DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed March 23, 2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lumen seal in claims 1-3, 12 and 14 and helical grooves in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference numeral 118 in Fig. 4 and 119 in Fig. 14A, 232 in Fig. 16C, 362 in Fig. 19. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because of the unclear nature of the drawings, particularly:
a) The drawings fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(m) which allows for shading as long as it does
not reduce legibility. For instance, the shading of the feature in Fig. 9B reduces legibility of the
features, and particularly features indicated as 411a, 441b, 111a. Other figures such Fig. 1, 2, 4-9B, 9D-10C, 11C, 14A-16D, 18A and 19 as exhibit the same deficiencies.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner is requesting applicant to amend claim to claim 1 and claim 12 to include “A” before the start of the claim, so that the claims will read “A lumen fluid…” and “A method for…” respectively.
Examiner is requesting applicant to amend claim 12 to remove the “(” in the “(e)” on the last line of the claim for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "lumen sealing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears applicant was intending to recite “lumen seal” thus for the purpose of examination, examiner will be interpreting “lumen sealing” as “lumen seal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Hattori (WO2006090822).
Regarding claim 1, Hattori discloses a lumen fluid conducting and endoscope coupling adaptor (colonoscope inspection aid 10) for insertion through a lumen entry into a proximal portion of the lumen of a patient and allowing insertion of an endoscope from a proximal end of said adaptor external to the body of the patient to a distal end of said adaptor internally disposed in the lumen, comprising:
a) a proximal external body-recliner (Fig. 1: base portion 28 comprising holding pieces 90), sized to preclude insertion of the recliner into the lumen;
b) an interim protruding muzzle coupled to said body-recliner (pipe main body 11), sized to allow penetration of said muzzle through said lumen entry into said proximal portion of the lumen;
c) a distal collapsible intra-lumen clutch disposed at the distal end of said protruding muzzle (fixing portion 17), configured to assume a folded narrow state allowing insertion and retraction through said lumen entry and proximal portion of the lumen, and to assume an expanded state in the lumen, distally of said proximal portion, for fixating said adaptor (fixing portion 17, comprising balloon body 27 which in inflated to an expanded state and deflated into a narrow state);
d) a longitudinally extending endoscope bore (tube main body portion 11 comprises a bore through which colonoscope 13 passes through [0071]) bored along said adaptor through said muzzle to allow insertion and retraction of the endoscope through said bore into the lumen; and
e) a lumen fluids conducting arrangement, comprising:
i. a longitudinally extending peripheral conduit bored along said adaptor through said muzzle, in fluid communication with said endoscope bore (negative pressure supply passage 20 [0077] is fluidly connected to the bore when colonoscope 14 is partially retracted, such as shown in Fig. 1);
ii. a fluid suction port in fluid communication with said peripheral conduit for releasing lumen fluids entering said peripheral conduit from the lumen, said lumen fluids comprising liquids or liquids combined with solids (negative pressure supply hole 69 fluidly connects to the hole section 18 at the distal end of the negative pressure supply passage 20 [0039]);
iii. an irrigation nozzle (opening portion 86 [0065] supplies lubricant), configured to spurt cleansing fluid through said adaptor;
iv. a proximal seal for preventing outward leakage of said lumen fluids, disposed proximally of said adaptor, configured to seal said peripheral conduit and around said endoscope when inserted in said endoscope bore (air inflow blocking portion 26 prevents airflow through the proximal end of the bore [0069-0070]); and
v. a lumen seal for preventing backflow of said lumen fluids by sealing a gap between said protruding muzzle and the lumen when said protruding muzzle is inserted within the lumen (balloon body 27, when inflated with fluid, is pressed against the large intestine inner wall so that the tube main body 111 is fixed [0062-0063]).
Regarding claim 2, Hattori discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein said collapsible intra-lumen clutch comprises an inflatable balloon fixed to said clutch, wherein inflating of said balloon expands said clutch into said expanded state (Fig. 1: balloon body 27, which can be inflated with a fluid through fluid supply passage 33, attached to fixing portion 17 [0075-0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Hattori discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein said lumen seal comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of:
an inflatable torus balloon, fixed to said clutch, wherein said torus balloon is operational when inflated to expand said clutch into said expanded state and to prevent backflow of said lumen fluids by sealing the gap between said protruding muzzle and the lumen, when said adaptor is inserted within the lumen (Fig. 1: balloon body 27, which can be inflated with a fluid through fluid supply passage 33, attached to fixing portion 17 [0075-0076], balloon body 27 is inflated inside the rectum anal section 12, the tube main body 11 pressed against the anal sphincter muscle so that the tube main body 11 is fixed inside the recto anal portion 12 [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Hattori discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, further disclosing the adaptor comprising a lumen fluid suction unit in fluid communication with said suction port (negative pressure supply part 21 is formed by a compressor [0052]), for evacuation of fluids from the lumen, and an irrigation unit in fluid communication with the lumen, for streaming irrigation fluids into the lumen (lubricant supply source 5, lubricant supply portion 25 and hose 85 supply, lubricating fluid into the lumen [0065]).
Regarding claim 20, Hattori discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, further disclose the adaptor comprising a lumen protecting element, at least partially encircling a distal portion of said adaptor, and configured to hinder a wall of the lumen from entering into a cavity at the distal end of said adaptor (air inflow blocking portion 96, at the distal portion of the inspection aid 10, is capable of preventing a wall of the body lumen from entering a cavity at the distal end of aid 10, by creating a seal [0071-0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori in view of Gordon et al. (US2011/0105845).
Regarding claim 5, Hattori discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, but fails to disclose the adaptor comprising a cleaning rod featuring a distal cleaning tip, wherein said rod is sealingly inserted through said proximal seal and through said peripheral conduit, said rod extending longitudinally through said adaptor, and operational to allow insertion and retraction of said rod for physical break up and grinding of fecal debris and removal of clogging matter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Gordon teaches an endoscopic device 100 comprising a suction member 206, wherein the suction member includes a drain lumen 208 and feed grinding screw 236, the feed grinding screw inserted through the drain lumen 208 to assist in reducing the size of debris for draining/flushing away [0046]. In view of Gordon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the feed grinding screw, as taught by Gordon, to the adaptor of Hattori, as it is known in the art to help break down debris for promote draining/flushing [0046], particularly in colonoscopy procedures.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori in view of Hassidov et al. (US2016/0206805).
Regarding claim 9, Hattori discloses the adaptor according to claim 8, but fails to disclose the adaptor comprising an external fluid controller for controlling the operation of said lumen fluid suction unit and said irrigation unit, said external fluid controller comprising measuring sensors for measuring fluid flow, vacuum level at said suction port, and/or estimating the amount of cleansing fluid inside the patient's lumen.
In the same field of endeavor, Hassidov teaches an endoscopic system comprising an endoscope (colonoscope 19), a lumen fluid suction unit (Fig. 4C: pump 214.3 and waste collection device 212W [0168]), an irrigation unit (Fig. 4C: purge pump 214 and fluid container 211 [0168]), and an external fluid controller for controlling the operation of the lumen fluid suction unit and the irrigation unit, wherein the external fluid controller comprises measuring sensors for measuring fluid flow (Fig. 4C: controller 213 comprising sensor 204A [0173]). In view of Hassidov, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a fluid controller, such as the one taught by Hassidov, to the adaptor of Hattori, as it is known in the art that fluid systems typically comprise a controller to regulate the fluid flow.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori in view of Hassidov and Pereira et al. (US2018/0361055).
Regarding claim 10, Hattori, modified by Hassidov, discloses the adaptor according to claim 9. Hassidov further teaches wherein said lumen fluid suction unit comprises a sewage canister (collecting container 212W [0168]) for collecting evacuated lumen fluids, wherein said irrigation unit comprises an irrigation canister (fluid container 211 [0168]) from which irrigation fluids are streamed into the lumen.
In view of Hassidov, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the sewage canister and irrigation canister of Hassidov, to the adaptor of Hattori, as it is well known in the art that irrigated and aspirated fluids are typically stored in a container or vessel.
Hattori and Hassidov fail to teach wherein the measuring sensors comprise weighing scales for measuring fluids quantity inside said sewage canister and/or said irrigation canister, however in the same field of endeavor, Pereira teaches an endoscopic fluid management system (fluid management system 10) comprises pressure sensors (pressure sensor connected to fluid bad 104 [0075], flow rate may be adjusted based on pressure [0071]) or weighing scales for measuring fluid quantity inside a sewage canister and/or irrigation canister (base plates 610 may include weight sensors to detect changes in weight of the collection vessel [0090]). In view of Pereira, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the weighing scales, as taught by Pereira, to the adaptor of Hattori and Hassidov, as it is known in the art that weighing scales and pressure sensors in fluid management system are common alternatives or supplements to measuring fluid flow in endoscopic system.
Claims 12-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori in view of Conteas (US2022/0031151).
Regarding claim 12, Hattori discloses a method for lumen fluid conducting and endoscope coupling, comprising the procedures of:
a) disposing an endoscope into an adaptor (Fig. 1: colonoscope 13 smoothly pass through pipe main body 11 of colonoscope inspection aid 10 [0071]), wherein said adaptor comprises a longitudinally extending endoscope bore bored through said adaptor (Fig. 1: tube main body portion 11 comprises a bore through which colonoscope 13 passes through [0071]), and a proximal seal configured to surround the endoscope inserted in said bore, effecting blocking of fluid leakage from the proximal end of said adaptor (Fig. 1: air inflow blocking portion 26 prevents airflow through the proximal end of the bore [0069-0070]);
b) inserting the distal end of said adaptor into the proximal portion of the patient lumen (tube main body 11 is inserted into the rectum anus 12 [0060]), said adaptor comprising a distal intra-lumen collapsible clutch (fixing portion 17), an interim protruding muzzle (pipe main body 11) and a proximal external body recliner (Fig. 1: base portion 28 comprising holding pieces 90), and continuing insertion of said adaptor until said external body recliner interfaces the patient body (holding pieces 90 are fixed to the skin around the anal portion of the examinee 30 [0077]), wherein a distal lumen seal is operative to block leakage from a gap between the distal end of said muzzle and said lumen (balloon body 27 is inflated inside subject lumen so that the tube body section 11 is pressed by the sphincter muscle [0062]);
c) expanding said distal collapsible clutch within said proximal portion of the lumen into an expanded configuration which presses against the lumen to fixate said adaptor to the body of the patient (fixing portion 17, comprising balloon body 27 which in inflated to an expanded state and deflated into a narrow state, when inflated the tube body section 11 is pressed by the sphincter muscle so that the tube main body portion 11 is fixed inside the recto anal portion 12 [0062]);
d) allowing lumen fluids to drain through a longitudinally extending peripheral conduit bored along said adaptor through said muzzle (negative pressure supply passage 20 [0077] extends through the pipe main body 11), and to be released through a fluid suction port which is in fluid communication with said peripheral conduit (negative pressure supply hole portion 69 is in fluid communication with negative pressure supply passage 20 through chamber 92 [0052-0053]), wherein said proximal seal blocks the fluids from leaking from the proximal end of said adaptor (air inflow blocking portion 26 prevent inflow of air from the outside [0069], thus maintaining a seal).
Hattori fails to explicitly disclose wherein the lumen fluid comprises liquids or liquids combined with solids, also failing to disclose wherein the endoscope comprises an irrigation nozzle for spurting cleaning fluid through the adaptor. In the same field of endeavor, Conteas teaches a method for lumen fluid conducting and endoscope coupling comprising:
a) disposing an endoscope into an adaptor (colonoscope 12 inserted through overtube 20), wherein said adaptor comprises a longitudinally extending endoscope bore bored through said adaptor (Fig. 3: opening 23 is at the proximal end of overtube 20 but extends longitudinally [0070]), and a proximal seal configured to surround the endoscope inserted in said bore, effecting blocking of fluid leakage from the proximal end of said adaptor (Fig. 6: removable membrane covering 50 comprises a close air and water seal yet a low coefficient of friction to easily move [0070]);
b) inserting the distal end of said adaptor into the proximal portion of the patient lumen (overtube 20 is inserted into anus [0066]), said adaptor comprising a distal intra-lumen collapsible clutch, an interim protruding muzzle and a proximal external body recliner (See Annotated Fig. 8A), and continuing insertion of said adaptor until said external body recliner interfaces the patient body (Annotated Fig. 8A, Fig. 5: recliner, particularly, outer surface 34 of skirt interfaces with patient’s dermis [0066] ), wherein a distal lumen seal is operative to block leakage from a gap between the distal end of said muzzle and said lumen (Fig. 8B: cuff 60 is inflated and established a seal against air and fluid leakage around the overtube [0073]);
c) expanding said distal collapsible clutch within said proximal portion of the lumen into an expanded configuration which presses against the lumen to fixate said adaptor to the body of the patient (Fig. 8B: cuff 60 is inflated to permit air and fluid removal, provide an anchoring point for placement and retention of the overtube 20 and establishing a seal [0073]);
d) allowing lumen fluids to drain through the bore (distal opening of overtube 20 is opened to permit fluid removal [0073]), and to be released through a fluid suction port (waste removal accomplished using vacuum port [0069]), said lumen fluids comprising liquids or liquids combined with solids (colonic waste, air, water, sediment, and sludge [0059]), wherein said proximal seal blocks the fluids from leaking from the proximal end of said adaptor (Fig. 6: removable membrane covering 50 comprises a close air and water seal [0070]); and
(e) spurting cleansing fluid through said adaptor from an irrigation nozzle (colonoscope 12 equipped with water port 16 [0060-0061]).
In view of Conteas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized that the fluid expelled from body lumens typically comprise a liquid and solid material. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the irrigation nozzle of Conteas, to the endoscope of Hattori, as it is well known in the art that endoscopes comprise irrigation system and irrigation nozzles at distal tips of endoscopes to clean the lumen during imaging or inflate the lumen [0060].
Regarding claim 13, Hattori, modified by Conteas, discloses the method according to claim 12. Hattori further discloses wherein said fixating comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of:
inflating a distal inflatable balloon fixed to said clutch, wherein said inflating of said balloon expands said collapsible intra-lumen clutch into said expanded state (Fig. 1: balloon body 27, which can be inflated with a fluid through fluid supply passage 33, attached to fixing portion 17 [0075-0076]).
Regarding claim 14, Hattori, modified by Conteas, discloses the method according to claim 12. Hattori further discloses wherein said lumen sealing comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of:
inflating of a distal inflatable torus balloon, wherein said torus balloon is fixed to said clutch and is operational when inflated to expand said clutch into said expanded state and to prevent backflow of said lumen fluids by sealing the gap between said protruding muzzle and said lumen when said adaptor is inserted within the lumen (Fig. 1: balloon body 27, which can be inflated with a fluid through fluid supply passage 33, attached to fixing portion 17 [0075-0076], balloon body 27 is inflated inside the rectum anal section 12, the tube main body 11 pressed against the anal sphincter muscle so that the tube main body 11 is fixed inside the recto anal portion 12 [0062]); and
expanding a distal flapping peripheral flange operational as said lumen seal, wherein said flange is operational when in said expanded state to prevent backflow of said lumen fluids by sealing the gap between said muzzle and the lumen when said adaptor is inserted within the lumen (Fig. 1: balloon body 27, which can be inflated with a fluid through fluid supply passage 33, attached to fixing portion 17 [0075-0076], balloon body 27 is inflated inside the rectum anal section 12, the tube main body 11 pressed against the anal sphincter muscle so that the tube main body 11 is fixed inside the recto anal portion 12 [0062]).
Regarding claim 18, Hattori, modified by Conteas, discloses the method according to claim 12. Hattori further disclose wherein said draining of the lumen comprises: actively suctioning lumen fluids through said suction port (air from the large intestine interior can be sucked through negative pressure supply passage 20 through hole 18 [0051]), controlling said suctioning by an external fluid controller (suction pressure reduction from the tube body portion 11 is controlled by operating an operation switch provided in the negative supply portion 21 [0096]). Conteas further teaches the irrigation of the lumen with irrigation fluids (water port 16 introduces clean, fresh water to body lumen [0060]), and controlling said irrigating by an external fluid controller (foot pedal may adjust water infusion through the colonoscope [0061]).
Regarding claim 19, Hattori, modified by Conteas, discloses the method according to claim 12. Hattori further discloses the method comprising at least one of: controlling vacuum level at said suction port (suction pressure reduction from the tube body portion 11 is controlled by operating an operation switch provided in the negative supply portion 21 [0096]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori in view of Conteas and Gordon.
Regarding claim 15, Hattori, modified by Conteas, discloses the method according to claim 12, but fails to disclose wherein said draining of the lumen comprises physically breaking up and grinding of fecal debris and other clogging matter using a cleaning rod featuring a distal cleaning tip, said rod sealingly inserted through said proximal seal and said peripheral conduit, wherein said grinding comprises inserting and retracting of said rod. However, in the same field of endeavor, Gordon teaches an endoscopic device 100 comprising a suction member 206, wherein the suction member includes a drain lumen 208 and feed grinding screw 236, the feed grinding screw inserted through the drain lumen 208 to assist in reducing the size of debris for draining/flushing away [0046]. In view of Gordon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the feed grinding screw, as taught by Gordon, to the adaptor of Hattori, as it is known in the art to help break down debris for promote draining/flushing [0046], particularly in colonoscopy procedures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 7, 11, 16, and 16 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Claims 4, 6, 7, 11, 16, and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites wherein the adaptor is split into two fastenable shells, further allowing splitting the endoscope bore and the proximal seal into an open state.
Claim 6 recites wherein the endoscope bore comprises helical grooves configured to promote vortex flow of lumen fluids.
Claims 7 and 17 recites features comprising a cushion, resilient members, a ratchet, a toothed bar, a pulling strap and an external inflatable balloon, functioning together to allow adjustment of the clutch.
Claim 11 recites the adaptor comprising an air tube and an evacuation tube, fluidly connected together, wherein the wherein an air streaming means for streaming air into the evacuation tube through the air tube raises the air pressure in the evacuation tube without pausing the operation of the lumen fluid suction unit communicating with the evacuation tube.
Claim 16 recites wherein the irrigation nozzle extends through at least one hollow arm, wherein said hollow arm extends along the length of the cleaning rod.
The prior art on record and those listed in the PTO-892s show some limitations of the listed claims, however, the prior art on record fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 4, 6, 7, 11, 16 and 17. Further, there is no reasoning, teaching or suggesting provided with any prior art of record that teaches the modify Hattori to include the limitations of these claims. These limitations, in context of other limitations in the claim, considering the claim as a whole, with respect to the prior art on record, is not anticipated nor is obvious over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See references cited in PTO-892.
/LI-TING SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
09/23/25