DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 24 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-8 and 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“delivering unit” in claim 1;
“ascent-descent unit” in claim 1;
“regulating unit” in claim 1;
“blocking unit” in claim 1; and
“processing unit” in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narisei (JP 2022128134).
Regarding claim 1, Narisei discloses a medium feeding device comprising: a load unit 32 that is loaded with a plurality of media; a delivering unit 35 that delivers an uppermost medium of the media loaded on the load unit in a predetermined feeding direction; an ascent-descent unit 34 that causes at least a part of the load unit to ascend and descend about a pivot point 32a defined by a position of the load unit located away from a leading edge of the media in the feeding direction; a regulating unit 33 that is provided toward the feeding direction of the media on the load unit and that comes into contact with the leading edge, in the feeding direction, of the media loaded on the load unit to regulate a loading position of the media; and a blocking unit 322 that allows the load unit to ascend and descend and that blocks at least a part of a gap between the load unit and the regulating unit at an arbitrary ascent or descent position of the load unit.
Regarding claim 2, Narisei discloses medium feeding device according to claim 1, wherein the blocking unit 322 includes a suspension element that is disposed in the gap between the load unit and the regulating unit and that is suspended to block the part of the gap. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 3, Narisei discloses the medium feeding device according to claim 2, wherein the suspension element includes a movable member 322 that is provided in an extendable-retractable manner at a leading end of the load unit in the feeding direction of the media and that extends and retracts in conformity to a change in the gap. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 9, Narisei discloses the medium feeding device according to claim 1, wherein the regulating unit 33 has a flat surface at a side facing the load unit 32. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 10, Narisei discloses the medium feeding device according to claim 9 wherein the regulating unit includes a regulating member 33 formed of a flat plate. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claims 11-13, 19, and 20, Narisei discloses everything claimed, including a processing unit (image forming section Pa to Pd - see par. 23) that performs a predetermined process on a medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narisei in view of Taruki (JP H09325531).
Regarding claim 4, Narisei discloses everything claimed, except Narisei lacks the disclosure of the movable member including a plurality of movable members disposed with a distance therebetween in a width orthogonal to the feeding direction of the media on the load unit. Taruki teaches the use of a plurality of movable members 31a disposed with a distance therebetween in a width orthogonal to the feeding direction of the media on the load unit, in order to prevent the sheet from entering the gap between the tray and the stopper. See Taruki, par. 8. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the movable member include a plurality of movable members disposed with a distance therebetween in a width orthogonal to the feeding direction of the media on the load unit, in the device of Narisei, as taught by Taruki, in order to prevent the sheet from entering the gap between the tray and the stopper.
Regarding claim 14, the device of Narisei as modified by Taruki comprises everything claimed, including a processing unit (Narisei, image forming section Pa to Pd - see par. 23) that performs a predetermined process on a medium.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee (US 12,583,696) discloses a sheet feeding device haivng a document guide.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759