FINAL REJECTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II and species triazines and diethyl amine in the reply filed on 02/27/26 is acknowledged. As such, claims 24-25 and new claim 31 (submitted with the amendment filed 06/25/26 and drawn to the non-elected reaction catalyst species of dipropyl amine (DPA)) remain withdrawn (claims 24-25) and (claim 31) is newly withdrawn from further consideration. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, even though they said the election was made with traverse, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuhle et al. U.S. Patent Number 4,459,151.
Kuhle et al. discloses herbicidally active compositions comprising fluorine-containing 4,6-diamino-s-triazines. Applicant’s claims are deemed to be clearly anticipated over Example 4 which teaches in part: “14.8 g (0.06 mol) of 2,4-dichloro-6-(2,2,2-trifluoroethylamino)-s-triazine (prepared as described in Example 3) were dissolved in 100 ml of acetone, and 12 ml of an approximately 45% strength aqueous dimethylamine solution were added dropwise at room temperature.”.
When the said concentration of acetone is converted to grams it is 78.4 grams. When said 45% strength of 12 ml of an dimenthylamine in an aqueous solution is converted to grams, the concentration of dimethylamine is 3.51 grams and the concentration of water is 6.6 grams. Thus the calculated concentration of the triazine compound in the overall solution is 14.33 wt.%. The calculated concentration of the dimethylamine compound in the overall solution is 3.46 wt.%. The calculated concentration of water in the overall solution is 6.39 wt.%. The rest is acetone.
Claim(s) 21-22 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shaw et al. U.S. Patent Number 3,577,541.
Shaw et al. discloses compositions for effecting tranquility with triazines. Applicant’s claims are deemed to be anticipated over Example 22 which teaches in part: “A suspension of 5 parts of 2-chloro-4,6-bis(methoxy-amino)-s-triazine in 20 parts of water is treated with 1.77 parts (0.0243 mole) of diethylamine, and the mixture is slowly heated to the reflux.”. Please note that according to the invention, the treatment (i.e. addition) of the diethylamine component seems to be added (dropwise) to the suspension of said triazine and water.
When the full amount of diethylamine has been added to the aqueous triazine suspension, the concentration of the triazine component in the overall suspension is calculated to be 18.68 wt.% (falls directly within Applicant’s claimed sweetener concentration ranges), the concentration of water in the overall composition is calculated to be 74.71 wt.% (falling within applicant’s dependent claim 27 water concentration range), and the concentration of diethylamine in the overall suspension is calculated to be 6.61 wt.% (which falls only a little outside of Applicant’s “catalyst” 1-6 wt.% concentration range of independent claim 21). Nevertheless, because the diethylamine component is added slowly (dropwise) to the suspension of said triazine and water, it is inevitable that during its slow addition, the concentration of the diethylamine compound within the suspension, would inevitably fall within applicant’s “catalyst” concentration range of 1-6 wt.%. When such inevitable happens, Applicant’s claims are clearly anticipated over Shaw et al.’s suspension of Example 22.
Claim(s) 21-22 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamoun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2016/0175769 A1 optionally in view of RU 2216607 C2.
Kamoun et al. discloses scavenger compositions for acidic gases (e.g. hydrogen sulfide).
Kamon et al.’s claim 19 reads as followed: “The multi-component scavenging system of claim 11, comprising:
from about 20 to about 80 wt. % of the at least one nitrogen containing scavenger based on the total weight of the multi-component scavenging system;
from about 0.01 to about 5 wt. % of the at least one hygroscopic agent based on the total weight of the multi-component scavenging system; and
from about 15 to about 79.99 wt. % water based on the total weight of the multi-component scavenging system.”.
The at least one nitrogen containing scavenger is disclosed to be selected from a variety of nitrogen containing scavengers, such as various triazines (MMA-Triazine is disclosed as a preferred triazine and it fully meets the limitations of Applicant’s sweetener component of all claims), see paragraph [0040] and claims 5, 13 and 15. Other specifically disclosed effective nitrogen containing scavengers are dimethylamine and dipropylamine (both of which fall directly within Applicant’s “catalyst’ component of independent claim 21), see paragraph [0041] and claim 5.
Kamoun et al.’s Formulations A through C, F through H, K through M, and P through R, (see TABLES I-III) all teach aqueous solutions comprising a triazine sweetener at a concentration falling within 40 to 50 wt.% of the aqueous solution (which falls directly within Applicant’s sweetener concentration ranges of all claims), and a concentration of water falling within a concentration range of 44.1 to 59 wt.% of the aqueous solution (which falls directly within Applicant’s water concentration range of dependent claim 27).
Kamoun et al. differs from applicant’s claimed invention in that there is not a direct teaching (i.e. by way of an example) to a scavenging compositions wherein the composition comprises in addition to the triazine sweetener, a secondary sweetener selected from either dimethylamine and/or dipropylamine wherein its concentration falls within Applicant’s 1-6 wt.% concentration range of independent claim 21.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Kamoun et al.’s disclosure as sufficient motivation to actually make an aqueous multi-component scavenging system which comprises a mixture of nitrogen containing scavengers, such as a mixture of (MMA triazine) with either dimethylamine or dipropylamine within Applicant’s claimed concentration ranges because: 1) combinations of nitrogen containing scavengers are directly suggested in paragraphs [0040]-[0041] and claim 5, 2) it is well known in the art that it is not inventive to merely employ combination of components together for which they are individually known to perform the same function, outside a showing of unexpected and superior results., and 3) Applicant’s claimed concentration ranges for the triazine sweetener component and dimethylamine or dipropylamine “catalyst” component, can be easily met by one having ordinary skill in the art by routine experimentation in light of Kamoun et al.’s overall disclosure, and are thus considered obvious ranges outside a showing of unexpected and superior results.
In the alternative, Kamoun et al. can optionally be taken in view of RU 2216607 C2’s disclosure that it is well known in the art to make acid (hydrogen sulfide) scavenging compositions comprising combinations of nitrogen containing scavengers, such as a combination of a triazine with dimethylamine.
Specifically, RU 2216607 C2 discloses a method for making inhibitors for prevention of ferrous metal corrosion in acidic media (e.g. hydrogen sulfide containing media). The compositions comprise (by mass%): trimethylamine, 0.01-0.5; dimethylamine, 8.0 - 18.0; N,N- tetramethylmethylene diamine(bis-amine), 10.0 - 35.0; 1,3,5-trimethylhexahydro- 1,3,5-triazine, 0.5 - 3.0; water, 1.0 -10.0; and methanol the balance.
Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art, using the combined disclosures of Kamoun et al. in view of RU 2216607 C2, would be highly motivated to actually employ a mixture of nitrogen containing scavengers, such as a combination of a triazine with dimethylamine in Kamoun et al.’s acidic scavenging compositions for the scavenging benefits said would impart.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/26 with the amendment have been fully considered but are not persuasive to put the application in condition for allowance for the reasons of record above. Additional examiner comments are set forth next.
Applicant argues that Kuhle et al., directed towards “herbicides and to intermediate products for their preparation”, does not disclose applicant’s newly added claim limitation of wherein the at least one sweetener is: “capable of removing hydrogen sulfide from a gas”.
Likewise, Applicant argues that Shaw et al., directed towards “compositions and method for effecting tranquility, preferably in the form of a pharmaceutical”, does not disclose applicant’s newly added claim limitation of wherein the at least one sweetener is: “capable of removing hydrogen sulfide from a gas”.
Examiner response. It is a wholly moot point that neither Kuhle et al. nor Shaw et al. directly disclose applicant’s newly added claim limitation of wherein the at least one sweetener is: “capable of removing hydrogen sulfide from a gas”. The above prior-art rejections over both Kuhle et al. and Shaw et al., were made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). The examiner holds that the compositions taught by both Kuhle et al. and Shaw et al., inherently are “capable of removing hydrogen sulfide from a gas”, (because their compositions fall directly within applicant’s claimed composition) even if such a property was not directly disclosed by either reference. It is well established by the courts, that a “new use” or “newly discovered property” for an otherwise old composition does NOT impart patentability to the old composition itself.
Applicant further argues that the obviousness type prior-art rejection made over Kamoun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2016/0175769 A1 optionally in view of RU 2216607 C2, should be dropped because applicant’s specification has established superior and unexpected hydrogen sulfide removal in gas streams by the synergism of the sweetener(s) and reaction catalyst(s). Applicant draws the examiner’s attention to the Example and Fig. 1, (submitted in the present specification), wherein an aqueous homogenous scavenger mixture/solution was prepared by adding 38 wt% MMAt ((monomethylamine) triazine (hexahydro-1,3,5-trimethyl-s-triazine), 3 wt% DPA with the remainder being water, and then asserts that said mixture/solution significantly increase the hydrogen sulfide breakthrough point in a gas stream vs standard 40% MMA triazine (MMAt) in water. Applicant further asserts that by contrast, piperazine and DEA co-scavengers show much lower breakthrough points of hydrogen sulfide in a gas stream. The scavenger mixture including MMA triazine (MMAt) with DPA was also shown to significantly reduce solids formation as seen in FIG. 2.
Examiner response. Applicant’s said showing of superior and unexpected hydrogen sulfide removal in gas streams by the synergism is accepted by the Examiner, but said showing is only a limited showing that corresponds to the specific mixture/solution of: “aqueous homogenous scavenger mixture/solution was prepared by adding 38 wt% MMAt ((monomethylamine) triazine (hexahydro-1,3,5-trimethyl-s-triazine), 3 wt% DPA with the remainder being water”. Said showing is nowhere near commensurate in scope with Applicant’s independent claim 1 or any of its dependent claims. As way of illustration only, the scope of applicant’s independent claim 1 reads on the situation wherein the at least one sweetener is oxazolidines and/or hemiacetals instead of triazines. Furthermore, the scope of applicant’s independent claim 1 reads on the situation wherein the at least one reaction catalyst is diethyl amine (DEA) and/or dimethyl (DMA) instead of dipropyl amine (DAP).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH D ANTHONY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764