DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “waste toner developing unit that uses the waste toner collected by the waste toner collection unit to develop a toner image on an image holding body of the plurality of image holding bodies or an additional image holding body” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings show two mutually exclusive embodiments and do not show a single embodiment in which the waste toner image can be formed on one of the plurality of image holding bodies OR on an additional image holding body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 5-15, the recited “waste toner developing unit that uses the waste toner collected by the waste toner collection unit to develop a toner image on an image holding body of the plurality of image holding bodies or an additional image holding body” is not described in the specification. The specification describes two mutually exclusive embodiments and does not disclose a single embodiment in which the waste toner image is formed on one of the plurality of image holding bodies OR on an additional image holding body.
Claims 1, 3, and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 5-15, the recited “waste toner developing unit that uses the waste toner collected by the waste toner collection unit to develop a toner image on an image holding body of the plurality of image holding bodies or an additional image holding body” renders the claims indefinite since it is unclear whether the “additional image holding body” is part of the recited “plurality of image holding bodies” or a separate image holding body not included in the recited “plurality of image holding bodies”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8-11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono US 20060002750.
Regarding claim 1, Ono discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
a plurality of image holding bodies (11Y/M/C/Bk) (FIG. 1) that are provided for respective colors of toners and hold toner images having the respective colors;
an intermediate transfer body (19) (FIG. 1) onto which the toner images having the respective colors held by the plurality of image holding bodies are transferred;
a waste toner collection unit (30) (FIG. 1) that collects toners remaining on the intermediate transfer body as a waste toner in a case where the toner images having the respective colors transferred onto the intermediate transfer body are transferred onto a recording material [0075];
a waste toner developing unit (12Bk) (FIG. 1) that uses the waste toner collected by the waste toner collection unit to develop a toner image on an image holding body of the plurality of image holding bodies or an additional image holding body [0086]; and
a control unit that performs a control to cause the waste toner developing unit to develop the toner image in a case where a predetermined condition about a ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit is satisfied [0104 and 0192-193] (ratio of black waste toner or ratio of other colors being in specific range),
wherein the predetermined condition about the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner in the control unit is determined on the basis of whether or not an image printed using the waste toner is capable of being used as a black image [0192],
wherein the predetermined condition about the ratio of the waste toner having each color to the waste toner in the control unit comprises a condition where differences between ratios of amounts of waste toners having colors other than black to an amount of the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit are within 3% [0192-193].
Regarding claim 3, Ono discloses:
wherein the predetermined condition about the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner in the control unit further comprises a condition where a ratio of an amount of a black waste toner to the amount of the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit is 50% or more [0104].
Regarding claim 8, Ono discloses:
wherein the control unit calculates the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner, which is stored in the waste toner collection unit, on the basis of an amount of a toner used in the image holding body corresponding to each color [0098 and 0103].
Regarding claim 9, Ono discloses:
wherein the amount of the toner used in the image holding body corresponding to each color is calculated on the basis of the number of pixels, which are exposed to light and correspond to each color, and consumption of the toner of each of the pixels exposed to light [0098 and 0103].
Regarding claim 10, Ono discloses:
wherein the control unit performs a control to cause the waste toner developing unit to develop the toner image in a case where a volume of the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit is equal to or larger than a volume predetermined on the basis of an amount of the waste toner used during a use of the waste toner [0095 and 0103] (in order to form a black image using the waste toner).
Regarding claim 11, Ono discloses:
wherein the volume of the waste toner is calculated on the basis of an amount of a toner used in the image holding body corresponding to each color and a collection ratio of a toner, which is collected as a waste toner, to the toner used in the image holding body corresponding to each color [0098, 0103, and 0134-135].
Regarding claim 14, Ono discloses:
wherein even though the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit does not satisfy the predetermined condition about the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner, the control unit uses the waste toner as a lubricant for a cleaning blade [0075] that collects the waste toner remaining on the intermediate transfer body in a case where volume of the stored waste toner is equal to or larger than a predetermined volume (the waste toner lubricates the cleaning blade during any image formation in which the waste toner contacts the cleaning blade).
Regarding claim 15, Ono discloses:
wherein the control unit performs a control to use a black toner in a case where the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit is out of the predetermined condition about the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner [0118] (pure black toner is used).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono US 20060002750.
Regarding claim 5, Ono discloses the limitations of claim 1 as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit performs a control to forcibly change a toner having a color, which does not satisfy the condition, into a waste toner in a case where the differences between the ratios of the amounts of waste toners having colors other than black to the amount of the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit are not within 3%.
Ono discloses wherein when amounts of waste toners having colors other than black are equal to each other, these waste toners can be used in place of black toner [0192-193]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ono to include wherein the control unit performs a control to forcibly change a toner having a color, which does not satisfy the condition, into a waste toner in a case where the differences between the ratios of the amounts of waste toners having colors other than black to the amount of the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit are not within 3% in order to use the cyan, yellow, and magenta waste toners in place black toner.
Regarding claim 6, Ono as modified above teaches wherein the control to forcibly change the toner into a waste toner (by forcibly discharging the specific color toner on to the intermediate transfer body) performed by the control unit is to use the toner having the color, which does not satisfy the condition, as a lubricant for a cleaning blade [0075] that collects the waste toner remaining on the intermediate transfer body (the waste toner lubricates the cleaning blade during any time in which the waste toner contacts the cleaning blade).
Regarding claim 7, Ono discloses the limitations of claim 1 as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined condition about the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner in the control unit is set by a user.
Ono discloses where a ratio of a black waste toner is 80% or more, but does not specifically disclose wherein the ratio is set by a user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Ono to include allowing a user to set the predetermined condition about the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner in order to allow the user to achieve a desired print quality when printing with the waste toner.
Regarding claim 12, Ono discloses the limitations of claim 1 as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit performs a control to cause the waste toner developing unit to develop the toner image in a case where a user sets a reuse mode in which the waste toner is used.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Ono to include the ability for the user to set the reuse mode in order to enable the user to decide if waste toner should be used for printing.
Regarding claim 13, Ono as modified above teaches wherein the control unit notifies the user that the reuse mode is capable of being used in a case where the predetermined condition about the ratio of a waste toner having each color to the waste toner is satisfied (when providing the option for the user to set the reuse mode).
Regarding claims 7, 12, and 13, Kadota et al. US 20060013604 additionally discloses user-selectable settings/modes when printing using waste toner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Ono does not disclose wherein the predetermined condition comprises “a condition where differences between ratios of amounts of waste toners having colors other than black to an amount of the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit are within 3%” (see page 10 of applicant’s arguments). However, as set forth above, Ono discloses wherein when amounts of waste toners having colors other than black are equal to each other, these waste toners can be used in place of black toner [0192-193]. When amounts of waste toners having colors other than black are equal to each other, differences between ratios of amounts of waste toners having colors other than black to an amount of the waste toner stored in the waste toner collection unit are within 3%.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS S GIAMPAOLO II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852