DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (US 2006/0070163) and further in view of Lassig (US 2019/0209394).
With reference to claim 1, Beck et al. (hereinafter “Beck”) discloses a reusable (i.e., washable) [0002] swim diaper [0003] configured for retaining fecal matter [0003], comprising:
a main body made of a waterproof coated [0019] bonded [0030] polyurethane polyester material [0020] comprising a composite material made of one or more layers of polymer resins joined by urethane links (i.e., polyurethane) and a polyester backing [0017; claim 3], the main body configured with elasticized leg openings including gussets interior of the leg openings also made of the waterproof coated bonded polyurethane polyester material of the main body [0046], wherein the main body has improved degradation from laundering and is suitable for multiple launderings and reuse without degrade [0002], and together the material of the main body and the gussets serve to minimize the flow of fecal matter between the inside and the outside of the swim diaper as set forth in [0002-0004].
The difference between Beck and claim 1 is the explicit recitation that the main body is configured with an elasticized waist opening.
Lassig teaches an analogous reusable swim diaper (abstract) wherein the main body is configured with an elastic waist opening as set forth in [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the diaper of Beck with an elasticized waist opening as taught by Lassig in order to help provide the article with a waterproof seal as taught by Lassig in [0008].
With reference to claim 2, Beck teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Beck and claim 2 is the explicit recitation that the polyurethane polyester material is a polyurethane knitted polyester material and the polyester backing is a knitted polyester backing.
Lassig teaches an analogous reusable swim diaper (abstract) wherein the polyurethane polyester material is a polyurethane knitted polyester material and the polyester backing is a knitted polyester backing as set forth in [0035], [0045], [0060] and [0067] .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the diaper of Beck with the polyurethane knitted polyester material and the knitted polyester backing as taught by Lassig for the benefit of the improved elasticity of the material as taught Lassig in [0037].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/357,853 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claim 1 of the Application can be found in claims 1 and 8 of the reference application.
The difference lies in the fact that the claims of the reference application are more specific than the claims of the instant application.
Since claim 1 of the Application is anticipated by claim 1 of the reference application, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2008/146289 discloses the knowledge in that polyurethane is any polymer comprising a change of organic unites joined by urethane links. See [00031].
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781