utterance and they both are following different process and hence there is no contradiction in the combination.
Applicant argues “Dirac generally discloses a system for translating accents and outputting translated speech. See Dirac at Paragraph [0036]. Dirac fails, however, to cure the aforementioned deficiencies of Haque and Hirokazu because Dirac also fails to disclose or suggest training a voice conversion model by obtaining a phoneme transcript characterizing the speech utterance in the second accent and training the voice conversion model using the sequence of input audio frames and the phoneme transcript.” However, examiner relied on Dirac for receiving and encoding in the first accent and outputting in the second accent ( receiving an utterance in the first accent and outputting in a second accent, Fig 6; wherein the model is LSTM model for transformation hence using internal representation, Para 0034, 0049) and matching the cadence of the second accent from the first accent ( accent translation model 321 may include instructions for adjusting first accent pitch 201A to more closely resemble the second accent pitch 201B, adjusting the first accent tone 202A to more closely resemble the second accent tone 202B, adjusting the first accent stress 203A to more closely resemble the second accent stress 203B, adjusting the first accent melody 204A to more closely resemble the second accent melody 204B, and so on, Para 0029). And It would have been obvious having the teachings of style transfer model of Haque to specifically use for accent transfer as described in Dirac before effective filing date so that speaker can understand the conversation in their accents ( Para 0035, Dirac)
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 14 of US patent application 12300216 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17 and 19-20 , claims 1- 14 of US patent application 12300216 claims all the limitations set forth in the application claim 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17 and 19-20. Although the claims are not exactly same the patent application reads on the current application and has additional limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haque ( Conditional End-to-End Audio Transforms) and further in view of Dirac (US Pub: 20180174595) and further in view of Hirokazu ( Convs2S-Vc: Fully Convolutional Sequence-To-Sequence Voice Conversion)
Regarding claim 1, Haque teaches a computer-implemented method executed on data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising:
receiving a sequence of source audio frames characterizing an utterance spoken in a first accent( input spectrogram, Fig 1, Under 2.1 Encoder);
processing, using an encoder of a voice conversion model trained to convert any input spectrogram directly to another spectrogram without any intermediate symbolic representation ( clearly there is no symbolic representation- the model learns directly from the latent space -- small latent space to condition text in a sequence-to-sequence decoder (This implies the models are bypassing symbolic representations like phonetics by map speech directly into embedding in a latent space ) , the sequence of source audio frames to generate a sequence of source internal representations characterizing the utterance spoken in the first accent ( generate representation by the encoder using sequence to sequence model, Under 2.1 Encoder and Under 3. Experiments; here as can be seen there is no symbolic representation including textual representation and further there are latent features which are used, Fig 1; spectrogram transfer there is no speech recognition which is apparent from Fig 1-3);
modifying the sequence of source internal representations by adjusting a time duration of the source internal representations to match a target cadence associated with a second accent different than the first accent (( the desired output transformation similar to [13]. The context vector ci is produced by an attention mechanism [11]. Specifically, we define:
where attention αi,j is defined as the alignment between the current decoder time-slice i and a time-slice j from the encoder input. The score between the output of the encoder (i.e., hidden states), hj , and the previous state of the decoder cell, si−1 is computed with: ei,u = hφ(si), ϕ(hu)i where φ and ϕ are multi-layer perceptrons: ei,j = w T tanh(W si−1 + V hj + b) with learnable parameters w, W and V , Under 2.2 Decoder; further the transformation can be For all experiments, we focus on transformations on a word- or pitch-level., where cadence in speech is defined by the rise and fall of pitch, Under 3.1)
processing, using a decoder of the voice conversion model, the modified sequence of source internal representations to generate a sequence of target audio frames characterizing a synthesized speech representation of the utterance in[[ a]] the second accent without performing any speech recognition on the sequence of source audio frames ( style transfer using the decoder, Fig 1 and Fig 2); and
providing, for output by a computing device, the synthesized speech representation of the utterance in the second accent ( transformed waveform, Fig 2, Under 2 Decoder)
wherein the voice conversion model is trained by: receiving a sequence of input audio frames characterizing a speech utterance in the first accent data is conditioned on input-output types, Under Introduction; Speech examples from AudioSet were used to pre-train the model as an autoencoder. We condition our model on the source and target style. For the case of speech, style refers to the speaker, Under Experiments; wherein it can be applied to accent transfer, Under introduction);
obtaining encoder latent representations of the sequence of input audio frames characterizing the speech utterance in the first accent ( learning latent space for learning; we note that sequence to-sequence models are capable of encoding sentence level information in a small latent encoding vector, Under Experiments); obtaining a phoneme transcript characterizing the speech utterance in the second accent( Spectrograms remain the dominant acoustic representation for both phoneme and word level tasks since the high sampling rate and dimensionality of waveforms is difficult to model, Under Introduction ); and
training the voice conversion model using the sequence of input audio frames, and the phoneme transcript ( Spectrograms remain the dominant acoustic representation for both phoneme and wordlevel tasks since the high sampling rate and dimensionality of waveforms is difficult to model; spectrogram using input and output, Under Introduction ; Our model is able to capture fundamental phonetic properties of each speaker or instrument and apply these properties to novel words and pitches, Under 3.1)
Although Haque mentions accent transfer and the model can be applied in any of these scenarios it does not explicitly mentions that receiving and encoding in the first accent, however in the same field of endeavor Ryan teaches receiving and encoding in the first accent and outputting in the second accent
However Dirac teaches receiving and encoding in the first accent, however in the same field of endeavor Dirac teaches receiving and encoding in the first accent and outputting in the second accent ( receiving an utterance in the first accent and outputting in a second accent, Fig 6; wherein the model is LSTM model for transformation hence using internal representation, Para 0034, 0049) and matching the cadence of the second accent from the first accent ( accent translation model 321 may include instructions for adjusting first accent pitch 201A to more closely resemble the second accent pitch 201B, adjusting the first accent tone 202A to more closely resemble the second accent tone 202B, adjusting the first accent stress 203A to more closely resemble the second accent stress 203B, adjusting the first accent melody 204A to more closely resemble the second accent melody 204B, and so on, Para 0029)
It would have been obvious having the teachings of style transfer model of Haque to specifically use for accent transfer as described in Dirac before effective filing date so that speaker can understand the conversation in their accents ( Para 0035, Dirac)
Even though Haque process inherently showing the transfer which clearly does not require speech processing. Haque does not explicitly teach style transferring without performing any speech recognition
Hirokazu teaches the concept of transferring style transferring without performing any speech recognition ( a voice conversion method based on fully convolutional sequence-to-sequence (seq2seq) learning. The present method, which we call “ConvS2S-VC”; it allows the direct conversion of a source speech feature sequence without relying on ASR modules and requires no text annotations for model training, thanks to our newly introduced idea of context preservation loss, Under abstract and Related word, Fig 1)
It would have been obvious for Haque system to not perform a speech recognition since that’s what the seq2seq general model do so the context is preserved ( Related work, Hirokazu)
Regarding claim 3, Haque as above in claim 1,teaches wherein the sequence of source audio frames comprises a sequence of input spectrograms ( spectrogram, Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 4, Haque as above in claim 1, teaches wherein the sequence of target audio frames comprises a sequence of output spectrograms ( fig 1-2)
Regarding claim 5, Haque modified by Dirac as above in claim 1, teaches wherein a cadence of the utterance spoken in the first accent is different than a cadence of the synthesized speech representation of the utterance in the second accent ( accent change wherein its known in the art that accent changes can influence the cadence, Further Dirac mention changes in pitch, stress etc., Para 0028-0029)
Regarding claim 6, Haque as above in claim 1, teaches wherein the encoder comprises a bidirectional long short-term memory (LSTM) layer ( LSTM, Under 2 Encoder)
Regarding claim 7, Haque as above in claim 1, teaches , wherein the decoder comprises a spectrogram decoder with attention ( attention, Under 2 Decoder)
Regarding claim 9, Haque as above in claim 1, teaches wherein the operations further comprise bypassing obtaining a transcription of the utterance ( Fig 1-3- as can be seen the there is a spectrogram transfer for the utterance and no transcription was obtained)
Regarding claim 10, Haque as above in claim 1, teaches , wherein the speech conversion model is configured to adjust a time period between each term in the utterance spoken in the first accent ( the desired output transformation similar to [13]. The context vector ci is produced by an attention mechanism [11]. Specifically, we define:
where attention αi,j is defined as the alignment between the current decoder time-slice i and a time-slice j from the encoder input. The score between the output of the encoder (i.e., hidden states), hj , and the previous state of the decoder cell, si−1 is computed with: ei,u = hφ(si), ϕ(hu)i where φ and ϕ are multi-layer perceptrons: ei,j = w T tanh(W si−1 + V hj + b) with learnable parameters w, W and V , Under 2.2 Decoder; further Ryan teaches adjusting time when conditioned for the prosody where prosody is related to the accents)
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to claim 1, are applicable.
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to claim 2, are applicable.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to claim 3, are applicable.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to claim 4, are applicable.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to claim 5, are applicable.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to claim 6, are applicable.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to claim 7, are applicable.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to claim 9, are applicable.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to claim 10, are applicable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Policy Driven Generative Adversarial Networks For Accented Speech Generation mentions transfer learning We passed batches of 64 samples each from the VCTK dataset into the auto-encoder and then changed the accent being conditioned for. We computed the true L1 loss between the sample generated by accent transfer via both AccentGAN and one ablation of this model, ConditionedGAN.
Rhythm-Flexible Voice Conversion Without Parallel Data Using Cycle-Gan Over Phoneme Posteriorgram Sequences proposes an approach utilizing sequence-to-sequence model trained with unsupervised Cycle-GAN to perform the transformation between the phoneme posteriorgram sequences for different speakers.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Richa Sonifrank/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654