DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on October 14, 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 18/357,853 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 14, 2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
Newly presented claim 1 requires a gusset for each leg opening with each gusset having an inward radial edge that extends across a portion of the respective leg opening with the inward radial edge of the gusset together with the portion of the respective leg opening conforming to a user’s leg when in use.
Newly presented claim 6 also requires the leg openings to have first and second regions defined by or devoid of a gusset where the gusset is attached to the first region such that a center portion of an inward edge of the gusset is spaced from a center portion of the first region of the respective elasticized leg opening and devoid of contact with the main body, the inward edge of the gusset and the first region of the elasticized leg opening conforming to a user's leg when in use.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
gusset for each leg opening (i.e.., more than one gusset)
inward radial edge of the gusset extending across the portion of the respective leg opening
inward radial edge region devoid of contact with main body
first region of the elasticized leg opening
second region of the elasticized leg opening devoid of gusset
center portion of an inward edge of the gusset
center portion of the first region
inward edge of the gusset
one end of an inward gusset edge attached at a first position of the elasticized leg opening
opposite end of an inward gusset edge attached at a second position of the elasticized leg opening
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the following:
radially inward
inward radial edge
inward radial edge region devoid of contact with the main body
inward radial edge together with the leg opening to conform to user’s leg when in use
first region
second region devoid of gusset
center portion of an inward edge of the gusset
center portion of the first region
inward edge of the gusset
one end of an inward gusset edge attached at a first position of the elasticized leg opening
opposite end of an inward gusset edge attached at a second position of the elasticized leg opening
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Newly presented claim 1 requires a gusset for each leg opening with each gusset having an inward radial edge that extends across a portion of the respective leg opening with the inward radial edge of the gusset together with the portion of the respective leg opening conforming to a user’s leg when in use.
Newly presented claim 6 also requires the leg openings to have first and second regions defined by or devoid of a gusset where the gusset is attached to the first region such that a center portion of an inward edge of the gusset is spaced from a center portion of the first region of the respective elasticized leg opening and devoid of contact with the main body, the inward edge of the gusset and the first region of the elasticized leg opening conforming to a user's leg when in use.
Newly presented claim 10 requires a gusset having an inward edge, one end of the inward edge being attached at a first position of the elasticized leg opening and an opposite end of the inward edge being attached at a second position of the elasticized leg opening, the first position of the elasticized leg opening and the second position of the elasticized leg opening defining a first region of the elasticized leg opening connected with the gusset, the second region being devoid of a connection with the gusset, a center portion of the inward edge of the gusset being spaced from a center portion of the first region of the respective elasticized leg opening and being devoid of contact with the main body, the inward edge of the gusset and the first region of the elasticized leg opening conforming to a user's leg when in use.
These limitations have not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 3-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the portion" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second region" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 6-7, 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (US 2006/0070163) in view of Enloe et al. (US 4,846,825).
With reference to claims 3 and 9, Beck et al. (hereinafter “Beck”) discloses a reusable (i.e., washable) [0002] swim diaper [0003] comprising:
a main body comprising a polyester material and an absorbent material (see [0018] where a two ply fabric is disclosed with one, inner side including a polyester-cotton blend and opposite side is 100% polyester) made of a waterproof coated [0019] bonded [0030] polyurethane polyester material [0020] wherein the polyester material includes an waterproof exterior surface (i.e., a composite material made of one or more layers of polymer resins joined by urethane links (i.e., polyurethane) and a polyester backing [0017; claim 3], the main body configured with elasticized leg openings including gussets interior of the leg openings also made of the waterproof coated bonded polyurethane polyester material of the main body (cl. 9, cl. 13) as set forth in [0046].
The difference between Beck and claim 3 is the provision that the main body includes an elasticized waist opening and that the main body includes a gusset for each leg opening wherein each gusset extends radially inward from a portion of the respective elasticized leg opening with an inward radial edge of the gusset extending across the portion of the respective elasticized leg opening, the inward radial edge having a region devoid of contact with the main body, the inward radial edge of the gusset together with the portion of the respective leg opening conforming to a user's leg when in use.
Enloe et al. (hereinafter “Enloe”) teaches an analogous absorbent garment including an elasticized waist opening (col. 4, lines 47-51) and including a gusset for each leg opening (figure 1) wherein each gusset extending radially inward from a portion of the respective elasticized leg opening with an inward radial edge of the gusset extending across the portion of the respective elasticized leg opening (figures 1-2), the inward radial edge having a region devoid of contact with the main body (figure 2), the inward radial edge of the gusset together with the portion of the respective leg opening conforming to a user's leg when in use as set forth in col. 7, lines 15-52.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the diaper of Beck with an elasticized waist opening and the specific gussets as taught by Enloe in order to provide an improved self-adjusting garment with enhanced sideways containment and absorption of waste as taught by Enloe in col. 4, lines 37-43.
With reference to claims 4, 7 and 11, Beck discloses a reusable swim diaper wherein the waterproof exterior surface comprises a coated [0019] bonded [0030] polyurethane polyester material [0020] wherein the polyester material includes an waterproof exterior surface (i.e., a composite material made of one or more layers of polymer resins joined by urethane links (i.e., polyurethane) and a polyester backing as set forth in 0017 and in claim 3.
With reference to claim 6, see the rejection of claim 3. The elasticized leg openings of Beck are considered to include first and second regions as shown at least via upper and lower regions as shown in figure 3.
The difference between Enloe and claim 6 is the provision that the first region being defined by a gusset, the second region being devoid of the gusset, the gusset being attached to the first region of the respective elasticized leg opening such that a center portion of an inward edge of the gusset is spaced from a center portion of the first region of the respective elasticized leg opening and devoid of contact with the main body, the inward edge of the gusset and the first region of the elasticized leg opening conforming to a user's leg when in use.
Enloe teaches an analogous absorbent garment including an elasticized waist opening (col. 4, lines 47-51) and includes first region being defined by a gusset, the second region being devoid of the gusset (see annotated figure 1 below), the gusset being attached to the first region of the respective elasticized leg opening such that a center portion of an inward edge of the gusset is spaced from a center portion of the first region of the respective elasticized leg opening and devoid of contact with the main body (figure 2), the inward edge of the gusset and the first region of the elasticized leg opening conforming to a user's leg when in use as set forth in col. 7, lines 15-52.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the diaper of Beck with an elasticized waist opening and the specific gussets as taught by Enloe in order to provide an improved self-adjusting garment with enhanced sideways containment and absorption of waste as taught by Enloe in col. 4, lines 37-43.
With reference to claim 10, see the rejection of claim 3.
The difference between Enloe and claim 10 is the provision that the gusset is attached to a portion of each elasticized leg opening, the gusset having an inward edge, one end of the inward edge being attached at a first position of the elasticized leg opening and an opposite end of the inward edge being attached at a second position of the elasticized leg opening, the first position of the elasticized leg opening and the second position of the elasticized leg opening defining a first region of the elasticized leg opening connected with the gusset, the second region being devoid of a connection with the gusset, a center portion of the inward edge of the gusset being spaced from a center portion of the first region of the respective elasticized leg opening and being devoid of contact with the main body, the inward edge of the gusset and the first region of the elasticized leg opening conforming to a user's leg when in use.
Enloe teaches an analogous absorbent garment including an elasticized waist opening (col. 4, lines 47-51) and includes gusset is attached to a portion of each elasticized leg opening (figure 1), the gusset having an inward edge, one end of the inward edge being attached at a first position of the elasticized leg opening and an opposite end of the inward edge being attached at a second position of the elasticized leg opening, the first position of the elasticized leg opening and the second position of the elasticized leg opening defining a first region of the elasticized leg opening connected with the gusset, the second region being devoid of a connection with the gusset (see annotated figure 1 below), a center portion of the inward edge of the gusset being spaced from a center portion of the first region of the respective elasticized leg opening and being devoid of contact with the main body (figure 2), the inward edge of the gusset and the first region of the elasticized leg opening conforming to a user's leg when in use as set forth in col. 7, lines 15-52.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the diaper of Beck with an elasticized waist opening and the specific gussets as taught by Enloe in order to provide an improved self-adjusting garment with enhanced sideways containment and absorption of waste as taught by Enloe in col. 4, lines 37-43.
Claims 5, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (US 2006/0070163) in view of Enloe et al. (US 4,846,825) and further in view of Harkness (US 2003/0181885).
With reference to claim 5, Beck modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Beck modified and claim 5 is the provision that the absorbent material comprises a terrycloth material.
While the substitution of one absorbent material for another is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art, Harkness also teaches reusable waste containment swim wear including an absorbent terrycloth material as set forth in [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the article of Beck modified with the terrycloth material as taught by Harkness in order to provide the article with a soft, absorbent body contact layer as taught by Harkness in [0008].
As to claims 8 and 12, see the rejection of claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781