DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In light of the amendments, claims 1, 12, and 20 are objected to.
In light of the amendments, the previous 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
In light of the amendments, claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
In light of the amendments, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
In light of the amendments, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Notice to Applicant
In the amendment dated 12/12/2025, the following has occurred: claims 1, 9-10, 12, 17, and 20 have been amended; claims 2-8, 11, 13-16, and 18-19 remain unchanged; and no new claims have been added.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Effective Filing Date: 03/31/2022
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejection:
Applicant has overcome the 112(b) issue. Examiner withdraws the previous 112(b) claim rejection.
35 U.S.C. 101 Rejections:
Applicant argues that the amended claims includes a physical notification output in the form of either an audio alert or haptic feedback. Though this limitation (the one which includes audible and haptic feedback) is indeed an additional element, this limitation does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The feedback being provided on a device is extra-solution activity that is well-known as shown in the Madau et al. reference (U.S. 2013/0097557).
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections:
Applicant argues with respect to the amended claim limitations. These amendments were further addressed using additional art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites that there is modifying in response to the healthcare assessment. Examiner is unsure if this actually is modification in response to the reception of the healthcare assessment or if there is something else about the healthcare assessment which is being factored in. Accordingly, the claim has been deemed unclear and indefinite. Examiner is interpreting that the modifying is in response to receiving this assessment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-11 are drawn to a method, claims 12-19 are drawn to a system, and claim 20 is drawn to a system, each of which is within the four statutory categories. Claims 1-20 are further directed to an abstract idea on the grounds set out in detail below. As discussed below, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A:
Prong One:
Claim 1 recites a computer-implemented method comprising:
1) receiving, by a) a processor, first use data associated with use of at least one wearable device by a user, wherein the first use data comprises data generated from one or more sensors of the at least one wearable device;
2) computing, by a) the processor, a first use metric associated with the user based on the first use data;
3) comparing the first use metric to a first threshold metric;
4) based on the comparing, updating a user score by a first score amount;
5) computing a second score amount and a second threshold metric;
6) providing, by a) the processor, a first indication of the user score, the second threshold metric, and the second score amount on b) a display device;
7) responsive to the comparing, generating an alert and causing a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration; and
8) computing a risk of disengagement for the user,
9) generating an additional challenge based on the risk of disengagement, and
10) increasing the user score upon completion of the additional challenge by the user.
Claim 1 recites, in part, performing the steps of 1) receiving first use data associated with use of at least one wearable device by a user, wherein the first use data comprises data generated from one or more sensors of the at least one wearable device, 2) computing a first use metric associated with the user based on the first use data, 3) comparing the first use metric to a first threshold metric, 4) based on the comparing, updating a user score by a first score amount, 5) computing a second score amount and a second threshold metric, 6) providing a first indication of the user score, the second threshold metric, and the second score amount, 7) responsive to the comparing, generating an alert, 8) computing a risk of disengagement for the user, 9) generating an additional challenge based on the risk of disengagement, and 10) increasing the user score upon completion of the additional challenge by the user. These steps correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, more particularly, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions). For example, the claim describes how to analyze patient metrics and alerting the patient if a threshold is met. Independent claim 12 recites similar limitations and is also directed to an abstract idea under the same analysis.
Claim 1 also recites, in part, performing the steps of 2) computing a first use metric associated with the user based on the first use data, 3) comparing the first use metric to a first threshold metric, 4) based on the comparing, updating a user score by a first score amount, 5) computing a second score amount and a second threshold metric, 8) computing a risk of disengagement for the user, and 10) increasing the user score upon completion of the additional challenge by the user. These steps correspond to Mathematical Concepts.
Claim 20 recites a wearable monitoring system comprising:
c) at least one wearable device comprising one or more sensors; and
d) a computing device comprising a) a processor, e) a memory, and b) a display device, wherein the processor is configured to:
11) receive sensor data and use data, the sensor data and the use data associated with use of the at least one wearable device by a user, wherein the sensor data and the use data comprise data generated from the one or more sensors of the at least one wearable device;
12) generate monitoring data, the monitoring data generated from monitoring the sensor data and the use data of the at least one wearable device of the user;
13) compare a numeric value of a day of a specified period to a numeric value of a predefined day of the specified period;
14) compute a use metric based on the sensor data or the use data or a monitoring metric based on the monitoring data, if the numeric value of the day of the specified period is greater than or equal to the numeric value of the predefined day of the specified period;
15) compare the use metric or the monitoring metric to a threshold metric;
16) determine whether the use metric or the monitoring metric satisfies a threshold requirement of the threshold metric;
17) generate an alert on the display device if the use metric or the monitoring metric does not satisfy the threshold requirement;
18) cause a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration; and
19) compute a risk of disengagement for the user,
20) generate an additional challenge based on the risk of disengagement, and
21) increase the user score upon completion of the additional challenge by the user.
Claim 20 recites, in part, performing the steps of 11) receive sensor data and use data, the sensor data and the use data associated with use of the at least one wearable device by a user, wherein the sensor data and the use data comprise data generated from the one or more sensors of the at least one wearable device, 12) generate monitoring data, the monitoring data generated from monitoring the sensor data and the use data of the at least one wearable device of the user, 13) compare a numeric value of a day of a specified period to a numeric value of a predefined day of the specified period, 14) compute a use metric based on the sensor data or the use data or a monitoring metric based on the monitoring data, if the numeric value of the day of the specified period is greater than or equal to the numeric value of the predefined day of the specified period, 15) compare the use metric or the monitoring metric to a threshold metric, 16) determine whether the use metric or the monitoring metric satisfies a threshold requirement of the threshold metric, 17) generate an alert if the use metric or the monitoring metric does not satisfy the threshold requirement, 18) cause c) a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration, 19) compute a risk of disengagement for the user, 20) generate an additional challenge based on the risk of disengagement, and 21) increase the user score upon completion of the additional challenge by the user. These steps correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, more particularly, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions). For example, the claim describes how to analyze patient metrics and alerting the patient if a threshold is met.
Claim 20 also recites, in part, performing the steps of 14) compute a use metric based on the sensor data or the use data or a monitoring metric based on the monitoring data, if the numeric value of the day of the specified period is greater than or equal to the numeric value of the predefined day of the specified period, 15) compare the use metric or the monitoring metric to a threshold metric, 16) determine whether the use metric or the monitoring metric satisfies a threshold requirement of the threshold metric, 19) compute a risk of disengagement for the user, and 21) increase the user score upon completion of the additional challenge by the user. These steps correspond to Mathematical Concepts.
Depending claims 2-11 and 13-19 include all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12, and therefore likewise incorporate the above described abstract idea. Depending claims 2 and 13 add the additional steps of “receiving, by the processor, second use data generated by use of the at least one wearable device following receipt of the first indication”, “computing, by the processor, a second use metric associated with the user based on the second data”, “comparing the second use metric to the second threshold metric”, and “when the second use metric satisfies the second threshold metric, updating the user score by the second score amount”; claims 3 and 14 add the additional step of “modifying, by the processor, the second threshold metric in response to computing the second use metric”; claim 4 adds the additional step of “modifying, by the processor, the second threshold metric based on multiple use metrics associated with multiple users”; claim 5 adds the additional step of “modifying, by the processor, the second threshold metric comprises using a machine learning model”; claim 6 adds the additional step of “providing to the user, by the processor, a second indication on the display device, wherein the second indication is based on the second use metric and the second threshold metric as modified”; and claim 10 adds the additional steps of “receiving, by the processor, a healthcare assessment for the user for a time period associated with use of the at least one wearable device” and “modifying, by the processor, the second threshold metric in response to the input and based on at least one of the first use metric and the second use metric”. Additionally, the limitations of depending claims 7-9, 11, and 15-19 further specify elements from the claims from which they depend on without adding any additional steps. These additional limitations only further serve to limit the abstract idea. Thus, depending claims 2-11 and 13-19 are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 1 and 12 (Step 2A (Prong One): YES).
Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of – using c) at least one wearable device comprising one or more sensors and d) a computing device comprising a) a processor, e) a memory, and b) a display device to perform the claimed steps.
The claims also include the additional elements steps of 7) “responsive to the comparing, causing a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration” and 18) “cause a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration.”
The d) computing device comprising a) a processor, e) a memory, and b) a display device in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic components performing generic computer functions) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (see: Applicant’s specification, paragraph [0062] where there is a general purpose programmable device, see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the c) at least one wearable device comprising one or more sensors in these steps adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea which amounts to mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Lastly, the additional element steps of 7) “responsive to the comparing, causing a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration” and 18) “cause a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration” add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea which amounts to insignificant application, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A (Prong Two): NO).
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using c) at least one wearable device comprising one or more sensors and d) a computing device comprising a) a processor, e) a memory, and b) a display device to perform the claimed steps and the additional element steps of 7) “responsive to the comparing, causing a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration” and 18) “cause a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration” amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of WURC activity (well-understood, routine, and conventional activity) and mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components that do not offer “significantly more” than the abstract idea itself because the claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of any computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. It should be noted that the claims do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the Specification recites mere generic computer components, as discussed above that are being used to apply certain method steps of organizing human activity. Specifically, MPEP 2106.05(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f) recite that the following limitations are not significantly more:
Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)); and
Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
The current invention provides indications and alerts utilizing d) a computing device comprising a) a processor, e) a memory, and b) a display device, thus these computing components are adding the words “apply it” with mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Additionally, the c) at least one wearable device comprising one or more sensors in these steps add insignificant extra-solution activity/pre-solution activity in the form of WURC activity to the abstract idea. The following is an example of a court decision demonstrating computer functions as well-understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II): Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g. see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec – similarly, the current invention receives sensor data, and transmits the data to a device over a network, for example the Internet.
Lastly, the following State of the Art Publication demonstrates the well-understood, routine, and conventional nature of the additional elements: 7) “responsive to the comparing, causing a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration” and 18) “cause a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration”, e.g. see paragraph [0049] of U.S. 2013/0097557 to Madau et al. which causing an emission of an alert via audio or haptic feedback which is well-known.
Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components or insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of WURC activity cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible (Step 2B: NO).
Claims 1-20 are therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-14, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2014/0067494 to Squires in view of U.S. 2014/0129008 to Utter, II and further in view of U.S. 2022/0401739 to Srivastava et al.
As per claim 1, Squires teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
--receiving, by a processor, first use data associated with use of at least one wearable device by a user, wherein the first use data comprises data generated from one or more sensors of the at least one wearable device; (see: paragraphs [0041] – [0042] where at step 504 there is receiving of wearable motion data by a processor. This received motion data is associated with use of the wearable by a user)
--computing, by the processor, a first use metric associated with the user based on the first use data; (see: paragraph [0021] where stride, jogging, etc. (use metric) is being computed/determined from motion information (first use data))
--comparing the first use metric to a first threshold metric; (see: paragraph [0045] where a use metric (activity such as stride, jogging, etc. from paragraph [0021]) is being compared with a threshold metric (a target))
--based on the comparing, updating a user score by a first score amount; (see: paragraph [0045] where a user is provided a reward (a first score amount for a total score) for meeting a target. Based upon the comparison between a target and the activity determination, a total point score for the user is being updated as points are a reward as explained in paragraph [0015]) and
--computing a second score amount and a second threshold metric; (see: paragraph [0038] where there are rewards (score amounts) which accompany target activity levels (threshold metrics). A second reward (score amount) is being computed here based on the weighting of an activity (second threshold metric) for users with a lower activity level).
Squires may not further, specifically teach:
1) --providing, by the processor, a first indication of the user score, the second threshold metric, and the second score amount on a display device;
2) --responsive to the comparing, generating an alert and causing a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration; and
3) --computing a risk of disengagement for the user, generating an additional challenge based on the risk of disengagement and increasing the user score upon completion of the additional challenge by the user.
Utter, II teaches:
1) --providing, by the processor, a first indication of the user score, (see: paragraph [0076] where there is display of a current daily score) the second threshold metric, (see: paragraph [0076] where there is display of a daily goal) and the second score amount on a display device; (see: paragraph [0073] where there is a display of the points for certain activities) and
2) --responsive to the comparing, generating an alert and causing a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration (see: paragraphs [0045] and [0106] where there is a vibrational alert being generated responsive to a comparison between the total point value and threshold goal value).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 1) provide, by the processor, a first indication of the user score, the second threshold metric, and the second score amount on a display device and 2) responsive to the comparing, generating an alert and causing a user interface module to emit at least one of an audible alert and a haptic vibration as taught by Utter, II in the method as taught by Squires with the motivation(s) of improving a user’s health (see: paragraph [0037] of Utter, II).
Srivastava et al. teaches:
3) --computing a risk of disengagement for the user, (see: paragraph [0141] where there is a determination of an increased engagement, thus there is a computed risk of disengagement for the user) generating an additional challenge based on the risk of disengagement (see: paragraph [0141] where there is generation of an additional challenge/pain-free activity based on the engagement) and increasing the user score upon completion of the additional challenge by the user (see: paragraphs [0015] and [0176] where there is a calculated activity score).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 3) compute a risk of disengagement for the user, generating an additional challenge based on the risk of disengagement and increasing the user score upon completion of the additional challenge by the user as taught by Srivastava et al. in the method as taught by Squires and Bastide et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of improving patient outcomes (see: paragraph [0102] of Srivastava et al.).
As per claim 2, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Squires further teaches:
--receiving, by the processor, second use data generated by use of the at least one wearable device following receipt of the first indication; (see: paragraphs [0041] – [0042] where at step 504 there is receiving of wearable motion data by a processor. This is done in real-time thus it can be considered as a second use data as well after a goal is met)
--computing, by the processor, a second use metric associated with the user based on the second data; (see: paragraph [0021] where stride, jogging, etc. (use metric) is being computed/determined from motion information (second use data)
--comparing the second use metric to the second threshold metric; (see: paragraph [0045] where a use metric (activity such as stride, jogging, etc. from paragraph [0021]) is being compared with a threshold metric (another/second target)) and
--when the second use metric satisfies the second threshold metric, updating the user score by the second score amount (see: paragraph [0045] where a user is provided a reward (a second score amount for a total score) for meeting a target. Based upon the comparison between a target and the activity determination, a total point score for the user is being updated as points are a reward as explained in paragraph [0015]).
As per claim 3, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. Squires further teaches modifying, by the processor, the second threshold metric in response to computing the second use metric (see: paragraph [0046] where a new activity target (threshold metric) is being determined based on current activity level (second use metric)).
As per claim 5, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 3, see discussion of claim 3. Squires further teaches modifying, by the processor, the second threshold metric comprises using a machine learning model (see: paragraph [0059] where activity levels (threshold metrics) are being determined using a machine learning algorithm).
As per claim 8, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Squires further teaches wherein the second threshold metric includes one of a health metric and a user-specific criterion (see: paragraph [0038] where there are rewards which accompany target activity levels (threshold metrics). The target activity levels here are a user-specific criterion).
As per claim 9, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Srivastava et al. further teaches wherein the computing the second threshold metric is based on the risk of disengagement (see: paragraphs [0136] and [0156] where there is such a computation).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 10, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Squires further teaches:
--receiving, by the processor, a healthcare assessment for the user for a time period associated with use of the at least one wearable device; (see: paragraph [0021] where there is reception of a healthcare assessment for a period of time in the form of received measures of motion) and
--modifying, by the processor, the second threshold metric in response to the healthcare assessment and based on at least one of the first use metric and the second use metric (see: paragraph [0046] where a new activity target (threshold metric) is being determined based on current activity level (second use metric)).
As per claim 11, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Squires further teaches wherein the first use data indicates one or more of a duration of wear of the at least one wearable device by the user, a number of consecutive or non-consecutive days of use of the at least one wearable device by the user, a duration of wear of the at least one wearable device by the user within a predetermined time interval, a response of the user to one or more alerts provided by the at least one wearable device, a response of the user to one or more indications provided by the processor, an activity level of the user, an interaction level of the user with a digital platform associated with the at least one wearable device, a use level of a wireless charger for the at least one wearable device by the user, and a care level of the at least one wearable device by the user (see: paragraph [0058] where the use data indicates an activity level of a user).
As per claim 12, claim 12 is similar to claim 1 and is also rejected in a similar manner to claim 1. Squires further teaches a wearable monitoring system comprising:
--at least one wearable device comprising one or more sensors; (see: paragraph [0029] where there is a wearable) and
--a computing device comprising a processor, a memory, and a display device (see: 104 of FIG. 1 and paragraph [0022] where there is a control component which is maintained remotely and is on one or more servers. The above components are present).
As per claim 13, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 12, see discussion of claim 12. Squires further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
--receive second use data generated by use of the at least one wearable device following receipt of the first indication; (see: paragraphs [0041] – [0042] where at step 504 there is receiving of wearable motion data by a processor. This is done in real-time thus it can be considered as a second use data as well after a goal is met)
--compute a second use metric associated with the user based on the second data; (see: paragraph [0021] where stride, jogging, etc. (use metric) is being computed/determined from motion information (second use data)
--compare the second use metric to the second threshold metric; (see: paragraph [0045] where a use metric (activity such as stride, jogging, etc. from paragraph [0021]) is being compared with a threshold metric (another/second target)) and
--when the second use metric satisfies the second threshold metric, update the user score by the second score amount (see: paragraph [0045] where a user is provided a reward (a second score amount for a total score) for meeting a target. Based upon the comparison between a target and the activity determination, a total point score for the user is being updated as points are a reward as explained in paragraph [0015]).
As per claim 14, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 13, see discussion of claim 13. Squires further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to modify the second threshold metric in response to computing the second use metric (see: paragraph [0046] where a new activity target (threshold metric) is being determined based on current activity level (second use metric)).
As per claim 17, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 12, see discussion of claim 12. Srivastava et al. further teaches wherein the computing the second threshold metric is based on the risk of disengagement (see: paragraphs [0136] and [0156] where there is such a computation).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 12, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 19, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 12, see discussion of claim 12. Squires further teaches wherein the one or more sensors of the at least one wearable device includes at least one of a force sensor and a temperature sensor (see: paragraph [0028] where there is an accelerometer which is a type of force sensor).
As per claim 20, claim 12 is similar to claim 1 and is also rejected in a similar manner to claim 1. Squires further teaches a wearable monitoring system comprising:
--at least one wearable device comprising one or more sensors; (see: paragraph [0029] where there is a wearable) and
--a computing device comprising a processor, a memory, and a display device, (see: 104 of FIG. 1 and paragraph [0022] where there is a control component which is maintained remotely and is on one or more servers. The above components are present) wherein the processor is configured to:
--compare a numeric value of a day of a specified period to a numeric value of a predefined day of the specified period; (see: paragraph [0058] where there is a comparison with known behavior data)
--compute a use metric based on the sensor data or the use data or a monitoring metric based on the monitoring data, (see: paragraph [0021] where stride, jogging, etc. (use metric) is being computed/determined from motion information (sensor data)) if the numeric value of the day of the specified period is greater than or equal to the numeric value of the predefined day of the specified period; (see: paragraphs [0029] and [0030] where there is factoring in of time or time elapsed for a given period of time. Also see: paragraph [0058] where there is a comparison with known behavior data)
--compare the use metric or the monitoring metric to a threshold metric; (see: paragraph [0032] where there is a determination of inactivity based on a comparison between a threshold (threshold requirement of a threshold metric) and a metric (the activity))
--determine whether the use metric or the monitoring metric satisfies a threshold requirement of the threshold metric; (see: paragraph [0032] where there is a determination of inactivity using a threshold (threshold requirement of a threshold metric) and then an alert is being generated) and
--generate an alert on the display device if the use metric or the monitoring metric does not satisfy the threshold requirement (see: paragraph [0032] where there is generation of an alert using a use metric when a threshold requirement is not satisfied).
Utter, II further teaches:
--generate monitoring data, the monitoring data generated from monitoring the sensor data and the use data of the at least one wearable device of the user (see: paragraph [0004] where there is generating of such data).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
Claims 4, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2014/0067494 to Squires in view of U.S. 2014/0129008 to Utter, II further in view of U.S. 2022/0401739 to Srivastava et al. as applied to claims 2, 3, and 13, and further in view of U.S. 20140032234 to Anderson et al.
As per claim 4, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. The combination may not further, specifically teach modifying, by the processor, the second threshold metric based on multiple use metrics associated with multiple users.
Anderson et al. teaches:
--modifying, by the processor, the second threshold metric based on multiple use metrics associated with multiple users (see: paragraph [0046] where a plurality of users information are being used to affect use metrics).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify, by the processor, the second threshold metric based on multiple use metrics associated with multiple users as taught by Anderson in the method as taught by Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of promoting real-world physical behavior changes (see: paragraph [0004] of Anderson).
As per claim 6, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 3, see discussion of claim 3. The combination may not further, specifically teach providing to the user, by the processor, a second indication on the display device, wherein the second indication is based on the second use metric and the second threshold metric as modified.
Anderson et al. teaches:
--providing to the user, by the processor, a second indication on the display device, wherein the second indication is based on the second use metric and the second threshold metric as modified (see: paragraph [0021] where there is display of health and wellness goals established by or for the user and the user’s progress towards those goals. There is also displaying of an incentive reward, a goal weight, a certain amount of exercise desired to engage in over a period of time, etc. A processor here is providing an indication on a display which is based on a second use metric (the usage of the wearable device) and a second threshold metric (the goal) as modified (rejection of claim 3 teaches of a modified metric)).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide to the user, by the processor, a second indication on the display device, wherein the second indication is based on the second use metric and the second threshold metric as modified as taught by Anderson in the method as taught by Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of promoting real-world physical behavior changes (see: paragraph [0004] of Anderson).
As per claim 18, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 13, see discussion of claim 13. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein the first indication includes at least one of the first use metric, and the second use metric (see: paragraph [0021] where there is display of health and wellness goals established by or for the user and the user’s progress towards those goals. There is also displaying of an incentive reward, a goal weight, a certain amount of exercise desired to engage in over a period of time, etc. Distance information is also being displayed. There is a first indication here and it includes at least a use metric (distance)).
Anderson et al. teaches:
--wherein the first indication includes at least one of the first use metric, and the second use metric (see: paragraph [0021] where there is display of health and wellness goals established by or for the user and the user’s progress towards those goals. There is also displaying of an incentive reward, a goal weight, a certain amount of exercise desired to engage in over a period of time, etc. Distance information is also being displayed. There is a first indication here and it includes at least a use metric (distance)).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein the first indication includes at least one of the first use metric, and the second use metric as modified as taught by Anderson in the method as taught by Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of promoting real-world physical behavior changes (see: paragraph [0004] of Anderson).
Claims 7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2014/0067494 to Squires in view of U.S. 2014/0129008 to Utter, II further in view of U.S. 2022/0401739 to Srivastava et al. as applied to claims 1 and 12, and further in view of U.S. 2018/0249945 to Najafi et al.
As per claim 7, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the method of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein the first threshold metric and the second threshold metric are calibrated to reduce risk factors associated with development of a diabetic foot ulcer.
Najafi et al. teaches:
--wherein the first threshold metric and the second threshold metric are calibrated to reduce risk factors associated with development of a diabetic foot ulcer (see: paragraph [0094] where metrics are being provided to reduce the risk of pressure ulcers).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein the first threshold metric and the second threshold metric are calibrated to reduce risk factors associated with development of a diabetic foot ulcer as taught by Najafi et al. in the method as taught by Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of providing feedback to the user for improving adherence to treatment (see: paragraph [0029] of Najafi et al.).
As per claim 15, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 12, see discussion of claim 12. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein the at least one wearable device is a sensorized insole.
Najafi et al. teaches:
--wherein the at least one wearable device is a sensorized insole (see: paragraph [009] where there is a smart textile insole).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute wherein the at least one wearable device is a sensorized insole as taught by Najafi et al. for the wearable device as disclosed by Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, the combination of Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. teaches of using wearables thus one can replace that wearable and use another wearable and achieve predictable results of using a wearable to collect data. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
As per claim 16, Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination teaches the system of claim 12, see discussion of claim 12. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein the first threshold metric and the second threshold metric are calibrated to reduce risk factors associated with development of a diabetic foot ulcer.
Najafi et al. teaches:
--wherein the first threshold metric and the second threshold metric are calibrated to reduce risk factors associated with development of a diabetic foot ulcer (see: paragraph [0094] where metrics are being provided to reduce the risk of pressure ulcers).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein the first threshold metric and the second threshold metric are calibrated to reduce risk factors associated with development of a diabetic foot ulcer as taught by Najafi et al. in the system as taught by Squires, Utter, II, and Srivastava et al. in combination with the motivation(s) of providing feedback to the user for improving adherence to treatment (see: paragraph [0029] of Najafi et al.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN G.S. SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684