Detailed Action
Acknowledgements
This action is in reply to the Amendment filed on May 7, 2026.
Claims 9 and 11 are cancelled.
Claims 1-8, 10, and 12-20 are pending.
Claims 1-8, 10, and 12-20 are examined.
This Office Action is given Paper No. 20260603 for references purposes only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2nd paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION — The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8, 10, and 12-13 are vague and indefinite because they include purely functional limitations without corresponding structure. Specifically, the specification does not clearly link or associate structure(s) for these limitations:
“a receiving module configured to acquire… a combination thereof” in claim 1;
“a correlation engine operatively coupled to the receiving module, wherein the correlation engine is configured to map… comparison” in claim 1;
“wherein the correlation engine is further configured to use… field” in claim 1;
“a vision module operatively coupled to the correlation engine, wherein the vision module is configured to display… addresses” in claim 1;
“a record module operatively coupled to the vision module, wherein the record module is configured to: deliver… detect deltas… actor” in claim 1;
“the vision module is configured to expand… addresses” in claim 2;
“an input module wherein the input module is configured to receive… breaches” in claim 3;
“a search module configured to render… user” in claim 4;
“an alert module operatively coupled to the correlation engine, wherein the alert module is configured to generate… transactions” in claim 5.
Please see Claim Interpretation below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0101326) in view of Fang et al. (US 2022/0067738).
Claims 1, 14
Kim discloses:
at least one processor (processor, see [0080]); and
a memory (memory, see [0080]) operatively coupled to the at least one processor,
wherein the memory stores a processing subsystem (security intelligence platform for blockchain, SIPB, see figure 1) hosted on a server, wherein the processing subsystem is configured to execute on a network by the at least one processor to control bidirectional communications among a plurality of modules comprising:
a receiving module configured to acquire a plurality of blockchain transactions (transaction data, see figure 1), by invoking a blockchain application programming interface (interface, see [0110]) configured to compare a block address corresponding to a latest transaction with a block address (immediate source wallets, see [0323], figure 19B) corresponding to a latest read transaction from the blockchain (immediate destination wallets, see [0323], figure 19B), thereby obtaining a list of block addresses to investigate (relay wallets, see [0323], figure 19B) in the blockchain, and to obtain details comprising at least one of a list of transactions (e.g. downstream transactions of D3, see [0323]) corresponding to one or more pending block addresses, personally identifiable information (user data, see [0101], figure 1) from a plurality of data sources, data of one or more known threat actors (threat reputation database, TRDB, see [0118, 0152], figure 1) with corresponding wallet addresses (hacker’s wallet addresses, see [0121]), and a combination thereof;
a correlation engine operatively coupled to the receiving module, wherein the correlation engine is configured to map (map out one or more immediate neighbor wallets, see [0312-0313]) a plurality of acquired blockchain transactions with the personally identifiable information, by applying correlation logic, wherein the correlation logic being configured to associate wallet addresses (wallet address, see [0312]) and transaction hashes (transaction hash, see [0312]) from the plurality of acquired blockchain transactions with personally identifiable information fields; and to normalize the personally identifiable information fields (data field of information, search fields, see [0152, 0449]) under uniform headers derived from breach datasets to enable consistent cross-source comparison,
wherein the correlation engine is further configured to use a first normalized personally identifiable information field (profile name, twitter handle, see [0219]) obtained from a first third-party breach dataset (blacklisted in TRDB, see [0242, 0476]) to identify a corresponding second personally identifiable information field (wallet addresses of malicious actors, see [0221]) in at least one second third-party breach dataset (a record of a blacklist stored in the TRDB, see [0250, 0476-0477]), and to generate a mapped relationship (visualization diagram, see 0477]) between the wallet addresses, the transaction hashes, the first normalized personally identifiable information field, and the second personally identifiable information field;
a vision module operatively coupled to the correlation engine, wherein the vision module is configured to display one or more graphical representations (visualization diagram, see [0444-0448]) depicting the plurality of acquired blockchain transactions, the mapped relationship, and the data of the one or more known threat actors with the corresponding wallet addresses; and
a record module (Sentinel Protocol, see [0143-0144]) operatively coupled to the vision module, wherein the record module is configured to:
deliver a plurality of user stories (e.g. file execution is blocked, trying to convert coins, see [0143-0144]), based on maintained temporal state of the mapped relationship; and
detect deltas representing a change to at least one of the personally identifiable information (address, see [0478]) and a plurality of depicted blockchain transactions by identifying a change in the mapped relationship (e.g. 3 other wallets that have sent funds to queried wallet, see [0477]), thereby identifying a potential threat actor (suspicious wallets, see [0477]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
a server.
Fang teaches:
a server (see [0308]).
Kim discloses a processing subsystem communicating with modules; acquiring a plurality of blockchain transactions, personally identifiable information, and data of one or more known threat actors; mapping the blockchain transactions with the personally identifiable information; using a first information field from a first dataset to identify a second information field from a second dataset; displaying one or more graphical representations; delivering a plurality of user stories; and detecting a change. Kim does not explicitly disclose a server, but Fang does. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the apparatus and method for cybersecurity of Kim with the server of Fang because 1) a need exists for alerting an individual about inherent vulnerabilities embedded in a decentralized cryptocurrency system (Kim [0011]); and 2) a need exists for identifying transactions or accounts that carry an increased risk of violating financial regulations (Fang [0002]). The server can help alert individuals and identify transactions or accounts that may violate financial regulations.
Claim 2
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the vision module is configured to expand the one or more graphical representations on the wallet addresses, thereby allowing user to view additional information (e.g. number of hops, see [0314-0315]) for the said wallet addresses.
Claims 3, 15
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the vision module comprises an input module wherein the input module is configured to receive at least one of the wallet addresses (wallet addresses, see [0212]), the personally identifiable information, or a combination thereof, as input from a user and subsequently represent a relationship between the wallet addresses via one of the plurality of depicted blockchain transactions and personally identifiable information from third party breaches (e.g. impersonated accounts, see [0213-0214]).
Claims 4, 17
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the vision module comprises a search module configured to render a plurality of currencies (e.g. ETH address, Bitcoin Address, see [0260]) associated with input, wherein the input is received from a user.
Claims 5, 18
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
an alert module operatively coupled to the correlation engine wherein the alert module is configured to generate an alert (alert, see [0212]) to the user at an occurrence of the change in at least one of the personally identifiable information, the potential threat actor and the plurality of depicted blockchain transactions (transaction is risky, see [0212]).
Claim 6
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the personally identifiable information is collected from a plurality of data points corresponding to the plurality of data sources (e.g. user input, transaction data, system logs, packet data, see [0101]).
Claim 7
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the plurality of data sources comprises at least one of cryptocurrency transactions, data breaches, stealer logs, ransomware attacks (scam, phishing, ransomware campaign, see [0307]), or a combination thereof.
Claim 8
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the plurality of blockchain transactions are received from the blockchain application programming interface (API, see [0124]) wherein the blockchain application programming interface provides periodic data and historical data (transaction history, see [0504]) of the plurality of blockchain transactions in a structured format.
Claim 10
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the blockchain application programming interface provides current statistics for cryptocurrencies (different types of tokens, see [0475]).
Claim 12
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the personally identifiable information from third party breaches is in the form of a structured file with uniform headers, wherein the uniform headers are added at an occurrence of new data (format of text file, see [0567-0570]).
Claim 13
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the one or more graphical representations display one or more details of the plurality of blockchain transactions in a text format (e.g. label containing information of the origin, see [0450]).
Claim 16
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
checking the plurality of blockchain transactions with the corresponding wallet address to verify the occurrence of transactions for the said wallet address and subsequently display a trail (e.g. nodes S2, D2, D3 are associated to task 2, see [0344]) for one or more associated transactions.
Claim 19
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
monitoring, by an alert module, the plurality of blockchain transactions using the wallet addresses to identify the change (malicious data detected, see [0272]) in the personally identifiable information; and
generating, by the alert module, an alert (alert, see [0212, 0272-0274]) to the user at the occurrence of a new transaction for at least one of the wallet addresses.
Claim 20
Furthermore, Kim discloses:
the plurality of blockchain transactions are analyzed in a silo (sandbox, see [0134]) in the absence of the personally identifiable information, thereby identifying diverted funds.
Response to Arguments
112 arguments
Applicant states that the corresponding structure is the processor/memory/server architecture disclosed in specification [0039-0041] and figure 3.
Specification [0039-0041] lists a server including a processor and memory, and the memory including subsystems. However, these portions of the specification do not clearly link and associate the corresponding structure for each limitation as recited under the 112b rejection above. While figure 3 shows a receiving module, correlation module, vision module, and record module, it does not show the alert module recited in claim 5. Note that claim 1 recites a memory (i.e. structure) storing a processing subsystem hosted on a server, wherein the processing subsystem is configured to execute on a network by a processor to control bidirectional communications among a plurality of modules. Claim 1 never recites that the modules are stored on the memory. Claim 1 only recites that the processor is controlling communications among a plurality of modules.
101 arguments
The 101 rejection has been withdrawn in light of the arguments presented in the Amendment (see pages 18-26).
103 arguments
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amendments.
Please see revised mapping. Kim discloses the correlation engine is further configured to use a first normalized personally identifiable information field (profile name, twitter handle, see [0219]) obtained from a first third-party breach dataset (blacklisted in TRDB, see [0242, 0476]) to identify a corresponding second personally identifiable information field (wallet addresses of malicious actors, see [0221]) in at least one second third-party breach dataset (a record of a blacklist stored in the TRDB, see [0250, 0476-0477]), and to generate a mapped relationship (visualization diagram, see 0477]) between the wallet addresses, the transaction hashes, the first normalized personally identifiable information field, and the second personally identifiable information field.
Claim Interpretation
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure (see attached form PTO-892).
Cheong (US 2023/0214845) discloses deep learning based method and system for detecting abnormal cryptocurrency transaction between computing devices in a blockchain network.
Applicant is reminded that functional recitation(s) using the word and/or phrases “for”, “adapted to”, or other functional language (e.g. see claim 1 which recites “to enable”) have been considered but are given little patentable weight because they fail to add any structural limitations and are thereby regarded as intended use language. To be especially clear, all limitations have been considered. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed product must result in a structural difference between the claimed product and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it reads on the claimed limitation. In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) ("The manner or method in which such a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself.”); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See also MPEP §§ 2106 II (C.), 2114 and 2115. Unless expressly noted otherwise by Examiner, the claim interpretation principles in the paragraph apply to all examined claims currently pending.
Examiner hereby adopts the following definitions under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard. In accordance with In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1056, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1029 (Fed. Cir. 1997), Examiner points to these other sources to support her interpretation of the claims.1 Additionally, these definitions are only a guide to claim terminology since claim terms must be interpreted in context of the surrounding claim language. Finally, the following list is not intended to be exhaustive in any way:
configuration “(1) (A) (software) The arrangement of a computer system or component as defined by the number, nature, and interconnections of its constituent parts.” “(C) The physical and logical elements of an information processing system, the manner in which they are organized and connected, or both. Note: May refer to hardware configuration or software configuration.” IEEE 100 The Authoritative Dictionary of IEEE Standards Terms, 7th Edition, IEEE, Inc., New York, NY, Dec. 2000.
module “1. In programming, a collection of routines and data structures that performs a particular task or implements a particular abstract data type.” Computer Dictionary, 3rd Edition, Microsoft Press, Redmond, WA, 1997.
server “2. On the Internet or other network, a computer or program that responds to commands from a client.” Computer Dictionary, 3rd Edition, Microsoft Press, Redmond, WA, 1997.
112f analysis
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a receiving module configured to acquire… a combination thereof” in claim 1;
“a correlation engine operatively coupled to the receiving module, wherein the correlation engine is configured to map… comparison” in claim 1;
“wherein the correlation engine is further configured to use… field” in claim 1;
“a vision module operatively coupled to the correlation engine, wherein the vision module is configured to display… addresses” in claim 1;
“a record module operatively coupled to the vision module, wherein the record module is configured to: deliver… detect deltas… actor” in claim 1;
“the vision module is configured to expand… addresses” in claim 2;
“an input module wherein the input module is configured to receive… breaches” in claim 3;
“a search module configured to render… user” in claim 4;
“an alert module operatively coupled to the correlation engine, wherein the alert module is configured to generate… transactions” in claim 5.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation “a receiving module configured to acquire… a combination thereof” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “a receiving module” coupled with functional language “configured to acquire a plurality of blockchain transactions, by invoking a blockchain application programming interface configured to compare a block address corresponding to a latest transaction with a block address corresponding to a latest read transaction from the blockchain, thereby obtaining a list of block addresses to investigate in the blockchain, and to obtain details comprising at least one of a list of transactions corresponding to one or more pending block addresses, personally identifiable information from a plurality of data sources, data of one or more known threat actors with corresponding wallet addresses, and a combination thereof” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The remaining limitations listed above have a similar analysis.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-13 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from Examiner should be directed to Chrystina Zelaskiewicz whose telephone number is 571-270-3940. Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 9:30am-5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Neha Patel can be reached at 571-270-1492.
/CHRYSTINA E ZELASKIEWICZ/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699
1 While most definition(s) are cited because these terms are found in the claims, Examiner may have provided additional definition(s) to help interpret words, phrases, or concepts found in the definitions themselves or in the prior art.