DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 01/16/26 has been acknowledged.
Amendment Summary
Claims 1-24 are amended.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant has amended the independent claims and multiple dependent claims. The corresponding OA examination reflect the new amended claims submitted herein. The arguments regarding previous claim submittal are moot since the amended claim has modified the scope of the previous claim. The amended claims are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 13-15, 17 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hebein (US 2013/0010736 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 13
Hebein discloses a method for scheduling radio resource control (RRC) processing for a dual SIM dual-active (DSDA) user equipment (UE) connected to a plurality of networks (See [Abstract]; [0077-0078]; select according to service type which SIM deserve priority RRC) comprising:
receiving a request to process a first RRC message for a first RRC task for a first SIM card from a first network (See [0071-0072]; [0077-0078]; UE establish first communication with first network through RRC);
receiving a request to process a second RRC message for a second RRC task for a second SIM card from a second network (See [0071]; [0073]; [0077]; UE establish second communication with second network through RRC); and
performing an arbitration decision to decide (See [0076-0077]; UE determine which services involved with both SIMs) whether to
prioritize an implementation of the first RRC task for the first SIM card or the second RRC task for the second SIM card (See [0076-0077]; UE determine which services involved with both SIMs that has a higher priority to provide RRC) and suspend processing of the second RRC task (See [0094]; the
UE 120 may suspend or hold the activity associated with the second service),
or
prioritize implementation of the second RRC task (See [0076-0077]; UE determine which services involved with both SIMs that has a higher priority to provide RRC) and suspend processing of the first RRC task (See [0094]; the
UE 120 may suspend or hold the activity associated with the second service).
Regarding Claim 2, 14
Hebein teaches all the features with respect to Claim 1, 13 and Hebien further teaches
wherein the arbitration decision implements a first-in-first-out
(FIFO) process (See [0056]; in DSDA SIM #1 is in active session and SIM #2 received a notification of voice call without interrupting communication with SIM #1), such that the first RRC task or the second RRC task, received first in time, is selected for prioritization and processed first (See [0056]; in DSDA SIM #1 is in active session and SIM #2 received a notification of voice call without interrupting communication with SIM #1).
Regarding Claim 3, 15
Hebein teaches all the features with respect to Claim 1, 13 and Hebien further teaches
wherein the arbitration decision implements a pre-emption based on a priority process (See [0062-0063]; decision based on prioritized services), such that,
if the first RRC message is being processed for the first SIM card (See [0078-0079]; first service associated with first subscription), but the second RRC message of a higher priority than the first RRC message (See [0078-0079]; UE identify second services has higher priority) the first RRC message is pre-empted (See [0078-0079]; refrain from continuing servicing SIM #1), and the second RRC message is processed (See [0078-0079]; process is performed according to second SIM with higher priority),
wherein resumption of the first RRC message processing (See [0084-0085]; previous procedure associated with SIM #1) occurs after completing handling of the second RRC message (See [0084-0085]; first task resumed after second task ended).
Regarding Claim 5, 17
Hebein teaches all the features with respect to Claim 1, 13 and Hebien further teaches
wherein the arbitration decision implements a preemption based on an application being run on the first or second SIM card (See [0062-0063]; decision based on prioritized services), such that,
if the first RRC message is being processed for an application being run on the first SIM card (See [0078-0079]; first service associated with first subscription),
but an application being run on the second card application is of a higher priority than the application being run on the first
SIM card (See [0078-0079]; UE identify second services has higher priority than the first services), the first RRC message is pre-empted (See [0078-0079]; refrain from continuing servicing SIM #1), and the second RRC message is processed (See [0084-0085]; first task resumed after second task ended).
Regarding Claim 6, 18
Hebein teaches all the features with respect to Claim 5, 17 and Hebien further teaches
wherein the higher priority application being run
on the second SIM card that is of a higher priority than the application being run on the first SIM card (See [0078-0079]; UE identify second services has higher priority than the first services), includes at least one of :
an emergency call (See [0078]; voice call can comprise same characteristic as an emergency call) ,
a mobility operation (See [0065]; mobility operation requiring service changed), or
an ultra-reliable low latency (uRLLC) operation.
(The term “or” translate into at least one of the limitation can be treated for a complete examination)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-12, 16 and 19-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in statutory independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY LAFONTANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2646