DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 07/13/2026. Claims 1-30 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 15, 28, and 30 have been amended; Claims 1-30 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent Claim(s) 1, 15, 28, and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for independent Claim(s) 1, 15, 28, and 30. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for independent Claim(s) 1, 15, 28, and 30 are equally applicable to the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, 10, 13, 15-18, 21, 23, 24, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2023/0292180, previously presented), Jang hereinafter, in view of Cudak et al. (US 2022/0046638, previously presented), Cudak hereinafter, and Park et al. (US 20250240134), Park hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Jang teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising (Fig. 12, Para. [0099-0128]):
memory (Fig. 12, element 1206; Para. [0079, 0106-0107]);
and one or more processors coupled with the memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 12, element 1204; Para. [0079, 0106-0107, 0113]):
monitor one or more network conditions and parameters of a network (Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0044] - [0043] FIG. 5 illustrates a more specific example in which data is sent to and from a radio unit RU1 through multiple distributed units DU1 - DU3. In FIG. 5, the curved, evenly dashed lines labeled “DL-C” shows downlink control data, the curved solid lines labeled “DL-D” shows downlink user data, the curved, intermittently dashed line labeled “UL-C” shows uplink control data, and the curved dotted line labeled “UL-D” shows uplink user data. [0044] Note that load balancing can be performed per carrier, per subcarrier, per user equipment, per transmission time interval (TTI or slot), per bearer, or per channel. The load balancer can be configured for one or more load balancing options, or can select among various options based on the traffic being load balanced. Further, non-liming examples of types of load balancing can be round robin, based on least distributed unit load utilization (e.g., the load balancer can monitor DU loads), based on relative weights among the DUs, and so forth.; See also Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [054-0057]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10),
the network comprising a fronthaul network and a radio access network (Fig. 4, Para. [0037-0042]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]), wherein the fronthaul network comprises at least one distributed unit (Fig. 4, elements 412(1)-412(n), Para. [0037-0038, 0412]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]) supporting wireless communications for a plurality of radio units (Fig. 4, elements RU1 – RUm; Para. [0037-0038]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]) via a plurality of fronthaul communication links (Fig. 4, elements ❸,❹, and ❺; Para. [0039-0041]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]),
The examiner interprets the networks in Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5 as fronthaul and radio access networks.
The examiner interprets the links labeled in Fig. 4 with elements ❸, ❹, and ❺ as fronthaul communication links.
and the radio access network comprises the plurality of radio units supporting communications for a plurality of wireless devices (Fig. 2, elements 114-117 and UE1-UE5; Para. [0032-0033]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]);
and output, based at least in part on the one or more network conditions and the parameters, an indication of one or more fronthaul operation parameters for the at least one distributed unit to support wireless communications for at least one radio unit of the plurality of radio units via one or more respective fronthaul communication links of the plurality of fronthaul communication links (Fig. 5, Para. [0048-0049] - [0048] As described herein, to load balance downlink communications, the load balancer 560, which operates between the higher layer(s) and the distributed unit L1 H-Phy layer, load balances the control messages and user data by changing the destinations to one of the DU 1 and DU 3 distributed units in this example. Note that the downlink data corresponding to a downlink control message goes through the same distributed unit as the control message, e.g., a first downlink control message that references a first piece of downlink user data both go to DU 1, a second downlink control message that references a second piece of downlink user data both go to DU 3, a third downlink control message that references a third piece of downlink user data both go to DU 1, and so on in this example. [0049] As described with reference to FIG. 4, the distributed units DU 1 and DU 3 are configured with the single address to send to, that is, the destination (for user 1) address is radio unit RU 1. The CAS switch 570 simply sends the data to this address, RU 1; See also Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0057]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10)
The examiner interprets communication paths from DU1-DU4 to the CAS SW in element 570 to RU1-RU4 as fronthaul communication links.
Yet, Jang does not expressly teach wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise a multiplexing mode for the at least one distributed unit.
However, Cudak teaches
wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise a multiplexing mode for the at least one distributed unit (Fig. 7, step 710; Para. [0113-0119] - [0113] FIG. 7 shows the flow chart for the parent DU. As shown in FIG. 7, after step 700 there is determining whether to schedule a slot in step 705 of FIG. 7. If yes, then as shown in step 710 there is determining a multiplexing choice. If the choice is TDM, then as shown in step 715 there is generating a schedule for a slot subject to TDD constraint (D/U/F). The as shown in step 718 of FIG. 7 there is selecting an MCS based on expected SINR. If the choice is FDM, then as shown in step 720 of FIG. 7 there is generating a schedule for a slot subject to TDD constraint (D/U/F) and RB restriction. Then as shown in step 722 of FIG. 7 there is sending PartialAvailabilityindication to IAB DU indicating FDM. Then as shown in step 725 of FIG. 7 there is selecting an MCS based on expected SINR. If the choice is SDM, then as shown in step 740 of FIG. 7 there is generating a schedule for a slot subject to TDD constraint (D/U/F) and Beam restriction. As shown in step 742 of FIG. 7 there is sending PartialAvailabilityindication to IAB DU indicating SDM. Then as shown in step 745 of FIG. 7 there is selecting an MCS based on expected SINR accounting for SDM. In all these choices the result as shown in step 750 of FIG. 7 is sending PDCCH. In addition, if at step 705 the determination is No then as shown in step 707 of FIG. 7 there is sending AvailabilityIndication to IAB DU. Finally, as shown in step 760 of FIG. 7 there is a Stop; See also Figs. 1-2; Fig. 5, Para. [0068-0110]; Fig. 6, Para. [0111-0112]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120-0122]; Fig. 9, Para. [0123-0124]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0125-0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jang’s invention of “load balancing baseband units in a communications network” (Jang §Abstract) with Cudak’s invention of “providing an IAB availability indicator for an availability of resources” (Cudak Para. [0001]) because Cudak’s invention provides signaling of partial IAB resource availability for shared SDM/FDM resources using an availability indicator, thereby coordinating parent/child node transmissions and reducing interference (Cudak Para. [0083, 0086-0089]).
Yet, neither Jang nor Cudak expressly teach that is selected based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units.
However, Park teaches
that is selected based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units (Para. [0132] - A UL TCI may be provided for simultaneous UL transmission to multiple TRPs. In an example, the WTRU may receive a UL TCI with a TCI state associated with a transmission mode and/or hypothesis. For example, a transmission mode may be a simultaneous transmission, where the WTRU may transmit to two TRPs in the same time unit (for example, slot, symbol). For example, the WTRU may receive an UL TCI where one TCI codepoint may be configured with two TCI states associated to two different TRPs. The WTRU may determine that this codepoint may be used for simultaneous UL transmission. If the WTRU receives a grant with this codepoint, and the TCI states are associated to different panels, the WTRU may determine to adjust its spatial filters to simultaneously transmit on the same time resource using the different panels. If the TCI states are associated to the same panel, the WTRU may determine to adjust its spatial filters in a time division multiplexing (TDM) pattern. The TDM pattern may be preconfigured (for example, cyclical, sequential, and/or the like) and/or configurable. The TDM pattern may be configured in a TimeDomainResourceAllocation (TDRA) table such that a TDRA table index may indicate a mapping of UL TCI states to one or more scheduled grant resources. In an example, a UL TCI codepoint with two TCI states may be configured with an explicit flag to signal the associated transmission mode. The WTRU may determine whether to use TCI states simultaneously as a function of the flag. If the flag is on, the WTRU may determine that both TCI states may be used for simultaneous uplink transmission. If the flag is off, the WTRU may determine that both TCI states may be used for non-simultaneous transmission; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0114-0134]; Fig. 3, Para. [0135-0149]; Figs. 4-8, Para. [0150-0165]; Fig. 9, Para. [0166-0167]; Fig. 10, Para. [0168-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0206])
Examiner’s Note: Jang and Cudak teach the claimed DU/RU fronthaul system and multiplexing mode. Park further teaches selecting a TDM multiplexing arrangement in a configuration involving two TRPs (i.e., the claimed radio units), thereby teaching selection of the multiplexing mode based at least in part on a quantity of radio units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that is selected based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units as taught by Park, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak, so that it would provide flexible multiplexing of communications associated with multiple radio units by enabling selection of a simultaneous or time-division multiplexed transmission arrangement based on the configuration of the radio units. (Park Para. [0132]).
Regarding Claim 15, Jang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a distributed unit, comprising (Fig. 12, Para. [0099-0128]; See also Fig. 11, Para. [0087-0098]):
memory (Fig. 12, element 1206; Para. [0079, 0106-0107]; See also Fig. 11, Para. [0087-0098]);
and one or more processors coupled with the memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 12, element 1204; Para. [0079, 0106-0107, 0113]; See also Fig. 11, Para. [0087-0098]):
output one or more network conditions and parameters of a network (Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0044]; See also Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [054-0057]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10),
the network comprising a fronthaul network and a radio access network (Fig. 4, Para. [0037-0042]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]), wherein the fronthaul network comprises at least one distributed unit (Fig. 4, elements 412(1)-412(n), Para. [0037-0038, 0412]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]) supporting wireless communications for a plurality of radio units (Fig. 4, elements RU1 – RUm; Para. [0037-0038]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]) via a plurality of fronthaul communication links (Fig. 4, elements ❸,❹, and ❺; Para. [0039-0041]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]),
and the radio access network comprises the plurality of radio units supporting communications for a plurality of wireless devices (Fig. 2, elements 114-117 and UE1-UE5; Para. [0032-0033]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]);
and obtain, based at least in part on outputting the one or more network conditions and the parameters, an indication of one or more fronthaul operation parameters to support wireless communications for at least one radio unit of the plurality of radio units via one or more respective fronthaul communication links of the plurality of fronthaul communication links (Fig. 5, Para. [0048-0049]; See also Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0057]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10)
Yet, Jang does not expressly teach wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise a multiplexing mode for the at least one distributed unit.
However, Cudak teaches
wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise a multiplexing mode for the at least one distributed unit (Fig. 7, step 710; Para. [0113-0119]; See also Figs. 1-2; Fig. 5, Para. [0068-0110]; Fig. 6, Para. [0111-0112]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120-0122]; Fig. 9, Para. [0123-0124]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0125-0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jang’s invention of “load balancing baseband units in a communications network” (Jang §Abstract) with Cudak’s invention of “providing an IAB availability indicator for an availability of resources” (Cudak Para. [0001]) because Cudak’s invention provides signaling of partial IAB resource availability for shared SDM/FDM resources using an availability indicator, thereby coordinating parent/child node transmissions and reducing interference (Cudak Para. [0083, 0086-0089]).
Yet, neither Jang nor Cudak expressly teach that is selected based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units.
However, Park teaches
that is selected based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units (Para. [0132]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0114-0134]; Fig. 3, Para. [0135-0149]; Figs. 4-8, Para. [0150-0165]; Fig. 9, Para. [0166-0167]; Fig. 10, Para. [0168-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0206])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that is selected based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units as taught by Park, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak, so that it would provide flexible multiplexing of communications associated with multiple radio units by enabling selection of a simultaneous or time-division multiplexed transmission arrangement based on the configuration of the radio units. (Park Para. [0132]).
Regarding Claim 28, Jang teaches a method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising (Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10):
monitoring one or more network conditions and parameters of a network (Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0044]; See also Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [054-0057]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10),
the network comprising a fronthaul network and a radio access network (Fig. 4, Para. [0037-0042]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]), wherein the fronthaul network comprises at least one distributed unit (Fig. 4, elements 412(1)-412(n), Para. [0037-0038, 0412]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]) supporting wireless communications for a plurality of radio units (Fig. 4, elements RU1 – RUm; Para. [0037-0038]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]) via a plurality of fronthaul communication links (Fig. 4, elements ❸,❹, and ❺; Para. [0039-0041]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]),
and the radio access network comprises the plurality of radio units supporting communications for a plurality of wireless devices (Fig. 2, elements 114-117 and UE1-UE5; Para. [0032-0033]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]);
and outputting, based at least in part on the one or more network conditions and the parameters, an indication of one or more fronthaul operation parameters for the at least one distributed unit to support wireless communications for at least one radio unit of the plurality of radio units via one or more respective fronthaul communication links of the plurality of fronthaul communication links (Fig. 5, Para. [0048-0049]; See also Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0057]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10)
Yet, Jang does not expressly teach wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise a multiplexing mode for the at least one distributed unit.
However, Cudak teaches
wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise a multiplexing mode for the at least one distributed unit (Fig. 7, step 710; Para. [0113-0119]; See also Figs. 1-2; Fig. 5, Para. [0068-0110]; Fig. 6, Para. [0111-0112]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120-0122]; Fig. 9, Para. [0123-0124]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0125-0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jang’s invention of “load balancing baseband units in a communications network” (Jang §Abstract) with Cudak’s invention of “providing an IAB availability indicator for an availability of resources” (Cudak Para. [0001]) because Cudak’s invention provides signaling of partial IAB resource availability for shared SDM/FDM resources using an availability indicator, thereby coordinating parent/child node transmissions and reducing interference (Cudak Para. [0083, 0086-0089]).
Yet, neither Jang nor Cudak expressly teach that is selected based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units.
However, Park teaches
that is selected based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units (Para. [0132]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0114-0134]; Fig. 3, Para. [0135-0149]; Figs. 4-8, Para. [0150-0165]; Fig. 9, Para. [0166-0167]; Fig. 10, Para. [0168-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0206])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide that is selected based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units as taught by Park, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak, so that it would provide flexible multiplexing of communications associated with multiple radio units by enabling selection of a simultaneous or time-division multiplexed transmission arrangement based on the configuration of the radio units. (Park Para. [0132]).
Regarding Claim 30, Jang teaches a method for wireless communication at a distributed unit, comprising (Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10):
outputting one or more network conditions and parameters of a network (Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0044]; See also Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [054-0057]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10),
the network comprising a fronthaul network and a radio access network (Fig. 4, Para. [0037-0042]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]), wherein the fronthaul network comprises at least one distributed unit (Fig. 4, elements 412(1)-412(n), Para. [0037-0038, 0412]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]) supporting wireless communications for a plurality of radio units (Fig. 4, elements RU1 – RUm; Para. [0037-0038]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]) via a plurality of fronthaul communication links (Fig. 4, elements ❸,❹, and ❺; Para. [0039-0041]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0045-0053]),
and the radio access network comprises the plurality of radio units supporting communications for a plurality of wireless devices (Fig. 2, elements 114-117 and UE1-UE5; Para. [0032-0033]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]);
and obtaining, based at least in part on outputting the one or more network conditions and the parameters, an indication of one or more fronthaul operation parameters to support wireless communications for at least one radio unit of the plurality of radio units via one or more respective fronthaul communication links of the plurality of fronthaul communication links (Fig. 5, Para. [0048-0049]; See also Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0057]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10)
Yet, Jang does not expressly teach wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise a multiplexing mode for the at least one distributed unit.
However, Cudak teaches
wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise a multiplexing mode for the at least one distributed unit (Fig. 7, step 710; Para. [0113-0119]; See also Figs. 1-2; Fig. 5, Para. [0068-0110]; Fig. 6, Para. [0111-0112]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120-0122]; Fig. 9, Para. [0123-0124]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0125-0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jang’s invention of “load balancing baseband units in a communications network” (Jang §Abstract) with Cudak’s invention of “providing an IAB availability indicator for an availability of resources” (Cudak Para. [0001]) because Cudak’s invention provides signaling of partial IAB resource availability for shared SDM/FDM resources using an availability indicator, thereby coordinating parent/child node transmissions and reducing interference (Cudak Para. [0083, 0086-0089]).
Yet, neither Jang nor Cudak expressly teach based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units.
However, Park teaches
based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units (Para. [0132]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0114-0134]; Fig. 3, Para. [0135-0149]; Figs. 4-8, Para. [0150-0165]; Fig. 9, Para. [0166-0167]; Fig. 10, Para. [0168-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0206])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide based at least in part on a quantity of radio units of the plurality of radio units as taught by Park, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak, so that it would provide flexible multiplexing of communications associated with multiple radio units by enabling selection of a simultaneous or time-division multiplexed transmission arrangement based on the configuration of the radio units. (Park Para. [0132]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 29, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claims 1 and 28.
Jang further teaches
detect that a change in the one or more network conditions and the parameters of the network exceeds a threshold value, wherein outputting the indication of the one or more fronthaul operation parameters is based at least in part on detecting that the change exceeds the threshold value (Fig. 6, steps 602, 604, and 610; Para. [0054] - FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of example operations of a load balancer with respect to increasing or decreasing the amount of active distributed units, or leaving the current number unchanged. Operation 602 represents waiting for a duration and/or event (such as the current distributed units becoming overutilized with respect to some overutilization criterion or underutilized with respect to satisfying some underutilization criterion. This can, for example, be an overutilization threshold value and underutilization threshold value, respectively, although it is feasible to have a single threshold value that decides both overutilization and underutilization states. Note that the operations following operation 602 can be triggered based on time instead of or in addition to event-based triggering; See also Para. [0055-0056]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 3, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 1.
Jang further teaches
obtain an indication of available resources at the at least one distributed unit, wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters are based at least in part on the available resources (Para. [0022] - In one aspect, the technology provides a component for bridging two units, comprising a load balancer for downlink communications, which connects higher layer applications to the distributed units, seamlessly scales the L1 processing capability, and can distribute workload from the distributed unit(s) to the radio unit(s) based on various granularities such as carriers, subcarrier, transmission time intervals (TTIs), frame, subframe, slot, user equipment (UE) devices, bearers, or channels. When the demand grows, the load balancer scales up the network capability accordingly by creating one or more new distributed units to deal with the additional demand, and then scaling down the number of distributed units as demand decreases. This approach can help the service providers reduce the operational cost by dynamically activating (creating) or deactivating (purging) distributed units based on changing demand over time. For example, the load balancer can create more distributed units in response to increased daytime demand, and reduce the number of distributed units to reflect a reduced nighttime demand; Fig. 6, steps 602, 604, and 610; Para. [0054] - FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of example operations of a load balancer with respect to increasing or decreasing the amount of active distributed units, or leaving the current number unchanged. Operation 602 represents waiting for a duration and/or event (such as the current distributed units becoming overutilized with respect to some overutilization criterion or underutilized with respect to satisfying some underutilization criterion. This can, for example, be an overutilization threshold value and underutilization threshold value, respectively, although it is feasible to have a single threshold value that decides both overutilization and underutilization states. Note that the operations following operation 602 can be triggered based on time instead of or in addition to event-based triggering; See also Para. [055-0057]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10 ).
Based on Para. [0022], the examiner interprets “overutilization criterion” in Para. [0054] as being “carriers, subcarrier, transmission time intervals (TTIs), frame, subframe, slot, user equipment (UE) devices, bearers, or channels” which all can be considered available resources at the at least one distributed unit.
The examiner interprets the number of active distributed units as a fronthaul operation parameter.
Regarding Claim 17, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 15.
Jang further teaches
output an indication of available resources at the distributed unit, wherein obtaining the indication of the one or more fronthaul operation parameters is based at least in part on outputting the indication of the available resources (Para. [0022]; Fig. 6, steps 602, 604, and 610; Para. [0054]; See also Para. [055-0057]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 4, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 1.
Jang further teaches
monitor a traffic load of the radio access network, a delay budget associated with the plurality of wireless devices supported by the plurality of radio units, an activation status of the at least one radio unit, or a combination thereof (Para. [0022] - In one aspect, the technology provides a component for bridging two units, comprising a load balancer for downlink communications, which connects higher layer applications to the distributed units, seamlessly scales the L1 processing capability, and can distribute workload from the distributed unit(s) to the radio unit(s) based on various granularities such as carriers, subcarrier, transmission time intervals (TTIs), frame, subframe, slot, user equipment (UE) devices, bearers, or channels. When the demand grows, the load balancer scales up the network capability accordingly by creating one or more new distributed units to deal with the additional demand, and then scaling down the number of distributed units as demand decreases. This approach can help the service providers reduce the operational cost by dynamically activating (creating) or deactivating (purging) distributed units based on changing demand over time. For example, the load balancer can create more distributed units in response to increased daytime demand, and reduce the number of distributed units to reflect a reduced nighttime demand; FIG. 6, STEPS 602, 604, AND 610; PARA. [0054]; Para. [0057] - Further, before deactivating, in this example at least one distributed unit is to remain active. To this end, operation 612 prevents deactivation if there is only one active distributed unit so that the one distributed unit remains active. Otherwise, operation 614 deactivates a distributed unit; See also Para. [055-0056]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 18, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 15.
Jang further teaches
wherein the one or more network conditions and the parameters comprise a traffic load of the radio access network, a delay budget associated with the plurality of wireless devices supported by the plurality of radio units, an activation status of the at least one radio unit, or a combination thereof (Para. [0022]; FIG. 6, STEPS 602, 604, AND 610; PARA. [0054]; Para. [0057]; See also Para. [055-0056]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 7, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Jang does not expressly teach wherein the multiplexing mode is based at least in part on the one or more network conditions and the parameters of the network.
However, Cudak teaches
wherein the multiplexing mode is based at least in part on the one or more network conditions and the parameters of the network (Fig. 7, step 710; Para. [0113-0119] - [0113] FIG. 7 shows the flow chart for the parent DU. As shown in FIG. 7, after step 700 there is determining whether to schedule a slot in step 705 of FIG. 7. If yes, then as shown in step 710 there is determining a multiplexing choice. If the choice is TDM, then as shown in step 715 there is generating a schedule for a slot subject to TDD constraint (D/U/F). The as shown in step 718 of FIG. 7 there is selecting an MCS based on expected SINR. If the choice is FDM, then as shown in step 720 of FIG. 7 there is generating a schedule for a slot subject to TDD constraint (D/U/F) and RB restriction. Then as shown in step 722 of FIG. 7 there is sending PartialAvailabilityindication to IAB DU indicating FDM. Then as shown in step 725 of FIG. 7 there is selecting an MCS based on expected SINR. If the choice is SDM, then as shown in step 740 of FIG. 7 there is generating a schedule for a slot subject to TDD constraint (D/U/F) and Beam restriction. As shown in step 742 of FIG. 7 there is sending PartialAvailabilityindication to IAB DU indicating SDM. Then as shown in step 745 of FIG. 7 there is selecting an MCS based on expected SINR accounting for SDM. In all these choices the result as shown in step 750 of FIG. 7 is sending PDCCH. In addition, if at step 705 the determination is No then as shown in step 707 of FIG. 7 there is sending AvailabilityIndication to IAB DU. Finally, as shown in step 760 of FIG. 7 there is a Stop; See also Figs. 1-2; Fig. 5, Para. [0068-0110]; Fig. 6, Para. [0111-0112]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120-0122]; Fig. 9, Para. [0123-0124]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0125-0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jang’s invention of “load balancing baseband units in a communications network” (Jang §Abstract) with Cudak’s invention of “providing an IAB availability indicator for an availability of resources” (Cudak Para. [0001]) because Cudak’s invention provides signaling of partial IAB resource availability for shared SDM/FDM resources using an availability indicator, thereby coordinating parent/child node transmissions and reducing interference (Cudak Para. [0083, 0086-0089]).
Regarding Claim 21, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 15.
Yet, Jang does not expressly teach wherein multiplexing mode is based at least in part on outputting the one or more network conditions and the parameters.
However, Cudak teaches
wherein multiplexing mode is based at least in part on outputting the one or more network conditions and the parameters (Fig. 7, step 710; Para. [0113-0119] - [0113] FIG. 7 shows the flow chart for the parent DU. As shown in FIG. 7, after step 700 there is determining whether to schedule a slot in step 705 of FIG. 7. If yes, then as shown in step 710 there is determining a multiplexing choice. If the choice is TDM, then as shown in step 715 there is generating a schedule for a slot subject to TDD constraint (D/U/F). The as shown in step 718 of FIG. 7 there is selecting an MCS based on expected SINR. If the choice is FDM, then as shown in step 720 of FIG. 7 there is generating a schedule for a slot subject to TDD constraint (D/U/F) and RB restriction. Then as shown in step 722 of FIG. 7 there is sending PartialAvailabilityindication to IAB DU indicating FDM. Then as shown in step 725 of FIG. 7 there is selecting an MCS based on expected SINR. If the choice is SDM, then as shown in step 740 of FIG. 7 there is generating a schedule for a slot subject to TDD constraint (D/U/F) and Beam restriction. As shown in step 742 of FIG. 7 there is sending PartialAvailabilityindication to IAB DU indicating SDM. Then as shown in step 745 of FIG. 7 there is selecting an MCS based on expected SINR accounting for SDM. In all these choices the result as shown in step 750 of FIG. 7 is sending PDCCH. In addition, if at step 705 the determination is No then as shown in step 707 of FIG. 7 there is sending AvailabilityIndication to IAB DU. Finally, as shown in step 760 of FIG. 7 there is a Stop; See also Figs. 1-2; Fig. 5, Para. [0068-0110]; Fig. 6, Para. [0111-0112]; Fig. 8, Para. [0120-0122]; Fig. 9, Para. [0123-0124]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0125-0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jang’s invention of “load balancing baseband units in a communications network” (Jang §Abstract) with Cudak’s invention of “providing an IAB availability indicator for an availability of resources” (Cudak Para. [0001]) because Cudak’s invention provides signaling of partial IAB resource availability for shared SDM/FDM resources using an availability indicator, thereby coordinating parent/child node transmissions and reducing interference (Cudak Para. [0083, 0086-0089]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 23, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claims 1 and 15.
Jang further teaches
wherein the multiplexing mode comprises a spatial division multiplexing mode, a frequency division multiplexing mode, a time division multiplexing mode, or a combination thereof (Para. [0082] - Turning to aspects in general, a wireless communication system can employ various cellular systems, technologies, and modulation schemes to facilitate wireless radio communications between devices (e.g., a UE and the network equipment). While example embodiments might be described for 5G new radio (NR) systems, the embodiments can be applicable to any radio access technology (RAT) or multi-RAT system where the UE operates using multiple carriers e.g. LTE FDD/TDD, GSM/GERAN, CDMA2000 etc. For example, the system can operate in accordance with global system for mobile communications (GSM), universal mobile telecommunications service (UMTS), long term evolution (LTE), LTE frequency division duplexing (LTE FDD, LTE time division duplexing (TDD), high speed packet access (HSPA), code division multiple access (CDMA), wideband CDMA (WCMDA), CDMA2000, time division multiple access (TDMA), frequency division multiple access (FDMA), multi-carrier code division multiple access (MC-CDMA), single-carrier code division multiple access (SC-CDMA), single-carrier FDMA (SC-FDMA), orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM), discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-spread OFDM) single carrier FDMA (SC-FDMA), Filter bank based multi-carrier (FBMC), zero tail DFT-spread-OFDM (ZT DFT-s-OFDM), generalized frequency division multiplexing (GFDM), fixed mobile convergence (FMC), universal fixed mobile convergence (UFMC), unique word OFDM (UW-OFDM), unique word DFT-spread OFDM (UW DFT-Spread-OFDM), cyclic prefix OFDM CP-OFDM, resource-block-filtered OFDM, Wi Fi, WLAN, WiMax, and the like. However, various features and functionalities of system are particularly described wherein the devices (e.g., the UEs and the network equipment) of the system are configured to communicate wireless signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers (e.g., OFDM, CP-OFDM, DFT-spread OFDM, UFMC, FMBC, etc.). The embodiments are applicable to single carrier as well as to multicarrier (MC) or carrier aggregation (CA) operation of the UE. The term carrier aggregation (CA) is also called (e.g. interchangeably called) “multi-carrier system”, “multi-cell operation”, “multi-carrier operation”, “multi-carrier” transmission and/or reception. Note that some embodiments are also applicable for Multi RAB (radio bearers) on some carriers (that is data plus speech is simultaneously scheduled); Para. [0086] - The MIMO technique uses a commonly known notation (M x N) to represent MIMO configuration in terms number of transmit (M) and receive antennas (N) on one end of the transmission system. The common MIMO configurations used for various technologies are: (2 × 1), (1 × 2), (2 × 2), (4 × 2), (8 × 2) and (2 × 4), (4 × 4), (8 × 4). The configurations represented by (2 × 1) and (1 × 2) are special cases of MIMO known as transmit diversity (or spatial diversity) and receive diversity. In addition to transmit diversity (or spatial diversity) and receive diversity, other techniques such as spatial multiplexing (comprising both open-loop and closed-loop), beamforming, and codebook-based precoding can also be used to address issues such as efficiency, interference, and range; See also Para. [0084-0085]).
The examiner interprets spatial multiplexing as space division multiplexing.
Regarding Claim 10, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 1.
Jang further teaches
monitor for capability and resource information of the at least one distributed unit, the plurality of radio units, or any combination thereof (Para. [0022] - In one aspect, the technology provides a component for bridging two units, comprising a load balancer for downlink communications, which connects higher layer applications to the distributed units, seamlessly scales the L1 processing capability, and can distribute workload from the distributed unit(s) to the radio unit(s) based on various granularities such as carriers, subcarrier, transmission time intervals (TTIs), frame, subframe, slot, user equipment (UE) devices, bearers, or channels. When the demand grows, the load balancer scales up the network capability accordingly by creating one or more new distributed units to deal with the additional demand, and then scaling down the number of distributed units as demand decreases. This approach can help the service providers reduce the operational cost by dynamically activating (creating) or deactivating (purging) distributed units based on changing demand over time. For example, the load balancer can create more distributed units in response to increased daytime demand, and reduce the number of distributed units to reflect a reduced nighttime demand; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0056]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 24, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 15.
Jang further teaches
output capability and resource information of the distributed unit, the plurality of radio units, or any combination thereof (Para. [0022]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0056]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
Regarding Claims 13 and 27, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claims 1 and 15.
Jang further teaches
wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise Layer 1 parameters of the fronthaul network, Layer 2 parameters of the fronthaul network, or any combination thereof (Para. [0022] - In one aspect, the technology provides a component for bridging two units, comprising a load balancer for downlink communications, which connects higher layer applications to the distributed units, seamlessly scales the L1 processing capability, and can distribute workload from the distributed unit(s) to the radio unit(s) based on various granularities such as carriers, subcarrier, transmission time intervals (TTIs), frame, subframe, slot, user equipment (UE) devices, bearers, or channels. When the demand grows, the load balancer scales up the network capability accordingly by creating one or more new distributed units to deal with the additional demand, and then scaling down the number of distributed units as demand decreases. This approach can help the service providers reduce the operational cost by dynamically activating (creating) or deactivating (purging) distributed units based on changing demand over time. For example, the load balancer can create more distributed units in response to increased daytime demand, and reduce the number of distributed units to reflect a reduced nighttime demand; See also Para. [0030, 0048]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0056]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 16, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 15.
Jang further teaches
output, to the at least one radio unit, at least a portion of the one or more fronthaul operation parameters based at least in part on obtaining the indication of the one or more fronthaul operation parameters (Fig. 4, element ❸; Para. [0038-0039] - [0038] As represented by circled numeral two (2), the load balancer 410 (which can be part of MAC, additional layer of software running collocated with MAC or implemented in the switch ) distributes slot structure information as well as downlink data across the compute nodes 412(1) - 412(n). In one implementation, the load balancer changes the destination (e.g., destination addresses (MAC or IP)) between the MAC layer and the distributed unit layer, so that control messages and corresponding user downlink data are load balanced across the different distributed units. Further, an H-Phy DU that processes data can pass its DU ID value into the eCPRI (enhanced Common Public Radio Interface) header (Rtcid/Pcid field). [0039] As represented by circled numeral three (3), the CAS SW 420 directs eCPRI messages to the appropriate radio unit based on the Ethernet transport header (radio unit’s MAC address), which as described above, is known to each distributed unit based on the static configuration via the PNF control 444; See also Para. [0040-0042]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0056]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
The examiner interprets an eCPRI message to contain parameters related to fronthaul operation.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Cudak and Park, and in further view of Tarlazzi et al. (US 10244507, previously presented), Tarlazzi hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 4.
Jang further teaches
detect that a change in the traffic load exceeds a threshold value (Para. [0022]; FIG. 6, STEPS 602, 604, AND 610; PARA. [0054]; Para. [0057]; See also Para. [055-0056]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10),
wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters are based at least in part on the change in the traffic load exceeding the threshold value, and the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise
a quantity of resources assigned to each fronthaul communication link of the plurality of fronthaul communication links (Para. [0022]; FIG. 6, STEPS 602, 604, AND 610; PARA. [0054]; Para. [0057]; See also Para. [055-0056]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
Yet, Jang, Cudak, nor Park expressly teach a quantity of antenna panels per fronthaul communication link of the plurality of fronthaul communication links, a transmit power for each antenna panel.
However, Tarlazzi teaches
a quantity of antenna panels per fronthaul communication link of the plurality of fronthaul communication links, a transmit power for each antenna panel (Column 3, Lines 42-51 - In other aspects, the fronthaul physical layer coordinator or MAC scheduler can determine an optimal transmission mode used by remote radio heads to serve user devices. For example, by comparing uplink received power levels from the user devices in a coverage area, the fronthaul physical layer coordinator or MAC scheduler can determine whether to serve user devices via multiple remote radio heads (such as by using MIMO modes), single antenna transmissions (such as by using a SIMO mode), or joint processing of signals via multiple remote radio heads).
The examiner interprets “determine whether to serve user devices via multiple remote radio heads (such as by using MIMO modes), single antenna transmissions (such as by using a SIMO mode), or joint processing of signals via multiple remote radio heads” as determining a quantity of antenna panels per fronthaul communication link.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a quantity of antenna panels per fronthaul communication link of the plurality of fronthaul communication links, a transmit power for each antenna panel as taught by Tarlazzi, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak/Park, so that it would provide methods and techniques to manage “transport load on the fronthaul link” and identify “optimized processing distribution in a C-RAN” (Tarlazzi Column 1, Lines 25-36).
Regarding Claim 19, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 18.
Jang further teaches
wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise a quantity of resources assigned to each fronthaul communication link of the plurality of fronthaul communication links (Para. [0022]; FIG. 6, STEPS 602, 604, AND 610; PARA. [0054]; Para. [0057]; See also Para. [055-0056]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
obtaining the indication of the one or more fronthaul operation parameters is based at least in part on a change in the traffic load exceeding a threshold value (Para. [0022]; FIG. 6, STEPS 602, 604, AND 610; PARA. [0054]; Para. [0057]; See also Para. [055-0056]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10).
Yet, Jang, Cudak, nor Park expressly teach a quantity of antenna panels per fronthaul communication link of the plurality of fronthaul communication links, a transmit power for each antenna panel.
However, Tarlazzi teaches
a quantity of antenna panels per fronthaul communication link of the plurality of fronthaul communication links, a transmit power for each antenna panel (Column 3, Lines 42-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a quantity of antenna panels per fronthaul communication link of the plurality of fronthaul communication links, a transmit power for each antenna panel as taught by Tarlazzi, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak/Park, so that it would provide methods and techniques to manage “transport load on the fronthaul link” and identify “optimized processing distribution in a C-RAN” (Tarlazzi Column 1, Lines 25-36).
Regarding Claim 6, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 4.
Jang further teaches
detect that an increase in the traffic load exceeds a threshold value (Para. [0022]; FIG. 6, STEPS 602, 604, AND 610; PARA. [0054]; Para. [0057]; See also Para. [055-0056]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10);
Yet, Jang, Cudak, nor Park expressly teach and output based at least in part on detecting that the increase in the traffic load exceeds the threshold value, a message indicating the at least one distributed unit activate one or more carrier components associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, one or more serving antenna panels associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, or a combination thereof.
However, Tarlazzi teaches
and output based at least in part on detecting that the increase in the traffic load exceeds the threshold value, a message indicating the at least one distributed unit to activate (Column 12, Lines 24-30 - In some aspects, the fronthaul physical layer coordinator can identify the best remote unit to serve a specific user device on scheduled PRBs among the multiple remote units that are simulcasting a given cell/sector in the coverage area. The information about the downlink and uplink PRBs allocated for each user device can be contained within the downlink control information message)
one or more carrier components associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, one or more serving antenna panels associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, or a combination thereof (COLUMN 3, LINES 42-51; Column 10, Lines 12-35 - The baseband pool 810 and the fronthaul physical layer coordinator 806 can receive downlink and uplink transport channels and control information. The fronthaul physical layer coordinator 806 can use the control information about downlink and uplink time and frequency resources assignment for each served user device provided by MAC layers as part of downlink control information and uplink control information messages. Since the final decisions about the time and frequency resource assignment and transmission mode selection for each served user device is made by a MAC scheduler in the baseband pool 810, the physical layer scheduler in the fronthaul physical layer coordinator 806 can interact with the MAC s scheduler (e.g., by specific Application Programming Interfaces). The final scheduling for user devices can be realized according to a joint process between the MAC scheduler and the physical layer scheduler. The two schedulers can make two different levels of decisions because the schedulers act across different dimensions (e.g., MAC scheduler over time/frequency and physical layer scheduler over space). Their joint/combined decisions can determine the final scheduling for the mobile device. There can be both downlink and uplink schedulers for each MAC and physical layer so that uplink and downlink optimal resource allocations may differ; See also Column 10, Lines 36-54; Column 12, Lines 24-30).
The examiner interprets the “frequency resource assignment” in COLUMN 10, LINES 12-35 as component carriers.
The examiner interprets “determine whether to serve user devices via multiple remote radio heads (such as by using MIMO modes), single antenna transmissions (such as by using a SIMO mode), or joint processing of signals via multiple remote radio heads” as determining a quantity of antenna panels per fronthaul communication link.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and output based at least in part on detecting that the increase in the traffic load exceeds the threshold value, a message indicating the at least one distributed unit activate one or more carrier components associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, one or more serving antenna panels associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, or a combination thereof as taught by Tarlazzi, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak/Park, so that it would provide methods and techniques to manage “transport load on the fronthaul link” and identify “optimized processing distribution in a C-RAN” (Tarlazzi Column 1, Lines 25-36).
Regarding Claim 20, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 18.
Jang further teaches
based at least in part on an increase in the traffic load exceeding a threshold value (Para. [0022]; FIG. 6, STEPS 602, 604, AND 610; PARA. [0054]; Para. [0057]; See also Para. [055-0056]; Figs. 1-2, Para. [0030-0035]; Fig. 5, Para. [0043-0053]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0062]; Fig. 8, Para. [0063-0072]; Fig. 9, Para. [0073-0078]; Fig. 10);
Yet, Jang, Cudak, nor Park expressly teach obtain a message indicating the distributed unit to activate one or more carrier components associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, one or more serving antenna panels associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, or a combination thereof.
However, Tarlazzi teaches
obtain a message indicating the distributed unit to activate (Column 12, Lines 24-30)
one or more carrier components associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, one or more serving antenna panels associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, or a combination thereof (COLUMN 3, LINES 42-51; Column 10, Lines 12-35; See also Column 10, Lines 36-54; Column 12, Lines 24-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide obtain a message indicating the distributed unit to activate one or more carrier components associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, one or more serving antenna panels associated with the plurality of fronthaul communication links, or a combination thereof as taught by Tarlazzi, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak/Park, so that it would provide methods and techniques to manage “transport load on the fronthaul link” and identify “optimized processing distribution in a C-RAN” (Tarlazzi Column 1, Lines 25-36).
Claim(s) 8 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view Cudak, and in further view of Carnero et al. (US 2021/0399854, previously presented), Carnero hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Jang, Cudak, nor Park expressly teach obtain positioning information associated with the plurality of radio units, wherein the one or more network conditions and the parameters comprises the positioning information of the plurality of radio units; and select the multiplexing mode based at least in part on the positioning information.
However, Carnero teaches
obtain positioning information associated with the plurality of radio units, wherein the one or more network conditions and the parameters comprises the positioning information of the plurality of radio units (Para. [0044] - Whereas one of the main challenges of C/E-RAN design is to find an optimal cell clustering and BB hub assignability with minimal overhead and maximum gain, example embodiments set forth below advantageously address such challenges by focusing on several performance goals and constraints within a computationally efficient process. By way of illustration, example embodiments may be based on, without limitation, one or more of the following: (i) cells should be optimally clustered to be assigned to one BB hub in order to achieve/maximize statistical multiplexing gain, facilitate CoMP and CA, but also prevent the BB hub and the fronthaul from overloading; (ii) a BB hub should support cells from different areas such as office, residential or commercial as well as cells of various types and kinds, such as small cells, macrocells or microcells, etc.; and (iii) intra-hub and inter-hub coordination among BBUs should be possible within the constraints such as latency, etc. Example embodiments may therefore consider constraints such as, e.g., the distance restrictions between RRUs and BBU/BB hub locations, BBU hardware/software resources, the number of available ports to connect various types of heterogeneous cells/nodes (e.g., macrocells, small cells, etc.), and having the possibility of cascading multiple small cells on the same port if they are collocated. Accordingly, in still further aspects, certain example embodiments are directed to optimizing a partner-BBU selection scheme in order to maximize the RF benefit of advanced E-RAN features such as, e.g., CA and CoMP);
and select the multiplexing mode based at least in part on the positioning information (Para. [0044] - Whereas one of the main challenges of C/E-RAN design is to find an optimal cell clustering and BB hub assignability with minimal overhead and maximum gain, example embodiments set forth below advantageously address such challenges by focusing on several performance goals and constraints within a computationally efficient process. By way of illustration, example embodiments may be based on, without limitation, one or more of the following: (i) cells should be optimally clustered to be assigned to one BB hub in order to achieve/maximize statistical multiplexing gain, facilitate CoMP and CA, but also prevent the BB hub and the fronthaul from overloading; (ii) a BB hub should support cells from different areas such as office, residential or commercial as well as cells of various types and kinds, such as small cells, macrocells or microcells, etc.; and (iii) intra-hub and inter-hub coordination among BBUs should be possible within the constraints such as latency, etc. Example embodiments may therefore consider constraints such as, e.g., the distance restrictions between RRUs and BBU/BB hub locations, BBU hardware/software resources, the number of available ports to connect various types of heterogeneous cells/nodes (e.g., macrocells, small cells, etc.), and having the possibility of cascading multiple small cells on the same port if they are collocated. Accordingly, in still further aspects, certain example embodiments are directed to optimizing a partner-BBU selection scheme in order to maximize the RF benefit of advanced E-RAN features such as, e.g., CA and CoMP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide obtain positioning information associated with the plurality of radio units, wherein the one or more network conditions and the parameters comprises the positioning information of the plurality of radio units; and select the multiplexing mode based at least in part on the positioning information as taught by Carnero, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak/Park, so that it would provide “a parsimonious allocation of the hardware within a design optimization framework, thereby allowing minimization of hardware cost” and “determine optimal BBU partners for every BBU in the network to maximize the benefit of advanced E-RAN features, which may be conditioned on reciprocal or nonreciprocal relationships while satisfying per-BBU limitations on how many partners are allowed for each BBU” (Carnero Para. [0013]).
Regarding Claim 22, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 15.
Yet, Jang, Cudak, nor Park expressly teach output positioning information associated with the plurality of radio units, wherein multiplexing mode is based at least in part on the positioning information; and apply the multiplexing mode to the one or more respective fronthaul communication links of the plurality of fronthaul communication links to support wireless communications with the at least one radio unit.
However, Carnero teaches
output positioning information associated with the plurality of radio units, wherein multiplexing mode is based at least in part on the positioning information (Para. [0044]);
and apply the multiplexing mode to the one or more respective fronthaul communication links of the plurality of fronthaul communication links to support wireless communications with the at least one radio unit (Para. [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide output positioning information associated with the plurality of radio units, wherein multiplexing mode is based at least in part on the positioning information; and apply the multiplexing mode to the one or more respective fronthaul communication links of the plurality of fronthaul communication links to support wireless communications with the at least one radio unit as taught by Carnero, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak/Park, so that it would provide “a parsimonious allocation of the hardware within a design optimization framework, thereby allowing minimization of hardware cost” and “determine optimal BBU partners for every BBU in the network to maximize the benefit of advanced E-RAN features, which may be conditioned on reciprocal or nonreciprocal relationships while satisfying per-BBU limitations on how many partners are allowed for each BBU” (Carnero Para. [0013]).
Claim(s) 11, 12, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Cudak and Park, and in further view of Shete et al. (US 2024/0259836, previously presented), Shete hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 11 and 25, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claims 10 and 24.
Yet, Jang, Cudak, nor Park expressly teach wherein the capability and resource information comprises a quantity of antenna panels, a power value associated with each antenna panel, a quantity of supported layers, an indication of available beams and beam bandwidths, or any combination thereof.
However, Shete teaches
wherein the capability and resource information comprises a quantity of antenna panels, a power value associated with each antenna panel, a quantity of supported layers, an indication of available beams and beam bandwidths, or any combination thereof (Para. [0178] - The O1 configuration data to prepare and execute the RF channel reconfiguration may include at least one of an O-RU Tx/Rx Array selection, a modification of the number of SU/MU MIMO spatial streams or data layers, a modification of the number of SSB beams and a modification of the O-RU antenna transmit power; See also Para. [0105, 0129, 0162, 0185, 0192, 0194], Fig. 5, Para. [0110-0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the capability and resource information comprises a quantity of antenna panels, a power value associated with each antenna panel, a quantity of supported layers, an indication of available beams and beam bandwidths, or any combination thereof as taught by Shete, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak/Park, so that it would provide systems and methods which “allow for energy saving (ES) by reducing the power consumption of the O-RUs by RF channel reconfiguration (e.g., by switching off certain Transmitter/Receiver (Tx/Rx) arrays)” (Shete Para. [0007]).
Regarding Claims 12 and 26, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Jang, Cudak, nor Park expressly teach wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise panel assignments for the at least one radio unit, beamforming weights for the at least one radio unit, or any combination thereof.
However, Shete teaches
wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise panel assignments for the at least one radio unit, beamforming weights for the at least one radio unit, or any combination thereof (Para. [0178] - The O1 configuration data to prepare and execute the RF channel reconfiguration may include at least one of an O-RU Tx/Rx Array selection, a modification of the number of SU/MU MIMO spatial streams or data layers, a modification of the number of SSB beams and a modification of the O-RU antenna transmit power; See also Para. [0105, 0129, 0162, 0185, 0192, 0194], Fig. 5, Para. [0110-0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the one or more fronthaul operation parameters comprise panel assignments for the at least one radio unit, beamforming weights for the at least one radio unit, or any combination thereof as taught by Shete, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak/Park, so that it would provide systems and methods which “allow for energy saving (ES) by reducing the power consumption of the O-RUs by RF channel reconfiguration (e.g., by switching off certain Transmitter/Receiver (Tx/Rx) arrays)” (Shete Para. [0007]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Cudak and Park, and in further view of Ranganath et al. (US 2024/0259879, previously presented), Ranganath hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 14, Jang in view of Cudak and Park teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Jang, Cudak, nor Park expressly teach wherein the network entity comprises a fronthaul network controller associated with a near-real time radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller or a non-real time RAN intelligent controller.
However, Ranganath teaches
wherein the network entity comprises a fronthaul network controller associated with a near-real time radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller or a non-real time RAN intelligent controller (Fig. 1, elements 112 and 114; Para. [0026] - FIG. 1 depicts an example O-RAN architecture 100 including various interfaces between a RAN Intelligent Controller (RIC) 114 and service management and orchestration framework (SMO) 102. The SMO 102 may be the same or similar as the SMO 802, 902, 1002 and/or the MO 301, 3c02 discussed infra. The RIC 114 is an NF that also includes intelligent applications (apps) such as network ML/AI apps functioning with it to automate various NFs for predictive maintenance, enhanced operation, and the like. The O-RAN architecture 100 describes a model for RAN resource control, managed at the upper level by orchestration and automation components of the SMO 102 (e.g., policy, configuration, inventory, design, and non-RT RIC 112). These components control and communicate with the near-RT RIC 114 via the A1 interface. The near-RT RIC 114 provides management of and connectivity to RAN nodes (e.g., eNB/gNB 910, RU 816, DU 916, and the like). In some implementations, the near-RT RIC 114 may be the same or similar as the near-RT RIC 814 of FIG. 8 and/or the RIC 3c14 of FIG. 3c, and some aspects of the near-RT RIC 114 may be described infra w.r.t FIG. 3c. Additionally, a core set of services provided by the near-RT RIC 114 is extensible by custom third-party xApps, which are instantiated as cloud services and have low-latency connectivity to RAN nodes. xApps communicate with the RIC 114 and its managed RAN nodes via the E2 interface. O-RAN defines and clarifies the usage of various interfaces in the O-RAN architecture 100. These interfaces are summarized by Table 1; See also Table 1; Para. [0027-0029]; Fig. 2, Para. [0030-0034]; Figs. 3a-3c, Para. [0035-0058]; Para. [0137, 0145, 0160, 0368]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the network entity comprises a fronthaul network controller associated with a near-real time radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller or a non-real time RAN intelligent controller as taught by Ranganath, in the combined system of Jang/Cudak/Park, so that it would provide “an xApp manager that leverages the platform telemetry, capabilities and/or application traces to provide helpful information the xApps such as noisy neighbors, NIC congestion, platform reliability, dynamic power management, as well as active ephemeral user equipment (UE) communication traffic to sustain uplink and downlink connections and associated UE-to-distributed unit (DU) and/or UE-to-remote unit (RU) measurements that can be used for intelligent RAN analytics” (Ranganath Para. [0025]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Joesph et al. (US 20210045142) Figs. 3-4 and Para. [0054-0066, 0079-0086] teaches multi-TRP communications in which one or multiple TRPs are associated with respective TCI states and a corresponding multiplexing/communication scheme, including SDM, FDM, or TDM, is indicated and selected for communication with the TRPs.
Kishigami et al. (US 20050265470) Figs. 1 and 3A-B and Para. [0059-0062, 0098-0099] teaches adaptively allocating communications using SDM or SDMA for a plurality of mobile stations, including giving priority to SDMA based on traffic conditions where a number of mobile stations are present and call loss exceeds a predetermined level.
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468