The instant application having Application No. 18/188,959 filed on 3/23/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 2/26/2026.
The amendments to claim 1, filed 2/17/2026, is acknowledged and accepted.
The cancellation of claims 12-14, filed 2/17/2026, is acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 1-11, 15, and 16 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the limitation “a straight groove … shared by the first cam follower and the second cam follower” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments regarding the Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that because “biasing member” does not include the word “means”, it should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Examiner argues that this application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Based on paragraph [0085] in the instant specification, Examiner interprets “biasing member” as a tensile spring. If applicant does not intend to have this limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Applicant's arguments regarding the limitation “a lens holding base configured not to hold any lenses other than the lens” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify Terahara (JP 2016142935 A) by Nagaoka in order to teach the limitation “a lens holding base configured not to hold any lenses other than the lens” because the motivation of increasing control over the movement of one specific lens is not supported by Terahara. Examiner argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider a lens base only holding one lens in an attempt to have greater control of said lens. “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). “[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.” Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account “the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. See MPEP §2141.03(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terahara (JP 2016142935 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Nagaoka (US 20220075140 A1), and further in view of Kamo (US 20170276896 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Terahara discloses a lens apparatus, in at least Figures 3, 5a, and 5b, comprising:
a lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”, Figure 3) configured to hold a lens (first paragraph of page 5 of translation states "The third lens L3 is a compensator lens and is held by the third lens frame 10");
lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”, Figure 3) configured to hold the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”, first paragraph of page 5 of translation states "The third lens frame 10 is disposed in an inner diameter region surrounded by the plurality of guide pieces 9b of the first holding frame 9”);
a guide member (6 “guide moving frame”, Figure 3) having a straight groove (6a “key grooves”, Figure 3);
a cam member (7 “first cam cylinder”, Figure 3) having a cam groove (7b, 7c, 7d “cam grooves”, Figure 3) and configured to rotate with respect to the guide member (6 “guide moving frame”, last paragraph of page 3 of translation states "With the rotation of 5, it can be rotated relative to the guide movement frame 6 around the optical axis integrally with this. Further, on the inner peripheral surface of the first cam cylinder 7, three first cam grooves 7b, second cams c, and third cam grooves 7d are formed, respectively, and these cam grooves 7b, 7c, 7d is configured to move the first to third lenses L1, L2, and L3 in the optical axis direction by the rotation of the first cam cylinder 7");
a biasing barrel (12 “second holding frame”, paragraphs 0085-0086 of the instant specification indicate that a biasing barrel is configured to hold a biasing member. Figure 3 shows that 12 “second holding frame” is configured to hold 13 “compression coil spring”, therefore allowing 12 “second holding frame” to be a biasing barrel) configured to move in an optical-axis direction together with the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”) and the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”, page 4, paragraph 2 of translation states “As a result, the second holding frame 12 is moved integrally with the first holding frame 9 in the optical axis direction in a state where no force acts in the direction in which the compression coil spring 13 is bent”, page 4, paragraph 2 of translation, Figures 5a and 5b show that 12 “second holding frame” is attached to 9 “first holding frame” through 12c “position restricting portion” and 9c “guide protrusion”, and 12 “second holding frame” is attached to 10 “third lens frame” through 13 “compression coil spring”, so therefore 12 “second holding frame” must move in the optical-axis direction together with 10 “third lens frame” and 9 “first holding frame”); and
a biasing member (13 “compression coil spring”; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a tensile spring based on paragraph 0085 of the instant specification, Figure 3),
wherein the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) includes a first cam follower (9a “cam follower”, Figure 3) configured to engage with the straight groove (6a “key grooves”, page 4, paragraph 5 of translation states “when the guide moving frame 6 is moved in the optical axis direction and the first cam cylinder 7 is moved in the optical axis direction integrally therewith, the first holding frame 9 and the second lens L2 are in the optical axis”) and the cam groove (first paragraph of page 4 of translation states "the cam followers 8a, 9a, 9b of the first lens frame 8, the second lens frame 9, and the third lens frame 10 are engaged with the cam grooves 7b, 7c, 7d of the first cam cylinder 7"), and moves in the optical-axis direction together with the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”, first paragraph of page 4 of translation) by relative rotation of the cam member (7 “first cam cylinder”) to the guide member (6 “guide moving frame”, last paragraph of page 3 of translation states "The first cam cylinder 7 is integrated with the guide moving frame 6 in the optical axis direction and is supported so as to be relatively movable around the optical axis", first paragraph of page 4 of translation states "Accordingly, when the second cam cylinder 5 is rotated and the first cam cylinder 7 is integrally rotated, the first to third lens frames 8, 9, 10 is moved in the optical axis direction"), and
wherein the biasing member (13 “compression coil spring”; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a tensile spring based on paragraph 0085 of the instant specification, Figure 3) is configured to bias the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”) to the biasing barrel (12 “second holding frame”) so that the first cam follower (9a “cam follower”) is biased to the straight groove (6a “key grooves”) and the cam groove (7b, 7c, 7d “cam grooves”, page 4, paragraph 2 of translation states "A compression coil spring 13 is interposed between the second holding frame 12 and the third lens frame 10, and the spring force of the compression coil spring 13 causes the first holding frame 9 to move in the optical axis direction. It is biased in the direction of separation").
However, Terahara does not disclose a lens holding base configured not to hold any lenses other than the lens, wherein the biasing barrel includes a second cam follower configured to engage with the straight groove and the cam groove, wherein the straight groove is shared by the first cam follower and the second cam follower, and wherein the first cam follower and the second cam follower are disposed apart from each other in the optical-axis direction.
Nagaoka teaches a lens holding base (21 “first lens unit-holding frame”, Figure 1) configured not to hold any lenses other than the lens (L1 “first lens unit”, paragraph 0020 states “The first lens unit L1 has an outer periphery held by a first lens unit-holding frame 21”, Figure 1).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens apparatus of Terahara modified by a lens holding base configured not to hold any lenses other than the lens, as taught by Nagaoka, in order to have greater control over the movement of one specific lens.
Kamo teaches wherein the biasing barrel (40 “fixed barrel”, paragraph 0023, Figure 1) includes a second cam follower (32a “second cam follower”, paragraph 0023, Figure 1) configured to engage with the straight groove (41 “straight groove portion”, Figure 1) and the cam groove (31a “cam groove”, Figure 1, paragraph 0023 states “The cam follower 32a comes into slidable contact with a cam groove 31a provided on a rotating cam ring 30 and with a straight groove portion 41 located on a base ring (a fixed barrel) 40 and extending in the direction of the optical axis”), wherein the straight groove (41 “straight groove portion”) is shared by the first cam follower (32b “first cam follower”, Figure 1) and the second cam follower (32a “second cam follower”, paragraph 0023 states “The cam follower 32a comes into slidable contact with … a straight groove portion 41 located on a base ring (a fixed barrel) 40 and extending in the direction of the optical axis … The cam follower 32b comes into slidable contact with … the straight groove portion 41 located on the base ring 40”), and wherein the first cam follower (32b “first cam follower”) and the second cam follower (32a “second cam follower”) are disposed apart from each other in the optical-axis direction (50a, 50b “directions”, paragraph 0023 states “directions 50a and 50b of the optical axis”, Figure 1 shows that 32b “first cam follower” and 32a “second cam follower” are disposed apart from each other in the optical-axis direction).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens apparatus of Terahara modified by wherein the biasing barrel includes a second cam follower configured to engage with the straight groove and the cam groove, wherein the straight groove is shared by the first cam follower and the second cam follower, and wherein the first cam follower and the second cam follower are disposed apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, as taught by Kamo, in order to vary the optical performance of the lens barrel by varying the interval between a plurality of optical systems (paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses wherein the biasing member (13 “compression coil spring”; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a tensile spring based on paragraph 0085 of the instant specification) biases the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”) in a direction along the optical axis and a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (page 4, paragraph 2 of translation states "A compression coil spring 13 is interposed between the second holding frame 12 and the third lens frame 10, and the spring force of the compression coil spring 13 causes the first holding frame 9 to move in the optical axis direction. It is biased in the direction of separation").
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses
wherein the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) has a holding member (9b “guide pieces”, Figure 3) configured to hold the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”, first paragraph of page 5 of translation states "The third lens frame 10 is disposed in an inner diameter region surrounded by the plurality of guide pieces 9b of the first holding frame 9, and the first holding frame 9 is supported in a state where a peripheral edge is supported by the guide pieces 9b"), and
wherein, in a case where the lens apparatus is viewed in a direction along an optical axis, an angle formed by a line linking the holding member (9b “guide pieces”) and the optical axis (see examiner’s first markup of Figure 3) and a line linking the first cam follower (9a “cam follower”) of the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) and the optical axis (see examiner’s first markup of Figure 3).
Below is an examiner’s first markup of Figure 3 of Terahara pointing out an angle formed by a line linking the holding member and the optical axis and a line linking the cam follower of the first movement member and the optical axis.
However, Terahara does not disclose in a case where the lens apparatus is viewed in a direction along an optical axis, an angle formed by a line linking the holding member and the optical axis and a line linking the cam follower of the first movement member and the optical axis falls within 30 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a holding member and cam follower of a first movement member such that in a case where the lens apparatus is viewed in a direction along an optical axis, an angle formed by a line linking the holding member and the optical axis and a line linking the cam follower of the first movement member and the optical axis falls within 30 degrees, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses
wherein the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) has a holding member (9b “guide pieces”, Figure 3) configured to hold the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”, first paragraph of page 5 of translation states "The third lens frame 10 is disposed in an inner diameter region surrounded by the plurality of guide pieces 9b of the first holding frame 9, and the first holding frame 9 is supported in a state where a peripheral edge is supported by the guide pieces 9b"), and
wherein, in a case where the lens apparatus is viewed in a direction along an optical axis, the biasing member (13 “compression coil spring”; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a tensile spring based on paragraph 0085 of the instant specification) is between a line linking the first cam follower (9a “cam follower”) of the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) and the optical axis and a line linking the holding member (9b “guide pieces”) and the optical axis (Figure 3 shows that 13 “compression coil spring” spans the internal circumference of 9 “first holding frame”, so therefore at least a portion of 13 “compression coil spring” is between a line linking the cam follower of the first movement member and the optical axis and a line linking the holding member and the optical axis).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses wherein, in a case where the lens apparatus is viewed in a direction along an optical axis, a position of the first cam follower (9a “cam follower”) of the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) and a position of the biasing member (13 “compression coil spring”; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a tensile spring based on paragraph 0085 of the instant specification) in a circumferential direction are different (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses
wherein the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) has a holding member (9b “guide pieces”, Figure 3) configured to hold the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”, first paragraph of page 5 of translation states "The third lens frame 10 is disposed in an inner diameter region surrounded by the plurality of guide pieces 9b of the first holding frame 9, and the first holding frame 9 is supported in a state where a peripheral edge is supported by the guide pieces 9b"), the cam follower (9a “cam follower”), a barycenter of the first movement member (see examiner’s third markup of Figure 3), a member held by the first movement member (L2 “second lens”), the holding member (9b “guide pieces”), a barycenter of the lens holding member (see examiner’s third markup of Figure 3), and a member held by the lens holding member (L3 “third lens”).
Below is an examiner’s third markup of Figure 3 of Terahara pointing out a barycenter of the first movement member and a barycenter of the lens holding member.
However, Terahara does not disclose wherein a distance between a position of the first cam follower in the optical-axis direction and a barycenter of the lens holding base and a member held by the lens holding base is the same as a distance between the holding member and a barycenter of the lens holding frame and a member held by the lens holding frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a first cam follower and a holding member such that a distance between a position of the first cam follower in the optical-axis direction and a barycenter of the lens holding base and a member held by the lens holding base is the same as a distance between the holding member and a barycenter of the lens holding frame and a member held by the lens holding frame, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses wherein at least one of the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”) and the biasing barrel (12 “second holding frame”) has a holding unit configured to hold the biasing member (13 “compression coil spring”; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a tensile spring based on paragraph 0085 of the instant specification, page 5, paragraph 4 of translation states “A compression coil spring 13 is interposed between the object side end of the second holding frame 12 combined with the first holding frame 9 and the third lens frame 10. The end of the compression coil spring 13 on the object side is in contact with the surface facing the image plane side of the third lens frame 10, and the end of the compression coil spring 13 on the image plane side is on the object side of the second holding frame 12”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses wherein the biasing member (13 “compression coil spring”; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a tensile spring based on paragraph 0085 of the instant specification) includes a compression coil spring (page 4, paragraph 2 of translation states “A compression coil spring 13 is interposed between the second holding frame 12 and the third lens frame 10, and the spring force of the compression coil spring 13 causes the first holding frame 9 to move in the optical axis direction. It is biased in the direction of separation. As a result, the second holding frame 12 is moved integrally with the first holding frame 9 in the optical axis direction in a state where no force acts in the direction in which the compression coil spring 13 is bent”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses
wherein the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) has a holding member (9b “guide pieces”, Figure 3) configured to hold the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”, first paragraph of page 5 of translation states "The third lens frame 10 is disposed in an inner diameter region surrounded by the plurality of guide pieces 9b of the first holding frame 9, and the first holding frame 9 is supported in a state where a peripheral edge is supported by the guide pieces 9b"), and
wherein the holding member (9b “guide pieces”) has a holding frame fitting portion (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 3) fitting to the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”), and a base fitting portion (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 3) fitting to the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) and decentered with respect to the holding frame fitting portion (see examiner’s second markup of Figure 3), and the holding member (9b “guide pieces”) is configured to be used to adjust a position of the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”, first paragraph of page 5 of translation states “The third lens frame 10 is disposed in an inner diameter region surrounded by the plurality of guide pieces 9b of the first holding frame 9”, Figures 5a and 5b show that 10 “third lens frame” moves together with 9 “first holding frame” and is held in place with 9b “guide pieces”, so therefore 10 “third lens frame” can be adjusted by 9b “guide pieces”).
Below is an examiner’s second markup of Figure 3 of Terahara pointing out a holding frame fitting portion and a base fitting portion.
Regarding claim 11, Terahara discloses a lens apparatus, in at least Figures 3, 5a, and 5b, comprising:
the lens apparatus (LL "lens barrel", Figure 3) according to claim 1; and
an image sensor (“image sensor”) configured to receive light from the lens apparatus (LL "lens barrel", page 11, paragraph 2 of translation states "the optical element in the present invention is not limited to the lens or the lens group as in the embodiment, and the present invention can be similarly applied as long as it is an element that constitutes an optical device and is arranged in the optical axis direction. For example, a diaphragm, a shutter, a filter, and an image sensor (a photoelectric conversion element that constitutes an image sensor such as a CMOS) can be applied as the optical element. Further, the optical apparatus according to the present invention can be applied to a lens barrel of an interchangeable lens camera, a lens barrel of a compact camera, a lens barrel of a video camera, a monocular, a binocular, a telescope, and a camera for various portable electronic devices"),
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses wherein the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”) is held by the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”).
However, Terahara does not disclose a roller.
Nagaoka teaches a roller (241 “fourth cam unit”, paragraph 0076 states “the fourth unit cam followers 241 includes a circular column member projecting in a radial direction and a rotatable roller attached to the circular column member”, Figure 6).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens apparatus of Terahara modified by a roller, as taught by Nagaoka, in order to allow efficient movement between components.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses wherein relative position of the lens holding frame (10 “third lens frame”) and the lens holding base (9 “first holding frame”) changes (page 4, paragraph 2 states “A compression coil spring 13 is interposed between the second holding frame 12 and the third lens frame 10, and the spring force of the compression coil spring 13 causes the first holding frame 9 to move in the optical axis direction”, Figure 5).
However, Terahara does not disclose movement of components according to rotation of the roller.
Nagaoka teaches movement of components according to rotation of the roller (241 “fourth cam unit”, paragraph 0029 states “the third unit cam follower 231 and the fourth unit cam follower 241 are movably arranged while passing through the rectilinear motion groove 172”, paragraph 0076, Figure 3).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens apparatus of Terahara modified by movement of components according to rotation of the roller, as taught by Nagaoka, in order to allow efficient movement between components.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terahara (JP 2016142935 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Nagaoka (US 20220075140 A1), in view of Kamo (US 20170276896 A1), and further in view of Kuchimaru (CN 102213829 B)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Terahara, Nagaoka, and Kamo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Terahara further discloses wherein the biasing barrel (12 “second holding frame”) has an abutment surface (see examiner’s fourth markup of Figure 3) configured to abut the biasing member (13 “compression coil spring”; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a tensile spring based on paragraph 0085 of the instant specification, see examiner’s fourth markup of Figure 3).
Below is an examiner’s fourth markup of Figure 3 of Terahara pointing out an abutment surface.
However, Terahara does not disclose the abutment surface is inclined with respect to an optical axis.
Kuchimaru teaches the abutment surface (40a “front inclined part”) is inclined with respect to an optical axis (paragraph 0083 states “the compression coil spring 57 applies the force to the front inclined part 40a”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens apparatus of Terahara modified by the abutment surface is inclined with respect to an optical axis, as taught by Kuchimaru, in order to modify the distribution of the force of the compression coil spring.
Contact Information
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872