DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on December 15th 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5 remain pending in the application. Claims 6-8 were added by the Applicant. Applicant’s arguments to the previous 102 and 103 rejections of the claims in view of Takahata were fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore the 102 and 103 rejections of the claims in view of Takahata were withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. The arguments to the 103 rejections of the claims in view of Mitani were fully considered and are persuasive, thus the rejections are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Jo et al. US 2020/0091506 A1. New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo et al. US 2020/0091506 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Jo discloses a negative electrode (multilayer anode) comprising a current collector and a plurality of anode layers [Abstract], wherein the plurality of anode layers comprises a first layer on the current collector, a second layer on the first layer, and a third layer on the second layer [0032]. Thus, Jo discloses, as illustrated in Jo Annotated Figure 1, a negative electrode current collector, a negative electrode active material layer disposed on the negative electrode current collector, and a coating layer disposed on the negative electrode active material layer:
Jo Annotated Figure 1
Jo further discloses that the coating layer (“third layer”) includes natural graphite [0035], further disclosed in Example 1 [0047] and Example 2 [0051], and that the negative electrode active material layer (“second layer”) includes artificial graphite [0035], further disclosed in Example 1 [0048] and Example 2 [0052].
As described in Examples 1 & 2, Jo discloses that the thickness of the coating layer (“third layer”) is 32µm [0049] and 25µm [0053], respectively, and the thickness of the negative electrode active material layer (“second layer”) is 86µm [0049] and 99µm [0053], respectively. Thus, Jo discloses that the thickness ratio of the coating layer to the negative electrode active material layer is 0.372 (Example 1) and 0.253 (Example 2).
The claimed thickness ratio ranges from 20:80 to 28:72, or 0.25 to 0.39.
Thus, Jo discloses thickness ratios of the coating layer to the negative electrode active material layer within the claimed range. In regards to the thickness ratio, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2131.03 I. In the case where the prior art “discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim”. UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023). Accordingly, the thickness ratio disclosed in Jo anticipates the claimed range set forth in Claim 1. See MPEP 2131.03 I.
Additionally, Jo discloses that in both examples, the coating layer (“third layer”) includes a rubber-based binder (SBR) [0047, 0051] and a water-soluble cellulose derivative (CMC) [0047, 0051]. Similarly, Jo discloses that in both examples, that the negative electrode active material layer (“second layer”) includes a rubber-based binder (SBR) [0048, 0052] and a water-soluble cellulose derivative (CMC) [0048, 0052].
Regarding Claim 2, Jo discloses that the rubber-based binder is styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR) [0047-0048, 0051-0052].
Regarding Claim 3, Jo discloses that the water-soluble cellulose derivative is carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) [0047-0048, 0051-0052].
Regarding Claim 4, Jo discloses, as mentioned above with regards to Claim 1, that the ratio of the thickness of the coating layer (“third layer”) to the negative electrode active material layer (“second layer”) is 0.253 (Example 2). The claimed range of thickness ratio in Claim 4 is 20:80 to 25:75, or 0.25-0.333. Thus Jo discloses a thickness ratio which falls within the claimed range in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 5, Jo discloses a secondary battery comprising a positive electrode (cathode), the negative electrode of Claim 1, and an electrolyte [0028].
Regarding Claim 6, Jo discloses that the negative electrode active material layer (“second layer”) further comprises a conductive agent [0042-0043].
Regarding Claim 7, Jo discloses that the conductive agent is carbon black [0043].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. US 2020/0091506 A1 further in view of Piao et al. US 2022/0407068 A1.
Regarding Claim 8, Jo is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6, however is silent as to the content of the conductive agent in the negative electrode active material layer.
Piao discloses a negative electrode for a secondary battery wherein the negative electrode comprises a current collector, a first active material layer on the current collector, and a second active material layer on the first active material layer [Abstract], similar to Jo. Piao discloses that the first active material layer, which Examiner notes is similar to that negative electrode active material layer (“second layer”) of Jo, comprises a conductive material [0042] such as carbon black [0043] (also see example 1), similar to that of Jo. Further, Piao discloses that the conductive material is included in an amount of 1-30% by weight [0043], which overlaps with the claimed range.
Piao discloses that this configuration imparts conductivity to the electrode without causing chemical changes in the battery [0042].
In the absence of a direct teaching in Jo of the amount of conductive agent added to the negative electrode active material layer, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to related art such as Piao for a suggestion of the amount of conductive agent to include with reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the suggested amount of conductive agent as disclosed by Piao in the negative electrode active material layer of Jo with reasonable expectation of success as supported by Piao.
Thus, modified Jo discloses that the conductive agent is included in an amount of 1-30wt%, which overlaps with the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726