DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2026 and 1/27/2026 seems to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim 1-3 and 16 were amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For example, applicant submits that Bernardon (Bernardon et. al. DE Publication 102004018261) fails to teach or suggest "at least one voltage supply... configured to generate a voltage using power from a power source; and a boost converter configured to generate an output voltage using power from the power source" as recited in claim 1.
However, as shown in Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B and also describe in the specifications, Bernardon expressly discloses that Vin is derived from a vehicle battery (e.g. 8V< ignition<40V) through a reverse-battery diode, thereby identifying the vehicle battery as the claimed power source. Further, Bernardon discloses multiple converter stages that generate regulated voltages from this source, including boost converter. These elements clearly disclose circuitry configured to generate one or more voltages from the vehicle battery. Thus, Bernardon does nor merely rely on an input voltage as alleged by applicant, but instead discloses a power architecture in which voltages are generated from a power source (i.e., vehicle battery) and distribute to system components.
Therefore, the limitation of "at least one voltage supply... configured to generate a voltage using power from a power source; and a boost converter configured to generate an output voltage using power from the power source" are taught by Bernardon, and Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Further, Applicant argues that Long fails to disclose “at least one voltage supply configured to provide at least one voltage using power from a power source” and “a boost converter having an input coupled to the power source.”
However, Long expressly discloses that the energy storage modules 110 provide DC voltage (for example voltage generated by the power source or batteries) and collectively function as the power source for the system, and that the power converters 130 are coupled across one or more of the energy storage modules 110 to convert the DC voltage output of the modules into a low output voltage VLow for on-board systems. Long further teaches that the converters may step down, step up, or step up/down the voltage of the energy storage modules to generate the desired output voltage. Thus, Long discloses a circuit arrangement in which voltage is generated using power from a power source (for example batteries).
Accordingly, Applicant’s argument that Long fail to disclose these features is not supported by the express teachings of Long, and the argument is therefore not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bernardon et. al. DE Publication 102004018261 (Bernardon).
[AltContent: textbox (SN)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ON)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 1, Bernardon discloses a power supply circuit (see Fig. 3A), comprising: at least one voltage supply (Bernardon discloses the vehicle battery as the Vin) (Fig. 3A) selectively coupled to an output node (i.e., see reference character added ON for purpose of explanation) (Fig. 3A) of the power supply circuit and configured to generate at least one voltage using power from a power source (for example vehicle battery);
and a boost converter configured to generate an output voltage using power from the power source, the boost converter having:
an inductive element (i.e., L) (Fig. 3A) coupled to a power source and a switching node(i.e., see reference character added SN for purpose of explanation) (Fig. 3A);
a first transistor (i.e., M3) (Fig. 3A) coupled between the switching node (i.e., SN) (Fig. 3A) and a reference potential node (i.e., GND) (Fig. 3A);
a second transistor (i.e., M1) (Fig. 3A) having a drain coupled to the switching node (i.e., M1) (Fig. 3A); and a third transistor (i.e., M2) (Fig. 3A) having a source coupled to a source of the second transistor (i.e., M1) (Fig. 3A), a drain of the third transistor (i.e., M2) (Fig. 3A) being coupled to the output node (i.e., ON) (Fig. 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long US Patent 10023054 (Long).
Regarding claim 16, Long discloses a power supply circuit, comprising: at least one voltage supply (for example voltage generated by power source or batteries 110) (Fig. 1) configured to provide at least one voltage using power from a power source (110) (Fig. 1); and a boost converter (130A) (Fig. 1) (Long discloses each power converter 130 is configured to step up or down the voltage of the energy storage modules 110 to a low voltage output V.sub.Low, according to the state of charge and load on the energy storage modules 110) having an input coupled to the power source (110) (Fig. 1) and an output (for example see terminal for Vlow) (Fig. 1) selectively coupled to the at least one voltage supply (110B) (Fig. 1).
Further, Long discloses that each energy storage module may have a different voltage across and that each energy storage module 110 includes one or more battery cells. For example, one embodiment of an energy storage module 110 has 12 battery cells each supplying a voltage of approximately 3V to 4.2V, resulting in a voltage range for the energy storage module 110 of approximately 36V to 50V.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide at least one voltage is lower than a battery voltage of a cell in the power source (for example the module 110 having more cells as describe by Long – see column 2, lines 63-67 and column 3, lines 1-8 ).
Claims 1-3 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long US Patent 10023054 (Long) in view of Bernardon et. al. DE Publication 102004018261 (Bernardon).
[AltContent: textbox (ON1)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 1, Long discloses a power supply circuit, comprising: at least one voltage supply (110B) (Fig. 1) selectively coupled to an output node (i.e., see ON1 reference added for purpose of explanation) (Fig. 1) of the power supply circuit and a boost converter (i.e., 130A) (Fig. 1).
Long fail to disclose a boost converter having: an inductive element coupled to a power source and a switching node; a first transistor coupled between the switching node and a reference potential node; a second transistor having a drain coupled to the switching node; and a third transistor having a source coupled to a source of the second transistor, a drain of the third transistor being coupled to the output node.
[AltContent: textbox (SN)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ON)][AltContent: arrow]
Bernardon, in the same field of endeavor discloses a power supply circuit (see Fig. 3A), comprising: a boost converter having:
an inductive element (i.e., L) (Fig. 3A) coupled to a power source and a switching node(i.e., see reference character added SN for purpose of explanation) (Fig. 3A);
a first transistor (i.e., M3) (Fig. 3A) coupled between the switching node (i.e., SN) (Fig. 3A) and a reference potential node (i.e., GND) (Fig. 3A);
a second transistor (i.e., M1) (Fig. 3A) having a drain coupled to the switching node (i.e., M1) (Fig. 3A); and a third transistor (i.e., M2) (Fig. 3A) having a source coupled to a source of the second transistor (i.e., M1) (Fig. 3A), a drain of the third transistor (i.e., M2) (Fig. 3A) being coupled to the output node (i.e., ON) (Fig. 3A) for the purpose of step up or step down the input voltage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a boost converter having: an inductive element coupled to a power source and a switching node; a first transistor coupled between the switching node and a reference potential node; a second transistor having a drain coupled to the switching node; and a third transistor having a source coupled to a source of the second transistor, a drain of the third transistor being coupled to the output node in Long, as describe by Bernardon, in order to boost or buck and input voltage.
Regarding claim 2, Long in view of Bernardon, as applied in linking claim, discloses the claimed invention but fails disclose the power source comprising a single-cell battery and wherein the at least one voltage is less than a battery voltage than a battery voltage of the single-cell battery.
However, Long discloses that each energy storage module may have a different voltage across and that each energy storage module 110 includes one or more battery cells. For example, one embodiment of an energy storage module 110 has 12 battery cells each supplying a voltage of approximately 3V to 4.2V, resulting in a voltage range for the energy storage module 110 of approximately 36V to 50V (see column 2, lines 63-67 and column 3, lines 1-8).
Therefore, as suggested by Long, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a single-cell battery and wherein the at least one voltage is less than a battery voltage than a battery voltage of the single-cell battery, since it has been held that where the general conditions are disclosed in the prior art (for example using one or more cells and having different voltages per across each battery) involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Long in view of Bernardon, as applied in linking claim, discloses that each energy storage module may have a different voltage across and that each energy storage module 110 includes one or more battery cells. For example, one embodiment of an energy storage module 110 has 12 battery cells each supplying a voltage of approximately 3V to 4.2V, resulting in a voltage range for the energy storage module 110 of approximately 36V to 50V (see column 2, lines 63-67 and column 3, lines 1-8). Therefore, as suggested by Long, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a power source comprising a stacked multi-cell battery and wherein the at least one voltage is less than a battery voltage of a cell in the stacked multi-cell battery since it has been held that where the general conditions are disclosed in the prior art (for example using one or more cells and having different voltages per across each battery) involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Long, as applied in linking claim, discloses the claimed invention but fails to disclose the boost converter comprising: an inductive element coupled between the power source and a switching node; a first switch coupled between the switching node and a reference potential node of the power supply circuit; and a second switch coupled to the output of the boost converter and selectively coupled to the switching node.
[AltContent: textbox (SN)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ON)][AltContent: arrow]
Bernardon, in the same field of endeavor discloses a boost converter comprising: an inductive element (i.e., L) (Fig. 3A) coupled between the power source (i.e., Vin) (Fig. 3A) and a switching node (i.e., see reference character added SN for purpose of explanation) (Fig. 3A); a first switch (i.e., M3) (Fig. 3A) coupled between the switching node (i.e., SN) (Fig. 3A) and a reference potential node (i.e., Ground) (Fig. 3A) of the power supply circuit; and a second switch (i.e., M1) (Fig. 3A) coupled to the output of the boost converter and selectively coupled to the switching node (i.e., SN) (Fig. 3A) in order to boost or step up a input voltage.
Regarding claim 18, Long in view Bernardon, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention, wherein Bernardon discloses the boost converter further comprises a third switch (i.e., M2) (Fig. 3A) coupled between the second switch (i.e., M1) (Fig. 3A) and the switching node (i.e., SN) (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 19, Long in view Bernardon, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention, wherein the second switch (i.e., M1) (Fig. 3A) and the third switch (i.e., M2) (Fig. 3A) comprise back-to-back transistors.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long US Patent 10023054 (Long) in view of Bernardon et. al. DE Publication 102004018261 (Bernardon) in further view Cai et. al., CN Document 109375605 (Cai).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ON)][AltContent: oval]
Regarding claim 4, Long in view of Bernardon, as applied in linking claim, discloses the invention but fails to disclose at least one voltage supply includes a first voltage supply selectively coupled to the output node via first enable circuitry.
Cai, in the same field of endeavor discloses several voltage supplied (i.e., 1-3) (Fig. 3), each including a enable circuit (K012 -K01n) (Fig. 3). For example, Cai discloses a first voltage supply (i.e., 1) (Fig. 3) selectively coupled to the output node (i.e., see reference added ON for purpose of explanation) via first enable circuitry (i.e., K012) for the purpose of interrupting the connection between the voltage supply and the output node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide at least one voltage supply includes a first voltage supply selectively coupled to the output node via first enable circuitry in Long in view of Bernardon, as described by Cai in order to limit the connection between the voltage supply and the output node.
Regarding claim 6, Long in view of Bernardon and in further view of Cai discloses the claimed invention. For example, as applied in linking claims, Cai discloses a several voltage supplied (i.e., 1-3) (Fig. 3), each including a enable circuit (K012 -K01n) (Fig. 3), including a at least one voltage supply further includes a second voltage supply (i.e., 2) (Fig. 3) selectively coupled to the output node via second enable circuitry (i.e., K01n) (Fig. 3).
Claims 7, 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long US Patent 10023054 (Long) in view of Bernardon et. al. DE Publication 102004018261 (Bernardon) and in further view of Nebrigic et. al. US Publication 20070212596 A (Nebrigic).
Regarding claim 7, Long in view of Bernardon, as applied in linking claims, discloses the invention but fails to disclose a discharge circuit coupled in parallel with the inductive element.
Nebrigic, in the same field of endeavor discloses a discharge circuit (i.e., see element 46 including see Dynamic Controller 50 and connections to boost converter 30b) (Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) coupled in parallel with the inductive element (i.e., L) (Fig. 5 and Fig. 15) in order to discharge the inductive element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a discharge circuit coupled in parallel with the inductive element in Long in view of Bernardon, as described by Nebrigic in order to discharge the inductive element.
Regarding claim 9, Long in view of Bernardon and in further view of Nebrigic, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention, more particularly Nebrigic discloses the discharge circuit (i.e., 46) (Fig. 5) configured to provide a discharge path for the inductive element based on the second transistor (i.e., MR) (Fig. 5) being turned off.
Regarding claim 11, Long in view of Bernardon and in further view of Nebrigic, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention, more particularly Nebrigic discloses the discharge circuit comprising a sense circuit (i.e., see element 300 coupled to the Gain amplifier 78) (Fig. 15)configured to sense a current across the inductive element (i.e., L) (Fig. 15), wherein the second transistor (i.e., MR) (Fig. 15) is configured to be turned off based on the current (i.e., If) (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 12, Long in view of Bernardon and in further view of Nebrigic, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention, more particularly Nebrigic the sense circuit (i.e., see element 300 coupled to the Gain amplifier 78) (Fig. 15) comprises a comparator (i.e., Gain Amplifier) (Fig. 15) configured to sense the current across the inductive element (i.e., L) (Fig. 15) by comparing a source voltage (i.e., Vf) (Fig. 15) and a drain voltage (i.e., Vo) (Fig. 15) of the second transistor (i.e., MR) (Fig. 15).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long US Patent 10023054 (Long) in view of Bernardon et. al. DE Publication 102004018261 (Bernardon) and in further view of Prevost US Patent 9602098 (Prevost).
Regarding claim 15, Long in view of Bernardon, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention but fails to disclose a fourth transistor coupled between the reference potential node and sources of the second transistor and the third transistor.
Prevost in the same field of endeavor discloses the use of a fourth transistor (or shunt transistor) coupled between back to back transistor and a reference potential node or the reference potential node and sources of the second transistor (i.e., ShA) (Fig. 5) and the third transistor (i.e., ShB) (Fig. 5) as an alternative for a bypass circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a fourth transistor coupled between the reference potential node and sources of the second transistor and the third transistor in Long in view of Bernardon, as described by Prevost in order to provide an alternative for a bypass circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 10 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art as applied above fails to disclose all the elements recited in linking claims combined with a first enable circuitry including: a fourth transistor having a source coupled to the first voltage supply; a fifth transistor having a source coupled to the reference potential node; and a sixth transistor having a drain coupled to drains of the fourth transistor and the fifth transistor and a source coupled to the output node.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art as applied above fails to disclose all the elements recited in linking claims combined with the discharge circuit comprising: a fourth transistor having a drain coupled to the power source; a fifth transistor having a drain coupled to the switching node; and a sixth transistor having a drain coupled to sources of the fourth transistor and the fifth transistor, wherein a source of the sixth transistor is coupled to the reference potential node.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art as applied above fails to disclose all the elements recited in linking claims combined with the boost converter configured in a bypass mode by turning on the second transistor and the third transistor and by turning off the first transistor.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art as applied above fails to disclose all the elements recited in linking claims combined with wherein: the output node is for coupling to an active load; the at least one voltage supply is coupled to the output node and the boost converter is decoupled from the output node, based on the active load being configured to have a first output power; the boost converter is configured in a bypass mode and the at least one voltage supply is decoupled from the output node, based on the active load being configured to have a second output power greater than the first output power; and the boost converter is configured in a boost mode and the at least one voltage supply is decoupled from the output node, based on the active load being configured to have a third output power greater than the second output power.
Claims 14 is dependent of claim 13.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YAHVEH COMAS TORRES/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838