DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 3/24/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending for prosecution below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) file on 3/24/2023 has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohda et al, (Kohda), (USNO.2004/0031632).
As for claim 1, Kohda discloses and shows in Figs. 1 and 9 scooter battery device comprising: an electric scooter; a housing attached to a body of the electric scooter, the housing (via support tray) comprised of a receiving port; a battery comprised of a first charging port (via ref’s terminals at the lower end); and a charging device comprised of a second charging port (via ref’s recharging port) and a power cord (via electrical cord) (par.[0048-0051,0062-0067]).
As for claim 2, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the electric scooter is comprised of an electric mobility scooter.
As for claim 3, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the receiving port of the housing receives the battery.
As for claim 4, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the battery is removable from the receiving port.
As for claim 5, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the battery supplies power to the electric scooter.
As for claim 6, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 scooter battery device comprising: a housing comprised of a receiving port; a battery comprised of a first charging port; a wired connector (via ref’s electrical cord); and a charging device comprised of a second charging port and a power cord (par.[0048-0051,0062-0066]).
As for claim 7, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 comprised of a fastener (via hook).
As for claim 8, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 receiving port of the housing receives the battery
As for claim 9, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the battery is removable from the receiving porthe battery is removable from the receiving port
As for claim 10, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 7 the second charging port receives the first charging port (par.[0065]).
As for claim 11, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 7 the battery is removable from the second charging port (par.[0065]).
As for claim 12, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 7 the power cord is comprised of a 110v power cord (via wall outlet) (par.[0065]).
As for claim 13, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 7 the power cord is comprised of a 240v power cord (via wall outlet) (par.[0065]).
As for claim 14, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 method of using a scooter battery device, the method comprising the steps of: providing a scooter battery device, the scooter battery device comprised of a housing comprised of a receiving port, a first battery, and a charging device comprised of a charging port (via ref’s terminals at the lower end); charging the first battery using the charging device; and powering an electric scooter by placing the first battery into the receiving port (via support tray) (par.[0048-0051,0062-0067]).
As for claim 15, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the scooter battery device is in a wired electrical communication with a battery of the electric scooter.
As for claim 16, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the battery supplies power to the electric scooter.
As for claim 17, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 comprised of a step of removing the first battery from the receiving port when the battery is dead.
As for claim 18, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 of a step of placing a second battery into the receiving port when the first battery has been removed.
As for claim 19, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the charging device is comprised of a power cord (via electrical cord).
As for claim 20, Kohda discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the charging device supplies power to the battery.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859