DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 3, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 14, and 16 are amended, claims 2 and 13 are canceled and claims 21-22 are added.
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-22 are pending in this application.
In view of the amendment, the rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10 and 16 have been considered but are moot because new ground of rejection relies on the references not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos) in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu).
For claim 1, Stefanatos teaches a User Equipment (UE) comprising ([FIG. 5], UE 500): a memory ([FIG. 5], memory 504); radio frequency (RF) circuitry ([FIG. 5], RF unit 514), processing circuitry ([FIG. 5], processor 502), coupled to the memory and the RF circuitry ([Para. 0103], the UE 500 may include a processor 502, a memory 504, a transceiver 510 including a modem subsystem 512 and a radio frequency (RF) unit 514. These elements may be coupled with one another), the processing circuitry configured to execute instructions stored in the memory ([Para. 0105] and [FIG. 5], The memory 504 may store instructions 506. The instructions 506 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 502, cause the processor 502 to perform operations. [Para. 0106], the sidelink COT sharing module 508 may be implemented as instructions 506 stored in the memory 504 and executed by the processor 502); to cause the UE to: transmit, via the RF circuitry, a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) ([Para. 0109], the transceiver 510 may include the modem subsystem 512 and the RF unit 514. The transceiver 510 can be configured to communicate bi-directionally with other devices. [Para. 0043], the SCI in the PSCCH may referred to as SCI part 1 (SCI-1), and additional SCI, which may be referred to as SCI part 2 (SCI-2) may be carried in the PSSCH. [Para. 0080], the UE transmits SCI in PSCCH carrying information for resource allocation and decoding a second stage SCI, and that in a second stage SCI, UE transmits SCI in PSSCH), wherein at least one of: the first stage SCI or the second stage SCI comprises one or more channel occupancy time (COT) indications that enable COT sharing for a sidelink (SL) transmission ([Para. 0055], the COT-initiating UE may transmit a PSCCH or a PSSCH after initiating the COT, and the SCI-1 in the PSCCH or the SCI-2 in the PSSCH, respectively, may include the location data of the COT-initiating UE. A UE seeking to share the COT may receive the SCI, SCI-1 or SCI-2 and determine whether it is an “in-range UE,” ((e.g., and start sharing and utilizing the COT if the UE is in fact within the maximum range)). [Para. 0089], FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B show a schematic illustrating a spatial range of a COT initiated by a COT-initiating UE and timing diagrams illustrating a sidelink communication scheme in unlicensed bands. [Para. 0090], the sidelink UE 405a may transmit a transmission 450. The COT-initiating transmission 450 can include a PSCCH having an SCI-1 and a PSSCH having a SCI-2, and one or both of the SCI-1 and the SCI-2 may include the afore-mentioned COT-sharing information. If the maximum spatial range of the COT 420 initiated by the COT-initiating sidelink UE 405a is the first spatial range 410a, then sidelink UE 405b is allowed to share and use the COT 420 (e.g., starting at slot n+1 430b of example timing diagram 415 b). [Examiner’s Note: 430b is PSSCH for sidelink transmission for UE 405 b]).
Although teaching transmitting the second stage SCI in each slot of multiple slots, Stefanatos does not explicitly disclose transmit, via the RF circuitry, a second stage SCI across multiple slots on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), the second stage SCI including different hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifiers (IDs) corresponding to different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH, and receive HARQ feedback for the second stage SCI based on the different HARQ process IDs corresponding to the different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH.
Liu is directed to providing techniques for scheduling sidelink communications in multiple time periods. More specifically, Liu teaches transmit, via the RF circuitry, a second stage SCI across multiple slots on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) ([Para. 80], A Multi-TTI SCI-2 grant can correspond to multiple scheduled PSSCH transmissions. SCI-2 can indicate the first HARQ ID associated with the first slot in the burst, and then the HARQ process identifier can be incremented by 1 for subsequent slots), the second stage SCI including different hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifiers (IDs) corresponding to different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH ([Para. 0080], SCI indicates a common occupied subchannel for reserved bursts of slots for multi-TB retransmission. [Para. 0081], A Multi-TTI SCI-2 grant can correspond to multiple scheduled PSSCH transmissions. The parameters in SCI-2 may include an explicit HARQ identifier indication for transmitting HARQ feedback for the first TB of the multiple TBs. The receiver SL UE can assume incremental HARQ identifiers for the later associated PSSCHs. In one example, SCI-2 can indicate the first HARQ ID associated with the first slot in the burst, and then the HARQ process identifier can be incremented by 1 for subsequent slots in the scheduled order [Examiner’s Note: That a HARQ process ID for each slot is signaled in SCI-2 indicates SCI-2 includes different HARQ IDs corresponding to the different slots in PSSCH transmission]), and receive HARQ feedback for the second stage SCI based on the different HARQ process IDs corresponding to the different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH ([Para. 0104], feedback for one or more of the multiple TBs can be transmitted. The receiving UE can transmit (e.g., to the SL transmitting UE) feedback for one or more of the multiple TBs. For example, as described, the parameters in SCI (e.g., SCI-2) may include, for example, an explicit HARQ identifier indication for transmitting HARQ feedback for the first TB of the multiple TBs. In this example, the receiving UE can transmit feedback for the first TB based on the explicit HARQ identifier, and can transmit feedback for the remaining TBs using incremental HARQ identifiers [Examiner’s Note: The example of the HARD IDs corresponding to the multiple slots in paragraph 0088 in the case of multiple TBs indicates that the HARQ IDs in feedback corresponds to the multiple slots]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos, so that the second stage SCI includes different HARQ IDs for the different slots and the transmitting UE receive feedback based on the HARQ IDs corresponding to the multiple slots, as taught by Liu. The modification would have conserved overhead associated with transmitting control information and improved communication throughput for SL devices (Liu [Para. 0029]).
For claim 10, Stefanatos teaches a method comprising ([Para. 0056], Some aspects of the present disclosure disclose methods directed to channel occupancy time (COT) sharing for sidelink communications in unlicensed bands): receiving, via processing circuitry ([FIG. 5], processor 502), a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) on a physical shared control channel (PSCCH) ([Para. 0043], the SCI in the PSCCH may referred to as SCI part 1 (SCI-1), and additional SCI, which may be referred to as SCI part 2 (SCI-2) may be carried in the PSSCH. [Para. 0080], UE transmits SCI in PSCCH carrying information for resource allocation and decoding a second stage SCI, and that in a second stage SCI, UE transmits SCI in PSSCH. [Para. 0098], the COT-initiating transmission can be a PSCCH/PSSCH transmission that includes an explicit or implicit request for feedback, from the sidelink UEs that receive the PSCCH or a PSSCH transmission), wherein at least one of: the first stage SCI or the second stage SCI comprises one or more channel occupancy time (COT) indications that enable a channel occupancy time (COT) sharing for a sidelink (SL) transmission (([Para. 0055], the COT-initiating UE may transmit a PSCCH or a PSSCH after initiating the COT, and the SCI-1 in the PSCCH or the SCI-2 in the PSSCH, respectively, may include the location data of the COT-initiating UE. A UE seeking to share the COT may receive the SCI, SCI-1 or SCI-2 and determine whether it is an “in-range UE,” ((e.g., and start sharing and utilizing the COT if the UE is in fact within the maximum range)). [Para. 0089], FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B show a schematic illustrating a spatial range of a COT initiated by a COT-initiating UE and timing diagrams illustrating a sidelink communication scheme in unlicensed bands. [Para. 0090], the sidelink UE 405a may transmit a transmission 450. The COT-initiating transmission 450 can include a PSCCH having an SCI-1 and a PSSCH having a SCI-2, and one or both of the SCI-1 and the SCI-2 may include the afore-mentioned COT-sharing information. If the maximum spatial range of the COT 420 initiated by the COT-initiating sidelink UE 405a is the first spatial range 410a, then sidelink UE 405b is allowed to share and use the COT 420 (e.g., starting at slot n+1 430b of example timing diagram 415 b). [Examiner’s Note: 430b is PSSCH for sidelink transmission for UE 405 b]).
Although teaching transmitting the second stage SCI in each slot of multiple slots, Stefanatos does not explicitly disclose receiving, via the processing circuitry, a second stage SCI across multiple slots on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), the second stage SCI including different hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifiers (IDs) corresponding to different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH, and transmitting HARQ feedback for the second stage SCI based on the different HARQ process IDs corresponding to the different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH.
Liu is directed to providing techniques for scheduling sidelink communications in multiple time periods. More specifically, Liu teaches receiving, via the processing circuitry, a second stage SCI across multiple slots on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) ([Para. 80], A Multi-TTI SCI-2 grant can correspond to multiple scheduled PSSCH transmissions. SCI-2 can indicate the first HARQ ID associated with the first slot in the burst, and then the HARQ process identifier can be incremented by 1 for subsequent slots), the second stage SCI including different hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifiers (IDs) corresponding to different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH ([Para. 0080], SCI indicates a common occupied subchannel for reserved bursts of slots for multi-TB retransmission. [Para. 0081], A Multi-TTI SCI-2 grant can correspond to multiple scheduled PSSCH transmissions. The parameters in SCI-2 may include an explicit HARQ identifier indication for transmitting HARQ feedback for the first TB of the multiple TBs. The receiver SL UE can assume incremental HARQ identifiers for the later associated PSSCHs. In one example, SCI-2 can indicate the first HARQ ID associated with the first slot in the burst, and then the HARQ process identifier can be incremented by 1 for subsequent slots in the scheduled order [Examiner’s Note: That a HARQ process ID for each slot is signaled in SCI-2 indicates SCI-2 includes different HARQ IDs corresponding to the different slots in PSSCH transmission]), and transmitting HARQ feedback for the second stage SCI based on the different HARQ process IDs corresponding to the different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH ([Para. 0104], feedback for one or more of the multiple TBs can be transmitted. The receiving UE can transmit (e.g., to the SL transmitting UE) feedback for one or more of the multiple TBs. For example, as described, the parameters in SCI (e.g., SCI-2) may include, for example, an explicit HARQ identifier indication for transmitting HARQ feedback for the first TB of the multiple TBs. In this example, the receiving UE can transmit feedback for the first TB based on the explicit HARQ identifier, and can transmit feedback for the remaining TBs using incremental HARQ identifiers [Examiner’s Note: The example of the HARD IDs corresponding to the multiple slots in paragraph 0088 in the case of multiple TBs indicates that the HARQ IDs in feedback corresponds to the multiple slots]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos, so that the second stage SCI includes different HARQ IDs for the different slots and the transmitting UE receive feedback based on the HARQ IDs corresponding to the multiple slots, as taught by Liu. The modification would have conserved overhead associated with transmitting control information and improved communication throughput for SL devices (Liu [Para. 0029]).
For claim 16, Stefanatos teaches a baseband processor ([FIG. 5], processor 502) configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory ([Para. 0105] and [FIG. 5], The memory 504 may store instructions 506. The instructions 506 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 502, cause the processor 502 to perform operations. [Para. 0106], the sidelink COT sharing module 508 may be implemented as instructions 506 stored in the memory 504 and executed by the processor 502), perform operations comprising: providing, to a radio frequency (RF) interface for transmission, a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) ([Para. 0109], the transceiver 510 may include the modem subsystem 512 and the RF unit 514. The transceiver 510 can be configured to communicate bi-directionally with other devices. [Para. 0043], the SCI in the PSCCH may referred to as SCI part 1 (SCI-1), and additional SCI, which may be referred to as SCI part 2 (SCI-2) may be carried in the PSSCH. [Para. 0080, 0090], UE transmits SCI in PSCCH carrying information for resource allocation and decoding a second stage SCI, and that in a second stage SCI, UE transmits SCI in PSSCH), wherein at least one of: the first stage SCI or the second stage SCI comprises one or more channel occupancy time (COT) indications that enable COT sharing for a sidelink (SL) transmission ([Para. 0055], the COT-initiating UE may transmit a PSCCH or a PSSCH after initiating the COT, and the SCI-1 in the PSCCH or the SCI-2 in the PSSCH, respectively, may include the location data of the COT-initiating UE. A UE seeking to share the COT may receive the SCI, SCI-1 or SCI-2 and determine whether it is an “in-range UE,” ((e.g., and start sharing and utilizing the COT if the UE is in fact within the maximum range)). [Para. 0089], FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B show a schematic illustrating a spatial range of a COT initiated by a COT-initiating UE and timing diagrams illustrating a sidelink communication scheme in unlicensed bands. [Para. 0090], the sidelink UE 405a may transmit a transmission 450. The COT-initiating transmission 450 can include a PSCCH having an SCI-1 and a PSSCH having a SCI-2, and one or both of the SCI-1 and the SCI-2 may include the afore-mentioned COT-sharing information. If the maximum spatial range of the COT 420 initiated by the COT-initiating sidelink UE 405a is the first spatial range 410a, then sidelink UE 405b is allowed to share and use the COT 420 (e.g., starting at slot n+1 430b of example timing diagram 415 b). [Examiner’s Note: 430b is PSSCH for sidelink transmission for UE 405 b]).
Although teaching transmitting the second stage SCI in each slot of multiple slots, Stefanatos does not explicitly disclose providing, to the RF interface for transmission, a second stage SCI across multiple slots on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), the second stage SCI including different hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifiers (IDs) corresponding to different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH, and receiving HARQ feedback for the second stage SCI based on the different HARQ process IDs corresponding to the different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH.
Liu is directed to providing techniques for scheduling sidelink communications in multiple time periods. More specifically, Liu teaches providing, to the RF interface for transmission, a second stage SCI across multiple slots on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) ([Para. 80], A Multi-TTI SCI-2 grant can correspond to multiple scheduled PSSCH transmissions. SCI-2 can indicate the first HARQ ID associated with the first slot in the burst, and then the HARQ process identifier can be incremented by 1 for subsequent slots), the second stage SCI including different hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifiers (IDs) corresponding to different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH ([Para. 0080], SCI indicates a common occupied subchannel for reserved bursts of slots for multi-TB retransmission. [Para. 0081], A Multi-TTI SCI-2 grant can correspond to multiple scheduled PSSCH transmissions. The parameters in SCI-2 may include an explicit HARQ identifier indication for transmitting HARQ feedback for the first TB of the multiple TBs. The receiver SL UE can assume incremental HARQ identifiers for the later associated PSSCHs. In one example, SCI-2 can indicate the first HARQ ID associated with the first slot in the burst, and then the HARQ process identifier can be incremented by 1 for subsequent slots in the scheduled order [Examiner’s Note: That a HARQ process ID for each slot is signaled in SCI-2 indicates SCI-2 includes different HARQ IDs corresponding to the different slots in PSSCH transmission]), and receive HARQ feedback for the second stage SCI based on the different HARQ process IDs corresponding to the different slots of the multiple slots of the PSSCH ([Para. 0104], feedback for one or more of the multiple TBs can be transmitted. The receiving UE can transmit (e.g., to the SL transmitting UE) feedback for one or more of the multiple TBs. For example, as described, the parameters in SCI (e.g., SCI-2) may include, for example, an explicit HARQ identifier indication for transmitting HARQ feedback for the first TB of the multiple TBs. In this example, the receiving UE can transmit feedback for the first TB based on the explicit HARQ identifier, and can transmit feedback for the remaining TBs using incremental HARQ identifiers [Examiner’s Note: The example of the HARD IDs corresponding to the multiple slots in paragraph 0088 in the case of multiple TBs indicates that the HARQ IDs in feedback corresponds to the multiple slots]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos, so that the second stage SCI includes different HARQ IDs for the different slots and the transmitting UE receive feedback based on the HARQ IDs corresponding to the multiple slots, as taught by Liu. The modification would have conserved overhead associated with transmitting control information and improved communication throughput for SL devices (Liu [Para. 0029]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos) in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Gerami et al. (WO2023198271A1, hereinafter Gerami).
For claim 3, Stefanatos and Liu teach the UE of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the UE to: perform a category (CAT) 4 clear channel assessment (CCA) operation to acquire access to an SL channel based on a channel access priority (Stefanatos [0089], a sidelink UE 405 a may acquire a COT 420 by performing a clear channel assessment (CCA) or a category 4 (CAT4) listen-before-talk (LBT) in an unlicensed or shared radio frequency band).
Although teaching performing CAT 4 CCA to acquire COT, Stefanatos and Liu do not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the UE to: perform a category (CAT) 4 clear channel assessment (CCA) operation to acquire access to an SL channel based on a channel access priority, and wherein the one or more COT indications comprise a channel access priority indication of the channel access priority used to access the SL channel by the CAT 4 CCA operation.
Gerami is directed to providing sidelink communication using shared channel occupancy in unlicensed spectrum. More specifically, Gerami teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: perform a category (CAT) 4 clear channel assessment (CCA) operation to acquire access to an SL channel based on a channel access priority ([Page 16, lines 31-33], a UE may transmit the transmission using Type 1 (CAT 4 LBT) channel access procedure after first sensing the channel to be idle. [Page 17, lines 20-24], The contention window CWp is defined as CWmin p < CWp < CWmax p. Also, mp, CWmin p, and CWmax p are based on a channel access priority class p [Examiner’s Note: CCA is based on contention window]), and wherein the one or more COT indications comprise a channel access priority indication of the channel access priority used to access the SL channel by the CAT 4 CCA operation ([Page 24, line 30 – Page 25 line 14], parameters related to the COT sharing can be indicated to UE1 in the permission provided by gNB. UE2 can obtain the parameters related to the COT sharing from UE1 (via SL). UEl ’s request for permission to initiate a SL COT and/or to share the UE1 -initiated SL COT with other UEs (e.g., UE2) can include channel access priority classes allowed during the shared COT [Examiner’s Note: CCA is performed based on allowed channel access priority class and UE2 receives indication of allowed channel access priority class from UE1]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos and Liu, so that COT indication includes the channel access priority class on which performing CCA is based, as taught by Gerami. The modification would have provided specific improvements to D2D communication between UEs in unlicensed or shared spectrum, in particular, to share a channel occupancy time (COT) initiated and/or obtained by a first UE (e.g., via CCA) with a second UE engaged in SL D2D communication with the first UE (Gerami [Page 3, lines 15-19]).
Claims 4, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos) in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Talarico et al. (US20250176017A1, hereinafter Talarico) and Gerami et al. (WO2023198271A1, hereinafter Gerami).
For claim 4, Stefanatos and Liu teach the UE of claim 1. Although teaching transmitting COT indication, Stefanatos and Liu do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more COT indications further include a channel access priority class (CAPC).
Talarico is directed to providing sharing the channel access occupancy time among devices in new radio (nr) sidelink operating in frequency range 1 (fr-1) unlicensed band. More specifically, Talarico teaches wherein the one or more COT indications further include a channel access priority class (CAPC) ([Para. 0178], For a UE to indicate whether its COT can be shared or not, SCI (either stage 1 or stage 2 format or both or a single stage SCI) may be enhanced and it shall contain: [Para. 0179], CAPC. [Para. 0204], an initiating device acquires a COT using a given CAPC, it can only share the COT with a responding device that intents to perform a transmission which is related to the same CAPC).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos and Liu, so that the initiating UE indicates to the responding UE CAPC in SCI, as taught by Talarico. The modification would have supported fair usage of the spectrum and fair coexistence among different technologies (Talarico [Para. 0023]).
Although teaching the initiating UE indicating CAPC to the receiving UE and the receiving UE using the same CAPC in its intended transmission, Stefanatos, Liu and Talarico do not explicitly disclose and wherein the processing circuitry further causes the UE to receive the SL transmission based on the CAPC.
Gerami is directed to providing sidelink communication using shared channel occupancy in unlicensed spectrum. More specifically, Gerami teaches and wherein the processing circuitry further causes the UE to receive the SL transmission based on the CAPC ([Page 35, lines 18 – 21, 23 and 28] and [FIG. 14], the first UE can, based on SL communication via the channel during the first COT, send to the second UE a second message comprising channel access priority classes allowed. [Page 36, lines 31-32], [Page 37, lines 4-5] and [FIG. 15], the second message is received from the first UE comprising channel access priority classes allowed. [Page 37, lines 17-20] and [FIG. 15], where the second UE determines that the channel is idle based on performing an LBT procedure in accordance with an LBT category that the information included in the second message indicates as allowed, and initiates sending the data in response to determining the channel is idle. [Page 35, lines 21-22] and [FIG. 14], the data is received from the second UE in accordance with the information included in the second message).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu and Talarico, so that the initiating UE receives transmission from the receiving UE based on CAPC, as taught by Gerami. The modification would have provided specific improvements to D2D communication between UEs in unlicensed or shared spectrum, in particular, to share a channel occupancy time (COT) initiated by a first UE with a second UE engaged in SL D2D communication with the first UE (Gerami [Page 3, lines 15-19]).
For claim 11, Stefanatos and Liu teach the method of claim 10. Although teaching the processing circuitry ([FIG. 5], processor 502) and transmitting COT indication, Stefanatos and Liu do not explicitly disclose wherein one or more COT indications further include a channel access priority class (CAPC).
Talarico is directed to providing sharing the channel access occupancy time among devices in new radio (nr) sidelink operating in frequency range 1 (fr-1) unlicensed band. More specifically, Talarico teaches wherein one or more COT indications further include a channel access priority class (CAPC) ([Para. 0178], For a UE to indicate whether its COT can be shared or not SCI (either stage 1 or stage 2 format or both or a single stage SCI) may be enhanced and it shall contain: [Para. 0179], CAPC. [Para. 0204], an initiating device acquires a COT using a given CAPC, it can only share the COT with a responding device that intents to perform a transmission which is related to the same CAPC).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos and Liu, so that the initiating UE indicates to the responding UE CAPC in SCI, as taught by Talarico. The modification would have supported fair usage of the spectrum and fair coexistence among different technologies (Talarico [Para. 0023]).
Although teaching the initiating UE indicating CAPC to the receiving UE and the receiving UE using the same CAPC in its intended transmission, Stefanatos, Liu and Talarico do not explicitly disclose and wherein the method further comprises receiving, via the processing circuitry, the SL transmission based on the CAP.
Gerami is directed to providing sidelink communication using shared channel occupancy in unlicensed spectrum. More specifically, Gerami teaches and wherein the method further comprises receiving, via the processing circuitry, the SL transmission based on the CAP ([Page 35, lines 18 – 21, 23 and 28] and [FIG. 14], the first UE can, based on SL communication via the channel during the first COT, send to the second UE a second message comprising channel access priority classes allowed. [Page 36, lines 31-32], [Page 37, lines 4-5] and [FIG. 15], the second message is received from the first UE comprising channel access priority classes allowed. [Page 37, lines 17-20] and [FIG. 15], where the second UE determines that the channel is idle based on performing an LBT procedure in accordance with an LBT category that the information included in the second message indicates as allowed, and initiates sending the data in response to determining the channel is idle. [Page 35, lines 21-22] and [FIG. 14], the data is received from the second UE in accordance with the information included in the second message).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos, Liu and Talarico, so that the initiating UE receives transmission from the receiving UE based on CAPC, as taught by Gerami. The modification would have provided specific improvements to D2D communication between UEs in unlicensed or shared spectrum, in particular, to share a channel occupancy time (COT) initiated by a first UE with a second UE engaged in SL D2D communication with the first UE (Gerami [Page 3, lines 15-19]).
For claim 17, Stefanatos and Liu teach the baseband processor of claim 16. Although teaching transmitting COT indication, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more COT indications further include a channel access priority class (CAPC).
Talarico is directed to providing sharing the channel access occupancy time among devices in new radio (nr) sidelink operating in frequency range 1 (fr-1) unlicensed band. More specifically, Talarico teaches wherein the one or more COT indications further include a channel access priority class (CAPC) ([Para. 0178], For a UE to indicate whether its COT can be shared or not SCI (either stage 1 or stage 2 format or both or a single stage SCI) may be enhanced and it shall contain: [Para. 0179], CAPC. [Para. 0204], an initiating device acquires a COT using a given CAPC, it can only share the COT with a responding device that intents to perform a transmission which is related to the same CAPC).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos and Liu, so that the initiating UE indicates to the responding UE CAPC in SCI, as taught by Talarico. The modification would have supported fair usage of the spectrum and fair coexistence among different technologies (Talarico [Para. 0023]).
Although teaching the initiating UE indicating CAPC to the receiving UE and the receiving UE using the same CAPC in its intended transmission, Stefanatos, Liu and Talarico do not explicitly disclose and wherein the operations further comprise receiving the SL transmission based on the CAPC.
Gerami is directed to providing sidelink communication using shared channel occupancy in unlicensed spectrum. More specifically, Gerami teaches and wherein the operations further comprise receiving the SL transmission based on the CAPC ([Page 35, lines 18 – 21, 23 and 28] and [FIG. 14], the first UE can, based on SL communication via the channel during the first COT, send to the second UE a second message comprising channel access priority classes allowed. [Page 36, lines 31-32], [Page 37, lines 4-5] and [FIG. 15], the second message is received from the first UE comprising channel access priority classes allowed. [Page 37, lines 17-20] and [FIG. 15], where the second UE determines that the channel is idle based on performing an LBT procedure in accordance with an LBT category that the information included in the second message indicates as allowed, and initiates sending the data in response to determining the channel is idle. [Page 35, lines 21-22] and [FIG. 14], the data is received from the second UE in accordance with the information included in the second message).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu and Talarico, so that the initiating UE receives transmission from the receiving UE based on CAPC, as taught by Gerami. The modification would have provided specific improvements to D2D communication between UEs in unlicensed or shared spectrum, in particular, to share a channel occupancy time (COT) initiated by a first UE with a second UE engaged in SL D2D communication with the first UE (Gerami [Page 3, lines 15-19]).
Claims 5, 8-9, 12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos), in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Si et al. (US20230224967A1, hereinafter Si) and Zhou et al. (US20250261214A1, hereinafter Zhou).
For claim 5, Stefanatos and Liu teach the UE of claim 1. Although teaching transmitting sidelink control information comprising COT indication, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the UE to receive the SL transmission based on a maximum energy detection threshold (EDT), wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB.
Si is directed to providing method and apparatus for channel occupancy indication on sidelink. More specifically, Si teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the UE to receive the SL transmission based on a maximum energy detection threshold (EDT) ([Para. 0459], UE procedure for sidelink transmission based on the maximum energy detection thresholds is shown in FIG. 21. [Para. 0460-0464], the UE sets the energy detection threshold based on the first type of maximum energy detection threshold, second type of maximum energy detection threshold or default maximum energy detection threshold. [Para. 0465], The UE then performs channel access procedure based on the energy detection threshold (2106). [Para. 0466], The UE performs the sidelink transmission if the channel access procedure succeeds), wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB ([Para. 0459], UE procedure for sidelink transmission based on the maximum energy detection thresholds. [Para. 0469], UE calculates the default maximum energy detection threshold as a function of TA. [Para. 0475], TA is set to a smaller value for transmission with a discovery burst (e.g., 5 dB), and TA is set to a larger value otherwise (e.g., 10 dB) [Examiner’s Note: Discovery burst is a term that refers to synchronization signal as Zhou below indicates]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos and Liu, so that the maximum energy detection threshold is determined based on whether sidelink transmission is discovery burst and sidelink transmission is based on the maximum energy detection threshold, as taught by Si. The modification would have provided adaptation of the energy detection threshold for sidelink operated over an unlicensed spectrum (Si [Para. 0389]).
Although teaching determination of the maximum energy detection threshold based on sidelink transmission with discovery burst, a term that refers to synchronization signal, Stefanatos, Liu and Si do not explicitly disclose wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB.
Zhou is directed to providing method and apparatus for determining resource based on sidelink in a wireless communication system. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB ([Para. 0096], Alternatively similar to the discovery burst in the prior art, the sidelink synchronization signal corresponds to the sidelink discovery burst).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu and Si, so that the sidelink discovery burst refers the sidelink synchronization signal, as taught by Si. The modification would have related the sidelink discovery burst with the sidelink synchronization signal, similar to the discovery burst in the prior art (Zhou [Para. 0096]).
For claim 8, Stefanatos, Liu, Si and Zhou teach the UE of claim 5. The references further teach wherein the first value is equal to 5 decibels (dB) (Si [Para. 0459], UE procedure for sidelink transmission based on the maximum energy detection thresholds. [Para. 0469], UE calculates the default maximum energy detection threshold as a function of TA. Si [Para. 0475], TA is set to a smaller value for transmission with a discovery burst (e.g., 5 dB)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu and Zhou, so that the maximum energy detection threshold is 5 db for sidelink transmission with discovery burst, as taught by Si. The modification would have provided adaptation of the energy detection threshold for sidelink operated over an unlicensed spectrum (Si [Para. 0389]).
For claim 9, Stefanatos, Liu, Si and Zhou teach the UE of claim 5. The references further teach wherein the second value is equal to 10 decibels (dB) (Si [Para. 0459], UE procedure for sidelink transmission based on the maximum energy detection thresholds. [Para. 0469], UE calculates the default maximum energy detection threshold as a function of TA. [Para. 0475], TA is set to a smaller value for transmission with a discovery burst (e.g., 5 dB), and TA is set to a larger value otherwise (e.g., 10 dB)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu and Zhou, so that the maximum energy detection threshold is 10 db for sidelink transmission without discovery burst, as taught by Si. The modification would have provided adaptation of the energy detection threshold for sidelink operated over an unlicensed spectrum (Si [Para. 0389]).
For claim 12, Stefanatos and Liu teach the method of claim 10. Although teaching transmitting sidelink control information comprising COT indication, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a maximum energy detection threshold (EDT), wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB.
Si is directed to providing Method and apparatus for channel occupancy indication on sidelink. More specifically, Si teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a maximum energy detection threshold (EDT) ([Para. 0390], the present disclosure provides: (1) an indication of a first type of maximum energy detection threshold; (2) an indication of a second type of maximum energy detection threshold; (6) calculation of the default maximum energy detection threshold), wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB ([Para. 0459], UE procedure for sidelink transmission based on the maximum energy detection thresholds. [Para. 0469], UE calculates the default maximum energy detection threshold as a function of TA. [Para. 0475], TA is set to a smaller value for transmission with a discovery burst (e.g., 5 dB), and TA is set to a larger value otherwise (e.g., 10 dB) [Examiner’s Note: Discovery burst is a term that refers to synchronization signal as Zhou below indicates]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos and Liu, so that the maximum energy detection threshold is determined based on whether sidelink transmission is discovery burst, as taught by Si. The modification would have provided adaptation of the energy detection threshold for sidelink operated over an unlicensed spectrum (Si [Para. 0389]).
Although teaching determination of the maximum energy detection threshold based on sidelink transmission with discovery burst, a term that refers to synchronization signal, Stefanatos, Liu and Si do not explicitly disclose wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB.
Zhou is directed to providing method and apparatus for determining resource based on sidelink in a wireless communication system. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB ([Para. 0096], Alternatively similar to the discovery burst in the prior art, the sidelink synchronization signal corresponds to the sidelink discovery burst).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos, Liu and Si, so that the sidelink discovery burst refers the sidelink synchronization signal, as taught by Si. The modification would have related the sidelink discovery burst with the sidelink synchronization signal, similar to the discovery burst in the prior art (Zhou [Para. 0096])
For claim 18, Stefanatos and Liu teach the baseband processor of claim 16. Although teaching transmitting sidelink control information comprising COT indication, the references do not explicitly disclose receiving the SL transmission based on a maximum energy detection threshold (EDT), wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB), and wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB.
Si is directed to providing Method and apparatus for channel occupancy indication on sidelink. More specifically, Si teaches receiving the SL transmission based on a maximum energy detection threshold (EDT) ([Para. 0459], UE procedure for sidelink transmission based on the maximum energy detection thresholds is shown in FIG. 21. [Para. 0460-0464], the UE sets the energy detection threshold based on the first type of maximum energy detection threshold, second type of maximum energy detection threshold or default maximum energy detection threshold. [Para. 0465], The UE then performs channel access procedure based on the energy detection threshold (2106). [Para. 0466], The UE performs the sidelink transmission if the channel access procedure succeeds), wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) ([Para. 0459], UE procedure for sidelink transmission based on the maximum energy detection thresholds. [Para. 0469], UE calculates the default maximum energy detection threshold as a function of TA. [Para. 0475], TA is set to a smaller value for transmission with a discovery burst (e.g., 5 dB) [Examiner’s Note: Discovery burst is a term that refers to synchronization signal as Zhou below indicates]), and wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB ([Para. 0469], UE calculates the default maximum energy detection threshold as a function of TA. [Para. 0475], TA is set to a smaller value for transmission with a discovery burst (e.g., 5 dB), and TA is set to a larger value otherwise).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos and Liu, so that the maximum energy detection threshold is determined based on whether sidelink transmission is discovery burst and sidelink transmission is based on the maximum energy detection threshold, as taught by Si. The modification would have provided adaptation of the energy detection threshold for sidelink operated over an unlicensed spectrum (Si [Para. 0389]).
Although teaching determination of the maximum energy detection threshold based on sidelink transmission with discovery burst, a term that refers to synchronization signal, Stefanatos, Liu and Si do not explicitly disclose wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB), and wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB.
Zhou is directed to providing method and apparatus for determining resource based on sidelink in a wireless communication system. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a first value when the SL transmission includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) ([Para. 0096], Alternatively similar to the discovery burst in the prior art, the sidelink synchronization signal corresponds to the sidelink discovery burst), and wherein the maximum EDT is determined based on a second value being higher than the first value when the SL transmission does not include an SSB ([Para. 0096], Alternatively similar to the discovery burst in the prior art, the sidelink synchronization signal corresponds to the sidelink discovery burst).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu and Si, so that the sidelink discovery burst refers the sidelink synchronization signal, as taught by Si. The modification would have related the sidelink discovery burst with the sidelink synchronization signal, similar to the discovery burst in the prior art (Zhou [Para. 0096]).
For claim 19, Stefanatos, Liu, Si and Zhou teach the baseband processor of claim 18. The references further teach wherein the first value is equal to 5 decibels (dB) (Si [Para. 0459], UE procedure for sidelink transmission based on the maximum energy detection thresholds. [Para. 0469], UE calculates the default maximum energy detection threshold as a function of TA. [Para. 0475], TA is set to a smaller value for transmission with a discovery burst (e.g., 5 dB)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu and Zhou, so that the maximum energy detection threshold is 5 db for sidelink transmission with discovery burst, as taught by Si. The modification would have provided adaptation of the energy detection threshold for sidelink operated over an unlicensed spectrum (Si [Para. 0389]).
For claim 20, Stefanatos, Liu, Si and Zhou teach the baseband processor of claim 18. The references further teach wherein the second value is equal to 10 decibels (dB) (Si [Para. 0459], UE procedure for sidelink transmission based on the maximum energy detection thresholds. [Para. 0469], UE calculates the default maximum energy detection threshold as a function of TA. [Para. 0475], TA is set to a smaller value for transmission with a discovery burst (e.g., 5 dB), and TA is set to a larger value otherwise (e.g., 10 dB)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu and Zhou, so that the maximum energy detection threshold is 10 db for sidelink transmission without discovery burst, as taught by Si. The modification would have provided adaptation of the energy detection threshold for sidelink operated over an unlicensed spectrum (Si [Para. 0389])
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos) in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu), Si et al. (US20230224967A1, hereinafter Si) and Zhou et al. (US20250261214A1, hereinafter Zhou), and further in view of Chande et al. (US20230276497A1, hereinafter Chande) and Koskela et al. (US20130072106A1, hereinafter Koskela).
For claim 6, Stefanatos, Liu, Si and Zhou teach the UE of claim 5. Although teaching transmitting EDT for sharing COT, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the UE to: determine an EDT based on a power of a sensing operation performed on an SL channel, wherein the EDT of the one or more COT indications indicate the power to be used by a receiving device for sensing and transmitting, respectively, on the SL channel in response to the COT sharing; or receive the EDT in a UE specific parameter of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Chande is directed to providing Fr2-2 energy detection threshold adaptation with target listen before talk sensing bandwidth. More specifically, Chande teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the UE to ([FIG. 6], processing system 602 for UE): determine an EDT based on a power of a sensing operation performed on an SL channel, wherein the EDT of the one or more COT indications indicate the power to be used by a receiving device for sensing and transmitting, respectively, on the SL channel in response to the COT sharing; or receive the EDT in a UE specific parameter of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([Para. 0093], The EDT value used by the node may be a specific value. the specific value may be configured to the node (e.g., via radio resource control (RRC) signaling or any other method).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu, Si and Zhou, so that a UE receives EDT in RRC signaling, as taught by Chande. The modification would have reduced the disparity between EDTs utilized by entities using the first RAT and entities using the second RAT (Chande [Para. 0076]).
Although teaching receiving EDT by a UE via RRC signaling, Stefanatos, Liu, Si, Zhou and Chande do not explicitly disclose receive the EDT in a UE specific parameter of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Koskela is directed to providing efficient enablement for wireless communication on license-exempt bands. More specifically, Koskela teaches receive the EDT in a UE specific parameter of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([Para. 0072], for the E-UTRAN/LTE system the network/enabling device can configure the UE specific parameters via dedicated radio resource control signaling).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu, Si, Zhou and Chande, so that a UE receives the UE specific parameters via dedicated RRC signaling, as taught by Koskela. The modification would have provided the technical effect of enabling an enhanced energy savings for the enabled devices, as well as enabling an efficient multichannel operation by the enabling device, and allowed the enabled devices to use the available channels indicated by the enabling device without constantly monitoring their own enablement on a specific channel (Koskela, [Para. 0074]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos) in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Hedayat et al. (US20210344451A1, hereinafter Hedayat), Rastegardoost et al. (US20230354374A1, hereinafter Rastegardoost) and Liu et al. (US20230171774A1, hereinafter Liu774).
For claim 7, Stefanatos and Liu teach the UE of claim 1. Although teaching transmitting sidelink control information comprising indication enabling COT sharing, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more COT indications comprise a COT duration indication that indicates a total COT duration based on a priority class of a channel access priority indication, a maximum COT (MCOT), and a multiple transmission time interval (Multi-TTI) SL PSSCH COT duration for a receiving V2X device.
Hedayat is directed to providing efficient and robust acknowledgement procedures for new radio operation in unlicensed bands. More specifically, Hedayat teaches wherein the one or more COT indications comprise a COT duration indication that indicates a total COT duration based on a priority class of a channel access priority indication ([Para. 0155], a WTRU may perform an LBT procedure (e.g., LBT CAT-3 or CAT-4), and establish a COT where the LBT procedure is associated with a priority class. [Para. 0156], For more efficient COT sharing, the WTRU may indicate to the gNB the attributes of the COT. The COT attributes to be carried in the CG-UCI may contain the following: duration of the COT (e.g., a breakdown of the duration such as the total duration, the duration expected to be used by the WTRU who owns the COT, and/or the remainder of the COT), access category (AC) or access priority class for which the COT is established for [Examiner’s Note: The total duration is based on the COT established based on the priority class that is indicated as access category (AC) or access priority class for which the COT is established for]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos and Liu, so that the COT initiating WTRU indicates total COT duration based on the access priority class, as taught by Hedayat. The modification would have implemented efficient COT sharing (Hedayat [Para. 0156]).
Although teaching transmitting indication of total COT duration, Stefanatos, Liu and Hedayat do not explicitly disclose a maximum COT (MCOT), and a multiple transmission time interval (Multi-TTI) SL PSSCH COT duration for a receiving V2X device.
Rastegardoost is directed to providing sidelink control information communication, more specifically, Rastegardoost teaches a maximum COT (MCOT) ([Para. 0359], the device (a sending (transmitting wireless device in a sidelink communication) to share the COT with the associated devices. The device may transmit to the associated device a control message and/or a control signal indicating sharing the COT (or MCOT) with the associated device … that the associated device to use/share the channel).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu and Hedayat, so that the COT indication includes MCOT, as taught by Rastegardoost. The modification would have allowed a receiving device to skip monitoring of a subsequent PSCCH resource in a slot if SCI is detected in an earlier PSCCH resource of the slot (Rastegardoost [Para. 0004]).
Although teaching transmitting indication of total COT duration and MCOT, Stefanatos, Liu, Hedayat and Rastegardoost do not explicitly disclose and a multiple transmission time interval (Multi-TTI) SL PSSCH COT duration for a receiving V2X device.
Liu774 is directed to providing sidelink transmissions using receiver feedback. More specifically, Liu774 teaches and a multiple transmission time interval (Multi-TTI) SL PSSCH COT duration for a receiving V2X device ([Para. 0098], The SCI-2 may indicate a multi-TTI grant over the COT resources. [Para. 0100], the receiver may receive, from the transmitter using a COT resource, the PSSCH transmission based at least in part on the A/N feedback [Examiner’s Note: A multi-TTI grant over COT resources indicates the a multiple transmission time interval (Multi-TTI) SL PSSCH COT duration. Use cases for sidelink communication may include V2X (Stefanatos [Para. 0043])]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Stefanatos, Liu, Hedayat and Rastegardoost, so that sidelink control information indicates multi-tti grant over COT resources, as taught by Liu774. The modification would have allowed additional information on resource usage to be collected to improve a resource utilization (Liu774 [Para. 0075]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos) in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Peng et al. (US20240324004A1, hereinafter Peng).
For claim 14, Stefanatos and Liu teach the UE of claim 10. Although teaching transmitting COT indication, the references do not explicitly disclose Stefanatos does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more COT indications comprise a clear channel assessment (CCA) type, a cyclic prefix (CP) extension, and a PSSCH frequency domain resource allocation that indicates an interlace used for the SL transmission.
Peng is directed to providing information transport method and device. More specifically, Peng teaches wherein the one or more COT indications comprise a clear channel assessment (CCA) type ([Para. 0052], the transmit terminal transmits shared COT information to the receive terminal, and the receive terminal performs Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) according to COT indicated by the COT information to determine whether the indicated COT is available. [Para. 0042], the terminal transporting information over an SL mentioned in step S202 may include the terminal transporting information over the SL according to indication information, where the indication information includes: SL channel access type. [Para. 0047], In the foregoing indication information, the SL channel access type includes, for example, type 1 SL channel access procedure, type 2A SL channel access procedure, type 2B SL channel access procedure, and type 2C SL channel access procedure [Examiner’s Note: SL channel access type is the CCA type]), a cyclic prefix (CP) extension ([Para. 0042], the indication information includes Cyclic Prefix (CP) extension information), and a PSSCH frequency domain resource allocation that indicates an interlace used for the SL transmission ([Para. 0007], an information transport including: transporting, by a terminal, information over an SL on a shared band, where the transporting information includes transmitting information. [Para. 0042], the terminal transporting information over an SL mentioned in step S202 may include the terminal transporting information over the SL according to indication information, where the indication information includes: interlace indication. [Para. 0048], In the foregoing indication information, the interlace indication may be frequency domain resource indications).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos and Liu, so that clear channel assessment type, cyclic prefix extension and interlace are indicated in COT indication, as taught by Peng. The modification would have provided technical solution for SL transport on a shared spectrum, improving communication system performance and enhance resource utilization (Peng, [Para. 0015]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos) in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Talarico et al. (US20250176017A1, hereinafter Talarico).
For claim 15, Stefanatos and Liu teach the method of claim 10. Although teaching transmitting COT indication, Stefanatos and Liu do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more COT indications further include a channel access priority class (CAPC), and wherein transmitting the SL transmission is further based on the CAPC.
Talarico is directed to providing sharing the channel access occupancy time among devices in new radio (nr) sidelink operating in frequency range 1 (fr-1) unlicensed band. More specifically, Talarico teaches wherein the one or more COT indications further include a channel access priority class (CAPC) ([Para. 0178], For a UE to indicate whether its COT can be shared or not SCI (either stage 1 or stage 2 format or both or a single stage SCI) may be enhanced and it shall contain: [Para. 0179], CAPC), and wherein transmitting the SL transmission is further based on the CAPC ([Para. 0416] and [FIG. 4], The process to be performed by a user equipment (UE). The process may include identifying a parameter related to channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink (SL) transmission; and transmitting the SL transmission based on the parameter. [Para. 0231], the determination of the actual COT duration for SL communication may be dependent on SL parameters: [Para. 0232], CAPC of SL transmission).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos and Liu, so that the initiating UE indicates to the responding UE CAPC in SCI, and transmits SL transmission based on the CAPC, as taught by Talarico. The modification would have supported fair usage of the spectrum and fair coexistence among different technologies (Talarico [Para. 0023]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos) in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Wang et al. (US20220225375A1, hereinafter Wang).
For claim 21, Stefanatos and Liu teach the UE of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the second stage SCI includes a bit indicator for each of the different HARQ process IDs to identify the HARQ process ID for each slot of the multiple slot PSSCH transmission (Liu [Para. 0081], The parameters in SCI-2 may include an explicit HARQ identifier indication for transmitting HARQ feedback for the first TB of the multiple TBs. The receiver SL UE can assume incremental HARQ identifiers for the later associated PSSCHs. In one example, SCI-2 can indicate the first HARQ ID associated with the first slot in the burst, and then the HARQ process identifier can be incremented by 1 for subsequent slots in the scheduled order).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos, so that the second stage SCI indicates different HARQ IDs for the different slots, as taught by Liu. The modification would have conserved overhead associated with transmitting control information and improved communication throughput for SL devices (Liu [Para. 0029]).
Although teaching second stage SCI including HARQ IDs for each slot, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the second stage SCI includes a bit indicator for each of the different HARQ process IDs to identify the HARQ process ID for each slot of the multiple slot PSSCH transmission.
Wang is directed to providing techniques for scheduling multi-user sidelink communications in multiple time periods. More specifically, Wang teaches wherein the second stage SCI includes a bit indicator for each of the different HARQ process IDs to identify the HARQ process ID for each slot of the multiple slot PSSCH transmission ([Para. 0087], The SCI-2 may include one or more bits for indicating HARQ ID [Examiner’s Note: The HARQ IDs for subsequent slots are incremented by 1 from the HARD ID of first slot, as Liu teaches]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos and Liu, so that SCI-2 includes bits for HARQ ID, as taught by Wang. The modification would have avoided inefficient resource allocation for SCI transmission (Wang [Para. 0004]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanatos et al. (US20240008085A1, hereinafter Stefanatos) in view of Liu et al. (US20230071226A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Wang et al. (US20220201557A1, hereinafter Wang557).
For claim 22, Stefanatos and Liu teach the UE of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the second stage SCI is configured in every Xth slot across the multiple slots, (Liu [Para. 80], A Multi-TTI SCI-2 grant can correspond to multiple scheduled PSSCH transmissions. SCI-2 can indicate the first HARQ ID associated with the first slot in the burst, and then the HARQ process identifier can be incremented by 1 for subsequent slots).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos, so that the second stage SCI indicates different HARQ IDs for the different slots, as taught by Liu. The modification would have conserved overhead associated with transmitting control information and improved communication throughput for SL devices (Liu [Para. 0029]).
Although teaching the second stage SCI configured across multiple slots, Stefanatos and Liu do not explicitly disclose wherein the second stage SCI is configured in every Xth slot across the multiple slots, wherein X is a periodicity integer indicated by the first stage SCI.
Wang557 is directed to providing receiver protection in sidelink wireless systems. More specifically, Wang teaches wherein the second stage SCI is configured in every Xth slot across the multiple slots ([Para. 0149] the second stage SCI message may be transmitted periodically (e.g., in slot 530-b and every X number of slots 530 of subchannel 535-b, where X is a configured periodicity for the second stage SCI) at configured transmission occasions), wherein X is a periodicity integer indicated by the first stage SCI ([Para. 0149], the second stage SCI message may be transmitted periodically (e.g., in slot 530-b and every X number of slots 530 of subchannel 535-b, where X is a configured periodicity for the second stage SCI) at configured transmission occasions. The periodicity for the second stage SCI may be indicated via the first stage SCI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stefanatos and Liu, so that the second stage SCI is transmitted in every X slots, as taught by Wang. The modification would have improved resource utilization and reliability of communications (Wang557 [Para. 0150]).
Conclusion
/S.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417