DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on December 2, 2025 is acknowledged. As claims 12-16 have been cancelled, the restriction requirement filed November 20, 2025 no longer applies to this application and is withdrawn. The resulting claims pending for examination are claims 1-11.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 23, 2023 and April 30, 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Minami, et al. (US 2017/0309950 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Minami teaches a negative electrode for a secondary battery including negative electrode active material particles (lithium silicate composite oxide particles) including a lithium silicate, silicon particles, and a metallic compound (¶ [0008], Ln. 1-7). Minami teaches that the lithium silicate phase is preferably composed mainly of Li2SiO3 or Li2Si2O5 in terms of stability, manufacturability, and lithium ion conductivity (¶ [00312], Ln. 6-9), specifically teaching negative electrode active material particles including Li2SiO3, Si, and ZrO2 in Example 1 (¶ [0056], Ln. 1-6). As Example 1 teaches negative electrode active material particles including Li2SiO3, Si, and ZrO2 without the addition of Li2Si2O5, the phase fraction ratio of I(225)/I(213), wherein I(225) is the phase fraction of Li2Si2O5 and I(213) is the phase fraction of Li2SiO3, meets the limitation of 1.0 or less.
Minami further teaches that the negative electrode active material particles of Example 1 are passed through a 4.0 µm mesh sieve prior to coating with carbon, and the average particle size is adjusted to 5 µm with a sieve after coating with carbon (¶ [0056], Ln. 11-18). Thus, the negative electrode active material particles of Example 1 do not include particles having a diameter of less than 3 µm, meeting the limitation of having a content of particles having a diameter of less than 3 µm of 5 vol% or less.
Regarding claims 3-4, Minami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the Si, Li2SiO3, and ZrO2 of Example 1 are mixed at a mass ratio of 42:58:1 (¶ [0056], Ln. 1-6). Therefore, the content of a lithium element contained in the negative electrode active material particles is approximately 8.9% by weight, within the claimed range of 2-10 wt% and 4-9 wt%.
Regarding claim 5, Minami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the average particle size of the negative electrode active material particles is adjusted to be 5 µm using a sieve (¶ [0056], Ln. 18-19). Minami teaches that the average particle size is the particle size at which the integrated volume is 50% in the particle size distribution (D50) (¶ [0040], Ln. 1-10).
Regarding claims 6-7, Minami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the negative electrode active material particle includes an electrically conductive layer on its surface (¶ [0045], Ln. 1-3). Minami teaches that the electrically conductive agent of the electrically conductive layer is preferably carbon, specifically carbon black, acetylene black, ketjen black, or graphite (¶ [0045], Ln. 10-20). In Example 1, the negative electrode active material particles are mixed with coal pitch and heated to form a carbon covering (amorphous carbon including soft carbon) (¶ [0056], Ln. 11-17).
Regarding claim 9, Minami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the negative electrode may include another active material in addition to the negative electrode active material particles, teaching that the other active material is preferably a carbonaceous negative electrode active material such as graphite (¶ [0029], Ln. 9-16). Bulk graphite is included in the negative electrode of Example 1 (graphite-based particles including at least one of natural and artificial graphite) (¶ [0059], Ln. 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Minami teaches all of the limitations of claim 9 above and further teaches that the negative electrode active material particles (lithium silicate composite oxide particles), bulk graphite powder, CMC, and SBR, are included in the negative electrode in a mass ratio of 30:70:1:1 in the negative electrode of Example 1, resulting in a content of negative electrode active material particles of 30 wt% based on the total weight of the negative electrode active material particles and bulk graphite powder, within the claimed range of 5-40 wt% (¶ [0059], Ln. 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, Minami teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery including the negative electrode meeting the limitations of claim 1 above, a positive electrode, and a separator disposed between the positive electrode and negative electrode (anode facing the cathode) (¶ [0018], Ln. 1-6). Minami teaches that the positive electrode is a layered lithium composite oxide (lithium secondary battery) (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minami, et al. (US 2017/0309950 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirose, et al. (US 11,005,095 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Minami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, teaching that the lithium silicate phase is preferably composed mainly of Li2SiO3 or Li2Si2O5 in terms of stability, manufacturability, and lithium ion conductivity (¶ [00312], Ln. 6-9). Minami does not expressly teach an embodiment in which both Li2SiO3 and Li2Si2O5 are included in the negative electrode active material particles, such that the phase fraction ratio I(225)/I(213) is 0.05-0.8.
Hirose teaches a negative electrode active material including a negative electrode active material particle including a silicon compound particle (Col. 7, Ln. 29-31). The silicon compound particle includes crystalline Li2Si2O5 as the main Li silicate, and Li2SiO3 and Li4SiO4 are also present in the bulk of the silicon compound particle (Col. 10, Ln. 19-24). Hirose teaches that Li2Si2O5 has a higher water resistance than both Li2SiO3 and Li4SiO4, and the presence of Li2Si2O5 improves the water resistance and thus increases the slurry stability (Col. 7, Ln. 53-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the lithium silicate phase of Minami to include both Li2SiO3 and Li2Si2O5-, based on the teachings of Hirose. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include Li2Si2O5- in addition to Li2SiO3 in the negative electrode active material particles of Example 1 in order to improve the water resistance and therefore increase the stability of the slurry. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include Li2Si2O5- with reasonable expectation of success, as Li2Si2O5- is already taught as a by Minami to include in the lithium silicate phase. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include small amounts of Li2Si2O5 in the negative electrode active material particle of Minami-, such that the lithium silicate phase is still composed mainly of Li2SiO3. In including Li2Si2O5 in an amount such that the lithium silicate phase is still composed mainly of Li2SiO3, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an amount such that the resulting phase fraction ratio I(225)/I(213) is within the claimed range of 0.05-0.8.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minami, et al. (US 2017/0309950 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Tsukigata, et al. (US 2024/0274803 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Minami teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 above and further teaches that the electrically conductive layer preferably has a thickness in the range of 1-200 nm, forming a layer thick enough to impart electrical conductivity and cover the base particle, and thin enough to allow diffusion of lithium ions into the base particle (¶ [0047], Ln. 1-11). Minami does not expressly teach that the content of the amorphous carbon is in a range of 1-25 wt% based on a total weight of the negative electrode active material particle.
Tsukigata teaches a negative electrode active material including silicon monoxide particles covered with carbon coating and doped with lithium (¶ [0064], Ln. 1-4), further teaching that the lithium doping is performed such that the lithium is present as Li2SiO3 (¶ [0082], Ln. 12-13). Tsukigata teaches that the carbon coating is preferably 1.0-5.0 mass% relative to an entirety of the coated particle (¶ [0081], Ln. 1-3). Tsukigata teaches that this range ensures sufficient conductivity without being excessive, such that charge and discharge capacities are achieved (¶ [0081], Ln. 6-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrically conductive layer of Minami to be included in a content within 1.0-5.0 mass% based on the teachings of Tsukigata. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include the carbon coating within this range in order to ensure sufficient conductivity without compromising charge and discharge capacities.
Conclusion
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785