DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
1. Oath and declaration filed on is accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The prior art documents submitted by application in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on have all been considered and made of record ( note the attached copy of form PTO – 1449).
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-17 are objected to elements number should take out because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (2004/0189942 A1) in view of Bradski et al (2016/0026253 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2) a head-mounted optometric system (100) for digital correction of an eye of a patient, the system (100) (paragraph 0023) comprising: a light source (102) (paragraph 0023) configured to generate light; a mirror (136) configured to reflect light generated by the light source (102) towards a beamsplitter (123); the beamsplitter (123 ) configured to split the light into a first beam and a second beam, wherein the first beam is directed into the eye of the patient, wherein the second beam is directed into a wavefront sensor (108); the wavefront sensor (108) (paragraph 0026) configured to compare light reflected from the eye of the patient and the second beam to measure one or more wavefront errors; and
communicatively coupled to the wavefront sensor (108),
Yoon discloses all of the claimed limitations except a digital correction system and a cloud server comprising a processor capable of executing computer-readable instructions, and a memory component comprising computer-readable instructions for generating the image comprising the correction to the eye of the patient, and applying the correction to the eye of the patient.
Bradski et al a digital correction system and a cloud server (2780) (paragraph 0556 and paragraph 0570) comprising a processor (38) capable of executing computer-readable instructions, and a memory component comprising computer-readable instructions for generating the image comprising the correction to the eye of the patient, and applying the correction to the eye of the patient (paragraph 0207 and paragraph 0215).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide a cloud server and a correction system and a memory component comprising computer-readable instructions for generating the image comprising the correction to the eye of the patient, and applying the correction to the eye of the patient in to the Yoon a head-mounted optometric system for the purpose of enjoyable virtual reality and augmented reality as taught by Bradski et al (PARAGRAPH 0168).
Regarding claim 2, Yoon discloses wherein the wavefront sensor (108) comprises a Shack-Hartmann sensor (paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 3, Yoon discloses wherein the mirror (136) comprises a dichroic mirror.
Regarding claim 4, Yoon discloses wherein the beamsplitter (123) comprises a polarizing beamsplitter.
Regarding claim 6, combination of Yoon in view of Bradski et al discloses further comprising a communication chip communicatively coupled to the wavefront sensor (108) and the cloud server, wherein the communication chip is configured to transmit the one or more wavefront errors to the cloud server.
Regarding claim 7, Yoon discloses wavefront sensor (108) is configured to measure fixation and visual acuity of the eye of the patient.
Regarding claim 8, Yoon discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2) a method for digital correction of an eye of a patient, the method (paragraph 0023) comprising: a. actuating a light source (102) to generate light; b. reflecting, by a mirror (136), the light generated by the light source (102); c. splitting, by a beamsplitter (123), the light reflected by the mirror (136) into a first beam and a second beam, wherein the first beam is directed towards an eye of the patient, wherein the second beam is directed towards a wavefront sensor (140); d. comparing, by the wavefront sensor (108), light reflected from the eye of the patient and the second beam to measure one or more wavefront errors;
Yoon discloses all of the claimed limitations except a digital correction system and a cloud server comprising a processor capable of executing computer-readable instructions, and a memory component comprising computer-readable instructions for generating the image comprising the correction to the eye of the patient, and applying the correction to the eye of the patient.
Bradski et al a digital correction system and a cloud server (2780) (paragraph 0556 and paragraph 0570) comprising a processor (38) capable of executing computer-readable instructions, and a memory component comprising computer-readable instructions for generating the image comprising the correction to the eye of the patient, and applying the correction to the eye of the patient (paragraph 0207 and paragraph 0215).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon discloses the wavefront sensor (108) comprises a Shack- Hartmann sensor (paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 10, Yoon discloses wherein the mirror (136) comprises a dichroic mirror.
Regarding claim 11, Yoon discloses, wherein the beamsplitter (123) comprises a polarizing beamsplitter.
Regarding claim 13, combination of Yoon in view of Bradski et al discloses wherein the cloud server comprises a processor capable of executing computer-readable instructions, and a memory component comprising computer-readable instructions for generating the image comprising the correction to the eye of the patient, and applying the correction to the eye of the patient.
Regarding claim 14, Yoon discloses wherein a communication chip communicatively coupled to the wavefront sensor (108) and the cloud server transmits the one or more wavefront errors to the cloud server.
Regarding claim 15, Yoon discloses wherein the wavefront sensor (108) is configured to measure fixation and visual acuity of the eye of the patient.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (2004/0189942 A1) in view of Bradski et al (2016/0026253 A1) further in view of Fleck et al (2013/0286053 A1).
Regarding claim 5 depends on claim 1, Yoon in view of Bradski et al discloses all of the claimed limitations except further comprising a polarizer disposed between the beamsplitter and the wavefront sensor, wherein the polarizer is configured to polarize the second beam and the light reflected from the eye of the patient.
Fleck et al discloses a polarizer (422) (paragraph 0112) disposed between the beamsplitter and the wavefront sensor, wherein the polarizer is configured to polarize the second beam and the light reflected from the eye of the patient.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide a polarizer disposed between the beamsplitter and the wavefront sensor in to the Yoon in view of Bradski et al a head-mounted optometric system for the purpose of low power and high resolution AR display as taught by Fleck (paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 12 depends on claim 8, Yoon in view of Bradski et al discloses all of the claimed limitations except further comprising a polarizer disposed between the beamsplitter and the wavefront sensor , wherein the polarizer is configured to polarize the second beam and the light reflected from the eye of the patient.
Fleck et al discloses a polarizer (422) (paragraph 0112) disposed between the beamsplitter and the wavefront sensor, wherein the polarizer is configured to polarize the second beam and the light reflected from the eye of the patient.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide a polarizer disposed between the beamsplitter and the wavefront sensor in to the Yoon in view of Bradski et al a head-mounted optometric system for the purpose of low power and high resolution AR display as taught by Fleck (paragraph 0004).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 16 and 17 are allowed.
6. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art taken either singularly or in a combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper. The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in independent claims 16, which include, a head-mounted optometric system for digital correction of an eye of a patient, the system comprising:
a. a light source configured to generate light; b. a dichroic mirror configured to reflect light generated by the light source towards a polarizing beamsplitter ;
c. the polarizing beamsplitter configured to split light into a first beam and a second beam, wherein the first beam is directed into the eye of the patient, wherein the second beam is directed into a Shack-Hartmann sensor ;
d. the Shack-Hartmann sensor configured to compare light reflected from the eye of the patient and the second beam to measure one or more wavefront errors;
e. a polarizer disposed between the polarizing beamsplitter and the Shack-Hartmann sensor such that second beam and the light reflected from the eye of the patient are polarized by the polarizer;
f. a communication chip communicatively coupled to the Shack- Hartmann sensor and a cloud server, configured to transmit the one or more wavefront errors to the cloud server; and
g. the cloud server communicatively coupled to the Shack-Hartmann sensor by the communication chip , comprising a processor capable of executing computer-readable instructions, and a memory component comprising computer-readable instructions for:
i. generating an image comprising a correction to the eye of the patient, and il. applying the correction to the eye of the patient.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED A HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/26/2025