DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration, the previous rejection of record was withdrawn in light of new amendments. However new rejection is applied to the amended claims. All changes made in the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11-25-2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation “…1g represents a frequency corresponding to a given surface mean diameter on a surface mean diameter distribution curve of the negative active material…” in claims 1, 3, and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. The use of the term “frequency” does not provide any insight into the particle characterization or function. Examiner submits that Fig. 1 is directed to a curve of surface mean diameter and density distribution of the negative active material NOT “the frequency” as argued. Examiner recommends an amendment that clearly describes frequency in relation to the curve (i.e., frequency defined as the number of occurrences of a repeating event per unit of time).
Dependent claims 2, 4-10, and 12-15 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for being dependent on the rejected claims 1, 3, and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0363348 hereinafter Kurita.
Regarding Clams 1, 3, and 11, Kurita teaches an electronic device comprising: an electrochemical cell (paragraphs 24, 139), the electrochemical cell (lithium-ion battery) comprises a negative electrode, a positive electrode, a separator, and an electrolyte (paragraph 138). Kurita further teaches that the negative electrode comprises an active material layer formed on a current collector (paragraph 129), wherein the negative electrode active material include substance derived from petroleum-based coke and/or pitch-based coke (paragraphs 19, 70), and wherein the negative electrode active material having a 50% particle diameter in a volume-based cumulative particle diameter distribution, Dv50, of 3.0 µm or more and 20.0 µm or less and a total pore volume of pores having a diameter of 0.4 µm or less measured by a nitrogen gas adsorption method is 5.0 µl/g or more and 40.0 µl/g or less (paragraph 19).
With regards to recitation “…wherein a surface mean diameter of the negative active material satisfies: lg(SMD-2) + lg(SMD+2) ≥ 0.4…”, MPEP 2112.01 teaches that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Because the negative electrode active material recited in the cited prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
Regarding Claims 2, 4-6, and 12-13, Kurita teaches similar negative electrode active material, and the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP § 21112.01 described above).
Regarding Claims 7, 10 and 14, Kurita teaches that the negative electrode active material include substance derived from petroleum-based coke and/or pitch-based coke (paragraphs 19, 70). Because the negative electrode active material recited in the cited prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions (i.e., X-ray diffraction pattern and charge/discharge test) are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP § 21112.01 described above).
Regarding Claims 8-9 and 15, Kurita teaches that the negative electrode active material layer is a porous film or membrane bonded to the current collector (paragraph 19, 134). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a porous film having a porosity of at least 20% and bonded to the current collector with a bonding force of at least 8 N/m before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such configuration can form a battery with improved charge/discharge characteristics [see MPEP § 2144.05, II.].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752