DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kannan fails to disclose or suggest the claimed language ID predictor because it precedes the encoding network disclosed by the reference. Firstly, it should be noted that the language vector of Kannan is not only a one-hot vector based on user preferences. The language vector may also be generated based on the utterance itself by processing the audio data [0009]. It may also be an embedding vector or a combination of clusters [0030] rather than a one-hot vector. Kannan further teaches “prior to processing the language vector and the acoustic features, generating, by the data processing hardware, using the audio data, a vector representation of the utterance. The vector representation of the utterance includes the acoustic features derived from the audio data” ([0008]). These vectors and features are higher-order representations of the audio data, so although the reference does not refer to these units as encoders, they (along with the encoder network) still read on the claimed encoders since the independent claims in question describe their function only as generating higher-order feature representations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11-13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kannan (US 20200380215 A1).
Claim 1: Kannan teaches a multilingual automated speech recognition (ASR) model comprising:
a first encoder ([0010]: encoder network) configured to:
receive, as input, a sequence of acoustic frames; ([0025]: input acoustic frames)
generate, at each of a plurality of output steps, a first higher order feature representation for a corresponding acoustic frame in the sequence of acoustic frames; ([0031]: generate acoustic feature vector from acoustic frames)
a second encoder configured to:
receive, as input, the first higher order feature representation generated by the first encoder at each of the plurality of output steps; and
generate, at each of the plurality of output steps, a second higher order feature representation for a corresponding first higher order feature representation; ([0028]: language vector generation)
a language identification (ID) predictor configured to:
receive, as input, a concatenation of the first higher order feature representation generated by the first encoder at each of the plurality of output steps and the second higher order feature representation generated by the second encoder at each of the plurality of output steps; ([0008]: concatenate the vectors to create an input vector)
generate, at each of the plurality of output steps, a language prediction representation; ([0028]-[0029]: language identifiers generates a vector representation of the language)
a first decoder configured to:
receive, as input, a concatenation of the second higher order feature representation generated by the second encoder at each of the plurality of output steps and the language prediction representation generated by the language ID predictor at each of the plurality of output steps; ([0015]: higher-order feature representation from the input vector concatenated from acoustic and language vectors)
generate, at each of the plurality of output steps, a first probability distribution over possible speech recognition hypotheses. ([0015]: use the feature representation to create a probability distribution)
Claim 2: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kannan further teaches a model comprising
a second decoder configured to:
receive, as input, the first higher order feature representation generated by the first encoder at each of the plurality of output steps; ([0038]: first higher order representation is passed through encoder network)
generate, at each of the plurality of output steps, a second probability distribution over possible speech recognition hypotheses. ([0015])
Claim 3: Parent claim 2 is addressed above. Kannan further teaches a model wherein the second decoder is further configured to generate partial speech recognition results based on the second probability distribution over possible speech recognition hypotheses. ([0015]: generated transcription from the probability distribution)
Claim 8: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kannan further teaches a model wherein the first encoder, the second encoder, and the language ID predictor are jointly trained on a set of multilingual training utterances by:
generating a first loss for the first encoder, generating a second loss for the second encoder, generating a third loss for the language ID predictor, and minimizing a weighted sum of the first loss, the second loss, and the third loss. ([0040]-[0044]: language prediction losses)
Claims 11-13 and 18 are analogous to claims 1-3 and 8 addressed above, and are thus rejected in a similar fashion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannan (US 20200380215 A1) in view of Huang (US 20230096821 A1).
Claim 4: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kannan does not teach, but Huang does teach the model wherein the first decoder and the second decoder each comprise a corresponding prediction network followed by a corresponding joint network; (Figure 2)
the corresponding prediction networks of the first and second decoders have a same structure comprising one of a long short-term memory (LSTM)-based prediction network or V2 embedding look-up table; ([0042]: LSTM layers)
the corresponding joint networks of the first and second decoders comprise a same structure. (Figure 2, [0044])
Huang teaches a cascading encoding structure in its automatic speech recognition method. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate cascading encoders taught by Huang in the method of Kannan because it increases the accuracy of rare words or long-tail proper nouns (see Huang [0030]).
Claim 5: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kannan does not teach, but Huang does teach the model wherein the second encoder generates the second higher order feature representation without receiving any of the acoustic frames as input. (Figure 2A, [0007]: second encoder receives higher order feature representation as input)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang with Kannan for a similar reason and motivation as described for claim 4 above.
Claim 6: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kannan does not teach, but Huang does teach the model wherein the first encoder comprises a causal encoder comprising one of:
a plurality of unidirectional long short-term memory (LSTM) layers, a plurality of conformer layers, or a plurality of transformer layers. ([0042]: first encoder includes unidirectional LSTM layers)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang with Kannan for a similar reason and motivation as described for claim 4 above.
Claim 7: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kannan does not teach, but Huang does teach the model wherein the second encoder comprises a non-causal encoder comprising one of:
one or more bi-directional long short-term memory (LSTM) layers, a plurality of conformer layers, or a plurality of transformer layers. ([0042]: second encoder includes bidirectional LSTM layers)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang with Kannan for a similar reason and motivation as described for claim 4 above.
Claims 14-17 analogous to claims 4-7 addressed above, and are thus rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannan (US 20200380215 A1) in view of Ramanarayanan (US 11238844 B1).
Claim 9: Parent claim 8 is addressed above. Kannan does not teach the model wherein a language ID target token is added as a first token of a corresponding ground-truth transcription of each multilingual training utterance in the set of multilingual training utterances, the language ID target token identifying a language of the corresponding multilingual training utterance.
However, Ramanarayanan does teach the method wherein a language ID target token is added as a first token of a corresponding ground-truth transcription of each multilingual training utterance in the set of multilingual training utterances, the language ID target token identifying a language of the corresponding multilingual training utterance. (Columns 3-4 “Language Identification from Text”: per-word language identification)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have use a multilingual language identification token because it allows for the transcription of code-switched language (see Ramanarayanan Background)
Claim 10: Parent claim 8 is addressed above. Kannan does not teach the model wherein a language ID target token is added to each position where a code-switch occurs in a corresponding ground-truth transcription of each multilingual training utterance in the set of multilingual training utterances.
However, Ramanarayanan does teach the method wherein a language ID target token is added to each position where a code-switch occurs in a corresponding ground-truth transcription of each multilingual training utterance in the set of multilingual training utterances. (Columns 3-4 “Language Identification from Text”: per-word language identification)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have use a multilingual language identification token because it allows for the transcription of code-switched language (see Ramanarayanan Background)
Claims 19-20 are analogous to claims 9-10 above, and are thus rejected in a similar manner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Narayanan (US 20220122622 A1) discloses a cascaded encoder architecture for streaming and non-streaming speech transcription.
/ALVIN ISKENDER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654